We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Timberwise (UK) Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb timberwise logo final red cmyk 2

4.5

41 Reviews

About

Timberwise have been caring for properties for over 45 years, and have over that time built a reputation for a quality and professional service. With access to a network of offices UK wide you are never far away from our highly skilled surveyors and the valuable advice they can provide. As specialists in damp proofing, and timber treatments we work with residential and commercial customers across the UK as well as providing pre-purchase damp and timber surveys for home buyers. Timberwise are members of the Property Care Association (formerly the BWPDA).

Timberwise technicians provide specialist treatments for all manner of property issues. From rising damp, penetrating damp and condensation through to treatments for dry rot and woodworm. Work carried out is covered by our long term guarantees.

Trust the Property Care Experts – Trust Timberwise.

“Please read more reviews on our Head Office profile page: https://trustedtraders.which.co.uk/businesses/timberwise-uk-ltd/”

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • basement waterproofing dry and wet rot woodworm control

Customer reviews

4.5
41 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.6
Value
4.3
Sort by
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carrying out remedial damp proofing. Timberwise get 10 out of 10. Work completed on time by an excellent technician. He was friendly, tidied up at the end of the job and all in all did a first rate job. Beautiful finish on the plastering.
Customer in Gloucestershire17/05/2019
Pump and new joists/flooring outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark initially provided sound advice from the Basement, Pump and Sump Company. Some companies were not reputable! The job turned out to be more complex and time consuming requiring six hours extra labour from two people which was not charged. Mark and Nick are incredibly hardworking, explaining tasks and totally trustworthy. Timberwise thankfully managed to fit new flooring and joists at less than a week's notice so the kitchen can be fitted tomorrow. James in the office very helpful. I just wish every tradesman/company was this good. Quality of work was superb. The pump was initially noisy but Nick fixed this.
Customer in Cheshire07/04/2019
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timberwise recently completed damp proof treatment to a section of our hall wall. I was apprehensive about the potential mess and damage to our newly polished wood floor. I needn’t have worried as Steve immediately reassured me. The floor had a robust and full covering preventing any damage and the work was carried out in the outlined timescale. The area was kept tidy and left clean at the end of each day. Steve was very respectful of our home. He took great care in removing the skirting board in one piece and the completed job is very neat. Overall I’m delighted with the work.
Customer in West Yorkshire29/01/2019
Chemical damp proofing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As part of purchasing our property we had a survey undertaken that raised a number of points. Through recommendation we contacted Timberwise who under took a complete review of the structural survey and advised on what needed to be done and what was actually satisfactory and required no action. This was completed quickly and the cost estimate provided. A chemical damp proofing course was required which also required plaster work, was was to be undertaken, what was need for preparation was all clear and booking was straight forward even when we had to change the date due to completion. The chap turned up right on time every day, measured all carpets etc. were covered, undertook the work required, kept me advised and was social. At the end of the first day the area was cleaned and all left tidy and he checked that I was happy prior to leaving on the last day. I don't know how value relates to others but I was happy with the costs advised and the information provided when reviewing the quotation.
Customer in Derbyshire13/12/2018
Excellent friendly efficient service for Rising Damp
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have experienced Rising damp in our old property causing visible damage to walls. We contacted Timberwise for a free survey and quote which easily led to a surveyor to our property for a free survey which was carried on the affected area but we asked for a survey on the rest of the lower floor and this was also agreed. The surveyor was both friendly and efficient. A comprehensive report followed quickly and advised remedial work. This was similar to quotes form another company. Appointments for this work to be carried out was easily made. Steven Wade was the Timberwise engineer. He wa punctual very friendly and communicative. His work was caused unexpectedly little disruption and noise and very little mess. The end result looks excellent. Six weeks for the plaster to dry and then we can paint thee wall directly which due to the quality of the plastering will be all that is needed. Overall excellent efficient and very friendly service. Thank you
Customer in South Yorkshire24/11/2018
Efficient friendly and helpful service from all people I talked to
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Telephone assistance was helpful in explaining what I needed d and how things worked. Person who visited to see the work required was obviously very knowledgeable and interested in older buildings which was terrific as ours is Grade 2 listed. The man who delivered the service was polite, very helpful and thoughtful in the way he worked. Excellent service throughout.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer22/10/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, no extra costs. Technician was excellent, removed plaster form walls, injected damp proofing and re-plastered walls. He cleaned up all mess. I didn't have to do anything.
