We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Core Sash Windows

Profile thumb corelogo

4.5

45 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Core Sash Windows is a London-based double-glazing company specialising in the replacement and repair of traditional timber-framed windows and doors. We understand that replacement windows and doors are an important investment, and you obviously want to make the correct choice.

That is why we offer:

• Elegant and traditionally styled products
• Attentive customer care
• Punctuality and reliability
• Considerate workmanship
• Convenient and fully comprehensive service
• No need for Third Party trades

That is why we promise:

Our surveys are always performed by experienced carpenters instead of designated sales-people - there's no unnecessary up-selling and no high-pressure tactics. Our FENSA-registered installation service also includes the hand painting of your new products, traditional sand-and-cement pointing joints, and the repair of any damaged plaster. And our traditionally designed windows and doors come with a 10 Year Insurance-Backed Guarantee.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • Window consultants
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Double glazing installation
    • Aluminium Windows
    • Double glazed units
    • Double glazing repair
    • Stained glass
    • UPVC Windows
  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
    • Double glazing repairs
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Doors

    • Bi-fold doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
    • UPVC doors
    • Orangeries
  • Draughtproofing installers

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • double glazed timber sash casement windows and doors

Customer reviews

4.5
45 reviews
Customer Service
4.5
Quality
4.6
Value
4.5
Sort by
Highly professional, well worth it
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core Sash Windows replaced several old, single-glazed windows in our house with new, double-glazed windows, both sash and casement. The staff were highly professional and considerate about the need to maintain distance from us in the house in the current circumstances. The work was done on the planned schedule and completed to a high standard. We are very pleased with the new windows, which are similar in appearance to the old ones but now the draught has gone and we also notice the sound-proofing is better than before.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/10/2020 , work completed 13/10/2020
Highly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After having a bad experience with a window replacement some years ago, I was delighted when I found Core. From start to finish they were totally professional and helpful & I am very pleased with the windows & door. I will be using them again in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/10/2020 , work completed 19/09/2020
Totally happy, highly recommend in all areas, from the product through job execution and service received.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had all 6 of our Sash windows of various dimensions replaced by Core and we are very happy with them. They all work well and slide up and down like a dream (you don’t need to be a regular gym-goer). Any slight adjustments or easing we required after the work was completed was immediately tended to with no quibbling. Last, but not least, the noise reduction is amazing as is the energy saving. Last winter we used our heating for less than three hours a day and often just an hour in the morning was sufficient to maintain 20-21C. All the windows are made to detailed measurements and all fitted on arrival. We were constricted by Islington Council Conservation requirements and Core were able to work to those detailed restrictions. Core personnel from our initial contact Dalan Rustemoglu (surveyor), through the office staff to the carpenters and painters, were very professional and helpful. We highly recommend them and now at least 10 other friends and neighbours have, on our recommendation and on viewing the windows, purchased Core windows also. No one has any complaints!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/08/2020 , work completed 31/10/2019
Excellent service from a top quality company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The guys at Core Sash Windows provide a really excellent service. We have used them on a couple of occasions now and each time they have gone above and beyond our expectations of the service provided. Their product is top quality and the whole process from start to finish is efficient and streamlined. I highly recommend them!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/08/2020 , work completed 12/06/2020
Excellent work with tidy & clean approach
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had to replace the top sash of one of our windows. After some research and other good reviews I have seen on Which, I decided to go with Core on this. Their sales team is very helpful, answers all of your questions and pays attention to your needs. The new sash production was on time as promised. The job was scheduled and completed on time as promised. They came in and worked so diligently, when they left, there was not even a single dust in the room. And the window was fitted so nicely and is now operating smoothly. Core has done a great job and if I am ever in need of another sash window work, they will be my go to.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 14/07/2020
