We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Zanda Russell Design

Profile thumb zanda philippa sian  version 2

5.0

46 Reviews

About

I specialise in high quality hand sewn made to measure curtains, blinds and soft furnishings.

My curtains and blinds can be interlined, lined or lightweight.

I use the highest quality linings and interlinings and carefully sourced high quality tracks and poles.

I am happy to help you choose a fabric which would suit ether traditional or minimalist interior settings.I will also help my clients to find fabric,tracks and poles to suit their budget.

I am equally happy to refresh a single window or to undertake a total refit in which case I can work alongside your builder or project manager.

Please contact me to arrange a free initial consultation.

I looking forward to hearing from you .

Zanda Russell

What we do

  • Curtains and blinds

    • Made-to-measure curtains and blinds
    • Curtain and blind fitters
  • More Services

    • soft furnishing
    • curtain maker
    • bespoke curtains and blinds

Customer reviews

5.0
46 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fantastic quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda helped us after we moved into a new property and needed curtains for both bedrooms. She provided samples and advice to help us choose the right material and even arranged procurement and installation of curtain rails. Working with Zanda couldn't have been easier and we are really pleased with the results. I would not hesitate to recommend her to others!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/10/2020 , work completed 15/10/2020
Thanks Zanda!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are local property developers in the Ealing area, always to sell-on 'flip' and our apartments are always finished to a very high standard, to help achieve a premium for the re-sale. For example we always 'stage' the properties ready for the viewings. Recently we took the decision to improve further our 'turn key' offering by including three things we had never done before: fitted wardrobes, window shutters and black-out bespoke fitted curtains and blinds. We found Zanda as a local creative in the area of curtain and she has been a pleasure to work with over the past couple of months. The attention-to-detail track fitting (complex bay windows with cornicing in the way), choices of lovely fabrics for the room, always friendly and quick service and of course the final look now the curtains and blinds are in on two properties, has been the perfect customer experience. Zanda has even given us her opinion on other areas such as choices of pendant lamp shades and has almost become our interior design consultant. Three firms of estate agents who have sen the finished properties have praised the addition of curtains & blinds and their look and feel. We await our chosen agents feedback from the imminent viewings, to see the viewings reaction to the curtains already done for them before they buy. But we think the addition of Zanda's curtains and working with Zanda will be a long term relationship, as we do 2-3 high-end properties per year in the Ealing area.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/06/2020 , work completed 19/06/2020
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has now created 4 sets of beautiful curtain/blinds for us to a very high standard. She is a pleasure to deal with and is creative, having come up with a great solution for some tricky dormer windows. She has recommended some excellent websites for sourcing fabrics (and lamps), and delivers in accordance with agreed deadlines. Pricing is very reasonable and in summary we are delighted with her work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/05/2020 , work completed 04/05/2020
Beautiful finish and great ideas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has made a large full length curtain for me and 5 roman blinds in another bedroom. I was impressed with Zanda's work, but what really surprised and impressed me was the advice she gave in the design process of what style of curtain I should choose and why. She has a really good eye for detail and is meticulous in making sure the curtains hang properly and are the right depth out from the window. She gave me lots of advice about what track to buy and where it should be fitted. I think interior design is a passion of hers and you can see that in the advice she gives. She advised me on the size of pattern for the room and the weight of the fabric. I will definitely get her back to make curtains and blinds for other rooms in my house.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/05/2020 , work completed 16/11/2019
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has just made and fitted 7 Roman Blinds for my kitchen/diner. They look fantastic, the workmanship is immaculate and I couldn't be more pleased. She made and delivered them on schedule for a very reasonable price and also saved me a large sum by recommending a supplier for my designer fabric. In this current health crisis, she has also been scrupulous in social distancing and sanitising and on top of all of that she's a very nice person. Thank you Zanda.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/05/2020 , work completed 02/05/2020
Beautiful work and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has made some beautiful Roman blinds out of curtains from my old house. The blinds are wonderful, the service was faultless - friendly and efficient - and I am thrilled. Budget was as agreed, as was schedule.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/12/2019 , work completed 03/12/2019
