Endorsed by Which?

A Byrne Carpentry & Joinery

4.9

142 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 07:30–16:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–16:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–16:00
  • Thursday 07:30–16:00
  • Friday 07:30–16:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

My name is Anthony Byrne and I am the proprietor of A Byrne Carpentry & Joinery and I have been in the business for 46 years.

I am proud that my business provides the expert and valued service my clients deserve. Offering superior carpentry and joinery craftsmanship, carried out at all times with the highest level of professionalism.

Some of the project I have completed are as follows -

Built In Furniture
Door Fitting/Hanging
General Carpentry
Joinery
Partition Walls
Refurbishments
Alcove cupboards
Window Seats
Bookcases
Wardrobes
Purpose made doors
Crafts traditional sash windows and casement windows
Wooden/Timber Structures

Please do contact me for a free, no obligation quotation, or simply to discuss and a forthcoming project.

What we do

  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • More Services

    • alcove cupboards
    • window seats
    • bookcases
    • wardrobes

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
142 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built three sets of shelves for my extensive record collection. He understood what was needed and was clear in his communications, responsive to my suggestions and flexible to some late changes in the brief. He was great to deal with throughout. He prebuilt much of the structure in his workshop so the installation took only a few days, which minimised disruption. His work was of an extremely high standard of craftsmanship, the shelves look great and are extremely solid, strong and robust.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/08/2023 , work completed 04/08/2023
Attractive alcove cupboards and flawless floating shelves
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Tony through Trusted Traders and he quickly responded to my enquiry regarding bespoke cupboards and floating shelves to replace IKEA bookcases either side of a chimney breast. He sent photos of some previous, similar work he had done and visited to discuss the requirements in detail. He quickly followed up with a competitive quote for the work and also agreed to hang a new porch door for us. Tony did a lot of the cutting off-site in his workshop, which minimised noise and dust whilst he was with us. He consulted us on all the important decisions, such as height and spacing of the shelves, and made good suggestions. Tony was friendly, responsive and helpful throughout the work. We are really pleased with the results, the cupboards and shelves are well constructed, look great, and make the room look bigger! Our porch door looks great too. We would not hesitate to recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/04/2023 , work completed 14/04/2023
Great work and great guy - Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend Tony highly enough. Tony and Joe have now done numerous projects for us, including building a large set of bookshelves and alcove cabinets, building our utility room cabinets, and building our guest room wardrobes. He also managed to convert an old teak wardrobe into a sideboard for us, highlighting is creativity. He is now about to start work on a set of fitted wardrobes in our master bedroom. All of the work that Tony has done for us has been of an extremely high standard. He has great suggestions and is always very generous with his time during the planning stage of each project. He quotes clearly, always sticks to his quotes, and is very responsive. Just as importantly, he is a really decent guy and it is always a pleasure to deal with him. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/03/2023 , work completed 07/02/2023
Great work with real attention to detail.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We got Tony to make a few different units for our sitting room, hallway and kitchen extension. His attention to detail on planning the layout of the cupboards, positioning of shelves and doors etc and what was possible in our space was really helpful. He showed us lots of pictures of prior work which meant we could visualise what ours would look like. He was bang on budget (even did a few extra woodwork bits for me for free) and fitted everything really quickly. Really friendly and responsive (even responded to my initial email while on holiday). Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Tony.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/03/2023 , work completed 21/03/2023
Great workmanship and great kindness
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My partner fell down the stairs in his home in Gipsy Hill and was very ill in Kings College Hospital. As a preparation (and a prayer) for his eventual homecoming I contacted Tony Byrne to see what could be done to make the staircase (steep and narrow) safer. We discussed the issue and he sourced and installed an additional bannister so that there would be secure support on both sides of the staircase. He also fixed a step broken by my partner's fall and added non-slip treads on all the stairs. Tony's workmanship was first rate, and he managed exactly to match the existing bannister and fixings. He also had to deal with semi-hysterical me and was so helpful, accommodating and kind (I was unable to be present as scheduled due to a medical crisis and he made a special effort to squeeze me into his busy schedule). I highly recommend him as a craftsman and as an extremely nice person.
Meta in Greater London Posted on 06/01/2023 , work completed 14/12/2022
Delighted with the service and finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We'd moved into a new house and wanted to get lots of built in storage pretty quickly. Found Tony on the Trusted Traders site and, after getting a few quotes from other businesses, decided he struck the right balance of being capable of delivering what we wanted at a competitive price and that he was someone who could be trusted. He was very patient with our lack of decisiveness at first, and then made and installed everything we asked for in super quick time causing minimal fuss. We're delighted with the work he's done. There is no doubt that when we need someone to do similar work for us again, Tony will be the only person we'll call.
Anthony in Greater London Posted on 05/05/2022 , work completed 04/05/2022
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My friend recommended Tony and he made the most beautiful alcove unit and shelves in my living room alcove. Excellent work and brilliant customer service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/03/2022 , work completed 05/01/2022
Amazing work and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't fault Tony's work in any way - from the beginning he was extremely friendly, responsive and took the time to explain the work he was going to do. He also came up with some great ideas and as a result, the work is even better than I had anticipated. The cupboards and shelves are perfect for the room and have somehow made a small, dark lounge feel much bigger and brighter. Tony was able to fit all the units in a single day and I am delighted with them! I will definitely use Tony for any future works needed and would highly recommend him to anyone. Very grateful for all the hard work and end result - thank you Tony!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/11/2021 , work completed 16/11/2021
Prompt and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was:- to create built in kitchen cupboard to house oven, hob and boiler, to match existing cupboards. To make wheelchair ramps at front and rear doors. Mr Byrne replied to my enquiry promptly and understood our requirements. He was flexible and thoughtful in his approach to the job. He took pains to ensure that we had what we wanted and that we would find the cupboards and ramps would work well in practice. The work was swiftly completed to our satisfaction
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
Copying and building a very long breakfront bookcase - also a small cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant. The bookcase was to match another one down a long central corridor. Tony thought hard about the design to break it down and then build it on site. And he copied the original bookcase brilliantly. Then he came and put in a small cupboard into my son's room. Tony has significantly improved our new flat. He put up with quite a lot (including an unscheduled ambulance arrival for a member of my household who was suddenly ill!) and remained cheerful with a great sense of humour. Cleared up well afterwards. He was great to work with. Wish he was a kitchen fitter too. But you can't have everything.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/07/2021 , work completed 21/06/2021
Beautiful work and very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and installed four alcove units for our living and dining rooms. Our walls are quite uneven and the alcoves are all different sizes, so it was a challenge to make everything look even and balanced. We are extremely happy with the quality of work, how it meets our storage needs, and how it looks within the room. Tony was very communicative throughout the process, friendly and professional when he was in our home, and installed the units on time and at the agreed price. We're really happy with how it turned out.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/05/2021 , work completed 22/04/2021
Top quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once I had Tony complete some built in cupboards and shelves I instantly wanted some more work done. He’s now finished a high shelf and panelling in my dinning room and it all looks fantastic. He’s a pleasure to work with, great at responding to emails and does top quality work. I wouldn’t go to another carpenter and would highly recommend him.
Fran in Greater London Posted on 29/04/2021 , work completed 29/04/2021
Stair Handrails
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had Tony two previous times to do an outside staircase in our garden. Also Tony replaced our front door frame and refitted our front door. Today he fitted two stair handrails. All of above jobs have been done to an excellent standard. Tony is very honest, reliable and friendly chap. We have no hesitation in contacting him for future work, and would recommend him to others.
