We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

A M S Drain Services Ltd

Profile thumb 24 hour service logo
4.8

46 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

Organisations and Awards

May 2019

About

Delving down into a drainage system to clear a blockage or identify an issue is not a job for a home or business owner - leave it to drain specialists. At A.M.S. Drain Services, in St Werburghs, Bristol, our qualified and accredited technicians specialise in providing drain clearance and repairs to domestic, commercial, and industrial clients. For more than 25 years we have been working with customers 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year to ensure that they are never left without assistance. Our response time to local enquiries is around one hour, at which point our experts use more than 30 years of experience to resolve your issue. A.M.S. Drain Services are proud members of the National Association of Drainage Contractors (NADC).

We are proud to say that we are members of various professional bodies relating to the drainage services sector. These organisations include the National Association of Drainage Contractors and the Federation of Master Builders.

What we do

  • Drain clearance contractors

    • Drain and sewer services
    • Emergency drain clearance service
    • Septic tank emptying
    • Gutter clearance
  • More Services

    • excavation repairs
    • no dig pipe-lining
    • sonar tracing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
46 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Blocked storm downpipe
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cleared my blocked storm downpipe. Polite and friendly workman, explained what he was doing and why, cleared up and concreated hole. Also going to provide bird nest gutter traps and my previous ones had fallen down and not helping the blockage! I chose A M S as they they are a Which? recommended trader and would use them again and recommend to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/09/2021 , work completed 17/09/2021
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would definitely recommend this company! Very helpful and friendly workmen who even sorted out other problems that were not quoted for, and didn’t charge extra when the work was completed. Cleaned up after themselves too. Very happy with their work. Thank you. 🤗
Julie in South Gloucestershire Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Punctual, efficient and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem that our Combi boiler that was automatically switching off as a safety measure because the condensate pipe could not empty into the plumbing system as it was blocked. Not great given that it was freezing outside and the heating wasn't working! He came right on time and rapidly sorted out 2 blockages. We now have running and draining water, and more importantly the heating is working again. Thanks for great service - strongly recommended.
Stephen in Bristol Posted on 06/01/2021 , work completed 06/01/2021
Fast & efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a septic tank emptied and AMS were very quick in responding to my request. The work was carried out in a very friendly and efficient manner. I would definitely recommend them if you need this kind of service.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 06/02/2020 , work completed 06/02/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called AMS as I had a problem with rainwater drainage at my 1950s home. They came very promptly and the engineer worked diligently to diagnose the issue and a scope of work and budget was provided to make the necessary repairs. The team returned as agreed to undertake the work which was in an awkward position and not at all easy to access. I was extremely impressed with their work, patience and expertise. They explained the work as it progressed, gave me greater insight into the drainage at my house and were extremely proactive in delivering solutions for the range of linked problems with this drain. I felt that they went above and beyond. The team were polite and cheerful and the works area was left clean, tidy and neatly finished. It has resolved a long standing issue and I am extremely grateful for their hard work. I was very impressed and would strongly recommend AMS.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 26/01/2020 , work completed 16/01/2020
Highly recommend AMS Drains
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had damage drain underneath a concrete floor. Gary and the team did a great and very neat job digging underneath the shower finding the offending drain and repairing it. The new fitting was very secure. Everything was tested before being covered up with ballast and quick set concrete. The final finish was very good and the shower fitted back in place perfectly. In addition, the job wasn’t too expensive either, so good value for money.
Customer in Monmouthshire Posted on 12/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. I didn't realise one drain survey could be so different from another. I'd had one done, but it was inconclusive , so called AMS for a second try. They spent three times as long, took extra photos, flushed coloured water down the loo and then sent the footage with a report mapping every tiny root, crack and bit of dirt, colour- coded to show the degree of urgency, all at a lower price than the others. They were way better than the first - as Hyperion to a satyr, to quote Hamlet. They then did the repair quickly and efficiently, leaving everything clean and tidy. I was very impressed.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
Prompt response and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rarely write reviews but feel moved to do it on this occasion. I got the number for AMS from Drains from the Trusted Trader website when my toilets, shower and outside drain all backed up. The drain flooded and there was horrible debris. I was very obviously very concerned for a number of reasons, including how long it would be before it was sorted out and how much it might cost. I needn't have worried! Gary and Dave responded quickly and arrived within the hour. They were professional, knowledgeable, efficient and cheerful. Gary cleared the blockage very quickly and had cameras to investigate had there been a further blockage (which thankfully there wasn't). Finally, the cost was very reasonable and much less than I'd feared. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company and it's services.
