We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Starr Installations Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb a starr

4.9

31 Reviews

About

Starr Installations goal is to help you design and build your dream home whilst making the process as easy and enjoyable for you as possible.

We offer a full-service with a wide range of experience. We can help you with all phases of new construction, remodelling from the design to the building and finally landscaping your garden.

Our excellent reputation and long list of satisfied clients attest to our superior craftsmanship, attention to detail, clear communication, honesty and integrity.

You can speak to us and ask to see our client reference list.

For more details of the work we can do for you please go to our website.

We hope to be able to help you soon.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Building services
    • Loft conversions
    • Garage conversions
  • More Services

    • new build
    • new build design

Customer reviews

4.9
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
As ever first class service from Steve (and Jason) Starr Installations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Starr Installations Ltd for various projects (kitchen re-fit, floor laying, cabinet build, new bathroom) for over 8 years now and cannot fault them. Steve has always delivered on time on all jobs he's carried out. Importantly whenever I have had any snagging issues (not with his work) he has always come back quickly to rectify them. Both Steve and Jason are an excellent team and I would be happy to recommend them. I have used various tradespeople over the years and not one has provided such a high quality finish and attention to detail, in fact the next job that Starr Installations are booked for is to fix a poor quality job that I had carried out some years ago by a different tradesperson, one that I am confident that Starr Installations will greatly improve on.
Customer in Greater London15/04/2019
Fantastic kitchen and music room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having never used a builder before we found Which? Trusted Traders extremely helpful in helping us to choose Starr Installation. We received quotes from 3 builders, but Starr’s was the best price & the quotation was the most detailed - straightaway putting us more at ease. Steve came over several times before we confirmed we’d like him to undertake the work. He also arranged for us to visit a project he’d recently completed for a client. Steve gave his time readily, he came across very confidently, but he was very personable and both my husband & I were assured he would do a good job - which proved very right. We wanted a more usable downstairs space for our growing family & Steve helped us to plan that space. We wanted a larger kitchen and sound proofed music room for teaching. The process involved knocking two rooms together, moving a toilet, moving the back door, knocking through into the garage, building a sound proofed box in to our preexisting garage, building a utility room and finally fitting a brand new kitchen and floor throughout. It did get messy, but Steve & his team cleaned up every day & made the site safe for our son. Steve liaised with us on a daily basis & at evenings/weekends, so my husband was party to discussion. He was very good at explaining any situations that had arisen & what the next steps would be. Steve’s colleagues Jason & Ben were polite & thoughtful (leaving space for my buggy to get through each day). Overall, we are thrilled with the result!
Emily E21/05/2018
Kitchen Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Steve and his team very helpful and reasonably priced, he communicated very well throughout, from quote stage through to completion. He kept to the time frame, the finish is high quality. We highly recommend Starr Installations and will be using them in the future too.
Emma L08/05/2018
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Starr Installations quite by accident when looking for a trader, it is always difficult choosing a builder from scratch, my previous builder had moved so wasn’t within travel distance anymore. I had a few quotes and met a few builders but Steve was so personable and helpful I decided to accept his quote. I am so glad I made that decision, Steve and his team were reliable, helpful, came up with solutions and solved problems along the way and had great design ideas to support my build. I had my kitchen and dining room knocked into one, a downstairs toilet installed and a new patio. It was a lot of work and very messy, but everything went smoothly with minimal fuss and was completed to a high standard and on time. Steve, Jason and Ben were polite, courteous and never complained about my constant changes/additions and between them they created my dream kitchen space and made a fantastic outside patio space. Steve was always on hand to allay any fears I might have and talk me through them even at weekends or during the evening after a hard days graft. I am so pleased with the results of all the work that they did I will definitely be using them again in the future when I have my bathroom redesigned. Thank you so much. Kay
KayWilson02/12/2017
Fantastic new extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We first used Starr Installations to replace our bathroom in 2013. We were very pleased with the results and found working work Steve very easy. His communication is good, he is reliable and did a very good job, so, we had no reservations in asking him to build an extension for us earlier this year. The work started in January 2017. Steve and his team were reliable, consistent and hard working and the job was done within the timescale that Steve had agreed. The team came up with useful suggestions along the way and were flexible when we changed our mind about things. Any unexpected issues that arose were solved usually before we were aware of them and the build ran smoothly all the way through. We are extremely pleased with the results and will be employing Starr Installations again when we get around to making our front room as fantastic as the extension! Highly recommended 