Sue in Greater London Posted on 23/03/2021 , work completed 23/03/2021
Fantastic built in wardrobe - Tony Byrne
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Whole heartedly recommend Tony - he fitted a bespoke built in wardrobe for us. Very reasonable rates, quick to respond and book us in, then completed and installed the wardrobe really swiftly. A proper tradesman - really lovely chap too!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/03/2021 , work completed 11/03/2021
Built custom bookshelves with built-in desk for home office
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and installed a very nice set of custom bookshelves with built-in desk for our little home office room after the 25-year-old store-bought shelves (from a well-known Nordic self-assembly warehouse-outfit beginning with the letter 'i') finally gave up the ghost under the sagging weight of our paperwork. Tony built the shelves off-site to our specification, then visited in-situ to install the units - pretty much taking a single morning to do the deed. This way of working helps keep dust and what-not to a minimum, as well as being speedy. He kept us informed all the way along during the process. The work is great quality with lots of nice little details, including design flourishes that match the office, a removable area on the desk to run cables and networking, and a little side-rest built-in to rest mobile phones while they are charging. He also helped buzz-saw our old bookshelves so we could fit them inside the car for a rubbish dump run to the local municipal tip. We found Tony using Trusted Traders ourselves, and are happy to pass him onto the next customer who needs some good-quality carpentry work doing.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/02/2021 , work completed 19/02/2021
Built in cupboards, just as I imagined
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony quoted and finished the work quickly. He talked through what I wanted, giving me options and advice on what would work. He designed the cupboards and drawers exactly as described. He built everything in his workshop and then only took a few hours to fit everything. He took great care in making sure that the whole unit fitted and looked good - not easy when I have an old house without a right angle and the floor slopes! He left the room clean and tidy. Really pleased with the result. Would definitely use him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/12/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
Excellent work, speedy and reliable too!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has done a few a pieces of work for us. Each time, Tony has been really quick to to respond to messages and always punctual when coming to visit. He is really flexible to accommodate our ideas and created perfect work for us. His work is custom and it is clear he is passionate about his trade and very skilled and knowledgeable. Firstly he created a huge set of custom fitted wardrobes for our bedroom. He was by far the most competitively priced. He completed the installation in just a day, under the estimated time - and on the hottest day of the year! Our next project was to copy a console table with a drawer for our hallway. A little unusual in style, but Tony was able to recreate this perfectly - and with a quick turnaround. Goes without saying I would highly recommend Tony for any work (he also came as a recommendation from a neighbour). I’m now trying to think of a next project for Tony to work his magic on!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/12/2020 , work completed 11/12/2020
Beautiful cabinet and great to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was excellent to work with from the beginning. He offered lots of innovative suggestions for our alcove cabinet and shelving. It was a tricky job as the wall was very uneven and we needed the cabinet to be on an angle but nothing was too much for Tony! He took lots of measurements and made most of the cabinet in his workshop to minimise the mess at our house. He was quick but efficient and installed it all in a morning. He was extremely tidy, polite and a perfectionist. Can’t thank him enough for the work he did, it’s transformed our living room and will definitely be asking for his help again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/11/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
Perfect under-sink cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had tried unsuccessfully several times to find someone to quote me for building a cupboard under the sink in my cloakroom. I found Tony on the Which Trusted Traders site. He came to look at the project, made excellent design suggestions, took measurements and sent me a quote the same day. He built the cupboard off-site and then installed it in a couple of hours. It is exactly what I wanted. I’m extremely pleased with it. His service was very professional. He responded quickly to emails and came when he said he would. He was friendly and left everything clean and tidy. I have already recommended him to a friend and would again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Quick and high quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Tony Byrne for a previous job and he has once again done excellent work. The job was to box in the electrics and pipework of a new boiler. This was achieved with a solid but removable solution. Apart from anything else, Tony is a gent. Thanks again.
Joe in Greater London Posted on 24/02/2020 , work completed 24/02/2020
Good solutions for loft bedroom storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony made a really useful fitted wardrobe to make the most of the limited space at the top of the stairs in my flat. He also came up with the great idea of building a chest of drawers into the eaves cupboard, which has transformed the way I store clothes and saves floor space in my loft bedroom. He prepared them both off-site and was able to complete the work within one day, rather the the expected two, with the help of his son. Their workmanship was very good and everything was cleaned up thoroughly. Tony really listens to your individual requirements and ensures that what he builds meets your needs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/01/2020 , work completed 09/12/2019
Fantastic joiner, excellent quality and value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony made a built-in seating/storage unit for us, and we are delighted with them. He came round to measure up and hear what kind of thing we wanted, and made some really helpful suggestions that definitely improved our ideas - he knows his stuff. He then made up the units in his workshop and came round to fit them, so it was a really quick process - he was done in a morning. Tony was a pleasure to deal with, really friendly and professional, and left everything spotless. We would highly recommend him for all your carpentry/joinery needs! We'll definitely be calling him next time we need anything else like this.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/10/2019 , work completed 11/10/2019
Make and fix two new gates to match original defective ones.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were delighted with the wooden garden gates Tony made for us. As we live in a conservation area these had to be made to match the originals which they did perfectly. He was personable and punctual and fitted in with our plans. He offered advice and suggestions which we took on board. Tony stuck to his original quote which we considered very reasonable for the work undertaken. We would have no hesitation in using him again and would definitely recommend him to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 02/07/2019
Great quality work at an excellent price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two large jobs completed by Tony - building new bookcases and display cabinets and then replacing and hanging internal doors. Tony explained all the options when he gave his initial estimate, was incredibly knowledgeable and wanted to ensure the jobs were done cost efficiently. He went above and beyond to track down the hardware for the doors and advise us of the best places to source materials. The quality of the work is fantastic, work was done quickly and Tony gave us advice on after care/painting. Wholeheartedly recommend Tony and his work. Great quality trader.
Sanj, Greater London Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 27/06/2019
Excellent Alcove Shelves
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony provided excellent alcove shelving in our sitting room and offered great solutions to fit around shutters. The craftsmanship was great and he worked to a really tight deadline as I was due to have a baby. He was always punctual and polite. I would highly recommend him and will use him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 07/08/2017
Excellent Alcove Shelves
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony provided excellent alcove shelving in our sitting room and offered great solutions to fit around shutters. The craftsmanship was great and he worked to a really tight deadline as I was due to have a baby. He was always punctual and polite. I would highly recommend him and will use him again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Top quality & great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was instrumental in helping with the design of our built in wardrobes. Excellent value and premium finish, couldn't be happier with his work. I'd recommend Tony to anyone in a heartbeat. From start to finish he is a true professional and genuine tradesman, a pleasure to do business with. I've already planned his next job in!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/03/2019 , work completed 12/03/2019
Great craftsmanship and communication.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built an inbuilt wardrobe for me as part of a bedroom refurbishment in my Edwardian flat. We worked out the design and specification together based on some initial drawings of mine. Tony built it to "marry" with the period pine panelled door to the room. Everything was made to maximize use of the internal space, including shelves for shoes and bags and a hanging rail at just the right height for me to reach, with hanging space for different length items. Internal shelves were made to accommodate shoes, bags and other different sized items. A large space across the whole width at the top allows for storage of large items like suitcases. Tony made various useful suggestions including wrapping the new skirting and coving in the room around the wardobe. This works really well and gives a great feeling of continuity with the rest of the refurbishment. Tony was able to carry out most of the work in his own workshop, meaning he only had to be on site for a couple of days. I appreciated Tony most for his great craftsmanship and communication skills. It felt like a very co-operative venture. He was very easy and pleasant to have in the house, with some interesting stories from his working life! He seems to have been in demand by people from all levels and niches in society! I am more than happy with the results of the project and would thoroughly recommend Tony for his work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/12/2018 , work completed 20/11/2018
Great solution for a small bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Tony to design and build a cabin bed and wardrobe for our boxroom, very tricky as the stair bulkhead took up floor space and the room is very narrow. He came up with some great ideas and the work was completed very quickly and tidily, it has transformed the room, given us heaps of storage and a more grown up space for my 15 year old to use. Absolutely delighted.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/12/2018 , work completed 11/12/2018
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony arrived at exactly the expected hour and completed the job of installing a frame and doors under our stairs very efficiently, without mess and in surprisingly good time. His friendly approach made it easy to deal with him. He discussed some amendments to the original plan with me and incorporated them in a very relaxed and efficient way. I’d have no hesitation in recommending him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/12/2018 , work completed 04/12/2018
Beautifully crafted wardrobe and great consultation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built a bespoke inbuilt wardrobe for a refurbished bedroom. He took into account my ideas about a style to "marry" with the Edwardian panelled doors in my flat. He worked to a drawing I made and when the design / dimensions didn't make sense we discussed things and agreed a better way forward. He did most of the work of cutting etc. in his own workshop, so he was on site for less than two days fitting the "jig saw" together. The result is a beautiful work of craftsmanship with a flexible internal space designed around my storage needs. Tony was a pleasure to have working in my home, very polite and consulting with me so as not to go adrift from my goals for the wardrobe. He is obviously sought after by people with resources, taste and position in society, judging from some of his entertaining tales from his work life!
