We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Direct Kitchens

Profile thumb direct kitchens
4.7

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 10:00–16:00
  • Sunday 10:00–16:00

About

Direct Kitchens is a family run business in the heart of Sheffield and are proud to be Yorkshire folk through and through!

At the helm is Carl and Nikki Vigrass along with their close-knit team and company ethos which covers four key points: professionalism, quality materials, customer service and total customer satisfaction.

As home improvement experts we pride ourselves on delivering all of these core values to our customers. That is why so many of our customers recommend us to family and friends but also on review sites.

We bring experience, expertise and quality to every project we carry out and we are confident that you will notice the difference from other home improvement organisations.

We offer the highest level of quality in all our kitchen, home office, bedroom and gliderobe ranges to Yorkshire homeowners – and have been serving the regions homes for the past 25 years.

What we do

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen showroom
    • Granite Worktops
  • Bedroom fitters

  • Window Cleaning

  • More Services

    • fitted kitchens
    • kitchen makeover
    • home office
    • gliderobes

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
48 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
New kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our new kitchen has just been completed by Direct Kitchens all the tradesmen came on time gave us a clear quote. They did a good job and cleaned up at the end of the day. All the tradesmen were very efficient and easy to get along with. Mention to the fitters who came and did a great job, Matt and Jack who are credits to Direct Kitchens and a pleasure to have in our home thanks for all your hard work.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 27/08/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021
The trader replied (on 02/09/2021)
Thank you for your 5* review! We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and great quality kitchens so we are pleased to hear that you are happy with the service we provided. Enjoy your new kitchen!
A new kitchen for Christmas.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work on our new kitchen was planned, fitted and completed to a high standard. All tradesmen, both those from the company and those recommended for flooring, painting etc., completed their work to a high standard. They kept us up to date with how the work was proceeding and discussed any potential difficulties with us in detail before overcoming them. All workmen were courteous, friendly and careful to keep to COVID guidelines. A minor problem with the fitting of the Quooker tap was quickly and efficiently resolved at no further cost. We are pleased to recommend this company to everyone.
Hazel and John in South Yorkshire Posted on 12/01/2021 , work completed 17/11/2020
The trader replied (on 19/01/2021)
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you are happy with the service that we provided and that the issue was resolved. Enjoy your new kitchen!
New kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first walking into the showroom to our finished kitchen we found everyone to be very friendly and helpful and are delighted with the quality and look of our new kitchen. We would like to give a special mention to Paul our fitter who worked tirelessly through a very difficult week and did a fantastic job. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his workmanship is second to non, a very skilled and professional fitter.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 05/06/2020 , work completed 02/06/2020
Fantastic kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We booked a design consultation in November 19. We requested integrated appliances ie fridge freezer dishwasher washing machine and built in oven. We had a few ideas as to what we wanted but Carl's years of experience helped us to make the right decisions as to what we wanted. We would like to thank everyone involved builders electrician plaster plumber kitchen fitters who worked extremely hard and long hours to deliver first class workmanship. Our kitchen is beyond our expectations its transformed our kitchen space. Once again thank you.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 14/03/2020 , work completed 26/11/2019
The trader replied (on 23/03/2020)
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you are happy with the service that we provided, enjoy your new kitchen :-)
Excellent service throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided to use Direct Kitchens as we were impressed with everything right from the start, from the first call, to measuring up, to picking our kitchen and beyond. The fitters came the first day and got a lot done but then things went wrong with one of the fitters falling ill and couldn't come but Direct Kitchens got straight onto it and sent two other fitters on the Thursday. So glad they did as Mark and Jack were brilliant, they saved the day and worked their socks off to get it done for us, even over the weekend. It was finished to a high standard and we are so pleased. Thanks to everyone there who kept us informed as to what was happening and to Mark and Jack who are complete stars. Thank you! 😊
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 02/03/2020 , work completed 01/03/2020
The trader replied (on 04/03/2020)
Thank your for fantastic review! We're delighted to hear that you're happy with the service we provided. Enjoy your new kitchen!
