We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

D J Design

Profile thumb djdesign
4.7

49 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 10:00–17:30
  • Monday 10:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 10:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 10:00–17:30
  • Thursday 10:00–17:30
  • Friday 10:00–17:30
  • Saturday 10:00–17:30
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

DJ Design is a family run business that has been trading in the kitchen and bedroom industry for over 35 years

Rigid handmade construction cabinets are manufactured locally in our own St Albans factory

We offer made to measure services, any width, depth, or height with colour coordinated interiors to door finishes in both kitchens and bedrooms

Over 160 kitchen finishes are available including hand painted wood to your colour choice, high gloss, classic and contemporary

Design as our name implies is paramount to your kitchen and bedroom not only to create an attractive kitchen or bedroom but one that really works for you

We have a free design service where the designer will visit you on site, take measurements and listen carefully to what you wanting to achieve the wish list for your new kitchen/bedroom.

Please call us to discuss how we can help you achieve the home of your dreams.

More details are available on our website.

What we do

  • Interior designers

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen showroom
    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen design
    • Granite Worktops
  • Bedroom fitters

  • More Services

    • kitchen manufacture
    • bedroom manufacture

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
49 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.7
Sort by
Extremely helpful and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have dealt with D J kitchens twice now - first time around 8 years ago and this initial experience ensured our repeat business when we came to renew our kitchen. Julie and all other members of staff have been exemplary in their commitments to offering high levels of customer service, from design to delivery to installation advice. As a consequence I would have no hesitation to recommend to others.
Simon, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/05/2017 , work completed 10/05/2017
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to employ DJ Design a) because we like to support local companies and b) Julie our initial contact was 'creative' in her ideas. We were not disappointed. The fitters, led by Roland were brilliant and we are very pleased with the final product. Only slight problem was a small delay in the supply chain, but all's well that ends well!
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/04/2017 , work completed 26/04/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We selected DJ Designs having seen reviews on Which Local and Trusted Traders. They were excellent from start to finish. Our kitchen has been transformed and feels much bigger and lighter. Julie's recommendations were helpful and we feel the new kitchen is more user friendly than our previous kitchen. Roland the fitter was very professional in his approach and meticulous and tidy in his work. Very happy with the whole process.
Which? consumer Posted on 03/01/2017 , work completed 03/01/2017
Great to start with... then turned into a nightmare
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We purchased both a kitchen and bedroom fittings from Julie at DJ Designs. All started pretty well and i do believe she always meant well but over time, our units started peeling off. At first it was mainly in the bedroom and Julie sent someone to fix it all for us. Good start. She promised us that the units are from a different manufacturer to the kitchen and that these problems will not transfer over. She was wrong. We are now left with around 30% of the kitchen surface area peeling off badly making the whole kitchen one big eyesore. Although she promised to get the situation remedied, we never heard anything back from her and have had enough waiting (which I'm sure is what they hoped for). We are going to get a completely new kitchen fitted. One last thing, Julie kept telling us that there may have been something wrong with the 'batch' of glue used in our units as no other customer has ever complained of such issues... well, the link here tells a different story with quite a few people with exact same issues. https://www.yell.com/biz/d-j-design-st-albans-407347/
shaiaharony Posted on 10/11/2016 , work completed 10/11/2016
Excellent work & service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was carried out efficiently and on time, minor changes to design were carried out without question.
Don, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/10/2016 , work completed 25/10/2016
Happy with the result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We approached DJ Design regarding a new kitchen in an extension we were having built and we are pleased with the outcome. Julie was very helpful and drew 2 options for us to consider. The pricing was very transparent (unlike others we approached) so we also knew where we stood budget-wise. The units are well made and some had to be specially sized. The installer came to site a week ahead of fitting to survey and check no surprises in store. Jamie and Ron, the fitters were very professional, speedy and proactive to ensure a very good result. There were a couple of small glitches with cupboard sizes being not quite right, slight damage on delivery etc which were all immediately rectified. Very happy with the final result.
anjo56 Posted on 08/09/2016 , work completed 08/09/2016
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The process of design and ordering went smoothly. Julie was very friendly and helpful. We are most pleased with the outcome.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/08/2016 , work completed 17/08/2016
Very bad experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We went to DJ Design based on a recommendation & after reading reviews, but really wish we hadn't. There was a fundamental issue with the design of the kitchen, which thankfully was picked up by our builders in enough time to be rectified. However, Julie's suggestion to rectify this was far from satisfactory. Thankfully she'd brought a fitter with her & our builders were here to help us work out how to get round the problem without ruining the whole look of the kitchen as apparently she is not technical enough to deal with such issues. General workmanship was poor & we were left with various issues as we feel there was no attention to detail. Had we not queried it, we would have been left with gaps between the doors on all corner units & had to ask several times for screw caps to be fitted to cover screws. Some doors didn't open properly & some didn't close properly. Customer service has been pretty much non-existent & we have had to chase Julie on numerous occasions to get various problems sorted & go into the shop to try & get a response. It took 6 months to get problems sorted & have now given up. Overall, a very bad experience & I would not recommend this company.
Sharon Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Fabulous kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We went to D J Design following recommendations from two seperate friends, who had both gone to them on the recommendations of others. The showroom is far from flashy, but Julie was very helpful and we were suprised to find that the bespoke kitchens are comparably priced with the chains. Julie worked with us through the design stage and then through the delays caused by our builders, and it was her intervention that really helped in finally moving the building work along. The fitters have done a first class job putting the kitchen in and the granite worktop from Baltic Stone is gorgeous. We are really delighted with the high quality end result. Can't wait to start using it!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/06/2016 , work completed 17/06/2016
Excellent advice and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent advice given throughout planning and installation of new kitchen and refurbished bedroom. Very perceptive comments. Excellent quality, very reasonable prices and highly professional workmanship throughout. The whole process. A brilliant outcome with great communication throughout.
Michael, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/05/2016 , work completed 06/05/2016