Carol Browne Posted on 22/11/2018 , work completed 22/11/2018
Excellent tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and fitted a built in cupboard in our kitchen in a former fire alcove. He also replaced sash cords on our bedroom window and repaired an exterior side gate that was jammed. His quality of work is excellent and his prices very reasonable. He is also very courteous, punctual and kept us informed at all time of his schedule to do the work, I would have no hesitation in recommending him and will use his services again
Brian Carroll Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
Floor to ceiling bookcase
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We're thrilled with the work Tony completed for us, it's exactly what we wanted and because of the room shape and size, not the most straightforward of projects. Tony is easy to work with, commits to what he says he's going to and kept in touch with us on progress.
Jo Linford Posted on 28/09/2018 , work completed 28/09/2018
Fitted wardrobes - exellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and installed fitted wardrobes in a bedroom, and also constructed a desk top out of two former oak shelves that I wanted to re-use. His workmanship is excellent and I am very pleased with the finished result. Tony was very pleasant to deal with. He is professional in his approach - quotations were clearly set out and kept to, he was punctual and worked quietly and methodically. The fact that he could do a lot of the work in his workshop at home and bring it to be installed on site meant that the job was done quickly and efficiently. I would certainly employ Tony again and recommend him to others.
Sidgwick Posted on 19/09/2018 , work completed 19/09/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Thanks very much for the lovely review Susan. Very happy to help anytime. I really am very grateful for the time you took to post your feedback.
Carpentry in SW20
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony made and fitted an alcove unit and shelves in our lounge, made some cupboard doors for the spare bedroom, adapted some existing doors in our bedroom and also re-hung and put new handles on some of our doors. He was professional and very helpful with all my queries from start to finish. He was also extremely reliable and responsive at all times and last but not least, everything looks great! We are already talking about other projects we want to do and my parents will also be getting in touch with him. Really hard to find top class tradesmen like this these days!
vickynice12 Posted on 19/09/2018 , work completed 19/09/2018
The trader replied (on 25/09/2018)
Thanks very much for the review Victoria. I’m very grateful. I am looking forward to next stage of the work. Happy to help anytime. Thanks again
Efficient and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did a great job from start to finish. Came in for half a day and installed amazing alcove bookshelves and cupboards. He has lots of examples and suggestions which also makes getting the end product better.
Marc86 Posted on 12/09/2018 , work completed 12/09/2018
The trader replied (on 12/09/2018)
Thanks very much for the review Marc. I really am very grateful. I will use some of the photos when I update my profile page. Thanks again
Fitted wardrobe and breakfast bar - amazing job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is an absolute pleasure to work with. Always on time, very polite and highly professional. Tony undertook two jobs in our flat - he built and fitted a new double wardrobe in our bedroom and converted a partition wall between lounge and kitchen into a breakfast bar. The fitted wardrobe looks great and I can’t wait to fill it up. The breakfast bar has made a tremendous difference to our space and the craftsmanship is of high quality. I would be more than happy to work with Tony in the future.
Anna Abramova Posted on 20/07/2018 , work completed 20/07/2018
The trader replied (on 12/09/2018)
Thanks very much for the review Anna. I was very happy with the finished projects and it has already helped other people to decide on the finish they want in regards to the style of the wardrobe doors etc. Thanks very much once again.
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built a small Alcove cupboard in my lounge. I would certainly recommend Tony for future work. Norma
Norma Maidman Posted on 21/03/2018 , work completed 21/03/2018
The trader replied (on 22/03/2018)
Thanks very much for taking the time to review my work. I am very grateful. Thanks again
New Back Door - thank you Tony
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't rate Tony highly enough in terms of dedication and friendliness! We needed to get our non-standard sized back door replaced and a catflap fitted. After coming around to look at the door and measure, Tony and I spent a great deal of time talking through what would work, and fitting in the work just before an upcoming holiday. The door looks great, and is such an improvement on what was there beforehand. Thank you again
zachary Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
The trader replied (on 22/03/2018)
Happy to help. It was a challenge but we got there. Really nice of you to post such a nice review. Thanks very much and let me know if I can help in the future. Look forward to seeing it all painted. Thanks again
Great Carpenter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was a pleasure to employ to undertake our carpentry work. He listened and he gave some very helpful and logical advice. He clearly has very good experience and I would certainly employ him again. Thank you very much
Adrian Posted on 13/02/2018 , work completed 13/02/2018
The trader replied (on 16/02/2018)
Thanks very much for taking the time to review my work. I really am very grateful. Looking forward to the next stage of the work schedule.
Great job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and fitted a combination of cupboards and shelving for 3 of our downstairs alcoves. He came when he said he would and worked methodically and tidily. Indeed he finished the job ahead of the anticipated timeframe. At each step, if there were different options, he asked for my preferences and also gave sensible advice. Tony was very professional at all times and the final result is absolutely great - it adds immensely to our home. I would definitely recommend Tony for future work.
demello Posted on 13/02/2018 , work completed 13/02/2018
New door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony had just made us a purpose made Victorian style living room door with 4 panels and classic mouldings. We asked Tony to do this job after he made and fitted a pair of Alcove cupboards in our lounge, once again he didn't disappoint. A beautiful job expertly done.
Harley, London Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony supplied and fitted four internal doors, he was very helpful in selecting doors and handles. Doors fitted to a high standard of workmanship.
Leonard, London Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
The trader replied (on 16/02/2018)
Thanks very much Len. Pleasure to help. If I can help in the future please just call. Thanks again
Highly recommended expert
Customer Service
Quality
Value
There was an excellent job done on two difficult doors. Both frames were completely out of line. A quiet serious worker that got on with the job.
Martin, London Posted on 20/12/2017 , work completed 20/12/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lovely man, great job, Would highly recommend him!
Helen, London Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
The trader replied (on 16/02/2018)
Thanks very much for your feedback Helen. Much appreciated. I am going to use the photos of your alcove unit when I update my profile pictures. Thanks again
A real trusted trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is your man for carpentry and house improvements generally. Great job and lovely guy too. A real trusted trader.