Alexandra Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 03/09/2019
Fast and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and his staff responded the same afternoon to my call for assistance with a blocked drain. After unsuccessfully trying to trace the location of the blockage for more than an hour, they returned the following day with CCTV equipment, and successfully located the location. They then persevered to break down and remove the blockage, before leaving the site clean and tidy, a job well done!
Jim, City of Bristol Posted on 15/08/2019 , work completed 14/08/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alistar was here early to unblock my toilet. He was very pleasant & professional. He completed the job within the time quoted and cleared outside drain which was on my neighbours property. Very pleased with work.
Susan, Avon Posted on 10/08/2019 , work completed 10/08/2019
Speedy and professional repair to external drain and pipework
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary and his team did an excellent job. They visited the property within an hour of my initial call and swiftly provided a quote and date when they could carry out the work. They arrived on time, did work to a great standard and left the place clean and tidy.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Efficient, quick, tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called AMS based on recommendation from a work friend. From booking appointment to closing the door all quick and smooth. When telling them of my drain problem they gave me a quote which was priced as expected. They offered me a number of different suitable times to come to complete the work. Gentleman did arrive early which was perfect. Worked in a very neat and tidy fashion. Saw the problem and sorted it. Tidied up after and even washed down my decking around the drain. Hopefully my drains won't require unblocking again but I know where to go if they do. Water now flows freely!
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 05/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Efficient & Tidy Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Impressed with how AMS went about the work. Investigated problem, proposed practical solution & undertook works as planned. Clean, tidy work and pleasant people. Would use again & recommend to others.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 10/06/2019
A good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service was prompt and efficient and did what we required.
Roger, Avon Posted on 17/06/2019 , work completed 17/06/2019
Good job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was good right from booking with Tracey through to reliability and them being there on time. Alistair was lovely: so polite, worked so hard in spite of a very difficult blockage, sprayed and cleared everything that had sewage on it - I would have no hesitation in recommending them!
Elizabeth, Avon Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 07/06/2019
Very good service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. Did more than just clear our blockage. Freed up all our inspection covers. Pleasant people.
David, Gloucestershire Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Inspired confidence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial call to work on site I felt no anxiety. Straightforward honest communication and obvious technical ability - recommend.
Candida, Avon Posted on 19/02/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AMS arrived and did survey and quickly identified the problem, which they resolved efficiently, and then rechecked with survey. Really polite, and really clear about what they would do and how much it might cost.
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 12/12/2018 , work completed 12/12/2018
Best service, best price, friendly and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just really great service - engineer came out quickly, was completely upfront about options and the costs behind each one. At no point did I feel pressured or like I was being railroaded towards a particular option. He was polite, friendly, and communicated really well. The quote was competitive, but most importantly, clear. I knew exactly how he was going to fix the problem, what might go wrong, and and what he'd do if it did - and how much it would cost - so there would be no nasty surprises. There was also no incomprehensible jargon! In the end, it went perfectly to plan, and cost less than any of the other quotes would have. He did the job quickly and thoroughly, with a minimum of disruption. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending AMS. Hugely grateful to them for their professionalism!
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 08/12/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
Professional, helpful, effective.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
AMS have cleared blocked drains for me on several occasions. They have always been prompt, professional, helpful and polite. They are also very effective as they have managed to unblock a drain that several other drain companies could not, and so I have used them ever since.
Katya, Avon Posted on 05/12/2018 , work completed 05/12/2018
Swift and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Similar feedback to everyone else - phoned on Monday afternoon and arrived on time Tuesday lunchtime. Drain cleared efficiently and cleaned up well afterwards!
Customer in City of Bristol Posted on 04/12/2018 , work completed 04/12/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cleared the main drain efficient and tidy (as always!) No problems, would definitely recommend!
Geoffrey, Avon Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Efficient with excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job completed within the hour, very efficiently. Excellent customer service skills from both men showing great knowledge and were friendly. They left my house really clean and tidy. I was very impressed with the service I received.
Alexa, Avon Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
A professional service when you need it
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My tenants told me their drain was not flowing. AMS attended promptly and cleared a blockage but advised that remedial work to the pipework was needed. They quoted for the work and completed it on time and for the quoted price. They were polite and respectful of my tenants home and cleared away all the mess. Highly recommended for a complete solution.
