We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Stephen Conyer Design

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 6327

5.0

44 Reviews

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2019

About

Based in North London
Stephen Conyer Design is focused on creating and providing high-quality traditional and contemporary fitted furniture and bespoke cabinetry tailored to your individual requirements.
Specialising in complete fit-outs to Bedrooms, Lounges, Home Offices, Study's, Dressing rooms, Reception Rooms, fitted wardrobes, Sliding Wardrobes, Bookcases, Storage Cupboards, Alcove units, Shelves, Free standing pieces and many other storage solutions to fill that space your not sure about.
You may even want to upgrade or add to existing furniture. Just tell me what you would like or if you prefer I can make some suggestions and design your next dream furniture project for you.

With a friendly approach and over 20 years experience as
a carpenter, cabinet maker and fitter, Stephen Conyer Design offers extensive knowledge and unrivalled craftsmanship with strong attention to detail and as a result has a high percentage of business from repeat customers and referrals.

What we do

  • Carpenters

  • Cabinet makers

  • Interior designers

  • More Services

    • bespoke furniture
    • fitted furniture
    • furniture design

Customer reviews

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen designed and built some built in shelving for us earlier this year and I would definitely recommend his services. He quickly solved a couple of 'problems' with access to plug sockets etc, made sure that the shelves worked well with a very trickily placed radiator and made further on the job tweaks and additions to improve the finished product at no extra cost. As I think someone else has already noted, Stephen isn't the cheapest (nor the most expensive!) but he is a very skilled craftsman and is worth paying extra for. He will also advise against high cost materials if they aren't right for what you need, so you won't get overcharged there either. Stephen is also the kind of bloke you're more than happy to have in your home for a couple of days, polite, tidy and good company.
Which? Review, 19225323/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen is an excellent carpenter who pays attention to detail. He also has some good ideas so if your stuck for what to do or aren't sure if an idea will work, just ask him as he was brilliant at coming up with shoe cupboards that fitted into the style of our house (and was much better than what we envisaged!).
Which? Review, 15294823/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I went to Stephen because of the many positive reviews he has on Which and I wasn't disappointed. He has built the most beautiful alcove units for the front room and fitted wardrobes for the bedroom which make excellent use of the space, and also various shelves. He is very professional and reliable: he did the work when he said he would, he kept me posted about progress with making the furniture before installation. He gave me plenty of useful advice on the furniture design and he was very flexible. He was a pleasure to have around very polite, friendly and tidy.
Which? Review, 19688323/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen built two custom cabinets in our living room and some cabinets in our hallway. We found him to be extremely knowledgeable, honest, and thorough. We had some general idea about what we wanted, and he worked with us to find a specific solution that suited the space and our needs very well. Our only warning: he will have a LOT of ideas and suggestions, so make sure you book adequate time for any discussions with him! The time will be well spent -- the results are much better for having had the benefit of his experienced outlook.
Which? Review, 19052423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Conyer built and fitted my wardrobes. He works like a "Tornado"!! I mean he works with the speed of a Tornado, but NO mess.....very tidy and clean. He was confident, so polite,trustworthy, friendly and helpful. He made a first class job. I now have two fitted wardrobes with good design and excellent finish. I wouldn't use any other carpenter now as long as Stephen is available. Highly Recommended!!!
Which? Review, 12413423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen constructed a number of painted cabinets for us including a TV cabinet and a shoe cupboard. His work was of an extremely high quality and he was very good in suggesting design improvements to account for things we hadn't considered. He was also very approachable, punctual and trustworthy and I'll definitely use him again for any similar work.
Which? Review, 15791223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I downsized from a 5 bedroom house to a one bedroom flat and was in a state about storage. Stephen made me a beautiful unit in my new living room for my TV ornaments and pictures with four very useful cupboards underneath; a floor to ceiling wardrobe in the very small bedroom and a bathroom cabinet. The work is of the highest standard and he advised me all the way of the best solutions. I am really happy with the result. He is also an incredibly hard worker, a very tidy worker and very nice to have around. I would not hesitate to recommend him
Which? Review, 20237023/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve as I needed to do something either with an existing custom made cabinet or obtain a new cabinet to house my new TV and AV receiver etc. Steve was able using his skills as a cabinet maker to deconstruct the original custom made cabinet and reuse to very good effect the base and wood. His splendid work saved me over ?1.5K for a new cabinet and I think it looks a good piece of furniture as well that will look even better when the speaker mats arrive to protect the surface of the cabinet from the speaker spikes.
Which? Review, 20259623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Stephen as I had recently moved into a listed building and wanted to make the use of limited and awkward spaces (including curved walls!). From start to finish, Stephen was extremely helpful both in listening and advising. He was also extremely reliable in keeping me informed throughout on the progress of the job prior to, and during, fitting, and was meticulous in every aspect of his work. I cannot praise highly enough the quality of his workmanship, which exceeded my very high expectations. Stephen approached any potential problem with a solution, and remained cheerful and positive throughout, and was a pleasure to work with. I am delighted with the finished product and will certainly be contacting Stephen for future projects.
Which? Review, 20302623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I originally found Steve as a recommendation from a furniture designer who "couldn't recommend him highly enough". Indeed I was extremely impressed and completely overwhelmed by the work he has done for me over the past few weeks (March 2011). From the moment we first got in contact, I have found him to be proactive, efficient, clear-thinking and professional. He very quickly arranged at a time which was convenient to come and assess the job and provided critical and constructive insights as to how it would be best completed. In the execution of the work, I returned home each day to be both amazed at the progress he had made, and also the tidy state in which he left the house each evening. I could never be as consistently punctual for appointments a Steve was! whenever we agreed to meet at the house at a certain time, he was always there, which was an additional comfort in the professionalism with which he operates. The quality of the work, and the accuracy with which he met his estimated timelines and quotations was perfect and I am extremely happy with what he has done. I too, can now not recommend Steve highly enough.
Which? Review, 12713223/07/2018