Mark, London Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
Says what he does and does what he says
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Applied for three quotes and Tony was the most competitive. Not being vat registered helped. Sat down together to discuss the job, exchanged ideas about the design of fitted wardrobes. Tony suggested a date and a price and stuck to both. Good workmanship, very pleasant disposition. Would highly recommend and will definitely use again.
Augier Posted on 07/11/2017 , work completed 07/11/2017
The trader replied (on 10/11/2017)
Mr Augier was a pleasure to work for. He suggested the design he wanted and after some small tweaking we got the solution. Job went together well and Mr Augier was always prompt with payment. A real gent. Thanks very much for your feedback.
Fitted Wardobes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I hired Tony to replace broken wardrobe doors and put up shelving in the bedroom closets. He has done an excellent job and I am very pleased with the results. Tony is a very pleasant person, very helpful and obliging and came up with many good suggestions to maximum the space. He is a hard worker, comes on time and gets on with it. I have another job that requires doing at the end of the month and I've already booked Tony to do it.
MichaelR Posted on 04/07/2017 , work completed 04/07/2017
The trader replied (on 10/11/2017)
Thanks very much for your feedback michael. Really very grateful. Thanks again
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony after seeing him on this website. I wanted a traditional base unit and book shelves in my flat. I had an idea of what I wanted and Tony was able to show me lots of examples of his work including the exact design I had in mind. He was extremely meticulous and patient in helping me with the dimensions which would work best in the space. It was reassuring speaking to someone so knowledgeable and friendly. Tony quoted me a very reasonable price and we fixed up a date for the fitting and the installation went ahead very smoothly and quickly with no fuss or mess. I also had the idea of putting a fold-down table on the wall to save space which Tony was also able to design and fit for me. I am absolutely delighted with the unit and table which are beautifully finished and have really enhanced the flat. They look like they were always meant to be there! It has been a real pleasure dealing with Tony from start to finish and he's going to be returning to help me with replacing interior doors. I have no hesitation in recommending him, he's an excellent craftsman and a lovely person to do business with. Sue Davies
Susan Davies Posted on 26/06/2017 , work completed 26/06/2017
The trader replied (on 10/11/2017)
wow. What a lovely review. Thanks so much for taking the time to post such lovely feedback. I really am very grateful Mrs Davies. Thanks again
Purpose made period design door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is yet another example of the range of Tony's work. He replaced a warped door, with non-standard dimensions by making a new one, which exactly matches the period style of our existing doors. He also went to great trouble to fit an unusual door handle and latch as well as easing two other ill fitting doors. As ever, Tony completed the work within the promised timescale and all for a very reasonable charge. We would have no hesitation in recommending him wholeheartedly.
Judith Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
The trader replied (on 10/11/2017)
I have done a number of jobs for Mr & Mrs Lempreire. Always a pleasure. Thanks once again for the lovely review. Very grateful
Reinforce gate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Again top work, very pleased.
Janet, London Posted on 12/05/2017 , work completed 12/05/2017
All you could wish for
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class carpenter. Very helpful. Will use his skills again soon.
Peter, London Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
Great ongoing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony fitted a wooden facade for a side return for me a couple of years ago. For a few months over the recent winter months I have not been able to open the door as the wood had expanded due to the copious amounts of rain we've had, but it's not been too much of a problem in that time as I've not really needed the access. However, with the onset of spring and needing renewed access through that door, I recently arranged for Tony to come round to resolve the problem. He planed the wood and set back the door lock so now the door is no longer sticking. And he did it for free. I'm a happy client, and Tony would certainly be my first (and probably only!) port of call when I next need any carpentry work doing.
switage Posted on 19/04/2017 , work completed 19/04/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony fitted a facade for a side return for me a couple of years ago. For a few months over the recent winter months I have not been able to open the door as the wood had expanded due to the copious amounts of rain we've had, but it's not been too much of a problem as I've not needed the access. However, with the onset of spring and needing renewed access to the side, I recently arranged for Tony to come round to resolve the problem. He planed the wood and set back the door lock so now the door is no longer sticking. And he did it for free. I'm a happy client, and Tony would certainly be my first (and probably only!) port of call when I next need any carpentry work doing.
TheWitage1 Posted on 18/04/2017 , work completed 18/04/2017
Walk in wardrobe
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Byrne is like a perfectly tuned Swiss clock . He's timing is immaculate . Turns up on the dot & does exactly what he says he'll do . Doesn't require food or beverage & just gets on with the job in hand . He took my vague idea of what I wanted & massively improved upon it , figured out inventive ways to cover hideous airing cupboard & pipes . Pointed out why some of my ideas wouldn't work too . He created storage space , made me bespoke drawers , shelving & frame for hanging rails . My room has been entirely transformed & I couldn't be happier . Good workmanship , entirely reliable & really helpful . Feel that job was well priced as were the additions I requested as we went along . He was even nice to my dogs ! Highly recommend . This is the first time I've used Which trusted traders but so glad I did . Thank you
Kim, Surrey Posted on 29/03/2017 , work completed 29/03/2017
Excellent carpenter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is an excellent carpenter. He has done work for us on several occasions over the past few years, including building a rather unusual large hardwood gate which we were delighted with - he built it exactly the way we wanted it. Tony always arrives promptly at the agreed time. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Which? consumer Posted on 25/03/2017 , work completed 25/03/2017
Building a large storage cupboard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and hardworking. Most impressed. Able to make my ideas on paper become a reality. Mr Bryne kept me informed of changes and recommended workable alternatives to make full use of space to maximise storage potential. Honest and polite - would recommend.
J924780022 Posted on 19/03/2017 , work completed 19/03/2017
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Byrne's work was very professional doing the work. Explained the work. Job well done. I would recommend him. Good, mild mannered men. All around job was good with no faults.
Joyce, Surrey Posted on 10/03/2017 , work completed 10/03/2017
High standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault anything. Very prompt and well priced for an excellent standard of work. Kept us well informed through out.
Happy customer Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Bryne was reliable and arrived on time and when he said he would. He put right a problem on my front door very quickly and thought outside the box to solve and fix and the problem to do with a drawer in a cabinet where the solution was not obvious. I would recommend Tony as his years of experience show through.
Collette, London Posted on 07/02/2017 , work completed 07/02/2017
Tricky Painstaking Job Really Well Done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed to get 5 doors replaced in a Victorian property. No door was the same size, there wasn't a single straight line, and minimising sound and light was the top priority. Tony found a way around each problem, and I now have 5 matching doors in quite a small corridor which close properly and quietly, and look elegant as well. Tony consulted me at every stage, explaining the difficulties and talking through the solutions. They look great. I have no qualms about recommending Tony.
lcb867 Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Brilliant, reliable, great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did a fantastic job refurbishing our flat. He was prompt, reliable and friendly. He worked well under pressure and hit tight deadlines. He is a very skilled carpenter and he created period style shelves, cupboards and wardrobes from scratch. He used great imagination to solve problems like cable runs for home theatre. He was also very good value for money. I would not hesitate to use him again and I highly recommend him.
Matthew, London Posted on 20/10/2016 , work completed 20/10/2016
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our time, delivered within time and clean! Wonderful.
Hannah, London Posted on 14/10/2016 , work completed 14/10/2016
Concern for a good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, good input & understanding of what I needed built to a very high standard with attention to detail compared with other quotes more than reasonable. Attitude was friendly & phone calls & photos to be sure they had to understand what I required.
Janet, London Posted on 27/09/2016 , work completed 27/09/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is a real pro. They rebuilt a wooden stair down to my garden. The replacement is a hundred times better. He was punctual and cleared up after. by the book and great value.
Joe, London Posted on 10/08/2016 , work completed 10/08/2016
Excellent Job - very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Will be using Tony again. Soon.
