We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Edinburgh Heating Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–12:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb eh logo1

4.9

47 Reviews

About

Edinburgh Heating provides a full range of services to central heating and hot water systems throughout Edinburgh and the Lothians.

We are Gas Safe registered, and have been well reviewed for our quality of work both on Trusted Trader and other sites.

We are Advanced installers for Vaillant boilers, one of the best on the market. German engineering and proven reliability.

We are also Platinum Installers for the Intergas brand of boilers from Holland where they are the market leader and for good reason too. We believe their boilers represents a significant step forward in design, with less moving components inside they are more reliable, more efficient and more cost efficient than traditional boilers.

We are also accredited to install the Nest learning thermostat as one of their pro installers. The Nest thermostat learns your routines and ideal temperatures and then quietly goes about it's business of keeping your home at the perfect temperature while saving you money.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • Electricians

  • More Services

    • underfloor heating
    • heating
    • nest
    • honeywell
    • hive
    • evo home

Customer reviews

4.9
47 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Complete Disaster
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This installer must be avoided at all costs! After he installed our boiler and we put in the above review, we recommended him to both our daughter and a close personal friend. The difference could not have been more extreme, he left our daughters boiler installed with an extension board hanging out of the attic and became really threatening and demanded payment before the job was even finished. Our friend was subjected to the most appealing behaviour and language to both her, her eighty year old mother and fourteen year autistic daughter. The job was a complete disaster and the Gas Board had to come in and correct the damage and repair faults which he had made. After they complained to Intergas, their head of service told Ian that no matter what the customer said that he would back him up. Our ECo Ref 32 is truly great boiler, now serviced by a reputable local company, but I wouldn't use this character ever again.
Customer in Edinburgh21/02/2019
The trader replied (on 29/05/2019)
We’re disappointed that you have felt the need to write this review three years after you left us a 5-star review stating that you wish there were more trades companies like us. We also returned to service your boiler after one year and again a year later to repair a minor radiator leak free of charge and you were glowing in your praise for our work. In the case of your Daughter’s property, there was an inherent electrical fault in the attic that meant that the new boiler would not work. As a temp solution to ensure there was a functioning boiler, we ran an extension cable from the loft to a power supply downstairs. It became clear that your Daughter felt the electrical problem was our issue to resolve and withheld the entire payment due until we rectified the problem. Left with no other option, we employed an electrician to fix the fault at our cost. I feel that we cannot comment on your Daughter’s friend’s job as the issue (two old radiators in an extension that didn’t heat properly due to choked pipes) was totally unrelated to the work we carried out and is forming the basis of their complete non-payment for the work (£5k). This is still being pursued legally. I, or any member of my staff, have never, or ever will be abusive to our customers or any member of their family under any circumstances. We are decent and honest people who work tirelessly to uphold the excellent reputation we have built up with our customers over the last 8 years without a single negative review.
Amazing person and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Iain came out just before Christmas, our boiler broke as he was finishing his last shift before the holidays but he still came out at 8pm. We have a newborn and just prior to her being born my partner lost her job so finances have been extremely tight. As well as doing the call out so late he did not charge us for the work he had to do. Not only was the work amazing he restored my faith in humanity.
Customer in Edinburgh27/01/2019
Thorough, reliable and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ancient boiler replaced and moved. The new boiler system was carefully and thoroughly researched by Iain before deciding upon the best solution. He took time to explain his decision which left me confident that we were going to be left with a robust system. The new boiler, thermostat and 2 new radiators were installed with the minimum of fuss. They took time to completely flush the system and came back to finish the job when they said they would. They also came out again to sort out a minor glitch. Although the work took a little longer than they anticipated, they stuck to the original quote. Friendly throughout and a pleasure to have around.
A Davis11/11/2018
Great service and excellent standard of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edinburgh Heating removed our 1980s boiler, radiators and controls and replaced with a brand new two zone system with WiFi enabled thermostats. Throughout the job and afterwards we haven't been able to fault Edinburgh Heating's work, their service or their aftercare. The system they have installed works perfectly and we are very pleased with our remotely controllable high efficiency system. I have no hesitation in recommending Iain Clarke and Edinburgh Heating.
Euan_k30/10/2018
The 5 Star Reviews are real (and justified)!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We received some distressing news after moving to a new property - our boiler was condemned and considerable work would be required (including moving pipes, removing asbestos etc.) to rectify the situation. Following a pressured sales pitch from a National Energy firm, I contacted Iain at Edinburgh Heating who managed to match the quote, save me more than £1,000 and install a higher quality boiler with a 10 year warranty. Even with staff shortages at the time, due to illness, all the work was carried out quickly, efficiently and as agreed with no unexpected surprises. A fantastic local firm that you can rely on.
J Bell17/10/2017
Restored our faith in reliable tradesmen :-)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Iain at Edinburgh Heating to quote on a new boiler after our old boiler was broken following a repair by another heating company (also recommended by Which?!). Iain really knows his stuff and is thorough, friendly and reliable. He kept us informed and pulled out all the stops to install our new boiler quickly as we had no heating. In one day Iain and Raymond upgraded our gas pipe and installed our new Vaillant ecoTEC exclusive Green iQ 835 boiler. As he is an Advanced Vaillant installer we get an extended guarantee of 7 years at no extra cost which we're delighted with. There was a problem with the signal on the wireless thermostat programmer (which was not Iain's fault) but he happily returned and wired the receiver externally to the boiler to remedy the problem and we are delighted with the result. Our thanks go to Iain and Raymond as you've restored our faith in reliable trustworthy tradesmen. We would have no hesitation in recommending Edinburgh Heating. Iain takes great pride in achieving the best outcome for his customers.
Sazzyj10/07/2017
Nest Pro Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Iain through Facebook initially, which he followed up with a phone call. He came to view the work required and did the job there and then!! Very tidy installation of a 3rd Gen Nest Thermostat with advice and recommendation for some further work. Absolutely would recommend and will be the first person I call for any further work!
evo7scotsman13/04/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having read reviews of Edinburgh Heating on Which Local I approached Iain for a quotation for replacing my central heating boiler with a combi boiler. He gave me very informative advice and I decided to accept his quotation. We agreed a date for commencement of the job and Iain turned up on the agreed date complete with boiler and accessories. Due to an unfortunate error by another company which had been scheduled to complete some alterations to my gas supply that day, Iain was unable to start his work. Despite this frustration he remained helpful and good-natured and he very generously agreed to postpone the installation till a later date. He also agreed to try to coordinate his work with the company which was going to install a new kitchen for me.This he did and things went very well. I am now enjoying the comfort provided by the new boiler. I found Iain very courteous, friendly and obliging. May I also add that he even took time when here to help out one of my neighbours who had a small problem with her central heating. I would have no hesitation in recommending Edinburgh Heating.
GJ4310/11/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job done exactly as planned without fuss or bother. I would certainly use this firm again.
tomdon16/06/2016
Fantastic trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new fitted new boiler in my house, everything went absolutely fine, on time and with fair pricing. Iain is really friendly, punctul, reliable, and a smart young man! I would absolutely use him again, he was very helpful with his suggestions and advice.
David, Edinburgh13/06/2016