Excellent - better than a large competitor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 6 sash windows and 1 casement installed in Dec 2019. The installation team arrived on time and were respectful both to us and our property. They kept us informed and cleaned up each day to a reasonable standard. The finish on the windows is fantastic: the final hand coating of paint (by Steven) makes all the difference, and not many companies I had quote offered this. I had previously had 2 sash windows installed by another very large company (LSWC, green logo!) and these windows by Core win hands down - both on appearance, smoothness of operation, and the “making good” of surrounding plasterwork etc. A special shoutout to Steven for that. We did have an issue with on one of the 7 windows we had installed - the architrave used was too large compared to the original and as installed was overlapping the rooms cornicing which spoiled the look of the room. There was a bit of back-and-forth with the company on the matter, necessitating some before and after photos to show the original appearance, but afterwards they did agree to return and fit a smaller architrave at their expense. In an ideal world this would have been picked up by them during the survey and adjustments made ahead of time, but credit to Core, they did return and put it right, so no hard feelings from me and they will be my #1 choice for next time given everything else was top-notch. No experience (yet) of having to call on their warranty.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/05/2020 , work completed 11/12/2019
Professional and beautiful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had new bay and sash windows from Core Sash. All the staff we dealt with were professional and polite. They took care to minimise mess and inconvenience and the finishing off work was excellent. We had to pause work due to a leaky roof and this was accommodated without fuss. The finishing off work breathed new life into our rather worn and old plaster work and ledges.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/03/2020 , work completed 23/03/2020
Large window replacements
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial meeting to survey work, to measurement and logistics, and then installation and cleaning up, Core Sash Windows did a super job. We are delighted with the work, and would have no hesitation in using them again. In fact, we just called to do just that.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Fantastic every time!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have employed Core Sash to replace our windows and again they did not let us down. From start to finish they were polite, professional, punctual and helpful. We are delighted with our windows which are beautifully crafted and work very efficiently. They cleaned up constantly throughout works and made good and painted around the windows beyond where they needed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/01/2020 , work completed 22/10/2019
Great quality and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core sash replaced an original timber sash window for us in our nursery. We were on a tight deadline and they managed to turn everything around for us before Christmas. Customer service was great and we were very impressed with the quality of work and professionalism of the fitters especially, much better than a lot of the tradespeople we used for the house. The finish was great. Expensive but worth the money.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/01/2020 , work completed 21/12/2019
Fantastic - highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The windows look AMAZING and we are very happy. The team we had were brilliant, so tidy and lovely people to have around. Thanks to everyone at Core.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/01/2020 , work completed 10/08/2019
Trusted Trader indeed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core supplied and fitted replacement French windows and frame. First impressions, helpfulness and communication were first rate. We would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/12/2019 , work completed 20/11/2018
Outstanding job - 11 timber double glazed sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My experience with Core Sash Windows was simply outstanding. I had 5 sash windows refurbished, replacing the sashes with double glaze timber panes but retaining the window boxes. I retained an original feature of the house whilst installing double glazing which is infinitely better than full PVC replacement and cheaper than full timber replacement. The workmanship in the refurbishment of the box was remarkable and the new double glazed sashes are probably the best I have come across. I admit they were not cheap but the quality justifies the expense. The job was completed in May and so good that I decided to replace another 6 windows in the house which is also done to the same high standard. I highly recommend Core Windows.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 21/09/2019
Poor workmanship, followed by poor customer service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Despite confidently assuring us that they would make good and leave no trace, their installers didn't clear up after themselves, leaving rubble and dust on the floor for several days at a time, even when they were applying the top coat of paint (which any good painter will tell you is a cardinal sin!) - and leaving their empty drinks cans lying around. They managed to leave scrapes, scratches and dents on walls and woodwork throughout the house, and made such a bad job of touching up / fixing these issues that they had to come back several times and ended up having to repaint several walls in their entirety. On one occasion I turned up to meet their Director at the house and he was hanging out of the window with a hoover, apparently cleaning the gutter. When I came in, I noticed that he had splattered dirty gutter water across half of the walls... cue another few rounds of touch ups... The windows themselves seem pretty good (they are made by a supplier in Estonia I believe) but the final coat of paint was very messy and left drips running down walls, on the skirting boards, radiators etc., so again this was something they had to come back and fix over several visits. Worst of all is that through all of these issues, their customer service was appalling and made the whole process extremely stressful. From not showing up to meetings, to simply being rude and trying to make excuses for things they were clearly at fault for, and now simply ignoring emails.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/11/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
The trader replied (on 09/12/2019)
