We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Aidan Caroll T/A A&J Traditional Roof Renovations

Logo on white
Profile thumb 62c51a4e a46b 47b1 ac70 4928f00cb8c8

5.0

36 Reviews

About

A local and family run business with over 30 years experience in the roofing trade. Our friendly and passionate team take a lot of pride in their work and always strive to provide our customers with the best possible services.

We offer free no obligation estimates and provide a wide range of services from tiling, flat roofing and guttering to Velux windows and new roofs and overhauls. There is no job too small for our fast, reliable friendly team.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
  • More Services

    • skylights
    • velux windows
    • slating
    • tiling pointing
    • roof repair

Customer reviews

5.0
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a listed farmhouse and outbuildings with a mixture of old clay and slate tiles. Aidan and his team quoted for the work and completed it in a timely manner. He was very considerate and the quality of his work is excellent. His attention to detail and experience was demonstrated, spotting areas that needed renovation that I had not seen. He walked round with me to show me what work had been done and to ensure I was completely satisfied before he packed up and left, taking with him all broken tiling. I would recommend Aidan without hesitation.
Customer in Fawley03/08/2019
Great work and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During a period of heavy rain, I discovered that the roof of my extension was leaking badly and water was coming down through the ceiling. After being let down by a number of roofers who said they did not have time to fix it, Aidan Carroll came the very next day to look at the leak and did a temporary repair the next Monday morning. He and his friendly crew later renewed the whole roof to a high standard for a reasonable price and did not charge more than quoted, although some unexpected problems with the roof turned up. They cleaned up everything afterwards and Aidan even gave me some free advice about other troubles with my house unrelated to the roof. So I can thoroughly recommend Aidan Carroll and his A&J Traditional Roof Renovations
Customer in Earley20/05/2019
Honest service, professional results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our roof was leaking rain into our young daughters bedroom. Aidan and his team came round, explained what required doing and gave us clear options & pricing. The prices quoted were decent, and after they expertly completed the job the cost seemed tiny! One other comment would be the kind advice they were willing to give us on how we could improve some other things without looking to "sell" us anything else
tonyabbo10/12/2018
5* service from Quote to completion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a dormer flat roof replaced; new guttering; rotten timber beneath the dormer pitched roof plastic facia replaced and new facia installed; dormer pitched roof re-pointed; gable end of 2 story house re-pointed and facia made weatherproof; chimney cowl installed which allows us to use our gas fire; ridge tiles repointed; chimney lead flashing made secure; replaced damaged felting in back roof. The team arrived on time and not only did they carry out a professional job with the repairs but also cleaned the facia of the complete house. They not only did an excellent job but also cleaned up every night after they had finished.
ColinWoodley, .02/08/2018
Great find
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aidan was very punctual and understood the problem straight away The repair was undertaken with the minimum of fuss and to all intents and purpose has resolved the problem Would fully recommend this firm I thought he was good value for money
Beemaray, .02/08/2018
Very professional and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Aidan on a Saturday based on the reviews and ratings here. The job was to replace a couple of tiles dislodged by my son trying to kick his football over the house! Aidan offered a visit the next working day, and then called later that same day after it started raining to offer a visit on Sunday if I was concerned that any water was getting in. I thought that was very good of him. Fortunately there was not water getting so, so I waited until Monday, and he arrived with his men at exactly the time agreed, and they got to work assessing the problem and repairing it. They made sure to protect the roof while working on it and because they managed to do the repair fairly quickly, charged me less than the estimate. Very happy to recommend him.
Martin T14/05/2018
Professional and quality service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aiden and his team installed loft and roof insulation, as well as repairing my garage roof and resolving leaky leadwork. Aiden was very clear about what the options we're, as well as the costs and timeframe to undertake the work. His team were very considerate about mess and diligently cleared up afterwards. I am very pleased with the outcome.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/03/2018
Professional and quality service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aiden and his team installed loft and roof insulation, as well as repairing my garage roof and resolving leaky leadwork. Aiden was very clear about what the options we're, as well as the costs and timeframe to undertake the work. His team were very considerate about mess and diligently cleared up afterwards. I am very pleased with the outcome.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/03/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced all existing guttering and repaired soffit and damaged tiles. Very straightforward to deal with - price paid was as quoted and work is to a high standard.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer21/02/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced all existing guttering and repaired soffit and damaged tiles. Very straightforward to deal with - price paid was as quoted and work is to a high standard.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer21/02/2018