CEFerrariStone11/10/2017
A great new extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team worked hard on site and were friendly, helpful and reliable. Steve came up with good solutions when problems arose and always kept us up to date with developments.
J, Kent27/01/2017
Brilliant work on kitchen installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team did a superb job on a very large kitchen installation for us. They provided the highest quality work at a very reasonable cost. We are fussy clients and we could not have wished for better results. Steve and his team exceeded our expectations and were always very cooperative, helpful and good humored, including with our additional requests as work proceeded. Steve helped in arranging design and supply of units at very good value, and he and his team then handled full kitchen installation, as well as tiling, skirting boards, some painting and related work, with great efficiency and care. Steve solved a number of specific problems and met all our requirements and fussy suggestions with great good grace, willingness and efficiency. Steve is clearly dedicated to providing very high quality work. His pricing, compared to other quotes we received, was also very good value. It was a pleasure to work with him. We thoroughly recommend Starr Installations.
Very Happy Customer25/07/2016
Star service from Starr Installations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had Steve from Starr Installations for the second lot of plumbing work needed in the house. Both times he has been polite, helpful and tidy as well as carrying out both jobs to efficiently. I would not hesitate to recommend him for plumbing and kitchen work.
2011-08-11 21:07:09.00307/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We last employed Starr Installations 3 years ago. The team returned this time to revamp our utility room and revise the plumbing to include a water softener. Our preconceived ideas were modified to great advantage by Steve and the work was carried out by himself and his assistant speedily and efficiently. The end result is superb and teething problems with the water softener were quickly ironed out.
richard carver28/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our toilet cistern developed a mysterious leak. Steve came to look at it on his way home and ended up staying until he had solved the problem and completed the repair. He called a couple of days later to make sure it was still working correctly. Excellent service.
alocal28/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve did a great job refurbishing our loft conversion that was originally done badly by previous owners of the house. He has done work for us before and again was friendly, helpful and reliable. The job included plaster boarding and plastering ceiling and walls, replacing old bannister and radiator, and building 7 sets of cupboard doors under the eaves. He has transformed a dowdy shoddy storage area into what will be a smart living space.
ptrwatson24/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was really very impressed woth Starr Installations. Steve, the plumber, came within half an hour of my call and attended to a leaking bathroom basin immediately. When it became clear that the basin plumbing needed an additional part he came back, promptly, to fit it at no extra charge. Another local plumber had informed me it was a two man job, involving removing the sealed basin pedestal, which I was not happy about. Starr Installations ended two weeks of worry for me.
atholr23/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We thought we would have to replace a major part in a toilet system. It turns out it was quite repairable. He did the repair quickly and efficiently also advised us on other things we are thinking of for the future. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend him in the future.. Nice to have someone close to where we live and who responds so quickly.
clarksan17/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Steve to ask if he could identify and repair a leak coming from underneath our kitchen sink. He came the next day,although he was very busy elsewhere, identified a leaking pipe from the mains to the dishwasher, replaced it and our problem was solved. I will now be using Steve to install some lighting in my kitchen based on reviews on my Which Local website.
TDENN25/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve pulled out all the stops and installed a juliette balcony at short notice. He did the job very well and couldn't have been more helpful. He is knowledgeable about a wide range of building matters and we would like him to do more work for us in the future.
ptrwatson14/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Skeen has installed three sliding doors to cover a cupboard wall in our laundry. The work was done well as agreed. He also solved an unforeseen plumbing problem when a water softener had to be moved. Steve is experienced in many trades and capable of dealing with problems as they arise. He works carefully and tidily. We would certainly use him again.
Joe.c.Bradley04/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his assistant recently renewed our downstairs cloakroom and replaced the shower unit and enclosure in our en suite. We chose him for the work partially for value, but also because Steve pointed out potential problems requiring adjustment to produce a more long-lasting result. He also had some innovative ideas to enhance the overall appearance. The result is a beautifully finished product and I have no hesitation in recommending his company to others.