Fitted wardrobes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Direct Kitchens fitted new floor to ceiling wardrobes they were fitted in the time frame agreed, the men worked from 8am to 6pm. The men were very courteous and efficient, they hoovered up every night and put my bed and mattress back into my room. I was highly impressed from start to finish with all the work they carried out.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 15/02/2020 , work completed 26/10/2019
The trader replied (on 21/02/2020)
Thank you for your 5* review!
Excellent service before, during and after the fitting of our kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a fairly small kitchen but the designer advised us of the best ways to maximise the space and give the appearance of more light. We were kept informed throughout the whole process, one of the cabinets hadn’t been sent and they were honest about it and worked around it. We had the contact details for the tradesman I.e plumber, electrician and fitter so we could to them directly. The kitchen looked amazing when completed and we got a follow up call to make sure we were happy. We had a small problem with one of the worktops not leaving much of a gap but they were only too happy to come and sort it. The quality and standard of work and the customer service were excellent and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 13/02/2020 , work completed 01/07/2019
The trader replied (on 21/02/2020)
Thank you for our fantastic review and happy to hear you're happy with the service that you received!
Read this review and avoid this company completely. Direct Kitchens take no responsibility for their work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I visited showroom to arrange measure up. Needed extractor hood and showed the measurer the outside wall and down pipes. Told this posed no problem. 1. Quote Viewed plan (Carl does strictly by appointment). plan not workable, kitchen appliances could not be accessed. Agreed changes and breakdown of cost. Signed off plan. Not pointed out that this was in fact sales contract with terms and conditions on the back, extremely one sided. States fitters to be paid in cash. Promised full plan and breakdown. Never received. 2. Builder Assured Direct kitchens had ‘own builder’. Builder impossible to pin down, agreed several dates to view and quote, didn’t turn up. Eventually attended and agreed dates Two people Thursday, Friday any finishing work Saturday morning. Didn’t turn up. After much chasing one person came following Monday. Job took 8 days with workman simultaneously working on several other jobs, frequently vanishing. Very poor job. 3. Fitters Came on time Brought two carcasses no appliances. Direct kitchens rang at 9 asking for balance of payment. Refused, states cash on delivery, goods not delivered. Extractor couldn’t be fitted due to pipes. Direct kitchens supplied waste plumbing kit. Plumber wouldn’t use. Not compatible and no rubber seals. Was eventually fitted. Two days later waste came apart flooded unit. Had been glued together Plumber came back and fitted new kit I purchased.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 28/12/2019 , work completed 12/12/2019
The trader replied (on 24/01/2020)
Dear customer Firstly, we want to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. However, we are saddened by your comments, and would like to investigate into your project further. As you can see from our star rating, we hold customer service and satisfaction in a very high regard – as a family run company these areas form our business ethos. As a company that has been trading for 20+ years we have processes in place to ensure all projects are completed to a high standard. These processes include customers signing the project off when completed. This includes documenting any snags the project requires to be completed at a later date. Our dedicated after sales team calls the fitting team on the first Monday after any project is completed. This is where your issues mentioned in your review should have been documented. If you could give the team a call quoting your Which? Trusted Trader review that would be great, we can then investigate and get to the bottom of the matters mentioned above. The team is contactable on: 0114 240 0158
Appalling service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Upon agreeing a design with Direct Kitchens we waited with baited breath for the fit day to arrive, it was the 1st of October 2019. The day arrived and the fitter finally turned up at 3 in the afternoon (not a great start). We were told that in 2 weeks it would be totally complete. This was not the case! In actual fact it took them 6! I paid all the money on the day of the fit which was a huge mistake because once I had done this, the service I received was shocking. My fitter turned up as and when. I called direct kitchens and was constantly given excuses. The owner didn't even have the bottle to call me and apologise for the constant delays. I was fobbed off time and time again. The fitter clearly didn't want to come back, they never once called me, no compensation offered. Horrendous service!
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 05/11/2019 , work completed 04/11/2019
Great work and exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have always used direct kitchens for over 20 years now and they never fail to amaze! I have had my bedroom cupboards fitted from then and they are better than what I wished for as I can only have fitted wardrobes, I was stuck on space! They exceeded all of my expectations and was even completed before the deadline they had set! They also offer expert advice! Definitely using them again!