Carole, Staffordshire05/10/2018
Excellent, timely work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every contact with the company was clear and customer focussed. Importantly the staff did exactly what they promised.
Steve Lacey02/10/2018
much better than other company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had previously used another damp company, who were OK, but the finish on the plastering etc. was not great. Mark from Timberwise did a really great job. He was punctual and polite when coming to the house, and left the work area very clean and tidy. Most importantly the finish of the work was at a really high standard. I would definitely use them again if I needed any damp work done.
Fiona M01/10/2018
Experienced, professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, reliable, professional approach from all members of the team.
Ann, Dorset19/09/2018
Friendly, efficient and considerate provision of woodworm treatment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason, our Timberwise technician, applied woodworm treatment to the roofs of our Grade 2 listed thatched Cottage, giving great respect to the structure of the building and working with considerable care and attention. His work was very thorough and could not be faulted. Our whole experience with Timberwise from original survey to treatment has been excellent.
Peter Barton20/08/2018
Excellent work carried out on schedule.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out was "Tanking" of semi basement The work was carried out to budget and completed on time. Our technician, Dave, was on time every day. His work was to a high standard and he cleaned up thoroughly when the job was finished.
Watson18/08/2018
Prompt, helpful, knowledgeable: just the job for those unwanted surprises.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved into our new home last October with what seemed very little to do...June this year almost put my foot through the flooring in a bedroom. Carpet was lifted to find evidence of infestation. Searched the market and contacted Timberwise (UK) Ltd based on their existing customer reviews. A very educational phone all revealed what our bedroom was infested with and a suitable treatment progress was presented. A survey appointment was booked and on time the surveyor knocked on the door. He carefully explained what could be seen, what needed to be done and how long the whole process was to take. The surveyors knowledge was in depth and appeared to have great experience in infestations and the treatment required. Within a week and a half we received a quote which we were happy with, especially the guarantee, which I phoned up to find out the details of the guarantee (thinking it would be very limited) I was pleasantly surprised to hear that a full 20 years guarantee is applied to all treatment and work carried out. After accepting the quote and booking a 'treatment slot' we only had a few weeks to wait until the engineer knocked on our door at the time specified. Very friendly staff (surveyor and engineer) both new their job inside out and made my wife feel comfortable whilst they carried out the work. Great job done. Great service with a friendly nature. Thankyou.
Paulmason11/07/2018
Woodworm Treatment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Craig turned up on time (8.00am) and got to work. He completed the job cleanly and efficiently, and he was happy to answer my questions about the timber treatment.
Saul Marchant22/06/2018
Fantastic Workers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After having spent the last two years with a house occupied by workmen painting and plastering we had the unfortunate experience of finding penetrative damp damaging the newly plastered walls. The news was that we had to have the walls taken back to the brick once again, injected and re plastered not something we were keen to envisage. From meeting with the surveyor, arranging timescales with the office and then having the work carried out, there cannot be a more professional, energetic, polite, caring and clean team employed by any of their competitors in the UK. What we were dreading didn't come to fruition. The team were most amenable and a pleasure to have in our home leaving no mess, and ensuring that our fears were unfounded. We would use Timberwise again and have no problem recommending them to others. Fantastic team!
David B08/06/2018
Efficient and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had experience of this company in the past, I had every confidence in the service I knew I would receive. Their expertise in damp treatment is extremely good and thorough. I was certainly not disappointed and I have recommend them to others.
S J, Derbyshire04/06/2018
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No problem, from start to finish. Office efficient, workers tidy, professional surveyor excellent.
Mary, Cheshire24/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Through & professional woodworm treatment.
Robin, West Yorkshire09/05/2018
Prompt and quick work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Managed to fit them in very quickly. Good work but was expected to be kept up to speed with the work as it was going on. But a good job.
Sarah, South Yorkshire08/05/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. Through job. Very friendly & efficient service. Would recommend.
David, Dorset30/04/2018
Very pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall a very pleasant experience dealing with this company.
Kevin, Hampshire27/04/2018
Prompt and well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A job well done. The workman who came to me was excellent.
Andrew, Somerset23/04/2018
Failed to inspect the entire property and gave a ridiculous quote