richard carver03/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Skeen has just replaced 12 internal doors and the front door. His work was of the highest standard. He kept to his quote and timetable. He gave us suggestions on the type of doors and door furniture which was extremely helpful. He took an interest in the project and ensured that every door fitted well. His painter varnished the doors to a very high standard. At the end of every day he vacuumed and left the house tidy. We would recommend Steve as it was a pleasure to have him working in our home.
ianrsands19/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new kitchen installed which included having a wall taken down, floor laid, decorating, and lighting. Very impressed. Professional, trustworthy and honest advice on choices. Stayed on the job the whole time until completion. Very competitive price and we were delighted with the end result. Steve even kept our 16 month year old son entertained when needed!
LordLeo13/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the last two years Steve Skeen of Starr Installations has totally redone our shower room, bathroom and kitchen. On all three occasions we were very impressed with the high quality of his work and meticulous attention to even the smallest detail. Steve is very reliable, pleasant and helpful, his prices are competitive and good value. There were no extra costs, he kept to his quote and completed all three jobs on time. We are delighted with all of his work and would recommend him to anyone.
susanave08/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
this builder replaced my old patio doors with new ones, he did it on time and at the quoted price. he was also clean, tidy and pleasant
dave2620/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve three times over the course of a year and he has been simply sensational. Not only is he one of the most reliable trademan I have ever come across, he also takes initiaitive when it comes to solving problems. His skills as a carpenter and his vast building experience also makes him invaluable when it comes to the planning stages of any project. His creative eye came in very useful when we were struggling around aspects of our renovation. Steve and his team never give less than 100% and I could not recommend them highly enough.
monteiro7612/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Skeen from Starr Installations did a great job for us on our kitchen project and a few other carpentry jobs around the house. He managed the project from start to finish, sub-contracting out the electrics and the buidling work. He also kept to timelines very well and had the work finished by Christmas as requested. I'm happy to answer any questions.
Smee103/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the start with quotation and design Steve Skene was very very helpful with suppliers, style of bathroom and design. Completed work was excellent and above our expectations and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer26/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We first used Steve to put a new roof on our garage. He designed it from scratch and installed it quickly. It's great quality at a price that beat everybody else. Since then he has done a number of jobs for us, both external and internal and we are delighted with the work and his helpfulness. We recommend him to anybody who asks and we are only too happy to recommend him on Which Local.
OtfordTony12/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The builder, Steve Skeen, constructed a bespoke designed office for our study. He had some good suggestions for utilising the space, creating good storage solutions and using excellent quality materials. He and his apprentcie constructed the cupboards and desk off site and spent time ensuring all the wood was properly finished off and varnished. An all round excellent result at a reasonable price. I would recommend Steve for this type of work together with Kitchens and Bathrooms.
Tony Sullivan20/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having read the two reviews I asked Steve to replace the rotten wooden frame of my garage window. He gave me good advice about possible alternatives. I again chose wood and he very quickly produced and installed a splendid new frame. His workmanship is first-class and I shall be very happy to use him for any future jobs that arise.
annegeoff29/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
we have used this company on many occasions and always found the service was first class and very professional,clean and efficiant work, have no hesitation in recomending them
JOHN .W.WARD27/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Starr Installations in to convert our loft into a double bedroom with had made fitted wardrobes and ensuite bathroom. They did a fantastic job and were very clean and curtious builders. We had no extra costs or nasty suprises, they kept to their quote and completed on time. We were so impressed we had them back to fit us a new kitchen and conservatory. Again lovely job done and we recommend them time and again.
johnbags12/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steven came in and was friendly and discused our loft conversion with us and came back to us with a good price which we agreed. When he completed the work, the job done was exellent and hopefully will have starr back to do our bathroom.
johnbags03/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve is a very helpful and happy guy. His prices are very competitive and good value. He has completed various jobs for me including floating shelves, bathroom and skirtings to name a few. Steve is always on hand for advice and the quality of his work is exceptional. I would happily recommend him to friends and neighbours.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer21/03/2011