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 30/10/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Great kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My kitchen is brilliant I love it, so do all my friends and family. Tom the fitter came on time was very professional very clean and tidy nothing was to much trouble for him, any problems they were solved straight a way I could recommend them to any one. Thank you direct kitchen for being so professional and planning everything so well.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 19/07/2019
Love my new kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely happy with service received from Direct Kitchens - from planning, choosing and fitting. Aftercare has also been excellent with a couple of problems being dealt with quickly and efficiently. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 31/08/2019
Wonderful kitchen!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have to say that we love our new kitchen, it’s transformed our house! We had a wall removed and a new kitchen and floor fitted, with all work being provided by Direct Kitchens. This made the whole process much easier although I did still feel that I was project managing it and had to liaise directly with all the relevant workmen. All the trades provided were excellent except for the plumber, we had several issues with him that needed rectifying. Mark the kitchen fitter was brilliant, so professional and his work was top notch. Value for money was the main reason we chose Direct Kitchens. Their costs were several thousands cheaper that competitors but quality isn’t compromised, our kitchen really is of the highest quality. One small negative is that I didn’t feel the communication with Carl and his team was the best. For example, our kitchen completed a few months ago and we are yet to receive any post completion correspondence from Direct Kitchens, not even a phone call to ask if we are happy. This is something that I feel the company needs to improve on. As with any big project we had a few glitches and not everything went to plan, but overall we are delighted with the outcome and would recommend Direct Kitchens.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
I love my kitchen! Great workmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I bought a new build house the builder (a small firm) recommended Direct Kitchens. We were shown plenty of options but already had an idea of what we wanted. The guys in the show room were really helpful. When they came to fit it again the workmen were friendly and knowledgeable. It looks great and I’ve not found a single fault with it. I’ve had so many compliments on it. I can honestly say when I want to upgrade it I'll be going back. They were that good I also bought my fitted wardrobes from them.
Customer Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 01/04/2019
Absolutely excellent experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the whole team involved in my kitchen refit. The builder took out a wall and inserted a steel joist. The electrician and plumber did their jobs and the fitters did the carcass and equipment fit. Everyone was on time, polite, helpful and professional. The whole thing occurred at a pretty difficult time for me. My husband was having a big operation in a local hospital and my granddaughter gave birth prematurely to my great grandson. I could have been very stressed out but due to the professionalism of the whole team from start to finish I only had to worry about my personal problems as in husband, granddaughter and great grandson. I would totally recommend direct kitchens to anyone wanting any type of job. I would class my kitchen as small but with the various problems that the different trades encountered their professionalism was brilliant. I would happily put myself forward as liaison for anyone wanting to chat about using the company. I hope my thank you card arrived and thank you again.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 03/08/2019
Nice kitchen, poor fit and after sales.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second kitchen we have had from Direct Kitchens. The first was great, so when we were changing the house around they were an automatic port of call. The kitchen units themselves are great, appliances all work well and it looks, on the face of it, great. Issue is with the fit and the response from the owner. Because we were having other building work done, it was 12 months before we actually got a floor down in the new kitchen. This highlighted that the island unit holding the hob, and the dining /breakfast bar off it were not at all square to the room (the sub floor was large floor panels so not many lines to work from). When I measured, one side of the island unit was a full two centimetres longer than the other side, and the three tower units next to it were at a similar offset to the wall. Carl, the owner, did come out to have a look, and proclaimed it was because "my walls were out" and " you can't bend boxes". Absolute rubbish. The reality is that a poor fit and checking of a 1m corner unit where possibly the corner wasn't 100% square has thrown the remaining 6m of kitchen out of line, and to correct it now would require a couple of days of manpower and the re-cutting of some corian worktops that would incur a reasonable amount of expense. This isn't precision joinery, it's bolting boxes together and I would have done a better job myself. I have done better jobs myself. Hugely disappointed with a sixteen grand kitchen.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 06/10/2019 , work completed 21/09/2018
The trader replied (on 24/10/2019)
Dear Customer We are sorry to hear of your experience and thought that all issues were resolved on our visit. Can we arrange a call to discuss further? Kind regards Direct Kitchens
