We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Cox and Sons Roofing

Profile thumb van photo
4.9

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Established in 1980, we are a completely family run business.
We mainly cover most of Waltham Forest and the surrounding Essex areas.

Regretfully we are unable to accept enquiries from landlords at this time.

What we do:
Whether you have a single broken slate or require a whole new roof we can provide the service you need.

Our services include but are not limited to:

Slating
Tiling
Guttering
Complete new roofs
Flat roofing
Roof light installations
Leadwork (including specialist welding)
Roof Reports/Assessments

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
    • Roof and skylights
  • Chimney builders, liners and specialists

  • Drain clearance contractors

  • More Services

    • new roofs
    • pointing
    • slating and tiling
    • guttering clearance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Cox and sons if they would clean our gutters , only a small job but a necessary one . They came round within a few hours and carried out the work for a very fair price . Prompt , professional and very friendly . No hesitation in recommending them .
dabs1989 Posted on 24/11/2015 , work completed 24/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 young men came around to fix a leak in my roof. We decided that a lead flashing needed to be fitted. They carried out the work in good time and to a high standard, I was billed for the same as the reasonable quotation they had given me. I would not hesitate to recommend Cox and Sons, and will certainly use them again if I need any roofing work done.
Richard My Posted on 29/12/2014 , work completed 29/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Small flashing and tile repair promptly quoted for and then carried out within 24 hours, at a reasonable price. Turned up when they said would, and job done quickly and professionally. Would thoroughly recommend.
Eastender81 Posted on 30/07/2014 , work completed 30/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Alan to give us a quote for repairing some split tiles on the end of our kitchen extension, and for doing various other tidying-up jobs on the roof (fixing the odd broken tile, taking down an old television aerial boom, replacing some missing pointing). It took a little while to arrange a successful appointment for a quotation, and then a little while longer to fix a date for the work to be carried out, but the extra persistence paid off. Alan and his team turned up on time as agreed and finished the job by the early afternoon with a minimum of fuss. The repairs look good and were completed with care to preserve as many of the original tiles as possible. Given the variability of roofer's schedules caused by inclement weather, following up on a few e-mails was worth the quality of the final work.
Liz&Geoff Posted on 20/05/2014 , work completed 20/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Alan Cox to provide me with a quote to clear out my gutters which were constantly leaking and damaging my front-door porch. I did have to wait a couple of appointments for a quote, but I was pleased with the comprehensiveness of the quote, complete with photos of the areas concerned, and some additional work he recommended. On the day, all tasks were completed in one morning, and and I was impressed that Alan was able to diagnose a long standing gutter fitting problem (missed by other roofers), and that he was able to do some additional remedial work on the roof for tiles which had slid from position. I would definitely recommend Cox & Sons for their high-quality work.
Ruisongxi Posted on 15/04/2014 , work completed 15/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After getting over the shock of needing a new roof, Alan and his sons did an amazing job through some difficult weather including the recent storm. Our back extension made it more complex especially for erecting the scaffolding. Nothing seemed a problem and they were clean and well organised. We were kept informed every step of what they were doing. It was like having friends doing the work. Really pleased. Have already recommended them. Many thanks.
Penny2208 Posted on 04/12/2013 , work completed 04/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Alan Cox a few days ago due to a missing tile on our roof; and similar problem on our neighbour's roof. He came the same day to survey the problems, and also quickly fixed both problems at an extremely reasonable price. He also checked the rest of our roofing; and unlike so many conman builders [which is the average member of the public's dread] did not diagnose any problems that don't exist [!] and in our case found the rest of the roofing fine. Excellent work, very reasonably priced, and totally trustworthy! Most strongly recommend!
Chris Goldsmith Posted on 20/10/2013 , work completed 20/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his son have removed debris between the tiles and the underfelt and they have placed air vents. They checked carefully all the roof and replaced broken tiles. They are professional and did the work efficiently. I can recommend Alan Cox and sons
Mr Green 24 Posted on 21/06/2013 , work completed 21/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his sons did a superb job on the roof of our two adjoining Georgian terraced houses. They expertly replaced the lead over a bay and the linked gutter. The work also involved stripping out a bottom course of tiles to the mansard roof, setting them aside for re-use, and fitting cover flashing in the joint parapet wall. Alan is very knowledgeable about modern and old roof architecture. We had suffered rainwater leaks for about three years. They were patched up but always returned after a while. Finally, we contacted Alan who confidently diagnosed the problems and resolved them. He takes pictures with his smartphone of any defects he finds on the roof so you can agree and be sure of what needs to be done. He also did excellent and necessary repair work on the front and rear gable end walls of the roof. This meant stripping out tiles and fitting aluminium soakers to each course. Because Alan does everything in a highly professional way, we cannot recommend him enough.
Probing Trevor Posted on 04/05/2013 , work completed 04/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were having continuous problems with a leaking valley, which previous roofers had failed to sort out. Alan gave a clear explanation of what he thought the problem was and what work was required. Alan & Sons took their time over the work and even showed me pictures of the work carried out. Excellent and courteous service.
karl1969 Posted on 08/10/2012 , work completed 08/10/2012