We are sorry that your experience could have been better. You notified us that there were some marks upstairs on the newly painted walls of your home. We agreed that we had been responsible for leaving some of the marks during the installation of your Accoya double glazed windows. There was substantial ongoing works taking place throughout the house at this time with multiple trades on site. We suggested we would fully paint all of the walls upstairs so we could leave you with the best possible finish. This was carried out to your satisfaction and we also gave you £200 in John Lewis vouchers for the inconvenience of having our painters for additional days on site. After this you emailed to say that you wanted £1500 compensation before you wrote reviews about us on various sites. We have rectified the issues you brought to our attention. However, we are unable to provide you with any further payments. We regret that we were unable to completely resolve your complaints but we do appreciate your business. We will of course, honour all guarantees and we will return if you have any issues with our windows in the future. Yours sincerely, Sean Mac Anbhaird Managing Director Core Sash Windows
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had french doors fitted in our Victorian/Edwardian house. Attention to detail was amazing. The doors look like they’ve always been there except much less draughty and rattling! The service we had from Core was very professional. The doors took a while to make but they are so well made it was worth the wait. We were kept informed of progress at every stage and installation was fast and efficient. The guys on site were very professional - incredibly polite and extremely conscientious. All in all it was a very positive experience. Highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Awful experience!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently had four sash windows replaced by Core Sash Windows. They requested 8-10 weeks to make the windows. As we approached ten weeks, they made no effort to contact us to let us know the windows were delayed. After rescheduling to the 13th week, we received a call at 3pm the Friday before they were due to start on Monday to say they didn't have one window and had no idea when they would have it. Once they started the work, they got three days in and then didn't show up for two days. They refused to answer the phone and never provided a credible plan for completing the job. Once complete (finally), they chased us for payment within 24 hours and continued to chase every day with multiple calls and email over the next few days. They are awful to deal with and I wouldn't recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/10/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
The trader replied (on 11/11/2019)
We are sorry to hear about your experience. It took us a while to figure out who posted this review. Confusion arose because you were not our direct client. The property management company of your building contracted their builder who in turn contracted us to carry out the window upgrade works in your flat. Our client took some time to decide on several details of the job - whether the sides of the windows should open or not with the Venitian window and whether they wanted a hand painted or spray painted finish. The 8 – 10 week lead-time will only have begun after they clarified these details with us in writing. We provided our client with a ‘Schedule of works’, that outlined the entire work process & they were in contact with our surveyor throughout. However, we understand that this has been frustrating for you and that some information was lost along the way. As a result of your feedback we have made improvements to our systems of communication; particularly when there is a third party involved so that all parties are onboard from the outset.Please get in touch if you would like to discuss this further. We’d appreciate the opportunity to make things right and work towards earning back your business.
Brilliant quality windows fitted by professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had 7 one-over-one, top and bottom opening, engineered box sash windows fitted by Core Windows. The original site measuring and ordering process was very smooth with detailed breakdown of each window (materials, window furniture, glass, openings mechanism, cills painting and undercoat systems) which was provided a couple of days after the first visit. I opted for a basic fit as I had builders onsite renovating, and this was carried out to a very highly standard. The windows look amazing and are very solid, with decent weight, smooth opening and cut out a lot of external noise. I’ve already had two neighbours enquire where they are from and whether I’d recommend - in answer to that, I would highly recommend Sean, Tim and the team at Core and would not hesitate to use them again should I need to.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 18/08/2019
Exactly what we wanted and extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core made and installed 3 sets of French doors for our Edwardian house. We took ages to decide on a supplier as so many door manufacturers only provide off the shelf products which look cheap and insubstantial. We chose Core because they were prepared to make bespoke doors to our specification at a competitive price. We are delighted with the doors now they're installed. They are beautifully made and finished and the design is completely sympathetic to the age of the house. We had dreaded the fitting process, expecting lots of mess and damage to existing decoration (old doors had to be taken out and new frames installed along with new architrave and skirting). We couldn't have been more wrong - the carpenter and painter were incredibly clean and tidy, clearing up any mess before they left each evening. They were professional, friendly and polite and a real credit to the team. The finish is exceptional - they really went the extra mile to make sure everything was perfect and we were happy. There is no need for any further decorating work - they made good all damage to plaster and trim - you really would not be able to tell that the doors are new. We were so happy with the whole experience. In fact it was so incredibly easy and painless we're thinking of replacing the windows now... Thoroughly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/07/2019 , work completed 20/07/2019
