Endorsed by Which?

Blackhall Plumbing Heating & Electrical

4.7

70 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

Organisations and Awards

May 2019

About

Blackhall Plumbing, Heating and Electrical was founded in 1913 by Peter Blackhall and is now in the hands of its 5th generation of the Blackhall family.

Since it began as a busy, one man business all those years ago, Blackhall Plumbing and Heating has grown into one of the largest and most respected commercial plumbing firms in Scotland.

With over 100 years of providing all types of plumbing, heating and electrical services to the Edinburgh residents.

Your in safe hands with Blackhall's

Please get in touch with any questions, we would be happy to help.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Renewable energy

    • Solar water heating
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
    • Solar panels
  • Electricians

    • Rewiring
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical testing services
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • More Services

    • legionella risk assessment
    • solar pv

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
70 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.6
Sort by
Repair to Solar panel installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
P Blackwood came to my rescue and assessed my Solar power installation which had faults and was originally installed incorrectly. They corrected the faults, issued me with an MCS Certificate and now my Solar installation works perfectly with no alarms and the Solar panels are correctly fixed to my roof and easily withstood the recent gales. I would fully recommend P Blackwood for any future renewables installations.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 23/01/2024 , work completed 13/10/2023
Quick and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this trader twice, once for a leak in the kitchen and then for a shower issue (no pressure or hot water) Both times, the issue was resolved efficiently and in a timely manner. Happy to recommend
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/11/2023 , work completed 10/11/2023
Excellent communication and aftercare
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was my first time using Blackhall Plumbing and Heating. I can't tell you my relief at choosing this company due to their professional service and aftercare. Not only did Stuart arrange a fast viewing and quote, he even came out personally after hours when the job was complete. There was a small issue (easily resolved involving electric trip switch) and he thoroughly checked that my boiler was working efficiently. Sean in particular really impressed me. The variety of jobs needing done were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Both he and his apprentice were very helpful and friendly - they even took in deliveries at my door for me (I'm physically disabled) and assembled a shower seat! This was really going above and beyond the service that I was expecting. I felt the price was also very reasonable considering everything that got done. Don't hesitate to use this company.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 28/10/2023 , work completed 26/10/2023
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Tim and his superb team on Which? Trusted Traders after our boiler broke down and we discovered our long term engineers had retired. Our system is complex, and significant connectivity and supply problems arose in the replacement of the boiler. All these were eventually solved by hard work and commitment by the team who were unfailingly courteous, skillful, tidy and on time. We have had a long term problem with water supply to our bath which 4 other firms had looked at over the last 5 years with no solution other than lifting the tiled floor to investigate. This was mentioned and it has now been fixed by the team without any disturbance. I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 26/07/2023 , work completed 19/07/2023
Great service as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used PBlackhall plumbing for years. They are always fast to come out and provide a great service with people that I can trust. If work doesn't need doing they say so. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/05/2022 , work completed 29/04/2022
Professional and thorough job done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The plumber sent by P Blackhall was clean and courteous and arrived promptly. He stood back and quoted/told it would be a big job - two men all day by another firm. He stood back and took time to consider the options. He said that it was a straightforward job no need to drain down system. He could do it himself. He completed the work within 4 hours even going for parts. He left a very clean and tidy job.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/04/2022 , work completed 17/03/2022
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my initial telephone contact to completion of the work and billing for the agreed cost, Blackhall Plumbing Heating & Electrical have provided an excellent service. They responded to my request that the problem be dealt with as an emergency, their plumber Derek gave a clear explanation of the work required, carried it out efficiently in a friendly professional manner, and the cost of the work was as expected from their stated terms. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 30/03/2022 , work completed 29/03/2022
Great work on solar panels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
P Blackhall's employees Mickey and Jay did a really great job fixing the solar panels. They sorted out and fixed the wiring and tested the system. They came when they said they would and were professional, tidy and polite. They carefully explained in language we could understand what they were doing, why it needed doing and were generally helpful.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 09/03/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
Promptly fixed leaking radiator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired leaking radiator and replaced valve. Turned up promptly at agreed time and carried out repair without any fuss.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 09/03/2022 , work completed 06/01/2022
A superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second major job I have had done by Blackhall Plumbing. From the estimate to completion, the work carried out was of the highest standard. The employees turned up in liveried can, workwear and face masks. They worked diligently and hrs over the two days making sure the minimum of impact was had on areas not being worked on. They left the house as they had found it. Highly recommended and reliable.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/02/2022 , work completed 15/02/2022
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Blackhall Plumbing several times for my mothers property, the latest being a replacement toilet. This was carried out within the time and budget stated. The plumber went above and beyond to create a shelf as the toilet was smaller than the original. He was very friendly, polite and left the bathroom clean and tidy. All previous dealings with this company, which involved a faulty boiler, have been very positive. They responded very quickly when I explained my mother was elderly.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 09/11/2021 , work completed 19/10/2021
Bathroom renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From my initial contact with the company through to completion of the work, I found all members of staff with whom I had contact (reception, heads of departments, engineers) to be extremely professional and approachable. The work was carried out to a high standard, and I was delighted with the result.
Linda in Edinburgh Posted on 07/10/2021 , work completed 06/10/2021
Emergency plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Requested emergency call-out for a leaking kitchen sink. Attended within four hours and repair completed within 15 minutes. Plumber, well presented, very pleasant and observed all COVID precautions We have dealt with this company on many occasions and have always been very pleased with their work. We originally used them to change a low battery (detector therefore emitting a high-pitched ton) in a smoke detector on a high ceiling at the top of a stair and they were the only company who would come out. Brilliant and friendly
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 07/10/2021 , work completed 05/10/2021
Confidence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Blackhall for 20+years when installed new plumbing and central heating in a large house. They still offer highly competent and friendly advice. They work and respond quickly- central heating systems often give trouble at highly awkward times - and at a reasonable cost such that clients can have confidence in the work Fortunately, we do not need many visits but on the last 2 relatively recent occasions they did exactly what was needed and the 2 engineers involved (Gavin and Simon) sorted us out with typical efficiency and a bit of "chat". Totally reliable!
Customer in Scottish Borders Posted on 13/09/2021 , work completed 20/08/2021
Excellent Work, Excellent Staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Blackhall Plumbing and Electrical before and will do so again in the future. The work carried out was of the highest standard as was the appearance, decorum, and professionalism of the engineers involved (Mikey and Jay, Pete the manager). I would recommend this company for any work required and I will certainly use them again.
Anthony Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 03/08/2021
Blocked sink
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The engineer arrived at the approximate time scheduled. He was smart and tidy in appearance, courteous and efficient especially when his first attempt did not succeed. I will certainly recommend the company to friends and neighbours. The receptionist too must get a mention! She was most helpful. Friendly and polite.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/07/2021 , work completed 12/07/2021
Emergency plumbing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Blackhall did an excellent job responding to my request for an emergency plumber. Within a couple of hours, their plumber Simon arrived at my flat and quickly identified the problem (escape of water from a pipe in the upstairs flat), stopped the leak, and made everything secure. Simon was very efficient and professional, and a great communicator: he carefully explained to both the owner of the upstairs flat and me what had caused the leak. I highly recommend Blackhall plumbing -- they provide a reliable and highly professional service.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/07/2021 , work completed 01/07/2021
Quality, Service and Professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some bits of plumbing repairs done in my house and having used P Blackhall before I asked them to carry out the work. Ryan and Derek were a credit to their firm. Dressed professionally in branded workwear they looked the part. The carried out the work diligently and courteously to the highest standard. The created minimal mess and cleaned up behind them and wore masks throughout the job. From quotation to completion, I was completely satisfied with the work and would recommend them to anyone who needs this type of work. Also, a local firm employing local people.
Stephen in Edinburgh Posted on 04/06/2021 , work completed 02/06/2021
Professional, friendly and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I came across Blackhall Ltd through and emergency call out to a broken shower tap and hot water pouring out. My son found them online and someone was with me in an hour. Gavin was professional and knowledgeable and then returned a number of times to try and solve the problem and then fit a new shower. Blackhall provided a quote for the work and arranged a tiler to complete the job. I needed it to be done quickly as I was selling the house and it was!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/05/2021 , work completed 10/05/2021
