We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephens Removals

Profile thumb logo
4.8

62 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:00
  • Monday 08:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:00
  • Thursday 08:30–17:00
  • Friday 08:30–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

About

Welcome to Stephens Removals. A long established removals company specialising in house moves and office relocations in the UK, Europe and Overseas.

Whatever your removal – whether it is simply moving house, relocating your business and staff, requiring international shipping or needing secure storage – you can be assured of Stephens Removals attention to detail and high quality of service. We can give you the best of both worlds; a removals company large enough to cope but small enough to care.

Stephens Removals are proud to be one of the areas premier removals companies, having been established since 1960 means we have the experience to lead the way in providing the highest standards of service, courtesy and professionalism. During the last 50 years we have built an enviable reputation and a very high percentage of our customers have chosen to move with us more than once.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • office moves
    • document storage
    • shipping services
    • packaging

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
62 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fast and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the removals people. They were quick, friendly, professional and did the work with no issues. Very happy and would use them again if I ever had to move
Customer in Bedford Posted on 11/10/2021 , work completed 27/09/2021
No problems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. thourough, polite.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/10/2021 , work completed 01/09/2021
A happy and very obliging team made for a quick and efficient move!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having moved 15 times now, we found Stephens' removal and office teams were the best we have ever had - so cheery and helpful from start to finish, despite some very heavy furniture and awkward stairs on 3 floors. They even offered to remove rubbish from our garage and took my precious potting shed (we had dismantled ready for them) as well as 13 big trees in pots (without any damage)! On the packing side, perhaps a little more wrapping might not have come amiss, in particular with contents of drawers which stayed in place and got jammed up so we couldn't open them for while, but found nothing broken. It has been so helpful that they have offered to remove empty boxes by arrangement to enable the unpacking to keep on going. Well done to all involved and our thanks again!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 30/09/2021 , work completed 08/09/2021
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The entire process was a very professional service. The quote was conducted quickly and the price was competitive. The removals team were fast but careful when handling of the contents of my house on both the loading and unloading and even helped position furniture.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
Moving on
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens were brilliant from the admin and secretary to the crew themselves. Quick to help when we were let down by another firm. Polite and helpful throughout. Worked extremely hard and fast to pack and move house contents including garden bits. Professional and efficient. Great to see a woman on the crew as well! Nothing broken or misplaced... Brilliant service.
Andrea in Bedford Posted on 28/09/2021 , work completed 08/09/2021
Very pleased!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved my 76 year old mum in early August 2021. Whilst I’d done all her packing and it was a small job for them as she was downsizing and didn’t have much to move or far to go, the movers arrived ahead of time and got on with the task at hand. They were lovely. They started upstairs and moved room by room, they asked where we’d like the boxes even with labels on them and moved furniture to suit my mum. The girls in the office were super helpful, and whilst this was a small job in comparison to others they do, the whole event was very easy, mum and I were very pleased and I recommend Stephens to anyone looking to move house, no matter how big or small your move is.
Sarah in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 31/08/2021 , work completed 05/08/2021
Excellent, as usual.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company three times now and every time it has been outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. This time we added a 100 kilo treadmill to the itinerary and moving it was a piece of cake for the lads. Would recommend this company every time.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 25/08/2021 , work completed 12/04/2021
Wouldn’t use them again,
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’ve used Stephens twice before, always been very happy, this time I was very disappointed. They quoted to move me from LU6 to LU5. Less than half a mile away. Their surveyor told me how many boxes I would probably need as I had already started packing, so I went and collected the boxes he’d recommended from their Luton office, all very easy and straightforward so far. On moving day they came on time and started to load my possessions. Not room by room but as they found fit. First problem was they had loaded my Hoover on the van, by the time I noticed it was gone it was too far in the front of the van to get it off. From then it went rapidly downhill, their notes said it was a 3 storey house, but it was actually 4 as I had a cellar, that seemed to annoy them immensely, after that they just seemed to not care one bit. I received the call to say the keys were available and they immediately asked me to get them as they had finished and were going to the new house to wait for me to let them in. I had to get the keys, leaving my son at the old house to Hoover up with a tiny little Hoover. I then had to return to the old house to finish cleaning, and leave them to bring my possessions in. They had sent for help, so now there were in total 7 men at the new house. We had to make 2 trips in both our cars to bring what Stephens left behind at the old house. All my boxes were clearly labelled but they just dumped it all hapazardly in the wrong rooms. Service not what it used to be.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 24/08/2021 , work completed 13/08/2021
The trader replied (on 26/08/2021)
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our service, we strive to provide the best removal service in the area and it is most unusual to hear of such an unhappy experience. To answer some of your points we would usually ask that anything that is not to be taken by us be grouped all together in one place to avoid things being taken in error. To make the best use of the space on the removals vehicle the crew will need a mixture of furniture and boxes which may mean that the move out may not be done room by room as you mention. I can understand that having a lot of men bringing things in at your new home can be rather daunting, I can only imagine that one of our other crews was passing and called in to offer some assistance however on this occasion I recognise that this wasn't perhaps the best thing to do. We do take all feedback, good or otherwise, very seriously and would like to assure you that we do take your comments on board. Please accept our apologies again for any inconvenience caused and very best wishes in your new home.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved us from Bedfordshire to Dorset via storage and every aspect of the move from the first phone call to to the last piece of furniture was carried out with professionalism.Thanks to all friendly and helpful staff. A great crew to be proud of.
Peter in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 27/04/2021 , work completed 19/04/2021
Excellent Service - Start to Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Engaging Stephens to quote for and undertake our removal out of area was definitely the right move! From the initial survey and quote, through fluid exchange and completion dates, to the loading and unloading themselves the Stephens staff were excellent. AJ and his team were efficient in the loading ahead of departure, and at our destination despite the wait for the vendor to finish their loading an hour after completion! Nothing was too much trouble for them. We highly recommend Stephens Removals to those in the process of selling, or just thinking about moving. Thanks again!
Dennis in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 26/03/2021