New french doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really happy with the service provided throughout. The survey and install team were friendly and polite and everything has been finished to a very good standard. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Core Sash to our friends.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/07/2019 , work completed 10/06/2019
Professional outfit delivering a quality product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new front door made and fitted by Core Sash Windows in June and am very happy with the end product. I'd originally asked them to quote for sash windows over a year ago, so had dealt with some of the staff at that time. Learning from that experience it was important to me to contract a local company this time. I found them professional and helpful to deal with, from the back office all the way through to the workmen installing the end product. The door itself is a quality product which, in my opinion, is good value when I compare it against some other quotes I received. The only area I could pick out for improvement is communication. I found myself calling up or emailing, asking for updates on a few occasions as the lead time was around 12 weeks and installation would likely have been during working time, requiring some planning on my part. Nevertheless customer service gets 4/5, the only area that wasn't 5/5. Happy to recommend Core Sash Windows given my experience.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/07/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
Installation of new glazed patio doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core Sash Windows installed our new patio doors recently. First class service from start to finish, I can't fault anything. The doors arrived a week earlier than expected, and were installed in 2 days. All work was done carefully and in professional manner, and the end result is great. The doors appear very sturdy and good quality. The installers were friendly and professional and left everything immaculate. They even touched up the paintwork and also recycled the old doors. I would be happy to use Core Sash Windows in future and can recommend their services.
Alexia, Essex Posted on 24/06/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019
Beautifully finished windows, draft free windows and a pleasure to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the large sash windows on our 2nd floor flat replaced in a conservation area. The windows are absolutely stunning and have transformed the rooms and the level of finish both outside and inside was excellent. I had not realised how much work and what a detailed task the finishing would be to make it good as new. One of the window sills had to be adapted on site around a unit that we had purchased that was bigger than expected, this was done free of charge and very neatly. The rooms are draft free and the windows just slide open so smoothly, I wish I had them replaced before. Every member of the team was helpful and pleasant and responded to questions immediately and Core managed to flex delivery to coincide with other building work. The installers were excellent and carried the huge front window up 2 flights of quite a narrow staircase with no problems - I absolutely would recommend - worth every penny!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/04/2019 , work completed 22/02/2019
Still warm feelings after three years.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were having major house renovation works and started off with the windows. All the windows except the sitting room were renewed. The sitting room has the old, interior, wooden shutters and couldn't be replaced with the double glazed units if those were still to work, so these windows were successfully renovated. It was a very happy relationship with Core from start to finish and three years later we are still completely satisfied and happy. The house is warmer and, above all, much quieter. The new sash windows work beautifully. We strongly recommend them.
Willis Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
Never use this company!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a terrible experience with Core Sash Windows: they haven't been able to meet the schedule we agreed when placing the order, after weeks we still haven't received the windows we ordered and they keep installing parts that are just temporary solutions. On top of this, no clear communication whatsoever and we are still struggling to get answers and solutions. We strongly advise against using them!
Alessandra Posted on 27/07/2018 , work completed 27/07/2018
The trader replied (on 05/08/2018)
Hi Alessandra, We understand your frustration and we are very sorry that our efforts to expedite the delivery of your new sashes to receive them in 4 weeks (rather than the standard 8 weeks at this time of year) was unsuccessful. Regrettably, despite the factory operating 2 shifts and working 24/7 in this the busiest time of year, the delivery was delayed which put us and you under time pressure. The delays stemmed from the production of the glass units, so I opted to have the finished sash frames delivered un-glazed and had an extra 10 double glazed units manufactured locally. These were fit in the sash frames so you would have natural light and we replaced them when the correct units were delivered. My thinking was that this option would enable us to fit the windows and finish all interior work by your move-in date of 23/07/18. Trying every available option to avoid an impact on you moving in, was, we felt the right choice when the alternative was to start work a week later on Friday 27/07/18 (by which time all windows had been installed). 1 top sash upstairs is waiting for a glazing unit to be swapped and 2 timber corner pieces to be fitted. Everything else was finished on 01/08/18. My communication in the beginning while I was in constant contact with the factory to find solutions, could have been faster while I was waiting for a confirmed (rather than giving you an estimated) delivery date, I hold my hands up that this should have been communicated to you quicker.