Lovely new kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted with my new kitchen and flooring. The builders and fitters were friendly and completed the work on time and to a high standard. I'm very happy with the price and Direct Kitchens kept in contact with me until I was completely satisfied with the finish.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
Brilliant team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a first class team of workers, from planning to fitting we couldn't fault them, they consulted us on at every stage of the refurb. The fitters are first class to every detail, very clean and tidy workers, we would definitely recommend them all, from planning , clerical staff and fitters.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 21/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Direct Kitchens were recommended to me and I'm pleased that I used them. Everyone from start to finish was friendly and professional and the fitters were great to deal with.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 28/11/2018 , work completed 17/09/2018
Great kitchen at a great price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Carl and his team were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, we changed our minds about different things but it was no trouble at all. We put off the start date for various reasons but it didn’t trouble the team and when the team did arrive they were exceptional from start to finish, we couldn’t fault them in any way. The second time we have used DK and would use them again if need be.
Michael Thacker Posted on 14/11/2018 , work completed 14/11/2018
great team at direct kitchens
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team worked hard to finish in a week, friendly hard working team
debbie schofield, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Finally the kitchen of our dreams!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We finally have our kitchen of our dreams thank you to Direct Kitchens! From start to finish the service and experience has been fantastic! Fully supported throughout and wonderful advice to help us towards achieving the kitchen design we hoped for! The end result as exceeded our expectations 10 times over!
Natalie_79 Posted on 10/06/2018 , work completed 10/06/2018
Kitchen we dreamed of.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish this was a perfect job. Fitters were polite,friendly and perfectionists in all they did. We had a new fitted kitchen and a new fitted bedroom. Direct kitchens are not the cheapest but we feel are the best. You get what you pay for and it well worth paying hat little bit extra. We have the kitchen we have always dreamed of.
Maggie B, . Posted on 16/04/2018 , work completed 16/04/2018
Well done D. K.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a wall removed, spotlights, kitchen ceiling skimmed. The kitchen had a total refit. The workers came when they said they would, and cleaned up afterwards. They were easy to have in the home and were polite. The boss at direct kitchens said he would transform my kitchen and his workers did. Thanks lads
Evie3, . Posted on 23/02/2018 , work completed 23/02/2018
love my new kitchen, friendly staff, would definately recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
old kitchen ripped out, new plastering and electrical work, new white gloss kitchen fitted, with 6 new electrical appliances
sunnymands, . Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
Amazing service and quaity of the work done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete new kitchen fitted in a room that was formally the downstairs bathroom and a utility room. The service from Carl and his team was nothing short of outstanding throughout the process. The fitter was excellent at his job and made minimal mess, always cleaned up after him self and was extremely friendly. Nothing was an issue.
Steven and Shelley, . Posted on 03/02/2018 , work completed 03/02/2018
Direct Kitchen fitted our kitchen in October and the end results is fantastic really pleased with .
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first meeting at Direct Kitchen to the end result the quality and workmanship that went into our kitchen is brilliant, the two fitters where fantastic chaps and the end results is a beautiful fitted kitchen.
Beau16 Posted on 23/01/2018 , work completed 23/01/2018
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent experience from start to finish and all follow up calls responded to promptly. V good workmanship and excellent attitude.
Murtaza Awan Posted on 23/01/2018 , work completed 23/01/2018
Job well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New kitchen designed , built and delivered on time. Helpful and flexible fitters. Additional building and electrical work was also well done.
Mike O Posted on 04/10/2017 , work completed 04/10/2017
Great Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a lovely kitchen fitted by Direct Kitchens. We have had no problems with it and have been living with our new kitchen for about 2 months now. We would definitely recommend Direct Kitchens. The kitchen fitters were professional and a couple of small issues we had early on were dealt with promptly. Thank you.
Smith Posted on 26/07/2017 , work completed 26/07/2017
Excellent Kitchen providers!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would like to give a big thanks to Direct Kitchens! Carl was brilliant, he understood exactly what we wanted and worked with us to achieve our budget. Carl's recommended team of Billy (the builder), Andy (the electrician), John & Lee (the fitters), Steve (the floor man) & Fair Price decorators were great - they all worked really well together & nothing was too much trouble! They all made you feel at ease and that you were in safe hands. Any niggles were sorted quickly and with no issues. The whole process went very smoothly - the end result is fantastic - it has transformed our family life!!