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Do not use Timberwise. They may provide cheap surveys but there's a reason. Following a survey completed by our mortgage provider, they highlighted timber and damp issues in the roof. We were recommended to get a specialist survey completed. The only reason we had the survey done was to get information on the roof. Timberwise provided us with a report but had failed to inspect the roof. They stated that the roof wasn't accessible. The roof is accessible as the first surveyor wouldn't have been able to highlight the issues if so. I then spoke with Andrew Pemberton who is the charted construction manager. He assured me I would receive a full refund. This was a month ago now. I still haven't received a refund and they have ignored all communication. We also received a quote from them regarding the damp in the downstairs of the property coming to around £3500. We got another contractor in to inspect the property. For the same piece of work, they quoted £1700.
HenryH20/04/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All employees efficient, polite & professional. Office, surveyor, technician. Service prompt & efficient, can not be faulted.
Andrew, Wiltshire20/04/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a survey done by Timberwise who gave me a quote that I accepted and the work was carried out by a very competent and polite operative.
Roger, Leicestershire19/04/2018
Prompt & professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Will certainly use again and would definitely recommend to others.
Mary, Cheshire06/04/2018
Polite, helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The survey was carried out by a rival company but Timberwise's quote for the actual work was much less and they were highly recommended by friends. I found them helpful, friendly and efficient.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer29/03/2018
Efficient and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a woodworm issue which was surveyed by a (very helpful and courteous) David Laughton. The work was later carried out efficiently and without fuss by Adrian. Can recommend Timberwise wholeheartedly.
David Gardner11/02/2018
Professional survey carried out.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Today I had the pleasure of being visited by Robert Matthews (Bob), what a professional gentleman, instantly recognised the issue where others failed to! Has left me feeling hopeful that the work is going to be carried out to a high standard. Would whole heartedly recommend this company and once again a special thank you to Bob who was earlier than expected, fast, professional and an all round decent surveyor.
Mitcheyfex11/01/2018
Flawless experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a basement kitchen and dining area damp-proofed. Of all the companies we contacted, Timberwise stood out - Keith and Connie were highly responsive to a large number of follow-up questions, detailed in their plans, and pragmatic in their proposals (their costs were broadly in line with the other providers). Onsite, Chris was great - helped us prep the space, turned up every day on time and cleaned up at the end of the day, went the extra mile to finish by the date we'd agreed when our walls turned out to be at the more challenging end of the spectrum, and was cheerful throughout. They also organised a specialist joiner to deal with our stairs and he not only did a great job with them, but also happily replaced some floorboards that turned out to be rotten. All in all, a very positive experience and we will be getting them back to do more work.
cmc_webb25/11/2017
Poor quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a tanking project done by Timberwise on our basement which is tanked. All initially appeared professional although they did spill something on our carpet during the process which caused a huge stain which couldn't be removed. Despite initially claiming it was water, they refunded me £60 for the ruined carpet. A few months after the waterproof render was applied the plaster blew badly, and we had to pay for a surveyor (employed by Timberwise) to come and give an opinion as to whether or not this was covered by guarantee. This cost £180. As I expected, his opinion was that this work was not due to the poor workmanship of Timberwise, and came up with lots of excuses as to why. Please don't use this company, as you will lose a lot of money when things go wrong.
T78567314/08/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 21/08/2017)
Mr Spruell – many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The accident to the carpet was regrettable, however, this is the first we have heard that the carpet was ruined. At the time we did pay for a specialist cleaner to be brought in to treat the area of carpet that was affected which was also a satisfactory outcome for yourself. The failure of the work carried out by Timberwise was due to water penetrating from above directly into the area that we had wet tanked. The water penetration was not present when the work was originally carried out in 2015 and as such the work has failed as a result of a default occurring in a different area after the original work had been carried out. As a matter of course, we charge an inspection fee for guarantee claims, this can then be refunded should the claim be upheld. Should you wish to discuss this issue further please feel free to email hq@timberwise.co.uk and we will endeavour to help you as much as we can.” Thanks for your help - Phil
Bad timekeeping, poor attention to detail and lack customer service skills
