We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Steve Chamberlain & Son

Profile thumb capture
4.9

30 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–13:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We are a family run decorating business based in Henbury, Bristol. From this location we are local to the M5 and M4 Motorways and are able to cover Bristol and a wide surrounding area.

Steve Chamberlain and Sons have a wide range of knowledge of every aspect of decorating. We primarily work on domestic projects but we have also taken on commercial work such as offices and hotels. One of the larger hotels we have taken decorating work is the Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath. We have also worked in large industrial units, public houses, schools and colleges which include Clifton College in Bristol.

Steve Chamberlain is a member of the Guild of Master Craftsmen.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
30 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found this firm on Which? Trusted Traders and have not been disappointed. Luke has now taken over the business from his father. We had the entire exterior of the house painted to a very high standard and three men were sent to do it. They were all extremely courteous and turned up at the time they said they would each day and finished it at the time we had been told they would finish. The scaffolding was also delivered and removed when we were told it would be.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 01/06/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Professional, friendly and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and Luke painted the outside and the inside of my house this year. I contracted them initially because of their excellent, clear, professional and thorough communication. I found them to be friendly, trust worthy, punctual and helpful and have been very pleased with their work and happy to have them in my home. They kept me updated on the progress and schedule of the work, always turned up on time and left the property clean and tidy at the end of each day - and worked with me to minimise the 'stress' of clearing each room. They completed the quite large job of painting most of the inside of my house within the estimated time schedule. I am very pleased with the finished result. Highly recommend.
Mrs Oliver Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 26/09/2019
Superb Painter and Decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have recently had a staircase painted by this company. They were recommended to me. Absolutely first class service from the initial contact to finished job. Polite, punctual, efficient, absolutely excellent standard of work and competitive pricing. So neat and tidy. A pleasure to have them work in the house. I don’t often post reviews but this company is definitely worth a mention. I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Mrs Jagger, City of Bristol Posted on 16/08/2019 , work completed 15/08/2019
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Front of house painting. Job completed on tie and to quotation. Clean and tidy workers. Good communication and professionally completed job. Well worth their 5 star rating.
Glyn, Avon Posted on 15/07/2019 , work completed 15/07/2019
A first class job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve was very helpful in re-assembling the bedroom furniture as well as thoroughly vacuuming, as I am unwell.
Roger, Avon Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Excellent job, completed on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Delivered as promised. From obtaining estimate, to completing excellent standard of work within time frame agreed. Already booked in for another job and would recommend to anyone.
Sue, Avon Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
High quality professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality workmanship, courteous and thoughtful customer service. It doesn't come cheap, but the Chamberlain's give good value for money.
Stephen, Avon Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
A team for all seasons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
High quality appearance of the bay windows. Clean, solid and efficient work. Very friendly experts.
Horst Claus, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressive decorators. They provided excellent communication both before and during the job. They were reliable, hard working and painstaking and took a real pride in their work. The results were excellent. They were always friendly and polite, and totally stress free to have around the house. They checked the finished job meticulously to ensure that we were totally happy.
Philip, Avon Posted on 06/06/2018 , work completed 06/06/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, neat and tidy in appearance and in his working. Good workman, good painter and decorator. Would definitely recommend him to friends and family.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Diligent Perfectionist
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They are expensive but will give you a very good finish.
Nicolas, Avon Posted on 02/01/2018 , work completed 02/01/2018
Professional & superb workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve & Luke are tidy, considerate & very good on communication - as well as being brilliant at painting & decorating. Their standards are high & they deliver every time.
Lin, Avon Posted on 01/01/2018 , work completed 01/01/2018
Excellent Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, professional, efficient and helpful. Thoroughly good decorators and I would highly recommend them.
Samantha, Avon Posted on 19/12/2017 , work completed 19/12/2017
Exceptional standard of work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very surprised with the previous post and I agree with the all the other, very positive, posts. My kitchen suppliers provided another painter and, yes, he was cheaper. But he was considerably less skilled and spent considerably less time on the job. In fact, Steve Chamberlain & Sons painting of the lounge and bathrooms and their newly plastered ceilings was so demonstrably better, that I will get them to re-paint the kitchen although it has only just been done by someone else. After discussing the work, Luke Chamberlain re-toured each room dictating the detail of what was required into his iPhone and the quote was much more detailed and transparent than many others. I had different ideal and absolute deadlines for the lounge and bathroom painting to coordinate with other tradesmen and the ideal deadlines were carefully adhered to and the team were totally reliable. Luke was also very good at communicating what had been done and what remained to do. The lounge walls and door were in a poor state and the preparatory work and filling to achieve the outstanding outcome must have been exceptional. Luke’s attention to the dangers of dust generated by moving furniture back afterwards impacting on the quality was indicative of the sort of obsessiveness you need as a tradesman to deliver top quality work. There is a saying ‘you get what you pay for’. If you want painting of the highest quality and excellent service, I totally recommend Steve, Luke and team.
Neil Fry Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Utterly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