Connie, London Posted on 21/07/2016 , work completed 21/07/2016
Lovely door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony quickly came back with a very reasonable quote. I wanted a door that was a little unusual, to match my hand painted cupboards. I wanted a stained glass insert which by chance had had. He created a pine door with the insert and made a good job. He finished quickly and cleared up well. All in all I would recommend him.
SallyB Posted on 02/07/2016 , work completed 02/07/2016
Professional trader, definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Byrne responded swiftly to our request and came up with imaginative solutions for making our garden gate and adjusting wardrobe doors. He did the work on time to fit in with our schedule. This is the third time we have used Tony's services and, as before, we were pleased with his work. We were impressed by his expertise and willingness to help. Excellent value for money. Thanks, Judith and Mike
Judith Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016
Fast & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was very helpful. Had good suggestions and even worked around our uneven floors. Would recommend and will use him again on other future carpentry jobs.
Catherine, London Posted on 20/05/2016 , work completed 20/05/2016
Excellent quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service, building to my bespoke requirements and on time and to budget. An excellent product by a very trustworthy professional.
Ken, London Posted on 18/05/2016 , work completed 18/05/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony created bespoke dividing doors and glass panels to separate our reception rooms. He did a fantastic job with this project and the end result was even better than we had imagined. He also fitted a new door to one of the bedrooms and rehung a couple of doors that were not closing properly. We are always so pleased with his carpentry work. He really plans his tasks well and completes the job in good time. Would always recommend.
Barbara, South London Posted on 20/04/2016 , work completed 20/04/2016
Fitted cupboards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony provided helpful and essential advice about the design of the cupboards. He went on to build them extremely quickly and to our satisfaction. We would happily recommend his work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/04/2016 , work completed 17/04/2016
Refurbishment of bathroom, fitting kitchen door and some minor carpentry repairs.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I discussed my requirements for refurbishment to a bathroom in my flat together with other repairs with Mr. Byrne. He made a number of useful suggestions and provided me with a reasonable quotation within a couple of days. Having agreed a start date and an estimated completion date this timetable was adhered to and the work completed on time and to budget with only a couple of small extras which were advised to me as they arose. Tony undertook the entire project organising a plumber and tiler as needed. The outcome was entirely to my satisfaction and I would rate Mr. Byrne as being very professional, with his work being carried out to a high standard. I would have no hesitation in recommending him for quality, reliability and value for money.
Peter, Southport Posted on 23/11/2015 , work completed 23/11/2015
Great workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his team did a great job on refurbishing my bathroom, maximising a small space. He was skilled at finding solutions to problems. He was professional and courteous. Although the job took longer and was more expensive than quoted due to unforeseen complications he kept me updated throughout.
Hannah, London Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Excellent design & workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony designed & log-store for us & delivered & fixed it very promptly. We are very pleased with the result & would recommend him to other people without hesitation.
Michael, London Posted on 30/10/2015 , work completed 30/10/2015
Reliable, creative problem-solver
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony designed and built cupboards and shelving units for us. He was very prompt and ended up finishing the work ahead of schedule. He was very helpful and flexible and came up with good ideas which have worked out very well. We would definitely recommend him to others and use him again if/when the need arises.
Judith Posted on 05/10/2015 , work completed 05/10/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending A Byrne Carpentry to anyone. He was great with communication. Very honest, very tidy. Great work. Would use again.
Sue, London Posted on 19/08/2015 , work completed 19/08/2015
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Byrne responded to our call promptly. He offered realistic and creative advice and responded flexibly to our requests as the work progressed. The end result has transformed the rooms where he has built shelves & cupboards.
Judith, London Posted on 11/08/2015 , work completed 11/08/2015
Lovely job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did a lovely job on some (to me) tricky bits of carpentry. He was clear about what he could and his work was neat and have made a real difference to the kitchen & bathroom.
Samantha, London Posted on 10/07/2015 , work completed 10/07/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am happy to recommend Tony again. Had him in for a few smaller jobs, including construction and fit of a bespoke kitchen cupboard, and as before he completed all with a minimum of fuss and at a very reasonable price.
TheWitage1 Posted on 06/07/2015 , work completed 06/07/2015
First class job, carefully and thoughtfully done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has just built us a lean-to greenhouse to house our precious lemon tree and other plants. He thought carefully about the site and what would be safe and provide good insulation- and courteously made suggestions which were better than our ideas, and which we thankfully adopted. The work was done amazingly and to a very high standard. We are really delighted.
6172jdm Posted on 26/06/2015 , work completed 26/06/2015
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has built us a lean to greenhouse to house precious plants. He thought carefully about the site, gave courteously advice better than our ideas, which we gladly accepted. The work was done very quickly and to a high standard in terms of insulation and aesthetics wonderful!
Julian, Surrey Posted on 23/06/2015 , work completed 23/06/2015
Professional & thorough.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Tony Byrne to be reliable, efficient and I am fully satisfied with the quality of his work.
Judy, Surrey Posted on 17/06/2015 , work completed 17/06/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and his tem recently fitted a new kitchen for me. The space involved is very small and I wanted a lot in. Tony and his team - John and Joe - dealt with all the problems this threw up creatively and imaginatively. When the job took longer than expected owing to problems with the kitchen supplier, Tony put in the extra work without complaint or looking to increase the price he had quoted. They also obliged me by doing little extra jobs free gratis, such as drilling holes in my back door step after the company that laid my patio omitted to put in an air brick. A particular recommendation for the tiler, Joe, who was extremely conscientious about getting the finish right even if that meant working late into the evening and coming back Saturday morning. He could not have cared more about the end result than if it were his own kitchen. He also did an extra job re-grouting around my bath where there was mildew damage free gratis. All in all a great team whom I cannot recommend too highly.
Honesty Posted on 12/06/2015 , work completed 12/06/2015
Really competent, a pleasure to do business with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has done several jobs for us over several years. We wouldn't use another carpenter. The work he does is first rate, and nothing is too much trouble. The French doors he built for our new kitchen were excellent. He suggested changes to our kitchen design that made it much more usable. He went to considerable trouble to rescue his beautiful new front door, when the glass company messed up. And he is such a pleasure to do business with.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/06/2015 , work completed 04/06/2015
Problem solver
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony just finished fitting my kitchen which is a very small space. Thanks to his vision and imagination, I have maximised the extremely limited space to fit all my appliances as well as plenty of storage space. He even managed to box in some very awkwardly located boiler pipes. Best of all was that nothing was too much trouble and my satisfaction with the end result was paramount. As an added bonus, the price for the job was well under my expectation. I cannot recommend him enough.
1963464 Posted on 21/05/2015 , work completed 21/05/2015
Skilled solution focussed reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is reliable, punctual, polite. We had an awkward problem with our garden gate. Tony's expertise and imagination provided a solution. He takes pride and interest in his work. He listens and is very responsive. His work is to an excellent and aesthetically pleasing standard. We will use him again.
Anne, London Posted on 30/03/2015 , work completed 30/03/2015
Good quality, value for money carpentry
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built us shelving units for our living room. He gave lots of advice in terms of what works well and what doesn't, and also took what we wanted into account. He was efficient and it felt like good value for money. We're pleased with the finished units. The only minor downside was that we wish we'd understood what would be done with the wiring behind the units properly before they went up. That said, we think he's very good, and would definitely recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/03/2015 , work completed 15/03/2015
Brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built a cupboard and shelves in my hallway - quality excellent & he had to adapt to old house. Tony is personable, trustworthy and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him
Jenny, London Posted on 16/01/2015 , work completed 16/01/2015
Perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was exactly as we had hoped he would be. Professional, honest and fair. He gave advice when needed but took our ideas on board. Highly recommend him.
