We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Stephen Conyer Design

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb img 6327

5.0

44 Reviews

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2019

About

Based in North London
Stephen Conyer Design is focused on creating and providing high-quality traditional and contemporary fitted furniture and bespoke cabinetry tailored to your individual requirements.
Specialising in complete fit-outs to Bedrooms, Lounges, Home Offices, Study's, Dressing rooms, Reception Rooms, fitted wardrobes, Sliding Wardrobes, Bookcases, Storage Cupboards, Alcove units, Shelves, Free standing pieces and many other storage solutions to fill that space your not sure about.
You may even want to upgrade or add to existing furniture. Just tell me what you would like or if you prefer I can make some suggestions and design your next dream furniture project for you.

With a friendly approach and over 20 years experience as
a carpenter, cabinet maker and fitter, Stephen Conyer Design offers extensive knowledge and unrivalled craftsmanship with strong attention to detail and as a result has a high percentage of business from repeat customers and referrals.

What we do

  • Carpenters

  • Cabinet makers

  • Interior designers

  • More Services

    • bespoke furniture
    • fitted furniture
    • furniture design

Customer reviews

5.0
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen recently built a wall of bookshelves for us, incorporating space for our TV and media unit. We are very happy with the finished job and he was professional, knowledgeable and totally reliable. The work was completed on time and within budget. We have no hesitation in recommending him, and indeed will be using him again ourselves.
Customer in Greater London12/03/2019
The trader replied (on 19/03/2019)
Thank you for leaving a review and being a valued customer. I was really pleased with the end result of your bookcase tv unit, which you practically designed yourselves and complimented the room perfectly. Also was a pleasure to work for clients such as yourselves. It makes the job a whole lot more enjoyable so, thank's again. Warm regards Stephen
Alcove cupboards with integral wood stores. Delighted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen has built 2 cupboards with integral wood stores and solid oak tops in the alcoves next to my fireplace. I am delighted with them. The combination of his craftsmanship, sound advice and willingness to explore options has meant that the end result has far exceeded my expectations. He was also punctual, reliable and tidied up to a high standard at the end of each day.
Customer in Greater London18/01/2019
The trader replied (on 28/01/2019)
Thank you so much for your feedback which is much appreciated! It was a joy to work for you and hope to be of service again in the future Best wishes Stephen
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen did an excellent job fitting built-in cupboards in our loft extension. He was incredibly diligent in explaining all the options and keen to ensure we got exactly what we wanted at the planning stage. The construction was straightforward – the job was completed on time, Stephen kept us informed at every stage of the process and the finish was excellent. The price was competitive too. Would definitely use again.
Graham01/12/2018
The trader replied (on 28/01/2019)
Thanks for taking the time to review my work Graham It was a pleasure! Best regards Stephen
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen designed and built 3 wardrobes for our Victorian conversion flat. He worked with us from the beginning to get an understanding of what we were looking for and then provided drafts of what they could look like. He talked us through options and provided innovative solutions to what we required. He then built the wardrobes and on site he was great to work with - arrived on time, worked very hard on site and then completed the work within time and budget. The wardrobes look fantastic and are sympathetic to the architecture and were exactly what we were looking for. A talented trades person who is very easy to work with - would thoroughly recommend Stephen.
Paula21/11/2018
The trader replied (on 28/01/2019)
Thank you Paula! Was a pleasure and your feed back is much appreciated! Best regards Stephen
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen prepared and put up melanine bookshelves across an entire bedroom wall, top to bottom, and he did an excellent job. Ours is a Victorian house, walls not always straight, but he advised well, and we were very pleased with the outcome -- a neat and well-proportioned finish. We had also asked Stephen to do a few other small carpentry jobs in the house, and he completed these to our full satisfaction too. We needed to ask his opinion on several issues, and his advice was always sound. Stephen is polite, sensible and very easy to have in one's house.
Jim09/08/2018
The trader replied (on 01/02/2019)
Dear Jim, Many thanks for your valued feedback, it was a real pleasure to work for you and hope all is well. Best wishes Stephen