Excellent and professional service carried out in a timely manner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was looking to have an electric awning (that I had already purchased) installed and found P.Blackhall’s Website after contacting several electricians who never returned my calls or email messages. I sent a message through P.Blackhall’s website and they called me back shortly after and then arranged for their lovely and courteous engineer (Jan) to come and look at my awning as he was in the area. He took my awning out all the packaging to check the spec etc and then within 45 mins I had a quote from the office. So quick! The quote was a lot higher than expected but I wanting a company I could trust and for it to be done quickly and they did not disappoint! They said they would arrive the following day between 10am and 12pm and turned up just after 10am. Jan and Connor were so efficient and friendly and put the awning up in just a couple of hours and even better they took away all the cardboard and packaging and left no mess whatsoever. It was such a pleasure to meet Jan and Connor, they were so professional and I am so delighted with the work they carried out. Couldn’t recommend them both highly enough and will definitely request them again if I have any other electrical work that needs carried out. Many thanks for the great service and fitting it within 24 hours of me calling with my enquiry too. 5 stars!!
Katie in Edinburgh Posted on 16/04/2021 , work completed 16/04/2021
Efficient and affordable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Blackhall to remedy a number of minor repairs in our rental flat that had been building up. They communicated well with us and our tenants, came when they said they would and got the work done quickly and cost effectively. We’ll be using them again.
Mr & Mrs Macnamara in Edinburgh Posted on 13/04/2021 , work completed 13/04/2021
Very prompt, professional and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was done to diagnose the problem with the previous boiler. Boiler replaced. Complicated Combi boiler and hot water cylinder. Efficient working. Professional staff. Courteous and thoughtful.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 30/03/2021
New boiler and new taps in the bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A high standard of workmanship and friendly service. They tidied up afterwards and job was done in the time frame and I have no complaints.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/03/2021 , work completed 12/03/2021
Hidden charges
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a leaking compression valve on the radiator, the guy who came to do the work did a fine job, no issue there. But I was really annoyed to discover additional charges on my invoice that were never mentioned during my call. Their phone line states that staff will be using PPE equipment, but not that you will be charged for it. I asked them to remove the charge as when the costs were discussed there was no mention of this (only hourly rate, materials and possible parking fees were discussed) and they refused, they also doubled down and claimed that the charge was mentioned on their website and phone line so I should have known. 1. It's true that the charge is mentioned on their website, but I called their phone line, and discussed what the cost would be on their phone line! I should not have to also check their website to see if there are additional charges that weren't mentioned. 2. The claim that it was mentioned on the phone line is just demonstrably false. On principle I am really irritated to be charged more than I agreed to. Luckily in this instance the charge is not high, but there is nothing to stop them charging what they like and then refusing to remove it based on the same reasoning. If you are agree to a specific price for the work, then that should be what is honoured. If they forgot to mention the additional charge, or whatever the case may be here, that's their mistake and they should still honour the original agreement. Very unimpressed.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/02/2021 , work completed 09/02/2021
Very satisfactory service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a result of the routine service of my boiler, 2 faults were discovered which involved the replacement of parts. Both were dealt with promptly and competently and the overall standard of work was extremely satisfactory. I will certainly recommend the company to friends.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 20/01/2021 , work completed 15/01/2021
Excellent call out service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My bathroom hot tap had stopped turning. I was worried that it would leak over Christmas. A plumber turned up with an hour of me phoning. Was told that the tap was safe, had a temporary fix done and was advised on what was what was need. I have always had a fabulous service from P Blackhall and would highly recommend them.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 21/12/2020 , work completed 21/12/2020
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the work that Steven and Mack did fitting new electrical heaters, sockets and lights in my mother in laws apartment. The guys were friendly and efficient and tidied up well behind them. The work was scheduled at short notice to hit her moving in deadline and completed on time
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 17/11/2020 , work completed 09/11/2020
Expert, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had P Blackhall ( Plumbing Heating & Electrical ) Ltd. carry out my annual Gas Central Heating service and safety check every year. This year it was carried out yesterday ( Wed 16th September 2020 ) by their engineer Simon, who was a model of efficiency and expertise as well being extremely helpful with advice of all kinds and with full answers to a list of queries I had prepared for him concerning the future plumbing 1st fit of my kitchen, which will be getting renovated at some point in the future. He couldn't have been more informative or constructive, while I can never recommend P Blackhall highly enough in general.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 17/09/2020 , work completed 16/09/2020
Better than I'd hoped for !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After my daughter recommended this efficient, knowledgeable, resourceful and friendly firm,for the which I'm very grateful, I now have the perfect solution for the temperature control in my flat. And their kind chap Ryan went an extra more-than-a-mile to help.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/09/2020 , work completed 08/09/2020
High Quality job. Efficient. Courteous. Follow COVID-safe practices.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Technicians carried out a boiler service and central heating powerflush. Efficient, courteous, followed covid-safe practices, talked through the job as it progressed, cleaned up site, and completed a high quality result overall. Capable office management and prompt responses. Would highly recommend Blackhall!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 08/09/2020 , work completed 02/09/2020