Absolutely delighted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is a pleasure for me to write this review for Zanda who has made 2 sets of fully lined curtains for me. I feel very lucky that I was able to find her. With good quality fabrics costing as much as they do, you want to be sure they will be beautifully made. Zanda’s work is impeccable. The fabrics I chose were not easy to get right as they have embroidered lines of leaves/stripes as a feature, and amazingly Zanda managed to line these up with the headings used so they are displayed in all their glory! As previous reviewers have mentioned, Zanda has a lot of good design ideas which were very helpful to me as otherwise the choice out there is bewildering and certainly I wouldn’t have known about what linings and headings to use to best effect with the fabrics I chose. Again I can echo previous reviewers in saying how pleasurable it was to work with Zanda, who is very cheerful and friendly, as well as very responsive and totally dependable.
Customer Posted on 17/09/2019 , work completed 22/08/2019
Curtains to be proud of
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A Fabulous job. At last we have curtains to be proud of. Zanda helped us navigate through the vast number of decisions needed to get the right fabric in terms of design, weight and cost, for us. Friendly and professional service, the curtains arrived when expected and were fitted with seeming ease which can only mean that all measurements were good to start with. Highly recommended.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 17/08/2019
Brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has made curtains and blinds for three rooms in our house and we are very pleased with the result. She is friendly and helpful, giving us good advice on options and materials and her work is of a very high standard. She is a pleasure to work with - professional, efficient, great value for money - and we recommend her highly.
Helen, Greater London Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 18/06/2019
Beautiful roman blinds
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am now the proud owner of three beautifully made roman blinds which hang in my bedroom and bathroom. Zanda was recommended by a friend and was a joy to work with; very accommodating with her time and very prompt in making up the blinds. Zanda also repaired and re-hung some roman blinds in a spare bedroom - all in the interests of recycling. A very lovely and friendly person who I will definitely use again to do the kitchen blinds at some point in the future.
Genevieve, Greater London Posted on 18/07/2019 , work completed 22/06/2019
Wonderful blinds beautifully made
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda was recommended to me by a friend. After asking her to make a set of roman blinds for one bedroom, soon after they were fitted I asked her to make another one for another room. The blinds are so beautifully made with lining and black out lining and they fit absolutely perfectly. I can recommend her so very highly!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/05/2019 , work completed 15/05/2019
Consistent, quality, flexible approach
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have now worked with Zanda, on a variety of home projects, for nearly 3 years, returning to her for her consistent, quality, flexible approach. She has worked with us across five separate room projects, from overhauling sticky curtain tracks, via making individual bespoke soft furnishings (including 8 cushion covers, 2 Roman blinds, a box pelmet and a stool cover) through to a complete room scheme (consisting of a complex bay window box pelmet, 3 Roman blinds, 2 faux curtains with tiebacks, shaped bench seat cushion with cover, loose cushion with cover, table cover, table runner, 6 chair covers and 2 seat pads). For the most part, we have sourced and provided her with the fabrics but she has complemented our ideas and design resources by suggesting and procuring additional trade-only trims and accessories which have added the finishing touches to our schemes and on which we would have missed out but for her. Nothing we have asked her to do for us appears to have fazed her and she has always been personable and positive in her approach. She has an encyclopedic knowledge of the interior design world, coupled with a practical, hands-on, can-do attitude, which results in professional schemes, expertly executed, delivered on time and on budget - and contented clients. We are happy to recommend her wholeheartedly and intend to continue working with her in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/03/2019 , work completed 13/03/2019
A real professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda made 2 sets of matching curtains for us, for the front room window and for the dining room french doors. From start to finish she proved herself to be a pleasure to work with, paying great attention to detail, providing sound advice on how best to use the heavy fabric, punctual throughout, with a delightful manner. The end result pays testimony to all her efforts, with many visitors having admired her handiwork. We have no hesitation in recommending Zanda, and we will certainly seek her out again once other curtains need replacing.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/02/2019 , work completed 28/01/2019
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Zanda through Which? My daughter needed 4 large windows dressing and I suggested Zanda. Daughter had some idea what she wanted and Zanda worked with her to refine idea. Zanda suggested fabrics and then made 4 blinds with faux curtains. They are very well made and look perfect. Daughter delighted with result and has employed Zanda to dress too more windows in her home.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 29/11/2018