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Stephen through Which? Local and would wholeheartedly recommend him. We are absolutely delighted with the made to measure beech shelving and fitted TV cabinet (which now houses all our rather ugly broadband/telephone paraphenalia) and would have no hesitation in using him again. He is reliable, organised, personable and an excellent carpenter/cabinet maker not to mention painter.
Which? Review, 15514123/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were extremely happy with Stephen and the work he did for us. We got five quotes for the work but we chose Stephen because he spent a considerable amount of time up-front explaining our options and helping us make sensible decisions about the design, a level of service that we really valued. Stephen's work is of the highest quality, he was always happy to make any tweaks that we asked as we went through and he never takes a short cut. As an example, one of our cupboard units was built around some boxed-in down pipes with an access panel at the bottom. Rather than glue on the skirting and fix the sides of the cabinet as had done on the other side, Stephen (at no request from us) attached everything with screws in case the panel did not slide away easily in the future and therefore prevent us having to dismantle out fitted cabinets. As I mentioned before, we relied on Stephen to help us with the design and proportions of our three units (two cupboard/bookshelves and one double wardrobe) and this definitely sets him apart from other builders. Stephen is trustworthy, dependable, a perfectionist and an all round top bloke. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to my friends and family.
Which? Review, 18671723/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Stephen for one big job and one medium sized and are thrilled with his work on both occasions. The big job entailed building a fairly complicated set of cupboards in a guest bedroom. One column of cupboards houses a boiler, and underneath becomes a "bureau" for home working. The suite of cupboards incorporates a tiffany ceiling light and incorporates quite a lot of power points. The doors all open in different ways depending of the function of the space behind. In this room Stephen also installed tongue and groove panelling and painted all of the cupboards and the T&G. All this work is to a very high standard. (Summer 2013) The smaller job entailed building in a cupboard for a series of utility meters in our entrance. The cupboard fits perfectly and aesthetically in our old house - no mean feat. (Jan 2014)
Which? Review, 18478423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Stephen to build some fitted shelves and cupboards on the basis of his Which? reviews, and never once regretted it. He spent considerable time discussing our options to ensure we got exactly what we wanted, including a sliding shelf and wiring within a base cabinet. The resulting work is of a high quality. Stephen was always enthusiastic and amiable, keeping us well informed of his progress. We have already recommended him to friends.
Which? Review, 17437823/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Stephen to design and fit a sliding wardrobe system in our bedroom. He came to our home and gave us several options before drawing up a quote. The quality of the finish on the doors exceeded our expectations, and Stephens attention to detail and quality of finnish didn't go unnoticed. Stephen was very tidy with his work, leaving no dust or rubbish. It was a real pleasure to have him in our home and we would highly recommend him.
Which? Review, 18995523/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with the bookcase Stephen built for us. We were particularly impressed by the quality of his work, his friendly manner, and he responded quickly to some minor snagging. We would strongly recommend him.
Which? Review, 17333223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve refurbed my house to an excellent standard. He's hard-working, reliable and trustworthy and is not the 'rip it out and start from scratch' type of builder that I try to avoid. He basically gutted my kitchen and bathroom, painted the whole house plus some other bits and pieces. We had a slight communication problem which Steve resolved to my satisfaction - probably my fault - I should have written everything down. I wholeheartedly recommend him.
Which? Review, 14917523/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve & big Bruv put in a set of French Doors and side casement window for me. Taking out the old doors as well. Worked hard all day and into the early evening. Came back the next day to add the finishing touches at no extra cost. Tidy, organised, very good at what he does. Nice bloke no problem in recomending him to others. EXCELLENT JOB!
Which? Review, 14896123/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve designed and fitted solid wood (one of which glazed) doors in our new apartment, as well as redesigned and altered and redecorated our small medicine dispensary in our surgery. He was punctual, offered very good practical advice while listening to our requirements, was very flexible, totally trustworthy (on both occasions he was left in sole charge of the premises while working there), finished the job on time with excellent results. Always ready to help and discuss all along. Able to listen and think laterally when faced with complexities or restrictions. Extremely friendly and polite. Will definitely use again for small or bigger jobs.
