We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Academy Remedial Surveyors Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb thumb ar surveyors header

5.0

51 Reviews

About

We are Independent Damp and Timber Surveyors specialising in all matters relating to rising damp. penetrating damp, condensation, woodworm, wet rot, dry rot basement waterproofing and cavity wall tie condition.

We are NOT a franchise, our staff are directly employed, we do NOT use sub-contractors, we do NOT use call centres.

We are NOT contractors who carry out work meaning we have no financial interest in looking for work to meet sales targets.

We DO charge for surveys because that's all we do - Surveying.

Our mission and objective is to inspect, diagnose and provide opinion of problems reported by others or, to inspect for pre-sale purposes to determine if any problems actually exist.
We are employed by both the private and commercial sector however the largest proportion of our work is for Homebuyers after receiving the Homebuyers Building Survey report which normally recommends a damp and timber survey even only as a precaution.

Existing homeowners also find our services invaluable.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Damp proofing surveyors
    • Timber preservation surveyors
    • Water proofing surveyors
  • More Services

    • legal report for landlord and tenant disputes
    • surveys
    • survey

Customer reviews

5.0
51 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Comprehensive, thorough and fast!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray Baker's survey report is thorough and very clear with a good amount of general information helping us to better understand the technical aspects of the building. The whole process from initial enquiry to receipt of the report was amazingly efficient. Well worth an independent review of the property. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London22/03/2019
Damp surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had Ray Baker visit my property on 2 occasions and he has been very helpful. Hi advice and service was very reassuring. I have no issue with recommend him and his services.
Customer in West Sussex26/02/2019
Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent communication during booking, helpful and accommodating with regard to finding a suitable time. Arrived on time and emailed prior to arrival. Clear concise conversation throughout the survey, professional and knowledgeable. Would not hesitate to recommend and/or use again.
Customer in Kent02/01/2019
Third Report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We just received our third report from Ray. As private landlords we know that Ray will give us the correct diagnosis & required action. As usual the inspection was booked quickly, Ray arrived when he said he would, and the report was with us within 48 hours. Great service, great value. If damp is suspected, we won't do anything until we have a report from Ray.
Kevin Cobb23/10/2018
Good job identifying cause of damp to bay window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a couple of years of failed attempts to resolve a damp problem with our bay window, Ray carried out a thorough inspection of the window in questions and make a series of recommendations. Having implemented the recommendations of the report the problem appears now to be resolved. We are grateful to Ray for his professional work - well worth the fee we paid.
John Stevens23/10/2018
Informative, efficient, good value for money and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called AR Surveyors on the Friday, the appointment was booked for the following Wednesday and I had the report by that evening. Ray was friendly, informative and efficient and provided exactly what we needed. Our buyers pulled out after two free damp surveys (taking less than 10 mins each) identified rising damp and recommended they install a chemical DPC , costing in excess of £3000. We were not convinced so asked AR Surveyors to take an impartial look. Turns out it was the type of plaster used and not rising damp at all, which a new DPC would not fix. Much cheaper to remedy as well. We needed the report quickly and Ray kindly put it to the top of his list and produced it in less than 24 hours at no additional cost. It covered everything that we needed to know and included the way to remedy the issue, the exact materials to use and an estimate of likely cost. We are extremely grateful for his care and attention and would not hesitate to use him again or recommend the firm.
emikomary13/09/2018
Helpful and Excellent Communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Independent, really explained things and was clear about things that needed doing. Expert knowledge clear and came across.
howarsmith421131/08/2018
Detailed investigation, valuable advice, good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two years ago we had four separate damp problems in the walls of our basement flat. We didn't trust damp companies to remedy it without costly surveys and unnecessary additional work, so we booked ARS. Gary was booked in within the week. He diagnosed the causes and gave us a detailed written report and telephone back-up so our trusted builder - not himself a damp specialist - knew how to treat it, and what materials to use. So when we recently found damp in the wooden floor of our rental property, we booked Gary to advise. Same experience: Gary did a detailed investigation, told us what remedial works are - and aren't - needed, and answered our questions. He also examined the exterior walls, upstairs rooms, and the attic. His report arrived a day later, with photographs, information and advice, and will definitely save us money... One thought: as we knew the problem was in the floor this time, and we were between tenants, we were able to take up the laminate floor and some floorboards to allow Gary a proper look underneath. This proved invaluable.
Southsea Sailor11/08/2018
Great Job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Academy several years ago and their service then was everything and more than we expected so, being in the process of moving again into an older property we instructed Ray to carry out a pre-purchase damp and timber survey for us on the house we are buying now. Ray inspected the property last week and we received the written report the next working day, the inclusions were clear, definitive and very informative together with reassuring. We didn't instruct a RICS building survey, just a Lenders valuation inspection was carried out, actually we even feel we saved money on this because Rays report referred to the building as a whole, inside and out over and above what we thought a damp and timber survey covered, he identified roofing defects which thanks to him we now know we need to get fixed and enabled us to renegotiate the purchase price. After first ringing them the instruction process was so quick and simple, Jenny sent us an e-mail confirming the cost of the survey and it requested some further information, estate agents details etc for access, once returned they arranged everything, we didn't need to do anything else, they made everything so easy. If anybody needs the services of Academy don't think twice about instructing them, it really is no surprise they have so many 5 star reviews on this site and if you look praise all over the internet as a whole.
L Richardson & H White 26/07/2018
Peace of mind, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ray did excellent work for me, he was really efficient and carried out the required survey within 2 days of me contacting him. His report was thorough but easy to digest and understand. The report put my mind at ease regarding a potential damp issue in the flat I'm purchasing and I felt that could trust the recommendations in Ray's report as he was independent. I would highly recommend this company's services.
RAlexandra24/07/2018