Best for curtains!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Zanda in 2017, when I needed to have new curtains for a rather difficult bay window, and didn't want to risk ruining silks I had bought in India. I found Zanda very efficient, thoughtful and flexible in how she approached the problems this threw up. I have returned to her twice since then, to convert some older much loved curtains for a new space, and this year - to have curtains and blinds to separate off a space in my living room. She was so kind and helpful as I needed to have things ready when I returned home from surgery, helping in so many ways to make it a much less anxiety-laden process than it might have been otherwise. I am very impressed by Zanda's calm competence and good humour - and couldn't recommend her highly enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/12/2018 , work completed 14/12/2018
Zanda is a curtains and blinds treasure
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda is wonderful and can also work miracles. When we moved house she managed to magically change two curtains into three. I wanted to re-use these curtains as the Designer's Guild fabric was really expensive. I also asked Zanda to make some curtains for my hall and the results are stunning. She provides lots of guidance and advice and delivers a really professional result. I cannot recommend her highly enough. She's a lovely person as well. Many thanks Zanda!!
Sarah Marten Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
Super service and excellent results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda is a fount of knowledge about curtains, tracks, fittings and linings, and a very pleasant person to deal with. She made and fitted 3 sets of curtains and a Roman blind for us, as well as installing new rails and advising on professional touches that I would never have thought of. Zanda took time to listen to what we wanted, provided prompt quotes, offered useful advice and took trouble to get things right, which shows in the results we got. One minor glitch was swiftly sorted out, and Zanda was the soul of helpfulness when I suddenly realised after the decorating was complete that one room needed a Roman blind rather than the curtains we'd been planning. We're very pleased with Zanda's work and will certainly request her help for any more curtain projects. I would recommend her without hesitation.
Mr A J Savage & Ms H Jarvis Posted on 25/08/2018 , work completed 25/08/2018
Beautifully dressed bay window - A transformation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has just completed the transformation of our bay window curtains in our London home. She listened, advised and devoted time and patience to ensure we were going to be satisfied with the result, and we are, very much. She personally removed an old wooden pelmet, fitted new track, helped find fabric matches, made two sets of curtains, functional and dress curtains and she has hung them. They look really beautiful. Zanda is first and foremost a very nice person, a pleasure to work with. She is careful to understand the client's needs and creative in translating that into a plan. She is very resourceful and her finished work is of a high professional standard. We would highly recommend Zanda
Sara Parelkar Posted on 15/06/2018 , work completed 15/06/2018
Professional & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to deal with. Came in on budget.
Karin, London Posted on 10/05/2018 , work completed 10/05/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda provided all the curtains and blinds for my house near Bicester. This was a tricky job in a very old house with recessed windows and low cielings. Zanda has also made blinds and curtains for my house in London. In both cases she supplied and fitted tracks and in London also pelmets. Zanda provides advice on fabrics and fittings which I have found very helpful. I am delighted with the the finished results and would not hesitate to recommend Zanda.
Sarah Hicks, . Posted on 26/11/2017 , work completed 26/11/2017
Careful and professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda made new curtains for our French windows and for our bay window. She first sorted out a problem with the curtain rail which saved us having to purchase a new one. She was clear about the options available. She took great care to make the pattern repeat regularly on the folds of the curtains, and they look really beautiful. She was also very pleasant and easy to deal with.
Paul Davies Posted on 16/10/2017 , work completed 16/10/2017
Excellent Service - Roman Blind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Zanda come over and custom make our roman blind for our very large lounge room window. We found her very professional, punctual and had great ideas that we hadn't considered. We are very pleased with the final product and Zanda's experience and attention to detail. She also supplied our ready made roller blind for our bedroom which was great. Would highly recommend.
jacallaway Posted on 01/04/2017 , work completed 01/04/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda recently made some curtains for my bedroom windows and did a beautiful job. She is extremely pleasant, efficient and hardworking, not only ordering the fabric, poles etc personally, and booking the handyman to put them up, but coming round initially to measure up and then to oversee the operation. Her work is meticulous and I am very pleased with the result. She is pleasure to do business with.
Maureen Posted on 29/03/2017 , work completed 29/03/2017