Which? Review, 14521623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen made and replaced and back gate and rehung door inside. Did a excellent job and was prompt, efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
Which? Review, 13809123/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen made a fitted wardrobe from scratch in the bedroom, and a walk-in closet. Did an excellent job: listens to what you want and gives intelligent and helpful advice. Completely reliable, and highly recommended.
Which? Review, 15462923/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen made some fitted wardrobes for us. It was a very tricky job - with awkward angles etc. He was great. Good problem solving, good design ideas, and very responsive to our particular needs. Very pleased with the elegant result. And Stephen is very pleasant to work with. Highly recommended.
Which? Review, 20179023/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen made two built-in wardrobes earlier in the year, and we asked him to come back and build fitted bookshelves and a built-in desk in the study. He did another great job, plus took care of a load of smaller jobs around the house. Highly recommended (again).
Which? Review, 16215423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen did a fantastic job of transforming two shallow fitted cupboards in my living room into elegant floor to ceiling book-cases and a case for my TV, stereo and other kit. He had a really conscientious and thoughtful approach to the job and talked through all the possible options with me before beginning work. He was very reliable, punctual and tidy, aimed to minimize costs, and kept me informed of progress as he went along. I'm absolutely delighted with the cases and would recommend him without hesitation.
Which? Review, 14895923/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen has built me a fitted wardrobe, with cupboards above for storage. I am delighted with the result. He explained the options well and worked with me to decide on the best proportions between wardrobe and top cupboards; he was clear about when he could do the work, and was a very tidy workman. Definitely recommended.
Which? Review, 18481923/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen designed and built some built in shelving for us earlier this year and I would definitely recommend his services. He quickly solved a couple of 'problems' with access to plug sockets etc, made sure that the shelves worked well with a very trickily placed radiator and made further on the job tweaks and additions to improve the finished product at no extra cost. As I think someone else has already noted, Stephen isn't the cheapest (nor the most expensive!) but he is a very skilled craftsman and is worth paying extra for. He will also advise against high cost materials if they aren't right for what you need, so you won't get overcharged there either. Stephen is also the kind of bloke you're more than happy to have in your home for a couple of days, polite, tidy and good company.
Which? Review, 19225323/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen is an excellent carpenter who pays attention to detail. He also has some good ideas so if your stuck for what to do or aren't sure if an idea will work, just ask him as he was brilliant at coming up with shoe cupboards that fitted into the style of our house (and was much better than what we envisaged!).
Which? Review, 15294823/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I went to Stephen because of the many positive reviews he has on Which and I wasn't disappointed. He has built the most beautiful alcove units for the front room and fitted wardrobes for the bedroom which make excellent use of the space, and also various shelves. He is very professional and reliable: he did the work when he said he would, he kept me posted about progress with making the furniture before installation. He gave me plenty of useful advice on the furniture design and he was very flexible. He was a pleasure to have around very polite, friendly and tidy.
Which? Review, 19688323/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen built two custom cabinets in our living room and some cabinets in our hallway. We found him to be extremely knowledgeable, honest, and thorough. We had some general idea about what we wanted, and he worked with us to find a specific solution that suited the space and our needs very well. Our only warning: he will have a LOT of ideas and suggestions, so make sure you book adequate time for any discussions with him! The time will be well spent -- the results are much better for having had the benefit of his experienced outlook.
Which? Review, 19052423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Conyer built and fitted my wardrobes. He works like a "Tornado"!! I mean he works with the speed of a Tornado, but NO mess.....very tidy and clean. He was confident, so polite,trustworthy, friendly and helpful. He made a first class job. I now have two fitted wardrobes with good design and excellent finish. I wouldn't use any other carpenter now as long as Stephen is available. Highly Recommended!!!