Daniel, London Posted on 05/01/2015 , work completed 05/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needing improved access to my drop-down landing skylight cover and to have a grab rail from the ladder into the roof space, I discussed the problems with Tony, who has helped me before. He came up with good solutions, quoted a fair price, made them up in his workshop and fitted them a couple of days later. When I phoned the following day with a minor and non-urgent snag, he was round immediately, and this was the day before Christmas Eve. What excellent service! No wonder he is a Which Trusted Trader. Thank you, Tony and thank you, Which.
lonsec Posted on 24/12/2014 , work completed 24/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony for my kitchen refit based on the many positive reviews I'd read on Which Local. I'd not had any building work done previously but Tony was happy to explain the process and put my mind at rest. He visited my home and gave me an honest appraisal of my current kitchen and what improvements could be made with a new installation. I have to say that his professionalism, honesty and pleasant manner throughout made this process seem relatively easy! Although he's in constant demand (I'd arranged a rough time for installation a good few months in advance), he always kept me up to date with when he was able to start. I was at home during the refit and Tony and his team worked everyday without a break! He would always ask if there was something unclear from the design plans and always find a workaround for unforeseen problems. He completed his work ahead of time and under budget, and I'm more than happy with the end result. I also have a written guarantee from him for a full year for all the carpentry work undertaken. There are a few minor snags that I've contacted him about and I know they'll be sorted promptly. I highly recommend Tony and will definitely be using his services again.
boomus Posted on 31/08/2014 , work completed 31/08/2014
A Byrne is an "A" Class builder!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Byrne's professionalism, honesty and pleasant manner made my first time kitchen refit experience seem relatively easy. He completed his work ahead of time and under the agreed budget, and I'm more than happy with the end result. I also have a written guarantee from him for a full year for all the carpentry work undertaken. I highly recommend Tony and will definitely be using his services again.
2011-08-05 14:51:05.913 Posted on 31/08/2014 , work completed 31/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and fitted a replacement faÔøΩade for access to the side return of my property. The replacement was custom-built to my requirements and is high-quality and exactly what I wanted. I'd certainly be happy to call on his services when I next need some carpentry done.
TheWitage1 Posted on 30/03/2014 , work completed 30/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony recently built a fitted cupboard for me in a spare bedroom. He brings quality at a competitve price, plus commonsense, efficiency and reliability to any project he takes on. I'm more than happy to recommend him (again!) to Which Local users.
David Skinner Posted on 14/03/2014 , work completed 14/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony & his team to revamp my sons flat. Tony was helpful & polite & came up with good ideas for the reconstruction of the flat prior to sale. He was good at organising the project & arranging for his team to arrive at the appropriate times. I live some way off but thankfully was kept up to date with the progress. The bathroom in particular was a challenge as it was in a dire condition but the end result was spot on. When it came to the kitchen fitting Tony advised that it would be best if it was 'reconditioned' as the new owners would probably want to change things to suit their own taste. This he did by changing all the cupboard doors & replacing some areas that were damaged. The price for the work was reasonable so we did not feel overcharged. There were a few areas that needed tidying at the completion of the project but Tony sorted them promptly. Shame about the plasterer who made a real mess & it took me some time to clean up after him! Sadly we unearthed some minor blemishes after completion but I rectified these myself. I would certainly use Tony's services again.
mktone.b Posted on 02/03/2014 , work completed 02/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Byrne came promptly in response to my call about a jammed sash window, correctly diagnosed the problem, quoted a very reasonable price and then did the job on the spot. I will certainly use his services again and recommend him. 'Thank you' to him and to Which-local for the introduction.
lonsec Posted on 03/01/2014 , work completed 03/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony installed a kitchen door for me. He provided an excellent service throughout. He talked me through the work, outlined potential problems and gave me a choice of things to have done. When he did the actual work he was punctual, swift, polite and diligent. He was happy to offer advice about how I could do further work myself. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
sssccc Posted on 20/12/2013 , work completed 20/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If I have a carpentry job, Tony is always the first port of call. I've recommended him before and am pleased to do so again, belatedly, for a job he did for me back in February this year -- a pair of free-standing alcove units (cupboards and shelving units that he built to a design we jointly created). The positive stuff people write about Tony's work and approach is all more than justified: he's honest on price, professional on delivery and will never let you down. He has a wealth of practical experience and his commonsense approach and advice will help you plan and understand what can and can't be done cost-effectively. I've said it before: he's a top man and fully deserves all the plaudits.
David Skinner Posted on 13/09/2013 , work completed 13/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a rotten wooded window-sill. We were told by others that we would have to replace the whole window frame. Tony neatly cut out the rotten sill only and replaced it beautifully. He then also replaced our rotten back door and stopped our front door from sticking. He did a splendid job at a very reasonable price.
wilfred Posted on 19/07/2013 , work completed 19/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First Class Service....!!! I used Tony to replace my Bathroom Ceiling following a flood from an upstairs Flat. Not only was the work carried out to a high standard but his quiet,"no fuss" approach throughout, coupled with going the extra mile in sorting out a few minor adjustments to fittings as well - was really impressive. I would definitely use Tony and his team again and recommend him to others.
CHOKACHI Posted on 05/07/2013 , work completed 05/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've already recommended Tony to a friend and he's only been gone an hour! He is very professional and his work is excellent. Until my Dad died, I relied on him for my carpentry needs (he was a sort of cabinetmaker by trade) and I have to say that the shelves Tony has built for me would have done my Dad proud! Tony is now my first point of contact for any woodworking requirements.
Nikkib Posted on 09/05/2013 , work completed 09/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I choose Tony to fit a new kitchen. I found him through Which? Local and found that his rates were very competitive (much better than using the kitchen companies). He was prompt in arriving and came with creativity and innovation able to solve any problem that was thrown up. I am very pleased with the standard of work from Tony and his team and I would certainly recommend him to others.
ckirby Posted on 25/04/2013 , work completed 25/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Tony Byrne using Which Local and am writing this by way of thanks for all the hard work and imagination heÍs put into the refurbishment of my flat. Together with his team, he laid an engineered wood floor, removed an old kitchen, fitted and tiled a Howden kitchen, took out a stud wall, built fitted cupboards and a clever set of shelves in what had been a doorway. As a cost conscious, nervous and generally indecisive first time kitchen replacer, I wish that IÍd taken his advice (and great discount) earlier instead of trying to recycle my old Magnet kitchen. Once IÍd got over this hurdle, I could see that starting again from scratch made much more sense as he has a good relationship with the supplier and is familiar with their products. What has really helped is his lateral thinking and problem solving capabilities. Inevitably it wasnÍt that straight forward as the walls werenÍt straight, the cabinets needed modifying and the supporting pipework all needed changing. His colleague the plumber and gas fitter were really helpful in thinking of neat ways round problems. Tony offered suggestions about how I might maximise the space I had gained by taking down a stud wall to open up a large boiler cupboard. To me what was important was the way in which, even when we disagreed, we were able to see each otherÍs point of view and to agree on what was most practical. He was patient in explaining why I couldnÍt do the thing the thing I was bent on doing and how I might get round the issue. Similarly he gracefully accepted my niggles on certain items and agreed to redo something which I wasnÍt happy with. What helped most was the way in which he priced the job _ breaking down the items and being fair about not overcharging when it turned out that something could be recycled or he hadnÍt needed to do quite what was planned. Now that the job has been finished he has been good about arranging to attend to the minor snags that have arisen. He is friendly, professional, honest and straightforward and I have no hesitation in recommending him. Thanks!
