We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Steve Chamberlain & Son

Profile thumb capture
4.9

30 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–13:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a family run decorating business based in Henbury, Bristol. From this location we are local to the M5 and M4 Motorways and are able to cover Bristol and a wide surrounding area.

Steve Chamberlain and Sons have a wide range of knowledge of every aspect of decorating. We primarily work on domestic projects but we have also taken on commercial work such as offices and hotels. One of the larger hotels we have taken decorating work is the Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath. We have also worked in large industrial units, public houses, schools and colleges which include Clifton College in Bristol.

Steve Chamberlain is a member of the Guild of Master Craftsmen.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team were fantastic - reliable, efficient and they did a great job. I would highly recommend them.
Samantha, Avon Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
An absolute pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decoration of dining room. Everything was done to a high standard, as always with this company. Steve Chamberlain and Sons are an absolute pleasure to deal with. Their work is first rate, and they are great people! They have been doing all our decorating for years, and we hope they will continue doing so for years to come.
Happy Customer Posted on 17/11/2016 , work completed 17/11/2016
An excellent team of decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Total re-decorating inside and outside of a modernised 5-bed Victorian pair of cottages Steve and his team did a great job. The job was quite complicated, with builders still on site a lot of the time, and they were very accommodating while at the same time making sure their work would be finished to a high standard (e.g. dust-free and not affected by later onsite activities). They painted the outside of the house, made small repairs where needed, and painted and wallpapered inside, all to a very high standard. The team were all lovely people to have in my home. Steve himself is very professional; he is calm, friendly, respectful, and helpful. He takes great pride, justifiably, in his work. He was also very helpful in helping make decisions about paints and wallpapers and came up with some good ideas. Not the cheapest but in this case you get what you pay for and it was money well spent!
Anonymous Posted on 15/11/2016 , work completed 15/11/2016
A team for all seasons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painter: Living Room, Lounge, Kitchen 2006 All Wooden front of house (bay windows) end of June 2016. (This is a second attempt to write this review as my first attempt does not seem to have gone through) Excellent , efficient, clean work ten years ago caused us to ask Mr. Chamberlain for a quotation for this year's re-decorations. He did not disappoint us and intend to ask him for quotations for further work in the near future. His team consists of polite and pleasant craftsmen. Reliable and always on time.
Anon Posted on 29/06/2016 , work completed 29/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his son, Luke, painted our exterior walls (pebble-dash) and gates (wood/metal). They turned up promptly at 8am every morning and we found them to be very courteous, and they brought their own refreshments and only came in the house to use the loo. They were careful to put down protective sheeting even though they were working outside and there was no mess at all. The work is done to a very high standard and we are really pleased. I can't comment on whether or not they were competitive in terms of price as we didn't get another quotation, since they already had such good reviews here on Which Local, but it seemed like a fair price for the time taken and quality of the work.
Tansin Posted on 10/09/2014 , work completed 10/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Chamberlain and his son completed a most professional job on our lounge and other areas of the house. They were really thorough. They were so clean and unobtrusive. Very pleasant to do business with . Very happy to recommend .
Jamel Posted on 23/05/2014 , work completed 23/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his sons did an excellent job decorating the stairwell, hall and landings in our three story townhouse. The task of obscuring the late 1980's dark wood of doors and skirting required special care. All-in-all a very good job and we thoroughly recommend them.
jpimpernell Posted on 18/02/2013 , work completed 18/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve and his sons on two occasions now. The first time in July 2007, when they painted a number of rooms in our house, and more recently, in March 2011, to redecorate a very tired utility room. On both occasions the work was completed to a very high standard. It is a pleasure to have them around, always courteous, smiling - and they always leave the house in a tidy state at the end of each day. I would have no trouble recommending them.
Living in Henleaze Posted on 16/06/2011 , work completed 16/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader has done jobs for us, both external painting, and the internal painting and decorating of the hall and stairs and three rooms. He has made an excellent job of all work, and has been very helpful in making suggestions, and doing minor ancillary jobs.
harry37 Posted on 29/10/2009 , work completed 29/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his sons are meticulous, reliable and skillful traditional craftsmen who take pride in their work as painters and decorators. To have Steve (who did most of the work for us) in the house is fun as he is always cheerful and clearly enjoys what he is doing while delivering excellent and clean workmanship. We will never take anybody else again!
Noel Santa Posted on 04/08/2009 , work completed 04/08/2009