Curtain and blind fitter extraordinaire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda Russell was recommended as a curtain fitter and when she came she was very efficient and gave excellent service and rehung my very long floor length curtains. We then discussed blinds for two bedrooms and the kitchen. She was very efficient and extremely quick. She measured everything Explained what she would do and the process of fitting blinds. The quote followed and the blinds were ordered. Her expertise was very obvious and she pointed out the different options we had and what she thought would be best for us. She obviously takes great pride in her service and enjoys her work. The blinds came and were fitter extremely quickly and are great. Zanda even made good and painted the wall above the window as she had had to remove the batten. I would entrust her with anything connected with curtains and blinds. She is also a very pleasant person who loves her job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/03/2017 , work completed 29/03/2017
Wonderful Blinds
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda made 4 Roman blinds and sheer panels for my living room. As it is a old house, everything is s bit wonky and Zanda took great care in measuring up for the blinds. She uses quality fittings and the blinds are easy to open and close. I am extremely pleased with Zanda's service, and my wonderful new blinds and sheers and have no hesitation in recommending her.
Ruth M Posted on 16/11/2016 , work completed 16/11/2016
Professional, conscientious and very good at what she does
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Zanda Russell based on her reviews and have not been disappointed at all. She deserves her well earned reputation as professional, very easy to deal with and a perfectionist in the best possible way. She fitted a privacy Roman blind in my bedroom and it looks beautiful. I am very pleased with the work and will use her again. I can thoroughly recommend her to other Which? members.
Anonymous Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
Zanda Russell
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had Roman blinds made and fitted In the living room and bedroom. Zanda did a fantastic job. Very detailed and professional. There was a small problem with one of the blinds however Zanda dealt with it in a most professional manner over a few return visits to my home and did not leave until it was perfect.
Astrid Posted on 23/10/2016 , work completed 23/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I discovered that the lining of our very expensive- but very old - curtains had almost completgy disintegrated due to sunlight I immediately went to Which local to try to find help. I found Zanda - she came quickly, made an appraisal of the situation and proposed an acceptable solution at a very reasonable price. She took the curtains away and a week later returned with what looked like new curtains. She hung the curtains to make sure we were happy and I have to say they look better now than they ever did. We were delighted with the result.
Ann Marshall Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016
Professional and conscientious - great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Zanda on the strength of her reviews here on Which. She arranged an initial free consultation where she talked through my options for the windows in my new-build flat. I'd had a different trader round previously who was in and out in 10 minutes but Zanda took the time to help me understand what would work well and how we could deal with some tricky window design issues. In the end we went for a series of sheer roller blinds behind a wave curtain and a roman blind in my bedroom. I am extremely happy with the finished look in both rooms and the quality of workmanship on the curtain and roman blind is excellent. Overall Zanda offers a great service - she takes the time to understand what you want and delivers an excellent, and value for money, end product.
Andrew Robb Posted on 29/03/2016 , work completed 29/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Zanda on which Trusted Traders, and she lived up to her reputation. She made some beautiful full lengthe curtains for us, and provided excellent service.
chris brewin Posted on 02/03/2016 , work completed 02/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda gives an expert, professional, personal service; she listens carefully to what is required, is open-minded and has a can-do attitude. Her work is meticulous. Thus far she has made for us Roman blinds, curtains and sheer panels for three bay windows and we are delighted with them all. We will be asking her to undertake further work for us and have no hesitation in recommending her. I wish I had found her sooner.
rjmutton Posted on 17/02/2016 , work completed 17/02/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda gives an expert, professional, personal service; she listens carefully to what is required, is open-minded and has a can-do attitude. Her work is meticulous. Thus far she has made for us Roman blinds, curtains and sheer panels for three bay windows and we are delighted with them all. We will be asking her to undertake further work for us and have no hesitation in recommending her. I wish I had found her sooner.
rjmutton Posted on 28/01/2016 , work completed 28/01/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the professionalism of the trader & with work done, would highly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/10/2015 , work completed 28/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda made me some plain unlined cotton curtains for two kitchen windows as an extra layer to new blinds that I had had fitted recently. During the evening, with the lights on, these new blinds became much more transparent and gave insufficient privacy. Zanda came, measured, made, delivered, pressed and hung them up - I am very happy with the result, her work, her service and her charges.
