We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Elec-Hicks

Profile thumb cool elec hicks 2 1

5.0

23 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

I am a self employed electrician who takes pride in his work and believes that the quality of work takes precedence over time or cost.
As a client you will never be overcharged for a job, just confident in the knowledge that you are paying for honest work done.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

Customer reviews

5.0
23 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Problem solved quickly right before Christmas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We lost power to all the sockets in our sitting room, conservatory and a bedroom on 20th December 2019. We didn’t hold out much hope of finding an electrician who could come out that close to Christmas but ‘Elec-Hicks’ came up trumps. Darren arrived on 23rd as promised, found the cause of the problem and quickly fixed it with no fuss or mess. We are confident in recommending this excellent professional to others.
Geraldine in Essex Posted on 03/01/2020 , work completed 23/12/2019
Quick and effective
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I phoned Darren, to ask some questions regarding my electrical issues, he come round and sorted it quickly and effectively, cannot fault his work, price was fair too! Will definitely use his services again. Thanks Darren!
Customer in Essex Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 30/11/2019
Would recommend!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Elec-Hicks to investigate our electrics which kept tripping. Darren came out next day and found source of the problem and corrected. Very polite, efficient and reasonable. Have already booked in for him to do another job for us, would highly reccomend.
Alison McCann Posted on 02/09/2018 , work completed 02/09/2018
Tidy, efficient work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It's often hard to find a tradesmen who will fit in a small job quickly. Darren was really communicative and had somebody round within a couple of days to do our small job of changing some light fittings. Casey got the job done quickly with zero fuss. Both guys really friendly, and the job was well priced.
Claire Jamieson Posted on 24/08/2018 , work completed 24/08/2018
Professional high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All work carried out was completed to a high standard. All areas were left clean and tidy. Mr Hicks is very professional and we highly recommend his services.
Gillian Posted on 06/03/2018 , work completed 06/03/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren replaced a ceiling light fitting for me. Excellent service; responded quickly to my enquiry and arranged a convenient date and time to do the work. Can not fault his work and professionalism, and the very reasonable price.
acolley Posted on 18/05/2017 , work completed 18/05/2017
Exceptional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When you meet Mr Hicks he is charming and his manner immediately inspires confidence that he would not disappoint you, and that was indeed the case for me.
DeliaHake Posted on 08/02/2017 , work completed 08/02/2017
Would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After requiring an electrician to install five lights, a new double socket and removal of an existing light Elec-Hicks was recommended to us by a family member. We found Darren to be honest and highly professional in everything he did. He discussed with us before starting the work and throughout and explained things very clearly. He was very thorough and his work was exceptionally neat and tidy. He did over and above and yet we found his prices to be very reasonable. To find someone that takes such pride in his work is a rarity and we wouldn't hesitate to use him again. Would definitely recommend.
Sue, Hertford Posted on 02/01/2017 , work completed 02/01/2017
An honest highly professional electrician - a rare breed these days
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Elec-Hicks had been recommended to us and certainly lived up to their billing. I have worked in the property sector for many years and know the difference between the good and the average when it comes to trades. The work included installing an additional circuit and power to external structures. We had an idea of what we wanted but E-H turned it into a professional solution and gave added value with a number of sensible suggestions. Electrical works must comply with tight regulations these days but it is clear that E-H understand these regs well and work to that high standard. Also we were very pleased with the quality of presentation of the work with every effort taken to blend the works in with buildings and décor - no unsightly conduit / hanging wires etc in the eyeline. Finally, in terms of price, E-H clearly take pride in their work and price accordingly giving an excellent mix of quality / value for money.
Pee_Bee Posted on 12/10/2016 , work completed 12/10/2016
Highly Competent - Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren completed electrical works at the interior & exterior of our home. His attention to detail & professional approach (including leaving the work areas clean & tidy) ensured that everything was completed to a very high standard. His input & suggestions were also much appreciated. I would have no hesitation in recommending Darren to anyone seeking a highly competent electrician.
WMurphy Posted on 06/08/2016 , work completed 06/08/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional
Yvonne, Essex Posted on 26/07/2016 , work completed 26/07/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All the work done was very satisfactory and done on time.
Anne, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/07/2016 , work completed 09/07/2016
Garden work room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trustworthy, honest and reliable. Elec-Hicks has a pride in his work, it being neat and tidy and well finished. A reliable time keeper. We are delighted with his work!
Graham J, Essex Posted on 26/05/2016 , work completed 26/05/2016
Installation of light fittings
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was friendly, reliable and very conscientious. Work was completed to a high standard. Have no hesitation in recommending him. It's good to know this quality of work and service still exists!
2011-07-22 08:40:29.9 Posted on 25/03/2016 , work completed 25/03/2016
Impressed would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Darren very professional in his work and he explained what he was doing very plainly. He carried out the work as required and was very pleasant and polite. Job was completed as promised and left with no mess. Have already recommended him.
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/05/2015 , work completed 26/05/2015
reliable, trustworthy trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tidy, professional and knowledgeable electrician. Has installed alarm system + other jobs for the last 2 years , we never had a problem with his work
CMR403409274 Posted on 13/05/2015 , work completed 13/05/2015
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Elec-Hicks on several occasions. Now always a prompt and highly professional service. Friendly, polite and nice to deal with. Would highly recommend.
Geoff, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/05/2015 , work completed 06/05/2015
Reliable and expert
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Darren on two occasions and he's a fantastic guy,very friendly and approachable. First time was for an electrical emergency and he arrived when he said he would and didn't rest until he'd resolved the problem. The second occasion Darren fitted an electrical unit and again he arrived on time and his workmanship was excellent. He he thorough and professional and tidied up afterwards. His rates are most reasonable to.
CMR403301116 Posted on 28/04/2015 , work completed 28/04/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend Darren to anyone requiring electrical work. His abilities and up-to-date knowledge ensure that all requirements are achieved. All work has been carried out efficiently and to an excellent standard.
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/04/2015 , work completed 24/04/2015
Excellent job, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Never come across it before
Roderick, Essex Posted on 06/04/2015 , work completed 06/04/2015
Darren Hicks(Elec-Hicks)
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren is very reliable and can be depended upon to get the job done to a high standard. I have used Darren for a variety of jobs for a number of years, and have not been disappointed at any time. He has even corrected work that had been done previously by someone else, that could have been potentially a fire hazard.
daddio Posted on 22/02/2015 , work completed 22/02/2015
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending Darren from Elec-Hicks - there was good communication from the outset, excellent work, tidy, helpful, reasonable, knowledgeable and professional. He installed a new cooker point for us, there was a slight problem on further investigation, but it did not faze him at all and he quickly came up with another solution. First class service.
Kate T Posted on 18/12/2014 , work completed 18/12/2014
Brilliant job, very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was very obliging and knowledgeable. Would recommend.
Gemma, Essex Posted on 15/09/2014 , work completed 15/09/2014