We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Stephens Removals

Profile thumb logo
4.8

47 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:30
  • Monday 09:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:30
  • Thursday 09:00–17:30
  • Friday 09:00–17:30
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Welcome to Stephens Removals. A long established removals company specialising in house moves and office relocations in the UK, Europe and Overseas.

Whatever your removal – whether it is simply moving house, relocating your business and staff, requiring international shipping or needing secure storage – you can be assured of Stephens Removals attention to detail and high quality of service. We can give you the best of both worlds; a removals company large enough to cope but small enough to care.

Stephens Removals are proud to be one of the areas premier removals companies, having been established since 1960 means we have the experience to lead the way in providing the highest standards of service, courtesy and professionalism. During the last 50 years we have built an enviable reputation and a very high percentage of our customers have chosen to move with us more than once.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
47 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.8
Sort by
Very pleased!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved my 76 year old mum in early August 2021. Whilst I’d done all her packing and it was a small job for them as she was downsizing and didn’t have much to move or far to go, the movers arrived ahead of time and got on with the task at hand. They were lovely. They started upstairs and moved room by room, they asked where we’d like the boxes even with labels on them and moved furniture to suit my mum. The girls in the office were super helpful, and whilst this was a small job in comparison to others they do, the whole event was very easy, mum and I were very pleased and I recommend Stephens to anyone looking to move house, no matter how big or small your move is.
Sarah in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 31/08/2021 , work completed 05/08/2021
Excellent, as usual.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company three times now and every time it has been outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. This time we added a 100 kilo treadmill to the itinerary and moving it was a piece of cake for the lads. Would recommend this company every time.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 25/08/2021 , work completed 12/04/2021
Wouldn’t use them again,
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’ve used Stephens twice before, always been very happy, this time I was very disappointed. They quoted to move me from LU6 to LU5. Less than half a mile away. Their surveyor told me how many boxes I would probably need as I had already started packing, so I went and collected the boxes he’d recommended from their Luton office, all very easy and straightforward so far. On moving day they came on time and started to load my possessions. Not room by room but as they found fit. First problem was they had loaded my Hoover on the van, by the time I noticed it was gone it was too far in the front of the van to get it off. From then it went rapidly downhill, their notes said it was a 3 storey house, but it was actually 4 as I had a cellar, that seemed to annoy them immensely, after that they just seemed to not care one bit. I received the call to say the keys were available and they immediately asked me to get them as they had finished and were going to the new house to wait for me to let them in. I had to get the keys, leaving my son at the old house to Hoover up with a tiny little Hoover. I then had to return to the old house to finish cleaning, and leave them to bring my possessions in. They had sent for help, so now there were in total 7 men at the new house. We had to make 2 trips in both our cars to bring what Stephens left behind at the old house. All my boxes were clearly labelled but they just dumped it all hapazardly in the wrong rooms. Service not what it used to be.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 24/08/2021 , work completed 13/08/2021
The trader replied (on 26/08/2021)
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our service, we strive to provide the best removal service in the area and it is most unusual to hear of such an unhappy experience. To answer some of your points we would usually ask that anything that is not to be taken by us be grouped all together in one place to avoid things being taken in error. To make the best use of the space on the removals vehicle the crew will need a mixture of furniture and boxes which may mean that the move out may not be done room by room as you mention. I can understand that having a lot of men bringing things in at your new home can be rather daunting, I can only imagine that one of our other crews was passing and called in to offer some assistance however on this occasion I recognise that this wasn't perhaps the best thing to do. We do take all feedback, good or otherwise, very seriously and would like to assure you that we do take your comments on board. Please accept our apologies again for any inconvenience caused and very best wishes in your new home.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved us from Bedfordshire to Dorset via storage and every aspect of the move from the first phone call to to the last piece of furniture was carried out with professionalism.Thanks to all friendly and helpful staff. A great crew to be proud of.