Green Fingers Posted on 29/09/2015 , work completed 29/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda made me some plain unlined cotton curtains for two kitchen windows as an extra layer to new blinds that I had had fitted recently. During the evening, with the lights on, these new blinds became much more transparent and gave insufficient privacy. Zanda came, measured, made, delivered, pressed and hung them up - I am very happy with the result, her work, her service and her charges.
Green Fingers Posted on 25/09/2015 , work completed 25/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Xanda to dress all windows on our new home. She came several times to take measurements Suggested fabrics from her samples books, suggested fabric suppliers that had special offers, help us choose where to have curtains and where and what type of blinds to have, recommended curtain rails and was so practical and helpful. She worked flexible around delays caused by our builders. She also hung 20 year old curtains that we had cleaned and steamed them so they hung well. .... And wow what wonderful results - fabulous and beautifully crafted curtains. We have fallen in love with our home all over again. Zanda's prices are good and quality of work excellent. We word strongly recommend Zanda.
sueawaller Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Xanda to dress all windows on our new home. She came several times to take measurements Suggested fabrics from her samples books, suggested fabric suppliers that had special offers, help us choose where to have curtains and where and what type of blinds to have, recommended curtain rails and was so practical and helpful. She worked flexible around delays caused by our builders. She also hung 20 year old curtains that we had cleaned and steamed them so they hung well. .... And wow what wonderful results - fabulous and beautifully crafted curtains. We have fallen in love with our home all over again. Zanda's prices are good and quality of work excellent. We word strongly recommend Zanda.
sueawaller Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
Really Happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used for various curtains around my house and blinds. Nothing was too much trouble and Zanda is great at her job
Corinna, London Posted on 12/12/2014 , work completed 12/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has just rehung some very heavy curtains and made sheers for a large window. She impressed us with her know-how and skill.She is very easy to deal with and her charges are very reasonable
mjbruce Posted on 27/11/2014 , work completed 27/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda was a true professional - excellent craftsmanship - value for money and delivered at pace . What more can you ask for.
steve124 Posted on 01/07/2014 , work completed 01/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I urgently needed long black out curtains altered to become roman blinds. Zanda kindly made the time for me and was very professional. She measured up the large windows, took away the long curtains and soon returned with perfect roman blinds which she installed securely and checked that everything worked well. Her price was very reasonable. I have recommended her to friends already and will certainly use her again.
bramptonhead7 Posted on 14/11/2013 , work completed 14/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Roller blind mechasnism had broken and required repair. Zanda came to the property at short notice and diagnosed the problem, gave a quote and ordered the mechanism. We were able to use the original material and she returned a few days later with the new mechanism and made good the blind. Working perfectly.
Steve2804 Posted on 02/11/2013 , work completed 02/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved house and needed to have our expensive, almost new curtains altered to fit the new bedroom. Zanda altered them expertly, quickly and at a very reasonable price. She hung the curtains herself and steamed them as well. We are very happy with the results and have no hesitation in recommending her services.
wobblybb Posted on 13/08/2013 , work completed 13/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Zanda has made some lovely roman blinds for my son's bedroom. She has also sewn a padded back cover for his day bed which has given it a more sofa-like appearance. Once the item were ready Zanda delivered them and hang the blinds herself. All at a very reasonable price (especially compared to local curtain shops). Service with a smile. Highly recommend.
L Kor-Smith Posted on 06/02/2013 , work completed 06/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having read the previous review about DBG Design it immediately struck me that I was looking for the same service but in reverse. A few years ago I had had Ian Mankin lined ticking (heavyish cotton) curtains made for my bedroom window. This was a large bay with 7 sections and these curtains proved to be heavy and cumbersome to remove and open. Although only down to below window cill and to radiator height, the fullness and weight meant access to windows was difficult. I decided to contact Zanda to ask if she could divide these 2 wide curtains into 4 of more manageable size. This she did without 'batting an eyelid' and made me very happy. The difference is amazing and a vastly improved operation accessing and using windows. All for a very reasonable charge. A great service and in a reasonable timespan. Highly recommended. Zanda apparently also makes blinds.
Green Fingers Posted on 08/01/2013 , work completed 08/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Combining 4 full drop curtains into 2 of the same total size ( they covered the full width of the house) seemed difficult, but proved not to be a problem. Impossible to see the joins, they were relined with thermal linings, and given new tracks and hooks. The work took 2/3 weeks A perfect result at a reasonable price - highly recommended.
will culver Posted on 17/04/2011 , work completed 17/04/2011