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to replace our gas boiler, which I'd been procrastinating about thinking it would be a pain. But P. Blackhall Ltd helped make it pain-free. Bobby made the initial visit, and replied speedily to any emails I sent. I accepted the quote on a Monday, and the work was finished on the Thursday. Simon and Derek arrived early in the morning, and simply set about what was needed inside and outside. Both were friendly and professional (and watched out for the cat). They took care tidying up and Simon talked me through the controls. I'm happy to recommend to anyone.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 16/08/2020 , work completed 13/08/2020
Quick response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Underfloor heating stopped working. Blackhall responded promptly and identified problem with the motorised valve. Fixed problem there and then.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 17/06/2020
Repair toilet cistern and fit new kitchen mixer tap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Despite the constraints of the Coronavirus lock-down, Blackhall Plumbers kindly sent their engineer to my apartment to do the above urgent repairs. Thoroughly practical, business-like and efficient, very tidy and considerate plumber, and took care to maintain appropriate social distancing.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 24/06/2020
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial contact to the completed job, I cannot praise this company enough.I am shielding and was apprehensive about work being carried out in my home.I spoke with Bobby throughout and he was just brilliant. All ppe measures were followed and the plumber/electrician was quick and efficient and cleared all mess such as old shower packing etc on leaving. All communication with this company was friendly, professional and efficient and my new shower is great. So happy I found this company and will use in future.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 30/06/2020
Efficient service and friendly staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was extremely pleased with the service provided. During these strange Covid times, the staff provided an excellent service in a professional manner. Friendly efficient staff who turned up on time then proceeded to just got on and complete the work required.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 29/06/2020 , work completed 05/06/2020
Excellent Hassel Free Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Water pipe leading from road mains into the flats had developed a leak. P Blackhall Ltd arrived quickly, assessed the problem and provided a written fixed quotation within a day. Once assigned the contract they attended the property and without any drama sorted and fixed the damaged pipework, leaving everything in its place and tidy. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company. It is so refreshing to have a company that provides solutions without any negativity. Obviously having this attitude is the reason why P Blackhall Ltd have such a respected reputation in Edinburgh and district.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/06/2020 , work completed 27/05/2020
Plumbing and boiler work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Blackhall respond very promptly, with knowledgeable staff at a reasonable cost. This week they attended with masks and gloves and social distancing. Excellent job.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 09/06/2020
Quality work at short notice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced our boiler, including resiting and associated plumbing/electrical works to meet current regulations, at shortish notice and with minimum fuss. Also arranged necessary joinery to tidy up old location and cupboard for new location exactly as required. Would use again without hesitation, great job done, thank you to Bobby and Ryan.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 21/03/2020 , work completed 21/02/2020
Blackhall are just fab!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the boiler replaced yesterday and I can't rave enough about the professional service we received from P Blackhall in Edinburgh. From the initial call and consultation with Bobby to the amazing neat and speedy work Ryan and Gavin carried out, the whole experience was very impressive. I can't recommend them highly enough!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/02/2020 , work completed 12/02/2020
Thank you for professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed 3 small electrical jobs to be done by a professional. As a member of the email network 'Next Door' I contacted 3 recommended Edinburgh based electrical firms and only heard back from P. Blackhall Ltd. Both the service in booking the visit and then paying for the work completed and the work done by the 2 electricians was professional and friendly. Thank you, I'll definitely use P. Blackhall Ltd again remembering that they do plumbing work too. I'll recommend you to friends and colleagues too.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 21/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I genuinely cannot recommend Blackhall Plumbers highly enough! I have been using them for a few years, but always for scheduled work. This time, a workman caused considerable damage in my property, including a power cut and a gas leak. Blackhall Plumbers could not have been more efficient or kinder. Emergency workmen were dispatched, stuff got fixed with minimum fuss, drama and mess. They supplied me with evidence of the damage so that I could make a claim against the company in question. Finally, when I did get the bill, it was very reasonable. Pretty sure without them I would have had a complete meltdown over the situation (no one wants to come home to be told by a neighbours there’s a gas leak!). Honestly, absolutely superb service, and best of all, that’s not unusual for them. They are always reliable, efficient and excellent, it’s just that in this case, their skills were really put to the test!
Nicola Posted on 05/09/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed with the prompt and effective response to an issue with a waste pipe serving out office. Someone was out quickly to review and quote and the work then carried out a week after I accepted the quote. The work was neatly completed and the engineer who attended was helpful and personable. He kept me informed of progress and I was more than satisfied with the work done.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 13/08/2019 , work completed 02/08/2019