Peter in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 27/04/2021 , work completed 19/04/2021
Excellent Service - Start to Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Engaging Stephens to quote for and undertake our removal out of area was definitely the right move! From the initial survey and quote, through fluid exchange and completion dates, to the loading and unloading themselves the Stephens staff were excellent. AJ and his team were efficient in the loading ahead of departure, and at our destination despite the wait for the vendor to finish their loading an hour after completion! Nothing was too much trouble for them. We highly recommend Stephens Removals to those in the process of selling, or just thinking about moving. Thanks again!
Dennis in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/04/2021 , work completed 26/03/2021
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am so glad I used Stephens Removals for my move. I moved from a third floor flat with no lift so you can imagine it was hard work for the team. The team were excellent and very considerate and everyone at Stephens (Luton office) was really helpful from my first enquiry to paying the final invoice. I was also very happy with the price. The removal team worked so hard and it was a long day. I would definitely recommend Stephens Removals.
Debbie in Borehamwood Posted on 24/03/2021 , work completed 22/02/2021
Great move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys worked their socks off and were courteous and helpful. Can’t fault them. Office staff were helpful too. Highly recommended.
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 23/02/2021
Can't fault them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Some of the best money I've ever spent I think. I think it cost us a little over £900 all in. From quote to final invoice we experienced no problems at all. All very professional. On the day Bob and Steve arrived just before 9, introduced themselves, we had a cup of tea and a little chat to start the day. Both were very friendly and chatty. They had a quick look around and then got started. How hard these guys work is unreal. A couple more cups of tea throughout the morning and our entire house is packed up and ready to go. I'm probably over a decade younger than both Steve and Bob but I think I'd be just about ready to collapse by now. All breakables professionally wrapped up to protect them as well. Off to the new house, quick spot of lunch and then the process starts itself in reverse. Everything goes to the room you require it to, in the place you want it. We had a large fridge freezer arrive that AO dumped behind the door so it wouldn't close and refused to bring it in any further. Bob and Steve to the rescue! So in summary if and when we move house again I wouldn't even entertain the thought of using anyone else and definitely wouldn't be moving myself. 100% recommend. Five stars
Customer in Luton Posted on 13/03/2021 , work completed 26/02/2021
Professional, friendly, reliable and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved us from Elstow to Wootton. AJ and the team were first class. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was packed up and moved with speed, efficiency and professionalism. Moving can be stressful, but Stephens made the whole process very easy for us from start to finish. Nothing was broken and every care was taken to get things in and out without any damage. Everyone worked extremely hard and the whole team was friendly and courteous throughout. I would also like to thank the girls in the office who were very patient with our constantly moving completion date, and who were very understanding when we had a few hiccups on exchange. I would definitely recommend this company to anyone looking to move house.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 12/03/2021 , work completed 26/02/2020
A happy experience from start to finish.
We moved from Bedford To Cromer Norfolk. Stephens provided a very good service from the original quote through to final payment. Stephens made our moving day as good as it gets without any worries.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 11/03/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Courteous, efficient and strong!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved us from Dunstable to Totternhoe, a very short distance, but everything was wrapped and packed as though we were moved 100's of miles away. The movers were very courteous and careful with everything and not a single thing was damaged in anyway. I would recommend them to everyone.
Sue in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/03/2021 , work completed 24/02/2021
Great move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens Removals moved us from Bedfordshire to Cambridgeshire in mid-December and the whole experience was probably the easiest move we have ever had. They turned up on time on both the loading and moving days, they were quick, efficient, tidy, clean, cheerful and helpful. They observed the necessary restrictions in regard to COVID and left no mess. We would certainly highly recommend them.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 18/01/2021 , work completed 15/12/2020
Excellent service by all area’s of the team. From the first telephone call to return in the used boxes after our move. I can recommend this company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent company to do business with. Professional, friendly and very efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were the only positive during a very stressful house move. A brilliant company to deal with.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 16/01/2021 , work completed 16/12/2020
Domestic House Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens provided a very prompt survey and quote that was extremely competitive. Thereafter, the service provided was excellent from the warmness and efficiency of the staff answering the telephone, the ongoing communication and the staff who went the extra mile to accommodate our move date. On move day, the move team were friendly, efficient and professional. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this company.
