We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Chelmsford Removals

Profile thumb logo
4.9

289 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Chelmsford Removals was started up by James Tutton in the summer of 2007.

Having served in the Army for over 4 years, James decided to leave to follow his aspiration to own his own business. Before and during his time in the forces he had worked for his father’s own removals company.

It began with a small ad in the paper for man + van removals and then shortly afterwards James acquired an existing small removals company, Braintree Removals.

After over 13 years of hard work, Chelmsford Removals is now one of the larger independent home and commercial removal companies in Essex & East London. We are accredited by the British Association of Removers and are also a Which? Trusted Trader so you can be assured of a great level of service. In addition we were very proud to win an Essex Business Excellence Award in 2014 for Best Growing Small Business.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • relocation
    • office removals
    • packing
    • packing materials

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
289 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great removal service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Chelmsford Removals to be very reliable. From the start of booking, the initial survey, subsequent correspondence with the office and finally the efforts of the removal team, we felt that we were in good hands. We had a two day removal and the team did everything they could to make the whole experience non stressful. We would certainly recommend their services.
Customer in Essex Posted on 16/02/2021 , work completed 12/01/2021
South to North Essex
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very impressed by the service provided by Chelmsford Removals. The quote was certainly competitive, in fact 25% less than another one we received. After picking up boxes from their warehouse we felt we were in good hands and that feeling just continued. The lorries turned up promptly, the guys were cheerful at all times and treated our belongings with care from start to finish. Sofas and mattresses were covered before moving, tacky plastic was put down to protect carpets and a padded bag protected the front door. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, especially in these strange times. CR made a challenging day very easy and I'm not sure why we were so tired at the end of the day. Thank you to everyone at CR.
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 12/01/2021
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Chelmsford Removals when moving house from East London to Hertfordshire. From getting the initial quote through to moving day Chelmsford removals were great to deal with. The quote was reasonably priced. During the lead up to the moving day the office staff were happy to answer any questions, however silly they seemed. And were quick to respond. On the moving day the lorry turned up on time. The staff were very efficient and friendly, and nothing was a problem. It really helped with the stress of the day, it was really reassuring to know our belongings were in good hands. The service Chelmsford removals provided was worth every penny!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/01/2021 , work completed 07/01/2021
Fab move Essex to Devon
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment I first had contact with Chelmsford Removals I knew they were a class act. Polite, efficient and customer focused. The chap that came to give us a quote knew exactly what we needed and informed us that we would need three days to complete the move from one big house to another. Having had quotes from others I was impressed how caring and genuine the detail was. On removal day we had two lorries and six men they packed our precious things perfectly and were cheerful and industrious. They worked as a team and again I felt that they knew that it was a big move for us too. On the second day on arrival in Devon they unpacked with care, and I could see that there was no damage, and that everything arrived intact. The final day saw the remainder of our things unloaded, and they left. It was a pleasure to serve them endless cups of tea and to cook them breakfast on the first morning in our new home. All in all the professionalism of the whole team was amazing, they knew what they were doing and worked efficiently and carefully. I can't praise Chelmsford Removals highly enough and have recommended them to two contacts already!
Customer in Devon Posted on 04/01/2021 , work completed 14/10/2020
Great removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company is the best we have ever used. From start to finish we were kept well informed, the guys doing the move were very friendly and unbelievably efficient. Thoroughly recommend this company.
Customer in Posted on 29/12/2020 , work completed 25/12/2020
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you Chelmsford Removals for helping to make my move to Suffolk go smoothly. The team were so helpful and worked hard throughout the day. They were friendly and ready to answer any questions I had about the move.
Customer in Chelmsford Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 25/11/2020
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommend Chelmsford removals, professional efficient and polite. They turned up on time and respected that hubby was still working so kept quite. Disassembled and reassembled efficiently
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/12/2020 , work completed 09/12/2020
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Such a good service on what is always a stressful day. “Fragile” pack on the day before, well worth the extra cost, done really efficiently and well. Great team on moving day, friendly, helpful. No stress while we were waiting for the keys, and then took great care to ensure things were where we wanted them. Beds quickly reassembled, washing machine connected. Very happy customers.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 24/11/2020
Cannot fault the service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Chelmsford Removals twice in the last 3 years, and will never use another firm in future. James has created an exceptional team both in the office and in the field. On both occasions all staff were friendly, reliable and professional. Each individual member we dealt with was polite, engaging, and a credit to the firm. Chelmsford Removals eased the stress and strain of the process, and I would 100% recommend them to anyone. Many congratulations on a job very well done at a fair and reasonable price.
Customer in Essex Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 15/10/2020
House move - Essex to Lincolnshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall the company performed well during our engagement to move from Essex to Lincolnshire. Despite the restrictions at the time they fully surveyed the property, provided a competitive quote and, upon acceptance, arrived as scheduled to start the packing and loading. However, there was an aspect of the move that was not as we had originally agreed and signed for and this subsequently resulted in a few issues. The plan was to pack and load a large percentage of our belongings on Day 1 and return on Day 2 to collect the final items. On Day 2, three of the original seven crew were to travel to Lincolnshire and unload the most urgently required belongings and return to the house on Day 3 to unload the rest. This final element did not happen. It was quite clear that when we arrived at our new property shortly after the removal vehicles, the team were intent on unloading everything on that Day 2 and leaving. This decision culminated in a 'mad rush' at the end of the day to get the lorries emptied and our belongings into the property at somewhat of a haste so that the crew could go home rather than stay locally. We then found a couple of problems after their departure. A bedside table had been damaged. A small picture had its glass cracked and, more importantly our long case 'grandfather' clock was damaged and set up incorrectly. Unfortunately we were placed under pressure to sign off the move before the team left, which therefore gave us no ability to raise our concerns.
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 13/10/2020
The trader replied (on 17/12/2020)
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review us, its important that we understand what's going well within the business, as well as when it may not go as planned. I am sorry that you weren't entirely happy with the service you received. We never want our clients to feel under pressure, and it is important to us that our client is aware of the plan. I am also sorry about the damage to your belongings. I am happy to look into this further for you. Please drop me an email admin@chelmsfordremovals.co.uk Alex Client Relations, Sales & Marketing Manager