We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Express Removals

Profile thumb express removals logo
4.4

27 Reviews

About

Welcome to Express Removals

Express Removals undertake removals to all areas of the UK including regular trips to the West Country, Wales, the Midlands, the North of England and Scotland. So whether you want to move a single room or a whole six bedroom home, we can accommodate your needs.
Business & Commercial Removals

Not only do we provide a first class removal service to private households, but to business clients as well. We are equipped to deal with all kinds of commercial customers from small shops to large factories.

We also offer Worldwide Removals to many destinations so whether your moving to USA, relocating to Australia, moving to South Africa, relocating to Canada or moving to New Zealand (See more).

Both full and part loads can be carried to all areas, we also offer great prices on Groupage Services for shared transport.
Containerised Storage/Self Storage

Our modern facilities offer fully containerised storage in a secure environment with 24hour security.

What we do

  • Removals

    • International removals
    • Home removals

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.4
27 reviews
Customer Service
4.4
Quality
4.4
Value
4.4
Sort by
Great removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Express Removals for a removal quotation to Eastbourne and Japan. Their quote was very quickly received was concise, told us what we needed to know and the price was very fair competitive. From the start their customer service was helpful and clearly they knew the business of removals. On the day of our moving they arrived at the agreed time and by 13.00 we were fully loaded and ready to go to Eastbourne. The team were very efficient and the move went without a problem or damage. They didn't stop for any breaks were really friendly and offered advice when necessary. We would thoroughly recommend and look forward to their preparing our shipment to Japan in the near future.
Gregory in East Sussex Posted on 23/07/2021 , work completed 11/05/2021
Terrible service left feeling like I was a piece of dirt of someone shoe. They don't care about your goods.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I thought it was a good price to start. Then it went wrong when we went to storage and then got an email and the price nearly doubled. They was no real reason other than more units but we paid for them. It wasn't until I went to move out of storage that things really went wrong. We found another company quickly. At the storage unit we found that items were stacked on top of fragile items. Items were broken. Furniture were scuffed. Dented ripped boxes had looked like they were just thrown into the container units. I was told to take photos of anything that was damaged and I can do an insurance claim. I opened boxes when we moved in and found that I had several items broken one particular item my dad made me. I'm heartbroken. They just don't care. I am now in my new home with lots of items that were new looking but now look that I had that for years and they have come back to me and said there is nothing they can do although it's them that has done the damage. They will do anything to get out of paying for items they have damaged. I know I haven't done it and I know I wouldn't think of treating other people stuff like they have. It's really disgusting.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 30/03/2021 , work completed 11/03/2021
Awful experience. Wouldn’t recommend.
We paid for packing a moving. On the day of the packing I gave a list of instructions and what to label boxes. One packer did just that. The other ignored it. They left without completing the packing. The day of the move I asked about finishing the packing. I was told it should have been completed by the packers. I did it. Which wasn’t right. The removal men left behind things under the stairs and a electric wood effect stove. And all outdoor pots. All included in our quote. My husband waited for about an hour before they came back. Holding up the new people. Also it meant he wasn’t at our new place to supervise where things went. Luckily we only moved around the corner. We paid a company to pick up the flammable items and to take outdoor pots as the pots were not taken. Moving staff put boxes all over the place. Cement in the summer room. Tools too. The garage was packed so badly and dangerously. We asked for room so we could get to the white good (freezers etc). That didn’t happen. Our bed was piled high of boxes. A lot not labelled bedroom. Took us two weeks to go through and organise. Things went missing. A few broken items. It’s taken this long to calm down enough to leave a review. Some packing was badly done. No sense at all. What should have been an easy move, turned into a stressful experience for us as a family. We gave boxes away rather than go to the office as we were so upset.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 01/02/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Not to be trusted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Please read this !! Do not use them ! Fantastic before you sign the contract. The guys were on time, not issue. We had a delay on completion day, and they took my stuff away at 16:00 pm, I had to pay £600 to recover it took 2 days after, just for 1.5 hours work. Customer services were appalling (not the same as before signing the contract). Before the removals done they asked me to put a review already!!! Trust me, do not use them, if you have an issue on completion day, they will charge you as it was full day. Worst experience on my life. Never again.
Customer in Kent Posted on 20/11/2020 , work completed 11/11/2020
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Express removals last week and overall is was a really great experience. The lady who I booked with was friendly and accommodating, Gordy and the guys did a superb job moving everything swiftly. No breakages and all sofas etc were covered so that they didnt get dirty. It was pouring down all day but they put floor blankets where needed to keep things clean. Very attentive and asked when unsure of anything. I highly recommend!
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 03/11/2020 , work completed 28/10/2020