Basia Beare Posted on 25/07/2017 , work completed 25/07/2017
From drab to fab
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Direct Kitchens arranged for the electrician & plasterer to come followed by John & Lee fitting our kitchen units. We were impressed by the workmanship & would definitely recommend them to anyone wanting a kitchen fitted, from first talking to Carl from Direct Kitchens it ran like clockwork
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/06/2017 , work completed 06/06/2017
Superb Project Management and finished product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Direct Kitchens performed miracles in 10 days - the builders removed walls, created a suspended ceiling - cleared the old kitchen and re-plastered whilst the electrician rewired and prepared the sockets and light switches. The following week the new units and appliances were fitted by two craftsmen who took great care in all of their installation. Massive thumbs up to Direct Kitchens.
David Mantle Posted on 16/05/2017 , work completed 16/05/2017
The trader replied (on 16/05/2017)
Hi David, Thank you for your fantastic 5* review! It’s great to hear how happy you are with your new kitchen and the quality of our service. Enjoy your new kitchen! Many thanks, Direct Kitchens
Home Office Approved!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have had work undertaken by Direct Kitchens on each occasion they have made the whole process straightforward from planning and designing through to fitting. We felt we were well supported throughout the process and as a result the finished home office is both aesthetically good but more importantly very practical. I would and have happily recommend Direct Kitchens to friends and family.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/01/2017 , work completed 23/01/2017
Fitting of kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen fitted
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/11/2016 , work completed 30/11/2016
New Kitchen, utility and bedrooms under one roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete new kitchen - planning and fitting including ovens, dishwasher, fridge freezer Also fitted wardrobes. Also ordered another set of fitted wardrobes and fitting out a new utility room
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/09/2016 , work completed 19/09/2016
No problems at all
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new fitted kitchen installed which I was very satisfied with. There were no problems at all and I wouldn't hesitate to use Paul again.
Mr MacMahon, Doncaster Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
Great quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I has a kitched fitted just after Christmas which I was very happy with. There were no problems at all, they were very good. Everything was completed on time and within budget, and I would definitely recommend them. The quality of the work was also excellent.
Mrs Price, Doncaster Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
Excellent kitchen installer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
whole kitchen replacement
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/07/2016 , work completed 01/07/2016
Good value, great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full kitchen and utility room refit.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/04/2016 , work completed 04/04/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Supplied and fitted our new kitchen. changing the all layout of the kitchen
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/04/2016 , work completed 01/04/2016
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Direct Kitchens provided full consultation planning and installation of the kitchen including Electrics and plastering
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/11/2015 , work completed 01/11/2015
New Kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full kitchen installation including appliances.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/04/2015 , work completed 28/04/2015
Value for money.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Good quality units for a very reasonable price, and the fitters are very professional.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/03/2015 , work completed 30/03/2015
Went above and beyond!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used for a full refit of a kitchen and they went above and beyond for me. They fitted around my work schedule, were very neat, tidy and took all the rubbish at the end of every day and they were extremely trustworthy - never felt worried about leaving them in the house. They really went above and beyond.
Dan, Mosbourough Posted on 25/11/2014 , work completed 25/11/2014
They couldn't do enough for you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The workmanship was very good and the kitchen looked brilliant.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/09/2014 , work completed 16/09/2014
Amazing transformation of our kitchen and bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full Kitchen refurb including building work and fitted wardrobes in our dressing area
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/09/2014 , work completed 01/09/2014
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2new kitchens one in our previous home and one in our current home also fitted wardrobes in our current home
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/05/2012 , work completed 30/05/2012