Which? Review, 12413423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen constructed a number of painted cabinets for us including a TV cabinet and a shoe cupboard. His work was of an extremely high quality and he was very good in suggesting design improvements to account for things we hadn't considered. He was also very approachable, punctual and trustworthy and I'll definitely use him again for any similar work.
Which? Review, 15791223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I downsized from a 5 bedroom house to a one bedroom flat and was in a state about storage. Stephen made me a beautiful unit in my new living room for my TV ornaments and pictures with four very useful cupboards underneath; a floor to ceiling wardrobe in the very small bedroom and a bathroom cabinet. The work is of the highest standard and he advised me all the way of the best solutions. I am really happy with the result. He is also an incredibly hard worker, a very tidy worker and very nice to have around. I would not hesitate to recommend him
Which? Review, 20237023/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Steve as I needed to do something either with an existing custom made cabinet or obtain a new cabinet to house my new TV and AV receiver etc. Steve was able using his skills as a cabinet maker to deconstruct the original custom made cabinet and reuse to very good effect the base and wood. His splendid work saved me over ?1.5K for a new cabinet and I think it looks a good piece of furniture as well that will look even better when the speaker mats arrive to protect the surface of the cabinet from the speaker spikes.
Which? Review, 20259623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Stephen as I had recently moved into a listed building and wanted to make the use of limited and awkward spaces (including curved walls!). From start to finish, Stephen was extremely helpful both in listening and advising. He was also extremely reliable in keeping me informed throughout on the progress of the job prior to, and during, fitting, and was meticulous in every aspect of his work. I cannot praise highly enough the quality of his workmanship, which exceeded my very high expectations. Stephen approached any potential problem with a solution, and remained cheerful and positive throughout, and was a pleasure to work with. I am delighted with the finished product and will certainly be contacting Stephen for future projects.
Which? Review, 20302623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I originally found Steve as a recommendation from a furniture designer who "couldn't recommend him highly enough". Indeed I was extremely impressed and completely overwhelmed by the work he has done for me over the past few weeks (March 2011). From the moment we first got in contact, I have found him to be proactive, efficient, clear-thinking and professional. He very quickly arranged at a time which was convenient to come and assess the job and provided critical and constructive insights as to how it would be best completed. In the execution of the work, I returned home each day to be both amazed at the progress he had made, and also the tidy state in which he left the house each evening. I could never be as consistently punctual for appointments a Steve was! whenever we agreed to meet at the house at a certain time, he was always there, which was an additional comfort in the professionalism with which he operates. The quality of the work, and the accuracy with which he met his estimated timelines and quotations was perfect and I am extremely happy with what he has done. I too, can now not recommend Steve highly enough.
Which? Review, 12713223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Stephen after reading his Which Local reviews. He refurbished my dilapidated wood frame lean to conservatory. It is now good as new. I was able to trust him with my keys. Highly recommended.
Which? Review, 15751123/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached Steve, finding his name on Which Local. I wanted some fitted base kitchen cupboards removed and then the work surface secured. I found Steve to be very polite and courteous, keeping me informed as to when he would arrrive. He applied himself prompty to the task in hand, worked efficiently, quietly and tidily. It was the first time I had used his services and would recommend him without hesitation.
Which? Review, 12896523/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He arrived like an angel to make minor adjustments to the front door which we could no longer lock, due to subsidence movement. Our insurance company was doing nothing very much despite a claim and works going on intermittently for 25 years and things had got desperate. Now able to lock up and leave the house again, my comment isn't about any great skills in this case, but the willingness to go out of his way to help us in an emergency situation with the greatest of good grace.