Customer in Luton Posted on 15/01/2021 , work completed 17/12/2020
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved house twice within 2 months and used Stephens both times. They were absolutely fantastic. They arrived on time both mornings and packed up a 4 bedroom house with amazing efficiency. All of our belongings were treated with care and delivered to the new address in the same condition they left. Everything was placed in the room where we requested it to go and the time it took was amazingly quick. I would highly recommend Stephens and would definitely use them again in the unlikely event of another house move.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/12/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
Fantastic!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The move went very smoothly. Both Martin and Bradly were absolute stars! They worked tremendously hard all day and moved all our stuff without fuss. They were also very careful when delivering to the new flat which had a newish wooden floor. They went out of their way to make the whole experience as good as it could ever be. I would also like to thank the whole team, as from start to finish the service has been incredible. Couldn’t have asked for more 😊
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/12/2020 , work completed 27/11/2020
Amazing service and lovely to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens were wonderful. I can’t recommend them highly enough. They were incredibly accommodating with our changing moving schedule and always communicative and friendly. The move itself went incredibly smoothly. The packing service was a joy to behold and the moving team worked incredibly hard all day. Making sure everything was where we wanted it. They broke down and rebuilt our beds which is just want you want after a busy day. They even were very considerate of our very freaked out cat! They were brilliant - worth every penny and more besides!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class professional service from quotation to packing and loading and then to delivering and unloading. Everything worked to agreed schedule and on budget. Staff were friendly and attentive and extremely helpful.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 24/11/2020
Great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens Removals gave great customer service to my elderly father when he recently moved house. From start to finish he was treated with respect and care. It was easy to speak to Lauren about any queries and she followed through with any actions needed. The team of packers and movers were efficient, careful and easy to work with. The Stephens team definitely made the move easier than it might otherwise have been. Thanks to all involved!
Customer in Nottinghamshire Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 27/11/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and Lee arrived on time and completed my house removal with care and efficiency. In the unlikely event that I ever consider moving house again I would definitely use them. I have already recommended them to friends and family.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 03/10/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We couldn't have asked for a more helpful and hard working crew. Liam and Jacob were polite and industrious. Our experience from the initial enquiry to the admin staff, to the last piece of furniture being carried into our new house was outstanding. Thank you.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 24/09/2020
Great Company with some great staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact with the estimator (COVID safe) to the first of the two days of removal we had a very professional and polite service. Sound advice was shared freely and when needed the team were very innovative in overcoming some of the challenges that arose. Dean and Lee were outstanding and a credit to the company, being thoughtful, careful and hilarious on occasion, making the days less stressful. Would ( and have) recommend.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 26/09/2020 , work completed 11/09/2020
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A thoroughly professional service. Nothing was too much trouble for either office staff or removers. The chap who came to do the quote was great too. Our piano suffered minor damage but Stephen's told us about it and got it repaired.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 23/09/2020 , work completed 07/09/2020
Flexible, fast and very friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called at short notice and Stephens were able to accommodate us moving some of our belongings from Welwyn to Coventry. Turned up on time, packed the vans efficiently and were very helpful and fast unloading the load in Coventry. Phil and Aaron did an amazing job on o very hot day and we were really happy with the service we received. We also think that the cost was very reasonable. Will definitely use Stephens when we move the rest of our stuff
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 20/09/2020 , work completed 14/09/2020
Great removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens of Luton were brilliant from start to finish. Office staff and removal men were all accommodating, flexible, helpful, careful and cheerful. Made a difficult day easy.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/08/2020 , work completed 13/08/2020
MOVING AND STORAGE
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Guys were brilliant and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. 11 out of 10 !
