We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Chelmsford Removals Limited

Profile thumb logo
4.9

291 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

About

Chelmsford Removals was started up by James Tutton in the summer of 2007.

Having served in the Army for over 4 years, James decided to leave to follow his aspiration to own his own business. Before and during his time in the forces he had worked for his father’s own removals company.

It began with a small ad in the paper for man + van removals and then shortly afterwards James acquired an existing small removals company, Braintree Removals.

After over 13 years of hard work, Chelmsford Removals is now one of the larger independent home and commercial removal companies in Essex & East London. We are accredited by the British Association of Removers and are also a Which? Trusted Trader so you can be assured of a great level of service. In addition we were very proud to win an Essex Business Excellence Award in 2014 for Best Growing Small Business.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • relocation
    • office removals
    • packing
    • packing materials

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
291 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Cannot fault the service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Chelmsford Removals twice in the last 3 years, and will never use another firm in future. James has created an exceptional team both in the office and in the field. On both occasions all staff were friendly, reliable and professional. Each individual member we dealt with was polite, engaging, and a credit to the firm. Chelmsford Removals eased the stress and strain of the process, and I would 100% recommend them to anyone. Many congratulations on a job very well done at a fair and reasonable price.
Customer in Essex Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 15/10/2020
House move - Essex to Lincolnshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall the company performed well during our engagement to move from Essex to Lincolnshire. Despite the restrictions at the time they fully surveyed the property, provided a competitive quote and, upon acceptance, arrived as scheduled to start the packing and loading. However, there was an aspect of the move that was not as we had originally agreed and signed for and this subsequently resulted in a few issues. The plan was to pack and load a large percentage of our belongings on Day 1 and return on Day 2 to collect the final items. On Day 2, three of the original seven crew were to travel to Lincolnshire and unload the most urgently required belongings and return to the house on Day 3 to unload the rest. This final element did not happen. It was quite clear that when we arrived at our new property shortly after the removal vehicles, the team were intent on unloading everything on that Day 2 and leaving. This decision culminated in a 'mad rush' at the end of the day to get the lorries emptied and our belongings into the property at somewhat of a haste so that the crew could go home rather than stay locally. We then found a couple of problems after their departure. A bedside table had been damaged. A small picture had its glass cracked and, more importantly our long case 'grandfather' clock was damaged and set up incorrectly. Unfortunately we were placed under pressure to sign off the move before the team left, which therefore gave us no ability to raise our concerns.
Customer in Lincolnshire Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 13/10/2020
The trader replied (on 17/12/2020)
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to review us, its important that we understand what's going well within the business, as well as when it may not go as planned. I am sorry that you weren't entirely happy with the service you received. We never want our clients to feel under pressure, and it is important to us that our client is aware of the plan. I am also sorry about the damage to your belongings. I am happy to look into this further for you. Please drop me an email admin@chelmsfordremovals.co.uk Alex Client Relations, Sales & Marketing Manager
Efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chelmsford removals twice in the last year and both times they completely exceeded my expectations. House moving is stressful and Chelmsford removals are so flexible and helpful that it really does help the process enormously. the office team are great and the removals team are brilliant - really friendly and can't do enough to help. they are so organised and speedy. I can't recommend this company enough, it's so refreshing to find a company that is proactive, completly solutions based and also good value.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/11/2020 , work completed 26/11/2020
Wouldn’t recommend if you have new furniture/carpets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was recommended this company from a friend due to the exemplary service he received. Unfortunately my removal men were lazy and had no care at all. Due to COVID I was unable to be present in the property and therefore discussed with them the fact I had a new sofa that I wanted them to be careful off and brand new carpets laid at the new property I was happy to protect those carpets but was advised they would cover them adequately luckily halfway through I popped into the property to establish hardly any protection had been placed and a huge portion of carpet in all rooms had been walked over by all 3 operatives. This was raised and after a sarcastic response further protection which should of been laid at first was laid. I noticed that the sofa had been scrapped at the back side luckily hidden once the sofa was placed against the wall. When I raised the issue with the company, because the dirt on my carpet was not visual as the carpet is dark they would not do anything except apologise that I was disappointed they did not apologise about the operatives behaviour at all or offer to cover the cost for me to clean the carpet so that it was clean for my child to play on the floor. If you have new flooring/carpet possessions make sure someone is present to keep an eye on them so they don’t take the same liberties - it may just of been these particular operatives but the customer service beyond once they’ve received your payment is that they aren’t interested
