We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephens Removals

Profile thumb logo
4.8

47 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:30
  • Monday 09:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:30
  • Thursday 09:00–17:30
  • Friday 09:00–17:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Welcome to Stephens Removals. A long established removals company specialising in house moves and office relocations in the UK, Europe and Overseas.

Whatever your removal – whether it is simply moving house, relocating your business and staff, requiring international shipping or needing secure storage – you can be assured of Stephens Removals attention to detail and high quality of service. We can give you the best of both worlds; a removals company large enough to cope but small enough to care.

Stephens Removals are proud to be one of the areas premier removals companies, having been established since 1960 means we have the experience to lead the way in providing the highest standards of service, courtesy and professionalism. During the last 50 years we have built an enviable reputation and a very high percentage of our customers have chosen to move with us more than once.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
47 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens Removals provided an excellent service from my initial enquiry to the final move. All the staff were friendly and professional. Also a very competitive quote!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/01/2019 , work completed 03/01/2019
The trader replied (on 28/03/2019)
Many thanks for your review, so glad to hear that we are doing a good job!
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend this company to anyone.
Colin, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/12/2018 , work completed 28/12/2018
The trader replied (on 28/03/2019)
Thank you Colin, your review is much appreciated
Absolutely brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, Stephens provided a first rate service. Staff spoken to on the phone and the estimate were supportive and knowledgeable. The removal team were extremely skilled and very friendly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/11/2018 , work completed 16/11/2018
Trust is a two way street
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens turned up on time and worked hard to move our furniture on a very hot day. The cost was very reasonable and their estimator was first class. However, they were over keen to sell me insurance for the move at a whopping 12.5% of the removal fee. Many home contents policies already incorporate cover for accidental damage if using a professional remover and I didn't need Stephens' add-on insurance. When I explained this they would not take my word for it and required me to provide copies of my home contents policy schedule and relevant terms of cover. This lead to an uncomfortable telephone conversation with their management in which they would not back down. For the sake of expediency I had to give in and submit the details - private details in my opinion and probably subject of the GDPR. For this reason and this reason only I will not use them again. If you are planning a move check your home contents policy - you will probably find you already have cover. The removals industry will not point this out to you and at 12.5% you can understand why. I was amused that, after all the argument their eventual acceptance that I was covered, I received a booking confirmation from Stephens that contained one more attempt to sell me insurance.
Miller Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
Never again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Breath-takingly rude, arrogant, and unprofessional in my opinion. I will never ever use this removal firm again. I would advise you to go elsewhere too. Seriously, go anywhere else. Any other company would have to be better than these people who treat the customer with utter contempt and hostility. I have given them one star simply because this website requires it. If it were up to me, though, they would be awarded negative points. It is simply inexcusable for any organisation purporting to offer a certain level of customer service to act in such bad faith as these people have done with me. A huge disappointment.
Christina Winters Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved me into my new home swiftly and carefully. From start to finish they were brilliant. Great value, office staff were superb, guys were super quick. Nothing got broken. And above all very professional and made moving seem easy. I would thoroughly recommend and definitely use again. Many thanks.
NickJM Posted on 24/08/2018 , work completed 24/08/2018
Brilliant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens were efficient in terms of booking and boxes. Staff on the phones are always friendly and helpful. We moved twice in 6 months, both times with Stephens. We had a different team of men each time, but both had a brilliant work ethic and were really friendly and personable. They spoke to neighbours and negotiated with site men, moving around the obstacles and deep holes when moving us onto a building site! They put delicates, sofas and TVs in protective bags and moved without issue, negotiating tight doorways and 2 storeys. On both moves we were out and then in within 6 hours. I can’t recommend them enough!!
Paula100 Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
Stephens made moving a breeze
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens removal company was recommended to us and they were fantastic. The office staff were extremely polite, helpful and understanding. The gentleman who came out to assess how much we wanted moving in order to provide quotes for their range of services was excellent and gave us some useful tips for packing. The removal team were very polite and extremely efficient. All our boxes and furniture etc were handled carefully and they had a very effective system for loading and unloading the lorry. I would highly recommend this company - transportation of everything was stress free
Boakesd Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
So glad we chose Stephens
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean, Jacob and Martin are my new superheroes! Martin professionally packed all our fragile items so everything arrived safely. Our heroes kept everything very calm and under control – including us. They coped with a lorry having a tyre blow-out in front of them on the M1, a delay in the solicitors transferring funds while they had their prolonged lunch, and finally a seller who would not give us the keys although she no longer owned the house! I am a great fan of all Stephens Removals staff and will not hesitate to recommend them. Despite the trauma everything arrived safely, and Dean and Jacob remained calm and professional throughout. Altogether we are very grateful that we chose Stephens!
Wintle Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Fantastic removal company - highly recommend them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens removal company was recommended to us and they were fantastic. The office staff were extremely polite, helpful and understanding. The gentleman who came out to assess how much we wanted moving in order to provide quotes for their range of services was excellent and gave us some useful tips for packing. The removal team were very polite and extremely efficient. All our boxes and furniture etc were handled carefully and they had a very effective system for loading and unloading the lorry. I would highly recommend this company - transportation of everything was stress free.
Briggs Posted on 07/06/2018 , work completed 07/06/2018