Lesley Posted on 06/08/2020 , work completed 02/04/2020
Outstanding service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and his team were absolutely fantastic from start to finish. We were so impressed with how they continued to work throughout the heat on the hottest day of the year. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they took the stress out of our move! Thank you so much! Dean kept us informed at all times during the packing and moving - he is an asset to your company. We would highly recommend Stephens removals!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 31/07/2020
Outstanding removal company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Stephens Removals worked to a very high standard. Always checking with yourself if any queries. Packed all items to a high standard and delivered them safely to our new home.
Keith, Derbyshire Posted on 26/02/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service from 1st phone call to last box off the lorry. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/02/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
Simply Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish at every point of contact, Stephens were excellent. Over the 2 days they were sensitive to the fact we were leaving our home of 33 years. Nothing was too much trouble and we had zero breakages. Good natured, good humored and they worlde well as a team. I would recommend then without hesitation
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
The trader replied (on 28/03/2019)
Thank you very much indeed, best wishes in your new home!
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens Removals provided an excellent service from my initial enquiry to the final move. All the staff were friendly and professional. Also a very competitive quote!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/01/2019 , work completed 03/01/2019
The trader replied (on 28/03/2019)
Many thanks for your review, so glad to hear that we are doing a good job!
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend this company to anyone.
Colin, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/12/2018 , work completed 28/12/2018
The trader replied (on 28/03/2019)
Thank you Colin, your review is much appreciated
Absolutely brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish, Stephens provided a first rate service. Staff spoken to on the phone and the estimate were supportive and knowledgeable. The removal team were extremely skilled and very friendly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/11/2018 , work completed 16/11/2018
Trust is a two way street
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens turned up on time and worked hard to move our furniture on a very hot day. The cost was very reasonable and their estimator was first class. However, they were over keen to sell me insurance for the move at a whopping 12.5% of the removal fee. Many home contents policies already incorporate cover for accidental damage if using a professional remover and I didn't need Stephens' add-on insurance. When I explained this they would not take my word for it and required me to provide copies of my home contents policy schedule and relevant terms of cover. This lead to an uncomfortable telephone conversation with their management in which they would not back down. For the sake of expediency I had to give in and submit the details - private details in my opinion and probably subject of the GDPR. For this reason and this reason only I will not use them again. If you are planning a move check your home contents policy - you will probably find you already have cover. The removals industry will not point this out to you and at 12.5% you can understand why. I was amused that, after all the argument their eventual acceptance that I was covered, I received a booking confirmation from Stephens that contained one more attempt to sell me insurance.
Miller Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
Never again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Breath-takingly rude, arrogant, and unprofessional in my opinion. I will never ever use this removal firm again. I would advise you to go elsewhere too. Seriously, go anywhere else. Any other company would have to be better than these people who treat the customer with utter contempt and hostility. I have given them one star simply because this website requires it. If it were up to me, though, they would be awarded negative points. It is simply inexcusable for any organisation purporting to offer a certain level of customer service to act in such bad faith as these people have done with me. A huge disappointment.
Christina Winters Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved me into my new home swiftly and carefully. From start to finish they were brilliant. Great value, office staff were superb, guys were super quick. Nothing got broken. And above all very professional and made moving seem easy. I would thoroughly recommend and definitely use again. Many thanks.
NickJM Posted on 24/08/2018 , work completed 24/08/2018
Brilliant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens were efficient in terms of booking and boxes. Staff on the phones are always friendly and helpful. We moved twice in 6 months, both times with Stephens. We had a different team of men each time, but both had a brilliant work ethic and were really friendly and personable. They spoke to neighbours and negotiated with site men, moving around the obstacles and deep holes when moving us onto a building site! They put delicates, sofas and TVs in protective bags and moved without issue, negotiating tight doorways and 2 storeys. On both moves we were out and then in within 6 hours. I can’t recommend them enough!!