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Do not use Timberwise for surveys. I booked them to conduct a survey of a leak (for a claim against the owner of the flat above mine) and some other damp issues in December. They asked for £200 in advance then turned up late, I had to chase for the report which took two weeks (instead of 4-5 working days), The survey turned out to include a number of inaccuracies (which I had to ask to have corrected 3 times before they got it right), and when I complained the office manager was incredibly rude and argumentative. She even suggested that I should not have engaged them for a survey for a legal claim (even though I made it very clear to them why I wanted the survey). So basically... I paid £200 for them to try to sell their services to me (which they did very badly!). Also, I raised my concerns with their MD and it took over a week and 4 emails before I eventually got an apology. At one point they did offer to repay the £200 and I accepted but judging them by their previous form - I'm going to have a long wait...
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer23/01/2017
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 31/01/2017)
I'm really sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you for bringing this to our attention in your review as it allows us to investigate where we went wrong and improve the experience of future customers. There are however a few points raised that we would wish to clarify further: The appointment was made for 10am on the 08.11.16 and the surveyor sent you a text message stating that he was running late and indeed was stuck in traffic, for which you kindly acknowledged, he then sent a further text stating he would be approximately 45 minutes late and then again to state he wasn’t too far away. Upon arrival you were clearly upset and frustrated that he was late and the Surveyor apologized sincerely. You explained the issues you had with the dampness ingress and the issues you have been experiencing with the owners/tenants of the flat above and with regards to issues with the building. All of which was noted. The inspection was carried out and you were happy with the comments made at the time. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the delay in sending the report. Our office explained to you that if we were advised at the time of booking the survey that the report was going to be used in Court that we would have advised that you enlisted the services of an independent surveying company as Timberwise are also contractors and cannot be classed as being independent, hence the offer to refund the monies in full.
Tremendous job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timberwise dealt with wet rot issues for me and replaced the whole floor. They did a tremendous job! They were the second company I tried and the difference in the work was amazing. I would be very happy to recommend them. Their value for money, customer service and the overall quality of their work was excellent. No problems or complaints at all.
Mrs Bristow, Preston08/06/2016
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timberwise have undertaken timber spraying for a church refurbishment. I was very happy with the work that was done, it was all on time and within the budget. I have no complaints at all, I would definitely recommend them to other customers.
David, Liverpool07/06/2016
Excellent quality of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did various dry/wet rot treatments for me in November 2015. Their customer service and the quality of their work were both fantastic, as was their value for money. They completed the work on time and I had no problems or complaints. I would definitely recommend them to other customers.
Tony, Chesire05/11/2015
Polite and informative
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a dry rotted floor fixed by Timberwise in October 2015. The traders were very polite and informative, and I was very happy with their work and their ethos. Everything was completed on time and within the agreed budget. The quality of their work and the value for money I felt I received were both excellent. I would definitely recommend the trader.
Mrs Harris, Taunton15/10/2015
Efficient and neat
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timberwise did some dry/wet rot work for me in October 2015. I was very happy with the work, they were efficient and very neat. The work was kept within the budget and there were no problems with it at all. I'd happily recommend them to others.
Barry, Leeds07/10/2015
Realy pleased with their work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had some damp proofing done by Timberwise in July 2015. They were very tidy and I was very pleased with their work. I had no problems with the work at all, and absolutely no complaints. Everything was completed within the budget and on time so I was very pleased, and I would definitely recommend them.
Mrs Greeves, Leeds02/07/2015
Definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had internal damp proofing done by Timberwise in June 2015. I was extremely happy with the work that was done and had absolutely no problems or complaints.Their customer service and the quality of their work was excellent. I would defintitely recommend the trader.
Ms Petchy, Liverpool04/06/2015
Very happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Timberwise cured a dry rot problem for me in July 2014. I was very happy with the work as they were very thorough and helpful. Everything was completed on time and within the budget, and I had no problems or complaints at all. I would be more than happy to recommend them to other customers.
Mrs Harrow, London08/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Timerwise in to survey a small damp problem thought to be rising damp and thought to require Silicone Injection treatment. Exremely professional surveyor identified the problem as not being rising damp but condensation and provided a DIY anti-fungal treatment form £52. This saved us spending about £300 on Injection. They lost that bit of trade as a result of being thorough and truthful, which is why I feel they deserve recommendation. Their price if they'd done Injection treatment was also less than another quote we'd had.
We Are a Buyer's Union18/05/2009