Good advice and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I approached Blackhall without any previous knowledge of the firm but because they had an engineer with solar water heater qualifications. Ryan came rapidly to inspect the problem, gave informed advice, did not overstate the problem, advised sensible solutions, and dealt with this and an associated issue efficiently. I trusted him from the start and will not hesitate to return for further help from Blackhall again.
Michael, Midlothian Posted on 09/08/2019 , work completed 06/08/2019
Great work to repair a boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
PBlackhall did a great job on fixing our boiler that was well overdue a service. We were without hot water and they went out of their way to get the work done quickly for us even though it was trades holidays and they were down a few people. The work was carried out quickly and professionally and we can now enjoy hot baths again!
Laura Hood Posted on 22/07/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Shower room refurb - tiling, flooring, plumbing and electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This shower room refurb required tiling, flooring, plumbing and electrical work. The tiler and electrician were neat and efficient. The plumbing was mainly carried out by Derek who also laid new cork tiles very effectively. The washbasin cabinet and countertop basin and tap unit were neatly installed together with a new ladder towel rail. The newish shower and toilet were laid aside and reinstalled carefully. Any minor snagging problems were dealt with promptly. The work was competently coordinated by Bobby, and Stuart and Elana ensured smooth communication. We have used Blackhall for over 10 years but this was the first large and complicated job for us. We are not disappointed and will soon be getting them back for another job. We can also recommend unreservedly this old established family firm which is right up with modern times and contemporary standards but importantly retains a reassuringly personal touch. All in all, this was not a cheap and cheerful option but certainly represents very good quality for a fair price.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/07/2019 , work completed 17/07/2019
Fast, efficient and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fast, efficient and well priced so far. I've used Blackhall for a few electrical projects recently and have been consistently impressed with the service received. The engineers (Eris and Denim) arrived on time and were consistently friendly and professional throughout the work. Particular care to safety and quality of finish was ever-present and I am happy with the work completed. Will definitely use again for my home's needs.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler lost power and I called Blackhall plumbing at 8.30am. The electrician (Eric Davidson) arrived by 9am and had the wiring fault outside the boiler identified and fixed within an hour. Excellent service at a reasonable price.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Derek did a marvellous job in fitting my new radiators. I had expected some disruption, but there was to all intents and purposes none. He did what had to be done with a minimum of fuss, with evident skill and with great good nature throughout. When at 12.30 he stopped work I assumed that he was taking a break. To my amazement he had finished the job. I can't say how impressed I was.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
Fast response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called for an out of hours plumber to fix a burst pipe in a business location in Edinburgh. The response time was 15 minutes and the plumber was great and professional.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
No stress, job completed, pleasant to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After an emergency call out over Christmas, I've been using Blackhall's for pretty much all my jobs needing done. I couldn't fault them, reliable, get the job done and very importantly, they are easy and pleasant to deal with. I will continue to use them for everything in future as well.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 01/06/2019
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good efficient service of gas central heating boiler and gas safety check. Courteous service. Reasonable price for the work.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed an electrician very fast and found this company. They were up front with the costs and came very quickly as I needed someone that day as I was without heating. It was a very quick appointment but the issue was resolved. The electrician left some good tips as well for the future which I will certainly keep in mind but would use them again.
Customer in West Lothian Posted on 16/04/2019 , work completed 20/03/2019
Reliable Helpful Plumbers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
P Blackhall were able to attend at short notice to help with a pipework issue that arose during a bathroom refit. Efficient reliable service at a fair price. Would use again and recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 10/04/2019 , work completed 10/04/2019
One job led to another.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Requiring the boiler to be serviced we were pleased by the next day on time appointment. The engineer was more than competent and happy to discuss the control of heating. The NEST product seemed an answer to our requirements. A verbal quote from the office and a next day fitting were agreed. After the NEST was fitted there remained a problem with the pre-existing thermostat. This was rapidly resolved.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 22/02/2019
Blackhall, swift and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Blackhall Plumbing a number of times because they act swiftly no matter what the job is and each time it has come in at the agreed price. Most of all I feel safe with them as they have a personal touch, with Elana in the office and even the engineer keeps in touch - which is invaluable to me as I live miles away.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 03/04/2019