Excellent service and product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Core Sash Windows team supplied and fitted two bay windows to our victorian house. Plus casement windows to our loft extension. Last year we had quotes for PVC sash windows and decided wood would be preferable. Core Sash Windows quote was very competitive in comparison. All members of the team were very professional. The fitters and decorators made every effort to minimise disruption to our household. Covering every piece of furniture during the works and thoroughly cleaning up before leaving each day. Everything was sound and secure at the end of each day. We're very happy with the quality and value of the finished product and are very happy to recommend Core Sash windows.
Michael Anthony Posted on 19/06/2018 , work completed 19/06/2018
Quick installation & great looking results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job on installing windows and door - very efficient all round & making the new kitchen/bathroom look really light, the existing repaired ones feel a lot better insulated too.
rn1980 Posted on 24/04/2018 , work completed 24/04/2018
The trader replied (on 05/08/2018)
1
Efficient and stylish double glazed sash windows
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good standard of workmanship and truly effective and attractive product. My windows were big & draughty, now they are light & stylish and I'm cosy and warm!
Bartholomew Posted on 04/04/2018 , work completed 04/04/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The workmanship on a not so simple couple of sash windows is remarkable. the quality of the finished and installed product is excellent.
Christina Z Posted on 26/03/2018 , work completed 26/03/2018
Excellent job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our windows and door are fantastic, exactly what we wanted. Everybody that we dealt with was excellent -professional, kind and helpful. Core sash windows did a great service and I would definitely recommend them. The quality of the windows and door is really second to none.
Bea Rob Posted on 24/02/2018 , work completed 24/02/2018
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The windows look amazing. I didn't realise how bad they were until they were replaced. Seems like excellent quality and the installation was carried out quickly and efficiently
Whichone1 Posted on 23/12/2017 , work completed 23/12/2017
Sash window refurbishment and two windows replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The windows are great, the installation team delivered as agreed, they covered the rooms well to protect from dust and cleaned up after themselves well. The decoration after the windows were installed was of high quality too and it was great to see that there was a team visiting daily during the installation process to check on the work and answer any concerns we had. In particular, Mario was great from when he first came to take final measurements to the end when he made sure our roman blinds were back up properly. We used another company before finding Core Sash Windows and had 1 window and 1 door replaced. Their installation was poor leaving cracks on the outside and they did not restore the inside to the original state. They were also quite a bit more expensive. I'm sorry I didn't find Core Sash Windows earlier, it was such a more pleasant experience. Thank you!
Makeda Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Good quality and good workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship, nice windows, courteous workers, cleaned up thoroughly. This was done very recently so I can't comment on longevity but the windows look and feel great. I could have used a more detailed description of the windows: I wasn't told about certain details - e.g would I want 'security' knobs, why I wasn't I getting decorative 'horns' on inside? But on the whole really good service ~Many thanks though for a lovely job.
Phyllis Creme Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
Draught proofing front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very proactive - surveyor turned up on time as did fitter. Extremely tidy job and very effective"
Bridget1056 Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
Unfortunately not able to recommend Core Sash Windows – 2 windows they installed 17 months ago have not lasted and now need to be replaced.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Core replaced 2 small single glazed sash windows in summer 2016, problems arose straight away. Despite 6 attempts to rectify, 10 different people from Core attending, they were unable to resolve to acceptable level. They spent total of 8 days, over a 10 month period working on 2 windows. Some of the issues (too many to list)-initial fitting–left a gap 5 cm wide, 2 mm high, could see straight through to outside. Wood severely splintered in the corner joints, paint on glass, holes in timber, paintwork lumpy, dents in putty. When the second fitter saw the newly fitted windows, they asked me twice if they were the old windows. On another occasion, strips of sealant were left hanging off wood, sashes made screeching noises when opened/closed. Manager did attend once, used his credit card to try & smooth out uneven putty, he admitted putty & paintwork was not good. Within 2 weeks of installation, the putty developed multiple deep cracks, within 2 months it was loose and moved. Core replaced the putty-their attempt was wonky, uneven & lumpy. A few months later, Core returned to paint the putty. Paint started creasing within hours, within days started cracking & flaking off. Their reasoning was that it ‘must have rained and been sunny on the putty’. Paint continues to flake & fall off. Core had the substandard windows made by another company. Core’s manager refused to take responsibility for windows. Ungenerous discount given doesn’t cover distress, upset & major inconvenience caused to me + I will have to pay for new windows.