Paula100 Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
Stephens made moving a breeze
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens removal company was recommended to us and they were fantastic. The office staff were extremely polite, helpful and understanding. The gentleman who came out to assess how much we wanted moving in order to provide quotes for their range of services was excellent and gave us some useful tips for packing. The removal team were very polite and extremely efficient. All our boxes and furniture etc were handled carefully and they had a very effective system for loading and unloading the lorry. I would highly recommend this company - transportation of everything was stress free
Boakesd Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
So glad we chose Stephens
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean, Jacob and Martin are my new superheroes! Martin professionally packed all our fragile items so everything arrived safely. Our heroes kept everything very calm and under control – including us. They coped with a lorry having a tyre blow-out in front of them on the M1, a delay in the solicitors transferring funds while they had their prolonged lunch, and finally a seller who would not give us the keys although she no longer owned the house! I am a great fan of all Stephens Removals staff and will not hesitate to recommend them. Despite the trauma everything arrived safely, and Dean and Jacob remained calm and professional throughout. Altogether we are very grateful that we chose Stephens!
Wintle Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Fantastic removal company - highly recommend them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens removal company was recommended to us and they were fantastic. The office staff were extremely polite, helpful and understanding. The gentleman who came out to assess how much we wanted moving in order to provide quotes for their range of services was excellent and gave us some useful tips for packing. The removal team were very polite and extremely efficient. All our boxes and furniture etc were handled carefully and they had a very effective system for loading and unloading the lorry. I would highly recommend this company - transportation of everything was stress free.
Briggs Posted on 07/06/2018 , work completed 07/06/2018
Great Team, Great Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cannot recommend them highly enough! Had the packing service - great care taken - although a lot of highly breakable objects nothing was damaged. Great care was taken with the removal of the furniture and no walls marked. The two teams turned up promptly in the morning ready to start work, and they certainly worked hard all the time. There is no way I could fault anything they did and quite frankly can only heap praise on them. I would certainly recommend Stephens to anyone contemplating moving house. From the person who came to give an estimate, to the office staff and removal men, it would be extremely hard to find any company better.
cuckoo Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Thanks for a smooth moving experience!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens moved my mum from a house to a flat recently, and were outstanding. The people in the office were always helpful and flexible, and managed to fit us in at short notice and also changed the packing date at our request as my mum couldn't make the original date suggested Their removals people were professional, friendly and reliable. A photo frame was damaged during the packing phase and they replaced it the next day. And to top it all, they were much more reasonable than the other removals firms we got quotes from. I have no hesitation in recommending them - and they came via a personal recommendation to me, so that says a lot.
AnnieG Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Made moving house a breeze!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend Stephens to anyone moving house. From the first person coming out to do an assessment for the quote to the office bookings and the team that came to do the move everyone was helpful friendly and efficient. The guys that did the move were amazing, they were professional, careful and efficient. They packed everything into the van, wrapping furniture where needed in such good time. Once we’d got the new keys they protects the floors and stairs and unpacked everything to the new house into the rooms we wanted things in. I could not fault the team at all and made the move so stress-free. Thank you!
Amy Brooks Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
The trader replied (on 23/02/2018)
Thank you very much for your review Amy, glad everything went so well with your move. Very best wishes in your new home
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nothing was too much trouble particularly as we had to change move to storage instead. And it was all dealt with very professionally & helped us through a difficult situation. Would recommend.
Celia, London Posted on 23/03/2016 , work completed 23/03/2016
Very happy with job, well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stephens' service was "spot-on" 5 man team were efficient, very hard working, thoroughly co-operative and courteous.
Anthony, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/03/2016 , work completed 16/03/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our removal men worked hard, moving us from Bedfordshire to West Glamorgan. The move was to take 2 days but they did it in a day.
Geoffrey, West Glamorgan Posted on 15/03/2016 , work completed 15/03/2016
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service from Stephens was brilliant, from initial call out to assess our requirements, to the ladies who arranged out boxes, & not forgetting our removal men who were superb. They got on with the job & had the van packed & unloaded before we knew it. They were wonderful.
Elizabeth, Merseyside Posted on 09/12/2015 , work completed 09/12/2015
Moved house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional. Arrived on time and were very careful looking after our things including covering our carpets.
Rugg- Easy, Milton Keynes Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015