While being friendly and cheerful, Steve and his crew never forgot that they are operating in somebody's home, and they always work hard to minimise any mess or disruption. Results are always first class, and their professionalism is to be admired.
Guy, Avon Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Would not use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had great hopes with Chamberlain and Son so I feel very let down by the low standard of work. Paint dripped down brick work, paint on Bath stone not cleaned up, not cleaning up area after work, dodgy filling and treating of areas prior to painting which then bubbled up. For the money I really can't recommend this team. Many others would do a better job and for less. They did come back to rectify bubbles, but once again not a tidy job.
Ian, Bristol Posted on 17/08/2017 , work completed 17/08/2017
Excellent Job - Very Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not the cheapest quote but professional approach got the job. Glad we chose this firm.
Peter, Avon Posted on 26/07/2017 , work completed 26/07/2017
So impressed!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was an absolute pleasure to have Steve and his team working in my house. Major internal and external decorating carried out with very little disruption to the household and with complete professionalism, to a very high standard. Such a polite and cheerful team who dealt with the job very thoughtfully. Will certainly use them again- cannot recommend them highly enough.
Gabrielle Veysey Posted on 24/07/2017 , work completed 24/07/2017
Reliable & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve has done work for us over many years and is always prompt, professional and friendly. He and his son are reliable, efficient, and the best workman to have in the house!
Pauline, Avon Posted on 03/07/2017 , work completed 03/07/2017
Really excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were delighted with the firm who were professional and efficient throughout. Each day they tidied up after them and we would recommend them without hesitation.
John, Avon Posted on 30/05/2017 , work completed 30/05/2017
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his team were fantastic - reliable, efficient and they did a great job. I would highly recommend them.
Samantha, Avon Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
An absolute pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decoration of dining room. Everything was done to a high standard, as always with this company. Steve Chamberlain and Sons are an absolute pleasure to deal with. Their work is first rate, and they are great people! They have been doing all our decorating for years, and we hope they will continue doing so for years to come.
Happy Customer Posted on 17/11/2016 , work completed 17/11/2016
An excellent team of decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Total re-decorating inside and outside of a modernised 5-bed Victorian pair of cottages Steve and his team did a great job. The job was quite complicated, with builders still on site a lot of the time, and they were very accommodating while at the same time making sure their work would be finished to a high standard (e.g. dust-free and not affected by later onsite activities). They painted the outside of the house, made small repairs where needed, and painted and wallpapered inside, all to a very high standard. The team were all lovely people to have in my home. Steve himself is very professional; he is calm, friendly, respectful, and helpful. He takes great pride, justifiably, in his work. He was also very helpful in helping make decisions about paints and wallpapers and came up with some good ideas. Not the cheapest but in this case you get what you pay for and it was money well spent!
Anonymous Posted on 15/11/2016 , work completed 15/11/2016
A team for all seasons
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Painter: Living Room, Lounge, Kitchen 2006 All Wooden front of house (bay windows) end of June 2016. (This is a second attempt to write this review as my first attempt does not seem to have gone through) Excellent , efficient, clean work ten years ago caused us to ask Mr. Chamberlain for a quotation for this year's re-decorations. He did not disappoint us and intend to ask him for quotations for further work in the near future. His team consists of polite and pleasant craftsmen. Reliable and always on time.
Anon Posted on 29/06/2016 , work completed 29/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his son, Luke, painted our exterior walls (pebble-dash) and gates (wood/metal). They turned up promptly at 8am every morning and we found them to be very courteous, and they brought their own refreshments and only came in the house to use the loo. They were careful to put down protective sheeting even though they were working outside and there was no mess at all. The work is done to a very high standard and we are really pleased. I can't comment on whether or not they were competitive in terms of price as we didn't get another quotation, since they already had such good reviews here on Which Local, but it seemed like a fair price for the time taken and quality of the work.
Tansin Posted on 10/09/2014 , work completed 10/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve Chamberlain and his son completed a most professional job on our lounge and other areas of the house. They were really thorough. They were so clean and unobtrusive. Very pleasant to do business with . Very happy to recommend .
Jamel Posted on 23/05/2014 , work completed 23/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his sons did an excellent job decorating the stairwell, hall and landings in our three story townhouse. The task of obscuring the late 1980's dark wood of doors and skirting required special care. All-in-all a very good job and we thoroughly recommend them.
jpimpernell Posted on 18/02/2013 , work completed 18/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Steve and his sons on two occasions now. The first time in July 2007, when they painted a number of rooms in our house, and more recently, in March 2011, to redecorate a very tired utility room. On both occasions the work was completed to a very high standard. It is a pleasure to have them around, always courteous, smiling - and they always leave the house in a tidy state at the end of each day. I would have no trouble recommending them.
Living in Henleaze Posted on 16/06/2011 , work completed 16/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader has done jobs for us, both external painting, and the internal painting and decorating of the hall and stairs and three rooms. He has made an excellent job of all work, and has been very helpful in making suggestions, and doing minor ancillary jobs.
harry37 Posted on 29/10/2009 , work completed 29/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve and his sons are meticulous, reliable and skillful traditional craftsmen who take pride in their work as painters and decorators. To have Steve (who did most of the work for us) in the house is fun as he is always cheerful and clearly enjoys what he is doing while delivering excellent and clean workmanship. We will never take anybody else again!
Noel Santa Posted on 04/08/2009 , work completed 04/08/2009