We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

sTILElistics

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday 10:00–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb stileistics logo

5.0

26 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Based in St Albans, Hertfordshire, Stilelistics provides a wall and floor tiling service mainly in the Herts, Beds and Bucks areas and also further afield if required.

This includes kitchens, bathrooms and conservatories, using a range of products from ceramics and porcelain through to many kinds of natural stone.

We also undertake repair work, re-grouting and replacing old silicone sealant.

Stilelistics can also provide a comprehensive interior decorating service.

I have over 10 years experience in my trade, and you see examples of my work by visiting my website above.

What we do

  • Tile fitters and showrooms

    • Floor tiling
    • Kitchen tiling
  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

5.0
26 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Brilliant job painting whole house.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard did a brilliant job painting our new home! We are very happy with the quality of his work. The house looks beautiful. He was neat and tidy, good at managing his time and our expectations. He is also a very nice person and was great with my cheeky 2 year old who would have liked to get involved with the painting.
Hannah Nixon27/10/2018
The trader replied (on 25/11/2018)
Thank you very much for your review Hannah. It was a pleasure working with you.
Wall Papering and Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard decorated my hall and stairs which entailed wall-papering and painting and made an excellent job of it and I had no hesitation in asking him to decorate my sitting -room. I valued his advice on the colour of paints and emulsion which would be best to use. He is conscientious and extremely trustworthy and I had no hesitation in leaving him in the house on his own.
Elizabeth03/10/2018
The trader replied (on 04/10/2018)
Thank you Elizabeth, your review is very much appreciated.
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decorating of dining room, cloakroom and upstairs toilet.
Mrs Y Halfhide, .14/06/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard carried out the work to a very high standard. He is very reliable and trustworthy would definitely recommend
zolmommy12/05/2018
Absolutely brilliant tiling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot rate Richard highly enough. Richard came to our rescue after we'd had a bad tiling job done in our bathroom. Richard replaced all the tiling and completed the work to an incredibly high standard. His attention to detail is second to none. Richard's communication throughout was excellent and he was great at managing the job, including arranging and liaising with a plasterer. I will definitely be using Richard's services again and thank my lucky stars that we found such a great person to do the job.
ShirinStewart04/03/2018
The trader replied (on 08/03/2018)
Thank you very much Shirin for the review, it's much appreciated.
A very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard painted our dining room, stairs and landing as one project; and then we asked him to come back and paint our kitchen and breakfast room while we were on holiday later that year. Richard is knowledgeable about what will and wont work well, tidy and methodical in his approach (which makes living while a sizeable project is going on much easier); trustworthy (we left him alone in our house for a week for the second project); and works to a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Richard and sTILEistics.
Paul H05/02/2018
The trader replied (on 08/03/2018)
Thank you very much Paul for the review, much appreciated
Great work and customer experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard did a very fine job tiling our bathroom. He dealt with a tricky existing situation incredibly well and solved all the problems with the existing state of the bathroom walls. He is a very considerate person to have working in your home and has a good attention to detail, the tiling still looks great and we are trying to book him for another job, I couldn't recommend him highly enough.
Jessica Sinclair04/02/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen, conservatory and cloakroom painted. Richard worked in a clean and efficient way and we were confident to leave him to work alone whilst we were out of the house. We were very impressed with the outcome.
Fiddler, .14/01/2018
Fantastic painter and decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lounge and dining room painted including ceiling, walls and wood work
Alan, .13/01/2018
Excellent job at a very reasonable price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After receiving a very high quote from another contractor, I couldn't believe how much lower Richard's quote was - almost half. At his first visit we were very impressed with his technical and product knowledge. Although he personally didn't tile our bathroom, Bradley, his colleague was brilliant. Quick, tidy and meticulous. His tile-trimming work around window frames and, dealing with a slightly sloping ceiling was immaculate. Highly recommended.
Stone30/12/2017
Bathroom Floor Tiling
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Re-tiled the bathroom floor. Richard had the very tricky job of carefully removing the existing tiles (we had no spares!) and managed to do so, fix the problem and make good the floor as new. An excellent job all round completed quickly and without fuss or mess for a good price.
Ed_Watson, .01/09/2017
Top quality work at an excellent price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard Gilbert of Stileistics, provides an excellent service. He is methodical, tidy and performs a high quality service for a reasonable price.
RichardC, .30/06/2017