Which? Review, 14858423/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Stephen on the basis of reviews in Which Local and I am very glad I did. He built shelves and a cupboard in the alcoves next to my fireplace, incorporating wiring for electricity, and my phone and cable. His work was completed on time and was excellent. Everything has clearly been done very carefully, with attention to detail. Stephen flexibly responded to my specific requirements (such as the wiring) and was a pleasure to deal with.
Which? Review, 17306723/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Stephen before I knew he would be able to install and customise the aluminum steps securely leading down to the basement area at short notice. He did another superb job as you can see from the photos.. I can once again without hesitation highly recommend Stephen.
Which? Review, 20412223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A local company Kraftwork recommended Stephen and his cheery 'can do' attitude complimented his reliability and the resulting excellent work. Will definately call him again first as soon as I need any work doing.
Which? Review, 17101123/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Based on positive reviews on Which local we asked Stephen to build us some fitted bookcases in our living room. He did a fantastic job - they are exactly what we wanted, he was lovely to work with listening to our requests, he delivered on time and was friendly and very tidy. I'd definitely strongly recommend him to others!
Which? Review, 19612023/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"I recently used Steve (Mr Stephen Conyer)to build some additional kitchen units to my existing ones. He arrived punctually
Which? Review, 14732623/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"Steve made two bookcases for my mother and did an excellent job.
Which? Review, 14717223/07/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
"I asked Stephen to do some work on my wood framed windows last summer which involved removing and refurbishing. He did an excellent job and has very good carpentry skills for this kind of work.
Which? Review, 18582823/07/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen has worked for us twice. First, a couple of years ago, installing fitted wardrobes in our bedroom. Last year, adjusting a kitchen cupboard so that we could install a refrigerator. The first job was tricky, as there are no right angles in the house, and fitting the cupboards in properly was a very fiddly job. Stephen did a great job ? creative in finding solutions, understanding what we wanted, patient, and many times we have commented how happy we are with the result. And the same goes for the kitchen cupboard adjustment. He is also a really comfortable person to have in the house. Strongly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/05/2017
The trader replied (on 04/05/2018)
Thank you for reviewing my work which is most apprecIated and was a pleasure to work for you. Please don’t hesitate to get in contact if I can be of service again some time in the future. Kindest regards, Stephen
High quality furniture that you will enjoy for a lifetime
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alcove storage bookcases and fitted period style wardrobes based on designs which reflected our requirements, with all the details discussed and agreed with us. All the work was completed to very high standards and on time. Steve is very reliable, professional and a pleasure to have around.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/05/2017
The trader replied (on 04/05/2018)
Thank you for taking the time to review my work and I look forward to working for you again in the future Kindest regards Stephen
A problem solver who takes a real pride in his work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen designed and built a beautiful unit in my living room to keep my TV, ornaments, books in. It also had three cupboards underneath to store a lot of stuff including printer, tv and dvd boxes etc. He has done this with no wires and cables showing and it is a beautiful piece of furniture. He also built a fitted floor to ceiling wardrobe with sliding doors and a bathroom cabinet. Everything was to the highest standard. He was easy to communicate and to have working in the house and I have no hesitation in recommending him most highly
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer15/07/2016
The trader replied (on 04/05/2018)
Thank you for your review and hope to be of service again in the future! All the best Stephen
Superb carpenter, designer and cabinet maker.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephen Conyer built and installed bookshelves, wardrobes, cabinets and cupboards for me in 2012, 2014 and 2016. He understood exactly what I wanted and also had his own design suggestions. His work is excellent, I am delighted with the results and his work has been much admired by visitors. He is by far the best carpenter, cabinet maker I have ever worked with. I cannot recommend him too highly. Everything arrived and was installed on time as well.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/11/2012
The trader replied (on 04/05/2018)
Thanks so much for taking the time to review my work which is much appreciated and I hope to be of service again in the future Best wishes Stephen