John, Avon Posted on 09/10/2018 , work completed 09/10/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Engineer turned up on time, they did a thorough job of diagnosing a complex problem across 3 properties. We had a sewage blow back into our basement which required cleaning out four different manholes and a shown and its drains. Very happy with his work.
Sunita, Avon Posted on 18/08/2018 , work completed 18/08/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I telephoned AMS at 8:30am by 9:30am I had a return call. I explained the drain problem. They advised on the initial cost and that they be here in 2 hours. They were by 11:am, the problem was solved within 2 hours.
Corrina, Avon Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon, the A.M.S Drains engineer was super efficient and friendly. He did a professional job and left my drive / garden tidy and clean after the job. Cleaned the house drains and was so cheerful and reassuring as it was a mucky job. Really top job
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 14/07/2018 , work completed 14/07/2018
Best possible service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I did a lot of the digging myself. They made multiple visits to give advise, and then did a camera survey and finished the job for me. So flexible and so helpful.
Finn, Avon Posted on 19/06/2018 , work completed 19/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a Bank Holiday drain emergency, was dealt with professionally and promptly. Really couldn't ask for a better service. Gary turned up, was very polite and friendly, did the job and left us as very happy customers. Definitely recommend!!!!!
Jamesb Posted on 27/05/2018 , work completed 27/05/2018
First Class Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service (unlike the previous company we used)! Jetted/cleared out blocked foul drainage pipe, carried out a camera survey to discover the problem (which was a broken pipe) and they were more than happy to provide a price to replace the damaged section. On completion they not only disinfected the cleared pipework but also the surrounding area where the sewage had 'backed-up' and overflowed to leave the whole area clean and tidy. We were most impressed with the efficient and friendly service and have no hesitation in recommending this company!
Amanda M Posted on 18/05/2018 , work completed 18/05/2018
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and Gary arrived at the time agreed with the office and cleared the bathroom drain thoroughly and efficiently. They then checked the main drain and found that needed some clearing as well. This they did very expertly and professionally. The price was what had been agreed and I was very impressed with their professionalism & their niceness!
Elizabeth, Avon Posted on 30/04/2018 , work completed 30/04/2018
disappointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Promised three times to come and finish the job but didn't turn up and failed to tell me they weren't coming. Left garden in a mess. Tried to impose a surcharge for payment by credit card. But they were a jolly crew and the drain is flowing freely.
Tiddlepom Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
Thorough Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A good service, good communication and helpful attitude. Good, clean job of unblocking the drains and explanation of job done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Amazing job - best drainage company in the west!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great company, reliable, fast service at a good price.
Adam, Avon Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sink blockage resolved quickly and efficiently at the weekend. Good job completed in tidy, speedy fashion.
Michael, Avon Posted on 06/01/2018 , work completed 06/01/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called by a tenant in my Bristol property, toilets not flushing away & shower blocked. Inspection of outside sewer covers revealed drains blocked. Called AMS, arrived in 2 hours & immediately identified & remedied problem. Excellent value & great overall service.
Richard, Somerset Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful, friendly and professional. Sorted the job immediately and checked for any further problems which he didn't need to do.
Rachel Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They came straight away and sorted the blocked drain for us. They were brilliant.
A, Avon Posted on 30/09/2017 , work completed 30/09/2017
The company is great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gary has done work for me for the last 15 years - I wouldn't use anybody else! The most recent thing was a drain was blocked in a property, he cleared it and left everything clean and tidy.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
So efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He recently used a camera system down some drains for me but I've used Gary for ages - he was originally recommended to me several years ago and I've used him ever since! He's so reliable and always onto the job straight away
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A M S have done great work for us - they recently checked a drain for us and did a camera survey, and previously have removed a blockage. Gary does a good job and I'd recommend the business to those who need him
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Happy to Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replace a saniflow to toilet and unblock sinks in kitchen to a student property
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/09/2016 , work completed 12/09/2016
A difficult job made to look easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sewage chamber pumped out and cleaned
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/09/2016 , work completed 08/09/2016
Efficient and got the job done well
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pipe relining
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
Good quality work, very friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Remedial works to correct a poor external drain installation performed by another builder
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/09/2016 , work completed 01/09/2016
Very happy with drain lining carried out by AMS
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Camera survey of domestic drainage from house to road and the fitting of a lining on a subsequent visit
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/08/2016 , work completed 11/08/2016