Top quality work at an excellent price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard Gilbert of Stileistics, provides an excellent service. He is methodical, tidy and performs a high quality service for a reasonable price.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/06/2017
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen tiled including window ledges, Richard was meticulous in his preparation & final finishing of work. Was extremely conscientious & honoured quoted price even when job turned out to be bit more involved than first appeared. Would have no problem using his services again or recommending him to friends or family.
Paul W10/05/2017
Meticulous workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very happy with Richard?s meticulous and professional approach. His work is beautiful and technically perfect. Moreover he is a pleasant person to have around.
Rebecca, St Albans, .04/05/2017
Reliable, great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard had earlier done some good tiling work for me and I asked him to do internal decorating work, which carried out with skill and efficiency - and very pleasant and reliable to have working in the house..
abstalbans16/03/2017
Efficient Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had Richard decorate my lounge, kitchen, hallway, bathroom and bedroom. He prepared all surfaces and then applied white vinyl matt emulsion to the ceilings, vinyl matt emulsion to the walls and white gloss to the door where appropriate, door frames and skirting boards. I found him to be careful and tidy in his work. He was always very courteous and kept me informed of progress. He was careful to protect my furniture and carpets with suitable dust cloths. He was very good about clearing up at the end of each day's work. Should I need more work done, I would be happy to employ him again.
Joan, .14/03/2017
Delighted with the service and quality of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard removed a row of border tiles in my bathroom and replaced them with mosaic ones. It was a tricky job as there were tiles above and below the border. However, he did a very neat and tidy job and I'm very pleased with the result. Richard was a pleasure to do business with and kept me updated on a regular basis about when he would arrive to do the work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/02/2017
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the course of 12 months Richard has on and off re-decorated the interior of our house, including bedrooms, lounge, hall and landing as well as re-glossing our exterior front door. This has included prep work (some ceiling newly plastered), woodwork and finishing. He is very reliable, a good communicator (phone, text and email), quick to respond and very, very methodical. He spends a great deal of time prepping and this is shown in the high quality of the finished job. I trust Richard to be alone in the house and he has worked extra hours to finish jobs. Competitively priced and a nice, unobtrusive guy to have around. Happy to, and happy, recommended him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer15/12/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the course of 12 months Richard has on and off re-decorated the interior of our house, including bedrooms, lounge, hall and landing as well as re-glossing our exterior front door. This has included prep work (some ceiling newly plastered), woodwork and finishing. He is very reliable, a good communicator (phone, text and e-mail), quick to respond and very, very methodical. He spends a great deal of time prepping and this is shown in the high quality of the finished job. I trust Richard to be alone in the house and he has worked extra hours to finish jobs. Competitively priced and a nice, unobstrusive guy to have around. Happy to, and happy, recommended him.
HJD, .15/12/2016
Meticulous, creative, conscientious, tidy, helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard Gilbert is an exceptionally good tiler and decorator, and I have no hesitation in recommending his services wholeheartedly. He always has a range of ideas and options, and fulfills his tasks with precision. He's a delightful person to have around the place, and is as honest as the day is long. A gent.
Jem S14/10/2016
Reliable & high quality results every time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard painted our 4 story town house from top to bottom over 3 separate visits lasting about 4 weeks total. I knew him from previous painting and tiling jobs at my previous home. He produces a high quality job every time and is reliable and meticulous. He also goes to great pains to be tidy and non-disruptive. His pricing is also very reasonable.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/07/2016
Reliable & high quality results every time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard painted our 4 story town house from top to bottom over 3 separate visits lasting about 4 weeks total. I knew him from previous painting and tiling jobs at my previous home. He produces a high quality job every time and is reliable and meticulous. He also goes to great pains to be tidy and non-disruptive. His pricing is also very reasonable.
Andrewt, .01/07/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader came out and carried out some Paintwork to the house as well as tiling. I would definitely recommend him as he is a pleasant person, who is extremely reliable.
Adrienne, Wheathampstead01/05/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He carried out some tiling and decorating plus some other work. I was very happy, absolutely delighted, attention to detail brilliant, no problems at all. Would recommend.
David, St Albans16/01/2016
Bathroom tiled and redecorated whole house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Richard helped with the damp, absolutely would recommend him. I felt very comfortable with him in the house, he was thorough, and had excellent attention to detail & is an all round lovely guy.
Tilly, Borehamwood07/10/2015