Anonymous-15 Posted on 16/11/2017 , work completed 16/11/2017
The trader replied (on 11/12/2017)
Dear Anonymous-15 We agree that elements of the finishing by the fitter after Day 1 were in need of improvement, which is why we immediately returned to rectify the issues as soon as you brought them to our attention. As we explained when you decided to go ahead with single glazing replacement, putty will crack as it dries out, but the painted finish will fill these hairline cracks resulting in an unblemished finish. Also as explained, we could not paint the putty until it had fully dried, as putty can dry unpredictably which will affect the painted finish if applied prematurely. Nonetheless, at your request we replaced the putty resulting in further drying time before the windows could be fully finished. As you were dissatisfied with our explanation and resolution, at this stage we were mediating through the Dispute Resolution Ombudsman and Which?, and the discount you received was intended as a gesture of goodwill to repair our business relationship. We subsequently made several attempts to return to your property to paint the putty, as this was the only outstanding issue on the otherwise perfectly functional and finished windows, but unfortunately you did not allow us to do so, resulting in an impasse that we were unable to overcome. We're sorry that you are not entirely happy with the windows you have received, but we feel that we have genuinely done everything within our power during our business relationship. Yours faithfully. Core Sash Windows
Good quality windows and quick installation turn around
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently had timber sash windows installed into our property. We ended up going for the basic fit as we were having a number of other work done to the property. This made installation much cheaper and affordable. In comparison the windows were much cheaper that competitors on the market and this was not reflected in the quality as we still got great windows installed. Highly recommended and great service by Dalan Rustemoglu!!!
Halil Posted on 07/08/2017 , work completed 07/08/2017
Sash window box refurbishment and double glazed sashes installed to the front.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Three years ago Core replaced some sashes and refurbished others on the back of our Victorian terrace. We also had replicated French doors and a back door replaced. I had no hesitation in asking Core to return for the front window. The information given was clear and no pressure or exaggerated promises were made. Core is able to offer a variety of options e.g. repair and refurbishment and replacement which is helpful if you value original features. I like the open accounting system and the option of insurance for the initial deposit. Financial arrangements were therefore straightforward and reliable. The team as before were professional, punctual, polite and honest and tidied up each day. The finish is excellent and being able to open and air the house more easily is wonderful. Both Daniel and Sean made sure to check that there were no issues. I am very happy and have recommended the company to a neighbour.
Ritten Posted on 27/07/2017 , work completed 27/07/2017
A less than satisfying experience - delays, incorrect charges and recurring issues
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It started well, though there were delays and prices seemed on the high side. The team were competent and largely efficient regarding the windows though left the paper on one set of sash cords. The two doors and managements response were a tale of misleading pricing, leading to initial overcharging and lengthy delays because there was, it appears, a lack of internal communication within Core. The new basement door fitted well, but it took months to get the right colour hinges. The front door was much bigger negative issue. There were months of delays as a complaint to the original contact at Core was seemingly never passed on. The workmanship left paint bubbling, this was repaired but then bubbled up again. I was also, more seriously, but not clearly indicated on the estimate, charged for a full door refurbishment. I challenged this repeatedly and was only acknowledged as correct after repeated emails despite a full invoice requested - the discount for the one sided treatment, especially given the faulty workmanship was not generous and the door still required attention. Most of these issues could have been mitigated by more efficient customer service and better internal communications at Core and a better attempt at recognising poor customer management and service
Anonymous Posted on 19/04/2017 , work completed 19/04/2017
The trader replied (on 26/04/2017)
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for your feedback, and we apologise that you aren't entirely satisfied by your experience with Core. You've highlighted that many of these issues were either caused, or exacerbated, by poor internal communication, which we do acknowledge. Unfortunately, our internal resources have been stretched thin due to our company's rapid growth, but we understand that this is no concern of yours, and we will be improving in-house conditions to ensure that these issues do not arise again in the future. With regards to works carried out on your front door, you were originally over-charged as we had initially been contracted for a more comprehensive service than you were after, which we appreciate you have said was due to unclear indication on the estimate. This issue was then further compounded by our painter not informing us that he had performed the door repairs in line with your specific requests, as opposed to your accepted quotation, meaning that our office staff were unaware that you had received a downgraded service and therefore did not lower your price accordingly. Whilst there is no excuse for the poor internal communication, we would like to make it clear that the price you had originally was never intended to reflect the works you ultimately had performed on your door, and that these issues arose from miscommunication as opposed to malice. Kindest regards, Core Sash Windows
High Spec and Stylish Workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had researched the well known window and door manufacturers, but Core easily came out tops as they offered the most comprehensive service. The price is also reasonable given the outstanding care and workmanship. Ryan and Marco were full of tips and not pushy as this company has no need to be. Core produced a new front door for my Victorian terrace with a style in keeping with the era, though I chose a colour with a modern edge which compliments the front of my house brightening the exterior and interior. There are a large range of colours to choose from so you can create a bespoke look. The additional warmth created by the insulated door was immediately noticeable. And now I've commissioned core to replace all the sash windows in my home which will be natural wood inside (for a cottage like effect) and white on the exterior. I don't think other companies can offer that level of individual service.