Boof2235 Posted on 02/12/2012 , work completed 02/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We engaged Tony to replace a rotting casement window and try to re-open three other casement widows that had been screwed shut for 20 years. We also asked him to build a wardrobe in a bedroom. It was all successful and to a high standard to match the period features of our house and at a very reasonable cost. He is very friendly and experienced and gives good advice. He started promptly and worked on site on dates that suited us. The jobs were completed in a day and a half from our point of view as he could do most of the work in his own workshop. We will certainly ask Tony when we have any further jobs to be done.
Boletus Posted on 16/11/2012 , work completed 16/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A bathroom cupboard with drawer was required to fit in very little space and I could find nothing readymade. Mr Byrne suggested a good solution to the problem and made and fitted a suitable cupboard very quickly.
eliz77 Posted on 15/11/2012 , work completed 15/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Tony and his son Danny highly enough. They have just finished putting in fitted cupboards and shelves in every room of our new flat. Their prices were reasonable, standard of work excellent and speed outstanding. They delivered everything within a few weeks of ordering and installed everything in the space of four days causing minimal disruption. While he was working in the flat Tony also fixed a few niggling problems such as doors needing adjusting without further charge. I will definitely use them again.
lmizzi Posted on 18/10/2012 , work completed 18/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony repaired two of our sash windows and did a great job on what have turned out to be very poorly made windows in the first place. He was very reliable, honest and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend him.
floatboys Posted on 24/09/2012 , work completed 24/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony has just built and fitted two large alcove units consisting of cabinets and shelving for my Lounge and I am very pleased with them. I had obtained an alternative quote for the same amount of furniture from an alcove company and simply couldn't afford their price. I'm glad that I couldn't, as Tony was able to suggest a couple of ideas to neaten the housing of my Sky & DVD equipment which hadn't been suggested previously. Tony was totally professional, punctual, polite and a pleasure to have in my home. Would definitely use him again and would highly recommend him to others.
Elaine Balham Posted on 03/09/2012 , work completed 03/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony recently cut to size and fitted a thick wooden worktop, made a housing around the fridge/freezer from the same wood, and built an MDF cupboard around the boiler. He did an excellent job and I am very pleased indeed with the result. He was prompt to quote, fitted the job in quickly and finished it in under a day. He then went on to make a narrow worktop from the bits of wood that were left from the main job, and it looks splended. His prices were very reasonable and I would definitely recommend him to anyone. Doing a good job is clearly very important to Tony and I found his attention to detail and his overall approach to be very refreshing. I will certainly use his services again.
AlexandraA1 Posted on 18/06/2012 , work completed 18/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony made and hung a small door in the kitchen to complete an island without the door being visible. A simple job for a skilled craftsman, but carried out to a high standard. I would recommend Tony if you need any carpentry within the home. Dave Johnson
D Johnson Posted on 07/06/2012 , work completed 07/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony and Fred supplied and hung a new door for us. They kindly prioritised our work after our previous door was damaged, making replacement urgent for us. Tony's advice to us was honest and impartial, helping us to make a saving in purchasing the door, and the work was completed to a high standard.
jjtweed Posted on 15/04/2012 , work completed 15/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with Tony and his team. Always punctual, worked to a very high standard and full of innovative ideas. Tony fitted a kitchen for us, which looks superb. It is rare to find tradespeople who offer great quotes and actually complete the work in time and to an excellent finish. What more can we say? Definitely a number to keep in your address book.
balmoralupdate Posted on 07/04/2012 , work completed 07/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony once again gets five stars for quality and value. In March he built me a fireplace surrounding a bespoke shelf unit for set-top box and TV gizmos when I wanted to wall mount my TV above. (This is actually a smart idea -- shame the site doesn't host images.) Also a shelving unit and radiator cabinet for an alcove. Plus boarded out a loft area and created the access hatch. Total time Tony spent on site (he measures up and then makes the components off site) was two days 8:00-1:00/2:00pm each day. All cleared up perfectly afterwards. He thinks it through, makes all the right calls and guides you in the right directions because he has a ton of experience. Top man, true professional.
David Skinner Posted on 31/03/2012 , work completed 31/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Re-fitted and reset an internal door which was badly out of square and fitted a new kitchen door. Excellent work and would recommend. One slight drawback is that he is a Chelsea supporter, that apart I will certainly use again.
D Johnson Posted on 17/03/2012 , work completed 17/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Tony to undertake a range of work at our new home. He came up with imaginative solutions to some tricky problems. He works to a very high standard, his prices are reasonable, he is fast and efficient and he takes manifest pride in his work. He is very reliable and called us if he looked like being delayed. He worked at our home over a period of a couple of weeks and we are delighted with the results. We recommend him 100%.
Peter, Anerley Posted on 15/01/2012 , work completed 15/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony, helped put in a new kitchen in 2011 and did an excellent job, also put in a new door entrace into the kitchen. I would certainly recommend him.
lewinta Posted on 11/01/2012 , work completed 11/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony after all the recommendations seen on Which Local. He helped us put up bookshelves, build 2 fireplace surrounds, and cupboards in alcoves in our back room. He was so helpful, he made great suggestions - because we were quite vague on what we wanted - and he was quick and efficient. I would like to get him back to come and do some wardrobes in the new year, and I would certainly recommend him.
Wortley Posted on 04/12/2011 , work completed 04/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had used Tony earlier this year and so when I needed 4 new doors hanging I hD no hesitation in asking Tony to carry out the work. Another great job carried out o a high standard despite my very out of shape door frames. Highly recommended.
MBSW16 Posted on 06/11/2011 , work completed 06/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony created exactly what I wanted, to a high standard, on time and at a very good price. I can recommend him wholeheartedly.
crispin hay0 Posted on 24/10/2011 , work completed 24/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony dismantled and then installed a new bedroom window for us. He came and quoted when promised and then completed the job efficiently. The window he supplied us with was excellent and exactly what we'd asked for and a competitive price. A lovely guy to deal with would definitely use again and recommend.
stellalouise Posted on 20/09/2011 , work completed 20/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a wardrobe built sometime in July 2011- he arrived early, finished in half a day and tidied up after himself. Only fault is that he is very busy so it's difficult to get him back in. Would definitely recommend him.
albowles Posted on 12/09/2011 , work completed 12/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed some large fitted wardrobes fitted and found Tony through this site. He arranged times to come round and give us a quote and was full of helpful advice as to the layout and function of the space we had in mind. He was happy to return for a second consultation and dicuss things futher. He always arrived ontime and was friendly and helpful. The quality of his work and materials was very good. He gave me tips as to how to paint it too. He also rehung our livingroom door after we mentioned it as he was building the wardrobes. We looked around for prices and Tony's bispoke wardrobes were far cheaper (and used the entire space) than homebase, B&Q and John Lewis. We are extreamly happy with the result and will be using Tony again for work in our house. Shame we can't post a picture on here to show how good it looks.
Pompey1982 Posted on 28/05/2011 , work completed 28/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted wardrobes built into the bedroom each side of the chimney breast. Tony did a great job in understanding what I wanted including make some useful suggestion. The quality of the work is exellent. He started on time and finished when he said he would. I would recommend him and I shall be using his services again
MBSW16 Posted on 25/05/2011 , work completed 25/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Tony to come and quote for a large fence and gate across the back of our garden. He was good value, so we went with his quote. He turned up on time and was fast and courteous. The result was what we needed. We're going to ask him to come back and build us some shelves now. I'd definitely recommend him.