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 19/08/2020
The trader replied (on 25/09/2020)
We have been in communication with you regarding this matter between the dates of 20th August 2020 to 7th September 2020. You initiated the correspondence following on from a phone call that you made to the office, which you were then advised to send via email as per our complaints process. Firstly, I would like to raise that at no point during your complaint did you disclose to us that the removal men were “lazy and had no care at all”. However, in part of your complaint you notified us that “you had received attitude”. We wrote to you, to advise you that we had spoken to the team regarding their attitude. We received no further comments relating to this, which would be fair to assume that you were satisfied with the outcome on this, and that we had in fact apologised. In relation to floor coverings, through out our correspondence it was stressed that; It is unfortunately not possible to cover the entire floor. This is because it would have to keep being lifted to allow for items to be placed on the floor, which is why we use the strip and blankets as shown in your photographs that you provided to us. In none of the photos you provided, is there a visual dirty presence on the carpet, which echoes the discussion our operatives had with you on the day and in our correspondence going forward. This had been advised to you on two occasions through out our correspondence, that we would not be covering your carpet cleaning.
Fantastic service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service! Greet team of guys! We gave them a tough job and they delivered service with a smile! Would definitely use their services again and can highly recommend. Great customer service from beginning to end!
Customer in Essex Posted on 20/03/2020 , work completed 04/03/2020
Brilliant Company in all respects
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In December 2018, I put all my furniture and possessions in storage with Chelmsford Removals for an unknown period due to downsizing and buying a badly neglected cottage which needed extending and completely restoring.That experience was carried out so professionally, from the quote to the brilliant packing and the final removals by very helpful guys. I eventually called all my stuff out of storage on 8th February 2020. The huge van arrived well on time and the two lovely guys were like watching poetry in motion. They protected my new carpets and moved so quickly and efficiently, unloading the copious amount of boxes and pieces of furniture into the right areas. I changed my mind about 2 large pieces that they had taken upstairs and they brought them back down with such good humour. There was also a lot to put in the summerhouse at the end of a long garden. This did not faze them. They were such lovely guys. At the end of the move, my house was in pristine condition, as were all of my possessions and now having unpacked I can confirm that not one cup or glass has been damaged. Amazing. I cannot speak highly enough about this organisation. They take so much of the stress off your shoulders. Well done
Maureen in Essex Posted on 29/02/2020 , work completed 08/02/2020
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to my completion date changing few times, I had to rearrange my appointment couple of times. Every time team was very cooperative and did best to get me the preferred dates. Team arrived a day early and very efficient in packing all the fragile stuff carefully. On the day of move, they were again on time and did their work efficiently and carefully. All of them were very professional, helpful and cooperative all the time. They took all the stress out of moving home. Were equally efficient and quick in unloading and fixing all the furniture in the right rooms at our new home. Can't thank the team enough for doing a great job and providing an excellent service at a stressful time. What's more they picked the empty boxes as well a week later. Highly recommend them for a family home move!! Well done guys!!
Customer in Essex Posted on 26/02/2020 , work completed 07/02/2020
Fantastic!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the day of our move the guys turned up early and quickly got to work. They covered the floor and doors to ensure nothing got damaged. They worked quickly both in packing up or flat and offloading at our new house. Everyone I encountered from arranging the quotes through to the actual move were professional and polite throughout. This was money well spent and I would highly recommend Chelmsford Removals.
Customer in Essex Posted on 02/02/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
House move from Essex to Bicester.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The removal guys arrived to time and were very professional from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. All were very cheerful, polite and courteous. We would not hesitate to recommend to others and would certainly be happy to use the company again. Very good value for money!
Liz Pearson Posted on 13/10/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
Very professional and courteous service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had no previous experience of this firm but am glad I used them. Their service was prompt, courteous and professional at every stage from initial packing to removal into and then out of store 2 weeks later; with no mishaps. Neither were there any hidden charges and I think I got value for my money.
Customer in Essex Posted on 01/10/2019 , work completed 31/08/2019