We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Custom Glaze

Profile thumb custom glaze trade logos
4.1

9 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:30–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:30–17:00
  • Sunday 10:00–16:00

About

Established over 34 years ago, we are a family run and independent business committed to our founding principle of providing our customers with high-quality products, professional design and installation and after-sales service, all guaranteed and at an affordable cost.

‘A+’ rated windows are fitted as standard, to help reduce energy costs in cold weather by providing more insulation, whilst also giving improved ventilation in the warmer months. Our composite doors, conservatories and solid roof garden rooms are of an equally high standard to enhance and protect your home. We also offer a roof replacement service should you wish to convert your existing conservatory to a solid roof.

Garage doors and Roofline products
We supply and fit fully automated and insulated garage doors as well as PVC-U roofline solutions - fascias, soffits and guttering to give your home a fresh look with very little maintenance required.

Repairs
We can make your existing UPVC windows and doors as good as new again.

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
  • Conservatories

    • Sun Lounge
    • Conservatory Roof replacement
  • Doors

    • Bi-fold doors
    • Patio doors
    • ​Aluminium doors
    • Composite doors
    • Fire doors
    • French doors
    • Orangeries
    • Front door
    • UPVC doors
  • Builders

    • Extensions
  • Glaziers

    • Aluminium Windows
    • Double glazed units
    • Double glazing installation
    • Sash windows
    • Stained glass
    • Triple Glazing
    • UPVC Windows
  • More Services

    • replacement windows
    • composite doors
    • garage doors
    • roofline

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.1
9 reviews
Customer Service
4.0
Quality
4.2
Value
4.2
Sort by
Poor after service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used custom glaze after finding their details on Which for doors and windows on our property and in their defence the service was great, though the after service has let them down. One of our doors has bowed and we reported this to them in June twenty twenty, they surveyed and stated a replacement has been ordered under the ten year warranty, we also have a minor issue with our front door to date we are no closer to a fix. Again I appreciate covid has caused delays but the constant chasing and lack of communication has been frustrating, we are still awaiting for both issues to be remediated.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 01/04/2022 , work completed 21/07/2017
The trader replied (on 05/04/2022)
Hello and thanks for leaving a review. I am glad you were happy with everything until recently and I apologise that the remedial work have taken along time to resolve. Please could you email jonathan@customglaze.co.uk or call 01908650147 so I can investigate the current status of your remedial work and try to get things moving for you. Thanks
Disgusting, dishonest and threaten customers - avoid.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely appalled with my experience. Rude staff, zero communication and condescending demeanour. This company is deliberately deceptive, the only thing they consistently provide are untruths and disgraceful customer service. I urge you to not waste your time and money with this terrible company unless you want pay above rate for inadequate work and to be treated with contempt. Repeatedly booked dates for a large installation, chased constantly for updates but receive nothing. Six months later and second failed install was informed one day prior (via email at five to four in the afternoon) after multiple days of enquiry, only to learn that the items have not even begun production. Alongside this we had a door fitting due at eight am, contacted custom glaze at ten am to request update - fitter was off sick so someone else sent at last minute in the afternoon. Door fitted wasn’t as described and fitter left holes in wall. Seems they have no awareness of work carried out or professional standards. They do not care about your experience or value as a customer, but are very quick to demand money for unfinished work. They use deliberate tactics like lying about delivery dates to negatively impact the customer, as should you request to cancel your order you become "bound within your contract" and will (in their own words) have to pay them more money. In other words, they have no problem threatening customers to keep them bound by fear. Have retained £2500 for no work. Utterly unacceptable and despicable behaviour.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 10/03/2022 , work completed 10/03/2022
The trader replied (on 17/03/2022)
As you are aware, from my replies to your multiple reviews on multiple sites already, we are sorry your job was delayed. We were badly let down by our Sash window supplier. We have now sourced an alternative supplier. We have never been deliberately deceptive. We were let down too. We would be more than happy to complete your order had you not cancelled. We fitted a door, carried out a survey and significant administrative tasks and paid a significant deposit on the windows with the supplier which is why, within the terms of the contract, we retained some of the deposit. As can be seen by the majority of reviews both on here and other similarly verified sites where multiple bogus reviews cannot be left, most of our customers are happy to recommend us. Once again our offer to complete the order stands.
Consistently good results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Custom Glaze on several occasions and friends have used them on our recommendation. The recent installation was the most complex requiring five lintels, three of which required removal then replacement of a row of bricks above wide windows. The work was done neatly, by friendly and efficient installers and we are delighted with the result. The windows and doors look good and are of high quality. The debris from replaced windows was removed daily and our floors and carpets were protected with dust covers.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 23/02/2020 , work completed 15/02/2020
The trader replied (on 02/03/2020)
Thank you for your custom and for this review. We are glad to be of service to you.
Appalling company
We had a brick garden room built on the rear of the property. We have issues with the trades they supplied doing substandard work, on completion in June this year, we found that the build had not been inspected for Building Regs or registered. The local building inspector came to inspect and we had to bore a hole in the finished floor for him to inspect and look at the oversight, and it has failed it on multiple issues, main one being the concrete base is not thick enough, leaving us with a build with no Building Regs. It is now going down the legal route and we have had the house valued and it has devalued it by £15000.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 05/01/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 04/02/2020)
As the vast majority of our reviews demonstrate both here and on other review sites we take our responsibilities seriously and consistently do a good job. We have offered to resolve any issues on this job but as you are aware you refused our offer so this is now going to mediation therefore we cannot comment further.
Excellent product and installation from a family run business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Custom Glaze have recently replaced all of our windows, doors, soffits and guttering. We are extremely pleased with the end result and the installers couldn't have done a better job or been more helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this family run business to others.
Lynne Posted on 26/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
Fantastic product and service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used Custom Glaze for a number of years for windows and doors and the latest installation is a garden room. As always, the price, quality, workmanship and overall customer care was outstanding. We also like the way there is never any sales pressure or gimmicks used by a lot of other companies. We always know we are getting a fair price for excellent quality and dealing with a company who has a great reputation in the area. Would highly recommend them. Dr. C.R. Gagg, Milton Keynes
suegagg Posted on 04/02/2014 , work completed 04/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, very high quality and a pleasure to deal with
buckingam_don Posted on 02/10/2012 , work completed 02/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had all of our windows replaced by Custom Glaze a couple of years ago. Did a nice tidy job at the time and came back and replaced one minor cosmetic item with no quibbles. No issues with the windows up to now. Salesman was friendly and not pushy with none of the tricks that the Safestyle man tried on (the 'call my boss' routine, or the price only valid for 24hrs). Just a good competitive quote. Will definitely get a quote for when I replace the conservatory in a year or so.
Adamski730 Posted on 30/08/2011 , work completed 30/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We investigated several local companies, and found Custom Glaze to be most informative, and to have the most suitable windows. We had 6 PVC windows fitted quickly, and we were particularly pleased with the bow window, which replaced a casement window. Everyone we met from the company was pleasant and efficient. The price was very competitive, and we are very pleased with the result.
prof Posted on 06/07/2011 , work completed 06/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used the same company several times. Always efficient, meet deadlines. Prices competitive with others. None of the gastering you sometimes get, no pressure to sign on the day.
billie Posted on 27/05/2009 , work completed 27/05/2009