We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Chelmsford Removals

Profile thumb logo
4.9

290 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Chelmsford Removals was started up by James Tutton in the summer of 2007.

Having served in the Army for over 4 years, James decided to leave to follow his aspiration to own his own business. Before and during his time in the forces he had worked for his father’s own removals company.

It began with a small ad in the paper for man + van removals and then shortly afterwards James acquired an existing small removals company, Braintree Removals.

After over 13 years of hard work, Chelmsford Removals is now one of the larger independent home and commercial removal companies in Essex & East London. We are accredited by the British Association of Removers and are also a Which? Trusted Trader so you can be assured of a great level of service. In addition we were very proud to win an Essex Business Excellence Award in 2014 for Best Growing Small Business.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • relocation
    • office removals
    • packing
    • packing materials

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
290 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Good reliable trader.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I book a removal on the 25 July 2019, they arrived on time and start right away. I put my staff in their stores and got it back on the 17/8/19. Again they were on time and in both occasions very polite and helpful. I only have good things to said about them as the were well over my expectations. If you need a good friendly and reliable mover, look no further.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 17/08/2019
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were everything I hoped they would be after their initial visit. We used this company to move us from East London to Ramsgate. We were impressed with the professional way that this was carried out to make the whole process go very smoothly. This was due to the hard working John & Terry, who's friendly manner and advice was invaluable to us. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their smiles and banter didn't waver even when i forgot to tell them I had changed my mind and wouldn't be taking the dishwasher and wouldn't need it to be dismantled and taken out. They just shrugged smiled and brought it back in again and reinstalled it. They were slightly more expensive than some of the other quotes we had but the extra amount was definitely worth the money. Thanks very much Chelmsford for making something as stressful as moving home much easier.
Jan and Danny Posted on 27/08/2019 , work completed 03/08/2019
Stress free moving
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Chelmsford Removals to move my mother to her new home. She is 90 years old and had been living at her previous address for 57 years so she was a bit anxious about the move. The guys were very polite and friendly and they worked very hard and efficiently to quickly move everything to her new address. Their professionalism soon put my mothers mind at ease. In the new home they suggested the best positions to place the furniture. We opted for the optional Disassembly and Reassembly service which really took away the stress of moving. I would certainly recommend Chelmsford Removals to other people.
Customer in Essex Posted on 26/08/2019 , work completed 13/07/2019
Realistic and Reliable removers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were impressed from the moment their assessor arrived- he noted our stuff to move and was realistic about the effort that our move would take. We have lots of books!! Chelmsford Removers packed for us and nothing was found to be damaged post move. They always arrived on time and the team were all nice individuals. On the day of the move they just got on and cleared the old house and gained early access to the new property and deposited our belongings in suitable places. We would recommend this firm- who are BAR registered and use full sized removal lorries not a fleet of vans.
Customer in Essex Posted on 25/08/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Nothing too much trouble
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, approachable, prompt, courteous and businesslike. Nothing was too much trouble. We’d thoroughly recommend them.
Customer in Essex Posted on 24/08/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Great Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient and helpful, prompt and at a good price. We used them for the move and for storage. Very pleased with the service and would recommend.
Customer in Essex Posted on 21/07/2019 , work completed 10/06/2019
Best choice for Removals Company ever!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Saw these guys working near our area so took a picture of one of their vans and decided to give them a call for a quote on our removals. From the initial phone call, visit to the house for quote, up to the completion date itself - we are 110% pleased that we chose Chelmsford Removals to help us on our moving day. I would recommend them to everyone! With their reasonable prices, helpful office staff, and removal men - I can say that all were very professional dealing with queries, quick, clean, and super helpful. They made our lives so much easier and stress free. Its difficult enough moving - but we had no worries whatsoever with these guys. Highly recommend! Thank you so much.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/07/2019 , work completed 20/06/2019
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From our initial contact with the surveyor to the actual move all very professional and helpful. Move day went very smoothly and the removal men were friendly and very accommodating which made our moving day relaxed and stress free. Wonderful company who we would highly recommend 5 star!!!!!
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 18/07/2019 , work completed 19/07/2002
Exceptional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We opted for the full packing service, and this was such a good choice as Terry and Tom packed up the house in a very short space of time on the Saturday prior to the Monday move date, taking care to ensure that all our possessions were very secure and labelled for ease on move day. On the day itself the team arrived promptly and packed with such efficiency that we had time for a final deep clean before we left, which was fantastic. Upon arrival at our new home, The lorries were unpacked quickly, and everything placed in the rooms of our choice. The team had quite a wait while we waited for completion and the keys, but they stayed in very good spirits, and even helped with the final packing of our vendors lorries as they also used Chelmsford Removals. A nice touch. The team were so friendly that a potentially stressful day was very enjoyable which was a very unexpected bonus! I would not hesitate to recommend Chelmsford Removals. In fact they picked up the empty packing boxes on the following Sunday which was over and above expectations. Thank you!
Customer in Essex Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 17/06/2019
Great Service - Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic experience from booking through to completion of service. The team were polite, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We also used their packing service which really took away the stress of moving. I've now used this company three times and would definitely use them again.
Jon, Essex Posted on 26/06/2019 , work completed 29/05/2019