Absolutely delighted with the work Aidan and his team did for us in Earley
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend Aidan Carroll and his men high enough. They recently replaced our roof and guttering. This was done very efficiently, with the minimum of fuss and disturbance, and at a fair and reasonable price. Aidan and team were not only friendly and courteous, but they took great pains to carefully explain what they were doing, and what we should expect and by when. In fact, they went further than this ? even coming out spontaneously on a number of occasions when they thought the high winds and rain were causing us alarm. We are absolutely delighted with the top quality work and assurances Aidan has provided. He is a dedicated and highly professional businessman, with excellent inter-personal skills. He richly deserves the various industry body accreditations he is receiving, and we would happily give his name and details to anyone who needs roofing work undertaken.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/02/2018
Absolutely delighted with the work Aidan and his team did for us in Earley
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot recommend Aidan Carroll and his men high enough. They recently replaced our roof and guttering. This was done very efficiently, with the minimum of fuss and disturbance, and at a fair and reasonable price. Aidan and team were not only friendly and courteous, but they took great pains to carefully explain what they were doing, and what we should expect and by when. In fact, they went further than this ? even coming out spontaneously on a number of occasions when they thought the high winds and rain were causing us alarm. We are absolutely delighted with the top quality work and assurances Aidan has provided. He is a dedicated and highly professional businessman, with excellent interpersonal skills. He richly deserves the various industry body accreditations he is receiving, and we would happily give his name and details to anyone who needs roofing work undertaken.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer20/02/2018
Prompt and reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer17/01/2018
Excellent Roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had various jobs completed successfully by Adrian, from complete slate roof replacement, flat roof replacement and minor guttering and down pipe repairs. In all cases he has been efficient, helpful and fully trustworthy. Also his pricing is not over the top. I can highly recommend him for any roofing or related job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer06/01/2018
Reliable, efficient and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They have worked for us for a number of years on all types of roofing jobs both residential and industrial. Good workmanship and very reliable
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer06/01/2018
Excellent roofing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aidan removed all the roof tiles from the main roof, replaced broken tiles, removed the old felt and replaced with a lighter, breathable membrane. He checked and replaced any broken ridge tiles. He mended our porch, removed rotten wood and refelted the porch roof. Aidan provided an excellent service at a competitive price. We highly recommend this company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/07/2017
Excellent roofing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aidan removed all the roof tiles from the main roof, replaced broken tiles, removed the old felt and replaced with a lighter, breathable membrane. He checked and replaced any broken ridge tiles. He mended our porch, removed rotten wood and refelted the porch roof. Aidan provided an excellent service at a competitive price. We highly recommend this company.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/07/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I represent the Management Company that looks after this block of flats. One member reported a small, but distressing leak. After an unfortunate experience with another Company who failed to respond, and with a very wet weekend in prospect, I contacted A& J Traditional Roofing. Aidan came round the same day, and fixed the problem there and then. I could not have asked for a better response, or for quicker service.
Hugh MCC14/12/2016
.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with job done and the work was carried out quickly and efficiently.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/09/2016
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with job done and the work was carried out quickly and efficiently.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and knowledge. Prompt repair of a small leak in roof.
gcd20/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having seen this business on Whichlocal I contacted them to have my home re-roofed and with excellent results. I was a little concerned to have my roof stripped off and replaced in November/December, but was assured that each time the site was left the roof would be watertight - and all timely and at a reasonable cost.
richardatt09/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Aidan on the basis of 14 other Which? reviews and he didn't disappoint. Within the space of a couple of days he came and assessed the necessary repairs needed to my roof, emailed a very reasonable estimate together with evidence of insurance cover and the work was promptly carried out by his team of three in a polite and friendly but professional and efficient manner. He has 25 years of roofing experience behind him and I sensed that he enjoys and takes pride in the work that he does, most of which is as a result of recommendations. I would certainly not hesitate to use him again.