Fast, friendly and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Required gas and electrical safety certificates for completion certificate from council following home improvements. Had been badly let down by builder who could not provide certificates. PBlackhall responded to my enquiry quickly and had Andy and Denim out straight away. From the initial contact, to their transparent pricing on the website and then the Gas engineer and Electrician we have been really impressed and it has restored a bit of faith in trades people after our bad experience. Both Andy and Denim very thorough and friendly. Would not hesitate recommending P Blackhall and will be our first call when needed in the future.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/03/2019 , work completed 22/03/2019
Loose Tap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you to the Blackhall team for arranging and resolving this problem for us so quickly. Friendly team and always very helpful.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/03/2019 , work completed 14/03/2019
Thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you for sorting out our boiler. Professional and courteous staff, very reliable and efficient service. Highly recommended.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 15/03/2019 , work completed 07/01/2019
Avoid
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our toilet wasn't flushing so I called Blackhall out to repair it. It took four visits and at one point water was leaking through the ceiling as they hadn't properly sealed the joint between the cistern and the bowl. Expensive, unprofessional and unpleasant to deal with when I complained (and finally got a reduction). I've only put this review on now as I am looking for a plumber again and couldn't believe the high rating they had.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 16/11/2018 , work completed 14/11/2017
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
Dear Customer We are sorry that you were not happy with our service. We did eventually successfully fix your problem and we did not charge you for our return visit. We gave you a discount and left you with a successfully repaired cistern. We are sorry that we made this described error upon our first visit.
Excellent service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed gas cooker with care and efficiency. Very professional and arrived when time was arranged. Would thoroughly recommend and will use again.
Linda, Midlothian Posted on 26/06/2018 , work completed 26/06/2018
Fast and Professional Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed some internal cast iron piping replaced. Very professional contractor with timely contact throughout. Work was carried out to an excellent standard with full updates throughout. The guys also noted another little bit of work that needed done and did this free of charge. Only slight negative is they are more expensive than others however due to the standard of the work, professionalism of all staff interacted with and speed in which the work was competed, I would still recommend.
GMuncie Posted on 24/01/2018 , work completed 24/01/2018
Very poor workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our back to wall toilet was leaking from the connection from the cistern to the flush pipe. The plumber arrived on time, did not bring any replacement O ring seals. Left to go to warehouse to get necessary parts, and said he would be back within the hour. He telephoned to say he was told to go to another job, and I would have to make another appointment! The next appointment was two days later. When the plumber returned it took him over two hours to complete the job, one which should have been done in one hour. The workmanship was amateurish at best!
Distgruntled Posted on 04/01/2018 , work completed 04/01/2018
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
Dear Customer Our engineer did not have these particular O Rings on the day, but we sourced them and returned and successfully made the repair. We find it hard to understand how our workmanship was amateurish, we successfully made the repair and left your system in full working order.
Timely and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler would not fire on returning to our flat in November. None of the other emergency plumbers I tried would come out. Blackall arrived as promised, fixed the immediate problem giving us heat and hot water in a short space of time. They also identified another issue and were incredibly helpful in resolving that.
Simon Isaac Posted on 18/12/2017 , work completed 18/12/2017
Friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carried out annual boiler service, good to deal with, reliable, efficient and friendly.
Andrew Posted on 21/11/2017 , work completed 21/11/2017
Excessively expensive, unpleasant attitude
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was charged £528.00 to unblock a domestic sink, the sink got blocked again called in another plumber charged £137.00 for the same job. Not very pleasant dealing with the owner. Definitely do not recommend!
Mo Tweedie Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
Excellent work again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Blackhall Plumbing on several occasions and this time - my shower room re-fitted - the work was, as before, excellent. Any little problems that arose were quickly sorted out. Very professional and friendly customer service.
Douglas Logan Posted on 16/06/2017 , work completed 16/06/2017
Very professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first review of what I wanted for a new shower/bath, the prompt estimate and the subsequent work carried out was excellent in all respects.
snowwhite Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
Good value reliable work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Landlord boiler service and safety tests. Temporary repair work and new boiler installation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/05/2017 , work completed 02/05/2017
Good value reliable work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Landlord boiler service and safety tests. Temporary repair work and new boiler installation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/05/2017 , work completed 02/05/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick, efficient and vary reliable
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/04/2017 , work completed 13/04/2017