LizJon Posted on 11/04/2011 , work completed 11/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Tony to lay a laminate floor as well as cut a viewer into my bathroom door and prepare the bathroom floor for vinyl,having read his reviews on his work. I was not disapointed. He gave a competitive quote, was punctual, reliable, made good suggestions in terms of how the work could be carried out in order to give a good finish. I also felt he had a very honest and fair approach, which was confirmed when he passed on financial savings to me from laying the floor, due to it not being as fiddly as he thought it was going to be. Tony was also very helpful in making suggestions to find storage solutions in my flat when I sought his advice. He was able to show me pictures of his previous work, which made it easier to decide what to go for when it came to my flat. Again he was able to give me a quote with which I felt comfortable and equally a storage solutions that would work best for my flat. I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Ods Posted on 20/03/2011 , work completed 20/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony was quick, reliable and punctual in both giving an estimate and when carrying out the work I had asked for. He was polite and helpful. It was not an easy job to do because my house is old and crooked. He made and fitted shelves and five new kitchen cupboard doors in the same style as the original ones, I am very pleased with the work and with the reasonable price that he charged. I shall be happy to reccommend him.
coffin dodger Posted on 09/03/2011 , work completed 09/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The flat needed some heavy mirrors fixed to the walls and Tony was contacted to do the job. I was happy with the quote and furthermore, was impressed by the glowing recommendations on this site. I was not disappointed. The work demanded precision and skill to make sure the mirrors were level and securely attached to the walls. Tony and John's work was excellent. They were patient and friendly throughout, clearly taking pride in their work and wanting to do a first-class job (which they certainly did). They also problem solved regarding attaching a fiddly blind behind the door. They also repositioned some coat hooks and hung three paintings for me. Tony and John (who is a plumber by trade) were a pleasure to have around and I will definitely be contacting Tony (and John for plumbing work) in the future, when I need their expertise once again.
kam67 Posted on 12/02/2011 , work completed 12/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Tony using whichlocal during april 2010. He saved the day for me on short notice when I was let down by another carpenter. His work is brilliant, he has great ideas and attention to detail. I have used him regularly on a variety of different projects and I know I can always rely on him to do a fantastic job. Tony is a very highly skilled tradesman, and a nice bloke as well.
kouzaris Posted on 28/01/2011 , work completed 28/01/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of tradesmen come in to do work and unfortunately all of them let us down. Dodgy plumbing, exploding electrics, kitchen cupboards falling apart, we felt we weren't sure if we could cope with anymore. I was getting ready to sign myself up for every maintenance course going for the next 10 years just to get our bathroom done! Then we found Which? Local and Tony Byrne. He came in on the Saturday gave a quote and got to work on the Monday. What a top class job he did! Polite, courteous, reliable, went out of his way to help, everything you'd want in a tradesman. He knocked down a wall and completed renevated our bathroom. With exquisite attention to detail and an boundless work ethic Tony helped to transform our flat, and, while he was at it, our opionion of tradesmen in London! Thanks Tony. Thanks Which? Local.
lucyconn Posted on 22/11/2010 , work completed 22/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built us some built in alcove cupboards and shelves for a very reasonable price as well as hanging some kitchen cupboards very securely. I would definitely recommend Tony as he was on time, tidy, made good suggestions and competitive on price. Thanks!
dalgleish00 Posted on 05/11/2010 , work completed 05/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony did an excellent job refurbishing an airing cupboard that now looks better than we could have imagined. Everything from providing an estimate to finishing the job was done efficiently and to a high standard using good materials. He is also easy to talk to when discussing your requirements and makes useful and practical suggestions. Highly recommended
david arthur wells Posted on 28/10/2010 , work completed 28/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony Byrne built a set of fitted bedroom cupboards plus a combined shelf and cupboard alcove unit for our dining room to match similar units in the living room. Tony offers a friendly and highly efficient service, very helpful advice based on a wealth of experience, together with excellent quality and all at a highly competitive and reasonable price. He's considerate, clears up, does what he says at the time agreed, and produces a great job. I've worked with a number of carpenters and cabinet makers and Tony is a top man -- 5/5, 10/10, highly recommended. I'm pleased to pass his details on to fellow CA members as I found Tony through Which Local.
David Skinner Posted on 15/10/2010 , work completed 15/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a new gas boiler fitted and wanted it incorporated into a cupboard. On seeing the good reviews above, I contacted Tony and asked him if he could come and give me an estimate. He came to my house, measured up, gave me a quote on the Friday and actually fitted the cupboard the following Tuesday. He arrived early and completed the task in three hours. I am very pleased with the work he did and would certainly use him again. Tony is a real gem and I highly recommend him.
Gillian Young Posted on 29/09/2010 , work completed 29/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I decided to use Tony after reading all the great reviews about him on Which Localƒƒand he delivered! He came round to give me a quote and in a matter of days he was building me a landing cupboard. We are delighted with the cupboard, the time it took and the cost. He is very professional, tidy, considerate, helpful and very trustworthy and I look forward to using him again on the next few jobs. I would highly recommend him.
Mrs Mankertz Posted on 14/09/2010 , work completed 14/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would highly recommend Tony. He installed quite complex fitted wardrobes for us bought from Homebase. He was punctual, flexible with when he could carry out the work and did not go over the time he originally estimated nor his original quote. His charge is reasonable and his work to a very high standard. We intend using him again to build some wardrobes from scratch for another bedroom.
Patrick G Posted on 14/09/2010 , work completed 14/09/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Secondary review from John Talbot - Tony made us a pair of built-in wardrobes, but they had to match our 'Arts and Crafts' Victorian house, with rebates and chamfers on every one of 16 doors. He made a perfect job of it, taking care in all the difficult areas, and leaving a splendid result. He came when he said he would (to the minute), and was very helpful in going through the alternatives for design and construction. Great job, highly recommended.
John Talbot Posted on 25/08/2010 , work completed 25/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony came in and saved the day when another carpenter let us down. He came when he said he would, understood what we wanted, and discussed some options with us. Over the weekend, he built the architrave we needed, and fitted it and installed the door the next day. The finished result was even better than we expected. Super job - very professional. He came when he said he would (to the minute), and was very helpful in going through the alternatives for design and construction. Great job, highly recommended.
John Talbot Posted on 24/07/2010 , work completed 24/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony built and fitted new built-in wardrobes in our flat and did a fantastic job. He took the time to call round and discuss what we needed before giving us an estimate - he was really flexible when we changed our mind about how to configure it inside and didn't add any extra charge from the original estimate. He arrived really early and did the whole job in one day. I'd highly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/07/2010 , work completed 06/07/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would highly recommend Mr. Burns. He carried out a number of jobs in our house building a bookcase and shelves in one of the bedrooms, laying laminate flooring in several rooms, replacing skirting boards, building a large wooden storage shed in the garden and fitting a new front door frame. He was reliable always turning up on time and was friendly, polite and helpful explaining what he was going to do and providing useful suggestions when we were unsure quite what we wanted. He ensured that you were happy with the work on completion and was clear about the cost which was reasonable and the finished result was to a very high standard. We had no problem with leaving him to carry out the jobs whilst we were at work as he was trustworthy and diligent. We would definitely use him again.
angela isaac Posted on 16/06/2010 , work completed 16/06/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tony is a reliable worker - he got back to us with an estimate swiftly and turned up when he said he would. He made us a sturdy set of stairs from our kitchen down to our cellar, completing the work in less than a day, and we are pleased with the end result.
Nicky in Streatham Posted on 15/06/2010 , work completed 15/06/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Tony to repair some old wardrobes. Not only did Tony repair them but built me a matching chest of draws. Tony's service was punctual, polite and very friendly. I will definitely use Tony again especially when I get my kitchen and bathroom upgraded.
dave.brookes Posted on 28/03/2010 , work completed 28/03/2010