Alison Posted on 13/02/2017 , work completed 13/02/2017
Superb professionalism and outstanding quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been extremely impressed by the level of service and workmanship provided by Core. From the professionalism of the survey to the skill of the workmen involved with the installation and painting of the windows, it was been a flawless process. It may be a bit more expensive than other companies, but it is money well spent with quality that is second to none.
Jon S Posted on 03/02/2017 , work completed 03/02/2017
Very happy with our new windows!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, friendly service and excellent workmanship. Reasonably priced, not the cheapest but reliable, clean and trustworthy. Head carpenter Ryan is responsive, helpful and a very nice chap. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Mrs B, Islington Posted on 21/11/2016 , work completed 21/11/2016
Very very happy with Core
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was so nervous about appointing someone to do our windows given some of the horror stories you here. However, I couldn't have been happier with Core. They are excellent quality windows, the builders always arrived on time and cleaned up after themselves. The communication and service with their office was always spot on. Payments were easy to keep track of and make through their customer site. And it makes the house so much warmer too - such a noticeable difference. Very happy to recommend to all.
Vicky V Posted on 09/11/2016 , work completed 09/11/2016
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
excellent workmanship, amazing cleanliness and finishing off that goes beyond expectation - and great windows!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/08/2016 , work completed 04/08/2016
Fantastic Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and workmanship. Everyone we have dealt with have been fantastic, especially the fitters whom we're friendly, passionate and extremely diligent. I heavily researched the market and found that Core were the only company to offer a comprehensive service. In that they were willing to undertake the minor building work (repointing and plastering), as well as redecorating that results from the replacement of the windows.
stewlauder Posted on 04/08/2016 , work completed 04/08/2016
High Standards of Workmanship and Materials
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ours is a typical London Victorian terraced house. After much research and a recommendation from neighbours, we chose Core to replace the windows in our lounge and three bedrooms, and draft proof and re-glaze the front door. From the outset (the initial contact and site survey) it was clear that this was a company that prided itself on a first class product (their website is also very comprehensive) and the quality of its workmanship. The quote was competitive and a start date was agreed. It was to take ten days. At the end of the first week I emailed Core's management and included the following.... Just to say how impressed we are by your team - skilled, diligent, respectful, hardworking, conscientious, cheerful... The superlatives were fully justified and, as the work progressed, it was obvious that the box of each window was being completely refurbished and, with the new windows installed, they would have been fully restored. Neighbours began to notice and ask after the process. On completion, we were assured that 'if any problems arise...' they would be remedied and we were provided with a written guarantee. Put simply, the investment was very worthwhile, the quality of finish was of the highest standard and I can recommend Core to you without hesitation.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/08/2016 , work completed 03/08/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were absolutely delighted with the quality of the work carried out by Core - both double glazing and draught proofing. We immediately felt confident with Sean when he came to give us an estimate. He gave a very clear explanation of the options and the relative benefits, all without any sales pressure. The work was then carried out with huge professionalism and dedication and with great attention to detail.The quality of the joinery and of the painting on our new double glazed windows was staggeringly good. And they cleared up so you would't know they had been ! We got a number of quotes including from the major 'known' companies. We felt Core was the best option in every sense having checked exactly what was included in each quote. We were right and would highly recommend Core for the quality of the work and the value for money.
Adrian Paterson Posted on 08/06/2013 , work completed 08/06/2013