Tholomy04/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Aidan because a long-term leak was discovered in the roof of our 1903 3-story semi, and there was damp in a chimney wall on the other side of the house (the leading around the chimney was suspect). Aidan told us two sets of scaffolding would be needed, and gave us an estimate for the whole job which we agreed. Then I took pictures through a skylight and it was clear some re-pointing of the chimney would be needed. Aidan & co eventually repointed the whole chimney, leaded the gulley which had caused the leak, and fixed other problems which became apparent when he was up there, keeping us informed throughout, and all to the original estimate. Highly recommended.
Paul Kingston28/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been very pleased with Aiden's work, on time, practical and always with good advice
Paul B Reading20/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aiden and his team replaced a ridge tile blown off in a recent gale and noted other remedial work all of which was done promptly and well. A job well done
John Sargent07/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aiden Carroll recently did a very fine repair on our 1984 roof and he carefully matched the mortar between the tiles. His work was meticulous and he tidied up around the site after the job was complete. His price was for everything required and there were no extras. We were extremely pleased with his work.
Trevenen02/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely delighted. Aiden and his team came and replaced several tiles on a very old roof. The tiles were very difficult to reach an he did it with the minimum of fuss.
hantsboy27/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We can only reiterate what everyone else has said. Aiden and his "team" arrived promptly and completed the work to a very high standard. We have had problems with a leaky roof over several years and despite employing various contractors the problem was not solved. Aiden was able to pinpoint the cause and we are very pleased by the result. The site and surrounding area was left clean and tidy. We would thoroughly recommend this company.
Lesley6020/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having seen previous good feedback on this contractor on Which Local, next door neighbour and I accepted their quote to re-roof our flat roofed duplex garages. A pleasant, skilled contractors turned up, work has been done by craftsmen in their field. Finished job superb. Work on site was clean, careful and friendly. Pricing for job was vry reasonable indeed. Would recommend using this contractor.
Howard, Reading15/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A&J Traditional Roof Renovations provided a competitive quote for the re-felting of our garage and kitchen flat roof. Their work is of a very high standard. They were reliable and kept us updated at all stages of the work. They cleaned up on a daily basis. We are very pleased with the job they have done and we would highly recommend this company.
ripley110/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We noticed a leak in our ceiling and looked on Which Local for a recommended local roofer and found several good reviews for Aidan at A&J Traditional Roof Renovations. Aidan turned up promptly for the appointment we had made with him, found out the source of the problem (fairly minor: some slipped slates) and came back again as per appointment two days later to do the repair. Aidan was friendly and helpful and the cost seemed in line with what to expect for a roofing job. We would contact him again for any roof problems.
Hoyte Swager17/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced lead valley using new code 4 lead in two sections of roof and replaced matching Welsh slates to restore original appearance and waterproofing of Victorian roof. Work was carried out professionally and photos taken of the roof before, during and after as evidence of proper skilled workmanship. Work guaranteed for 25 years.
Nikolai13/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aiden has recently replaced our roof (August 2012). Our roof had not been touched since 1930 and we knew it needed work. Aiden gave us an honest and accurate assessment of the work that needed to be done. Aiden and his team have re felted, re battened and upgraded the insulation in the loft. His work is of an excellent standard and he is a true master craftsman - he is honest hard working and reliable. He charged us a reasonable price for the work and was very accurate about what it would cost - there were no horrible surprises and "extras". I highly recommend him. He was recommended to us by word of mouth and rightly has an excellent reputation.
Caroline Small12/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a quick browse of Which? Local we chose Aiden to replace the felt roof of our gabled garden summerhouse. At the end of several weeks of drought, strong winds had torn off the existing felt - just before some heavy showers arrived. To protect us from further rain, Aiden and his assistant came at fairly short notice and quickly made us watertight again. They did an excellent job, tidied up after themselves, and charged a very reasonable price. They also did some remedial work to our house roof for good measure. What more can you ask? I strongly recommend.
Martin Price21/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Aiden for flat roof replacement twice. He relies almost entirely on personal recommendations, based on the high quality of his work. The team was friendly and hard working and cleaned up after themselves on a daily basis. The work was to a good quality and very good value for money. All types of roofing supplied, also soffits and fascias.
Alun Frey09/03/2011