Brilliant team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Want to say a huge thank you to Express removals, particularly Kevin, Mark, Lee S, and Andy B for being absolutely brilliant on the day of moving. Turned up well on time and took over a speedy and stress free removal. A great bunch of blokes who were very helpful and professional and a good laugh. At the other end a seamless delivery and everything was placed where we wanted it. Nothing was too much trouble for these guys. Also many thanks to Niamh and Ben who were very patient with us when we were booking the removal and gave us loads of quotes. Nothing was too much trouble. Our friend who helped us on the day will be booking Express and we would thoroughly recommend them to any one else. Been here a week now, can't believe it.
David and Sarah Kirkpatrick Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 18/06/2019
Stress free removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had my fist professional removal. In the past I’ve always organised van and help myself. I wish I’d known about these guys. Mark and Gordon did the work. They were very efficient and fast. They were very careful and conscientious with my stuff. It was stress free and they were so cheerful and friendly. My furniture is in storage until my new home is ready and I shall be asking for mark and Gordon to deliver it back to me. I would recommend to everyone :
Customer in Kent Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved on Monday and used Express removals. From start to finish they were great. The guys were friendly and really helpful. They packed everything up very quickly and unpacked it equally as well at the other end. Will use again and recommend.
Customer in Kent Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 11/03/2019
Great Service and friendly attitude
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I just moved from Chatham Kent to Newbury Berkshire and Empress Removals were absolutely brilliant. They arrived a bit late but despite this they apologised and promptly got to work emptying the flat and dismantling items to get into the truck. Upon arriving, they new where to place the items and the reassembly was very efficient. If we ever need to relocate again I will definitely use you guys and the fact you price matched was a definite winner with my wife.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
Great Experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish had a very professional and quick move with express removals. The two guys were really friendly and efficient making the whole experience less stressful. Would recommend the service to others.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 28/11/2018 , work completed 26/11/2018
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pleading company to work with helpful staff, good value for money Would recommend Evan with short notice
Genie Joyce Posted on 13/07/2018 , work completed 13/07/2018
Swift move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved on Saturday morning the 9th of June. They came earlier than expected which worked out well for us. 1/3 they moved to our new address and then they came back to collect the other 2/3 for storage. We need to move again in October and def will use them again. Friendly and no nonsense hard working staff.
Nicolette Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
Packed up and removed a complete shop in less than a day.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had 1 day, just one day, to pack up and completely clear out what was left of a shipwrecked joint business, a locksmiths shop. I called Express removals who duly took on my dilemma and plight. I was panicking that it would not get done all in one day, tens of thousands of keys, huge machinery, stock, assets, fixtures and fittings. Not only did they pack EVERYTHING and secure it safely, they did it with humour on what was a tense time. The lads even asked if I felt ok, and were not only caring about my company property they cared about their client, too. They helped reduce stress no end. By early afternoon they were loaded up on the lorry and by mid afternoon everything had been unpacked at the new destination. I cannot recommend this firm enough, if you want to be moved properly and as stress free as possible then do yourself a favour and just call these guys. Do not bother going anywhere else, or even looking. They are the best!!!. Thank you Andy and all the moving guys of the day.
Lottie Posted on 31/05/2018 , work completed 31/05/2018
Friendly, helpful and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, helpful staff. Took care of our belongings. Help our move go smoothly. Took a lot of stress away from the house move. Good value for money.
Dan Mc Posted on 22/05/2018 , work completed 22/05/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moving mother in law from Kent to Lancashire just before Xmas. Gary and David were extremely professional and the flexibility they offered really did help keep the stress away. Reasonably priced too. Thank you!
NGhosh Posted on 01/01/2018 , work completed 01/01/2018
Made move stressless and easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I just moved from Kent to Lincolnshire and the guys made this move stress less and even a laugh at times. The two G's (sorry can't remember their names) but top blokes. 5 stars every time from the Solomon family.
Matt260603 Posted on 20/12/2017 , work completed 20/12/2017
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really impressed by the overall experience. Firm flexible on dates and easily fitted us in. Originally planned as a two day job, the crew of two worked really hard so that we wouldn't be without our possessions on our first night in our new home. Even tolerated the children's attempts at helping with good humour.
Collo1 Posted on 20/10/2017 , work completed 20/10/2017
Great service, great price, great care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having never used a removal firm before and knowing nobody local who had, there were two things I wanted - good service and good price. Express filled me with confidence from the start and price matched the lowest quote I received. Being a BAR member was extra peace of mind. The packing day and the moving day bother went smoothly and if anything my valuables were over packed - with genuine care being taken with everything as if it were their own.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/07/2017 , work completed 21/07/2017
Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Express Removals and where very impressed with the professional approach throughout the whole process. Crew on the day provided an excellent service, and we will definitely use themy again in the future.
JayneC Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Good Professional Confident Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved just down the road on 3 April 2017 the crew came early introduced themselves, worked quickly and carefully, carried hubby's jukebox up 15 steps between 2 of them. Packed carefully made a very stressful exchange/complete on same day light-hearted, some banter, took the edge off, reasonable price against some of the others
Lynn Andy Tofte Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional office communications. Very good removal crew working diligently and professionally. Very good price as well.
PeteGrosmont Posted on 09/02/2017 , work completed 09/02/2017
Fantastic Service - Sussex to Derby in less than one day
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My first experience of Express Removals is entirely positive. I was not sure a Luton sized van would be sufficient so I arranged for their estimator to come round, and he recommended the next size van (which was more expensive), but on moving day I realised he was spot on, no way would it fit a Luton (small 3 bedroom cottage with lots of office work equipment and storage). We did negotiate to agree a price, which meant I had to be flexible about the moving day (with 24 hours notice), but they still gave me 4 clear days notice in the end. I was moving from Sussex to Derbyshire, 3+ hours in a car. The two removal guys arrived at 7:15am, they had loaded the lorry and were heading north before 9am! When I arrived in Derbyshire after saying a few goodbyes they were there waiting for me. They unloaded and had me sorted by 3pm. They took great care with my belongings, they placed mats on the carpet, protected my duvet, all without asking. I really can not fault the service at all. A+
Ashley Posted on 24/01/2017 , work completed 24/01/2017
Friendly and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company was the most competitive in the area and the lads turned up early, which was fine as it saved the worry of when we could start packing up. They were fast but careful in handling our items and took great care to make sure there were no breakages - and there was none! They were also patient and good humoured, as there was a delay in moving into the new property - we didn't get the keys until 3:40pm, but the lads worked a little past their deadline and at no extra charge. I would certainly recommend them.
Christian Posted on 07/07/2016 , work completed 07/07/2016
Not to be trusted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good quote, friendly assessor and nice office staff but when it came to moving day, it all went badly wrong. I felt that the attitude of the main removal man was appalling and he was condescending and officious throughout the day. He threatened to leave before he even started because he didn’t agree with the parking arrangements we had made (which he then went on to use). Only 3 men were sent to move a five bedroom house. It took over six hours to load, leaving too little time to unload. So we were charged and ordered to pay on the spot for the removal men to stay until 7pm to complete the job. This was done under the constant threat of the men still not finishing the job and at one point even locking up the van with half of our possessions still inside! Astronomical prices were quoted for storage in the event of the job not being completed and the manager was ‘unavailable’ to speak to. The rest of my family had to help unload the lorry in a hurry. Items were left disassembled despite us paying for assembly. The removal man left shouting and swearing because he didn’t like the evaluation I was encouraged to write before his departure; I’d only written ‘More details to follow’. Their responses to our complaints were so unsatisfactory that we ended up having to seek resolution through an ombudsman.
ardbeg Posted on 19/04/2016 , work completed 19/04/2016
Poor estimation leading to very poor service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ours was a complicated removal with both our home and our business to move. The estimate seemed fair and we took the complete service, packing and removals. Fortunately there was no rush to so there was time for a day packing, a day loading and a day unloading. Unfortunately, there were too few staff to pack and load to the people doing the work on the second day were very stressed about their office and the time allowed. To make life easier time wise, I agreed to take the contents of one of the sheds myself, and I'm glad I did because I checked the other sheds before I left only to find £1000 worth of tools and stock had been left behind and that after I had pointed out the most valuable of these items while they were loading. I had then to make two 500 mile round trips to collect the remainder of my belongings. The people who packed and loaded were all polite and we have found very few breakages but we certainly would not recommend Express for anything beyond a standard small removal as they clearly can't cope with anything out of the ordinary in my opinion. Very disappointing indeed!!
DavidW Posted on 12/03/2016 , work completed 12/03/2016
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader was polite, hardworking and polite packing was first class - no breakages.
Anonymous Posted on 01/02/2015 , work completed 01/02/2015
A straight forward move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything ran smoothly! Good customer service - on time, helpful and polite.
D, Brighton Posted on 01/02/2015 , work completed 01/02/2015
Nothing broken in transit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used them for packing, storage, removal & relocation. They were prompt on the phone and informative. They stuck to the quote and I would recommend them.
R, Nottingham Posted on 01/06/2014 , work completed 01/06/2014