We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Firstbase Drainage Services

Profile thumb dean pic

5.0

56 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

A list of the services provided below:

Blockages
All excavations
Pipe re-lining
CCTV Surveys
All drain repairs
Trace & locate
Watermains
High pressure water jetting
Anti flood valves
Patch Lining

Please do not hesitate to get in touch always happy to help

What we do

  • Drain clearance contractors

    • Emergency drain clearance service
    • CCTV drain surveys
    • Drain installation
  • More Services

    • patch lining

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
56 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Fast, Efficient & Fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overflowing drains caused by blockage of fallen leaves. Dean fully resolved this and replaced the chicken wire so it properly covered the drain. Bill was much less than expected as he said it was a quick job. Would definitely be my go to guy for drain work in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/09/2020 , work completed 17/09/2020
No more smell, no more flies, no more rats!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean diagnosed and dealt with a blocked and cracked drain with an uncovered access point in a dark and almost inaccessible disused basement. It was hot, smelly and the air was full of flies. There were signs that rats had been around but Dean and his team just got on with it. He also found a blockage (a mini fatberg) upstream from the main problem and dealt with that too, as well as rebuilding the badly configured drain behind the house where kitchen waste frequently overflowed. They did a great job, were incredibly helpful and cleared up well afterwards.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/07/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean came to sort a problem with some subsidence on my driveway and agreed that he needed to dig down to the drain, create an access point and then reinstate the drive from that some builders had botched some time ago. On what was the hottest day of the year they worked so hard and we now have a pristine driveway that looks like new. They treated our property with respect and cleaned up after themselves. One of my neighbours has asked him to have a look at her drains so he picked up some additional work while he was here. He is polite, ever so knowledgeable and more importantly, extremely honest and trustworthy, everything a Which Trusted Trader should be. Well done
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/06/2020 , work completed 26/06/2020
Peace at last
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My parents had an ongoing problem with rats over the last 20 years; but was too embarrassed to do anything about it. Sometimes you would not see 1 for months and then 8-10 in a week. We live behind a small stream.Eventually, I had enough. I called one contractor, he advised us to use firstbase. We called, left message. Dean called the next day. When he came with the crew, they put a camera down all possible drain points; and found an old, unused drain pipe as the rats point of access. He explained the procedure and cost. Excellent price and also excellent and friendly customer service. They did the job straight away as they came with all the necessary equipment. Over a year later...no more rats, or scratching under flooring. Thank you so much. 100% recommended. So sorry I did not review earlier Dean!Please use this trader.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/10/2019 , work completed 31/03/2018
Couldn't be more helpful, and excellent value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean Richardson sorted a blocked shower outlet for even less than the (already reasonable) call out fee he quoted, and even threw in a tiling repair without making any extra charge. He was also happy to come back and sort a further problem, not of his making, without any charge at all. He was very pleasant and helpful.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/04/2019 , work completed 11/02/2019
Fast, efficient, friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Dean but he was on a job so told me that he would call me back. Sometimes this doesn't happen but Dean did call me very soon afterwards. He came out to my house later that same day. He quickly identified the problem with my drains and cleared them within a minute or so. He then did further investigation as to why they were getting blocked and narrowed it down to a U-trap where my drain goes out to the main drain in the road. This is common apparently with older properties. He checked the pipes with a camera and jet cleaned the U-trap. He was very honest and said that it will block again at some time but it is impossible to say when. He also said that the U-trap can be removed and replaced with a straight section of pipe and that it was a two hour job. I will definitely use Dean again as he was reasonably priced, efficient, honest and friendly.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 12/03/2019
Persistent rat and smell problem fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had given up hope of ever solving the problem I had at my premises in North London particularly since I had previously had cameras down my drains and the problem wasn’t discovered. 4 years of intermittent rat problems under the floorboards and two years of drain smells coming and going. Lanes for Drains came out about 25 times... I had been assigned my own Thames Water engineer... he didn’t find the problem... So after having cameras down my drain previously, pest control trying to get rid of rats, drain people coming out and cleaning my gullies, me spending £600 pulling up a laminate floor to look for a sewage leak.... Dean came and identified a disused pipe which rats had eaten through the rubble to get to and he plugged it... job done in an hour! Cannot praise him highly enough. A huge thank you!! Fiona
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/12/2018 , work completed 09/12/2018
Great stress free job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean installed a new residential septic tank and pump at our home. The work was carried out professionally and efficiently. The workers were polite and pleasant and the work was carried out to a very high standard. Since then Dean has been on hand to help with any questions regarding the equipment and how it continues to work. Thank you Dean. Marie.
Loy Marie, . Posted on 14/06/2018 , work completed 14/06/2018
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Dean to investigate a couple of problems relating to drainage smells and he was exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful. He fixed one problem very quickly and very thoroughly. With the other he had to do some detective work because what was happening did not seem to be physically possible. However, he persevered and came up with an explanation. He was on time and he was good value. I'd definitely hire him again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/04/2018 , work completed 06/04/2018
Solved our drainage problem when no one else could. Smells gone!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called out Dean because our house smelt of sewage and the smells were not going away, whatever we did and whoever we consulted. He was brilliant. He worked fast at identifying the problem ( in fact, several problems) and solved it. After months of terrible smells thanks to Dean, the smells have gone. He took us carefully through the causes, explained what he had done to remedy the situation and we do understand it now. He went about the work in the least disruptive and most cost efficient way. Dean is fast, efficient, competent and caring and as far as we are concerned worked miracles ( but explained them too which mattered!).
Fiona Freedman Posted on 09/03/2018 , work completed 09/03/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had problems with rats getting into our loft. Dean quickly identified the problem and managed to resolve it, without any drama. I would thoroughly recommend Dean.
Chris Draper Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was our saviour!! Fixed a problem others had been unable to do. Didn't stop until solved. Highly recommended!
Rebecca, London Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean turned up on time with an assistant and tackled a very nasty job with gusto. He had very good equipment but a lot of physical work was necessary which was no problem. The job took twice as long as expected and I accepted a modest price increase.
Leon, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/10/2017 , work completed 14/10/2017
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and his colleagues turned up at the agreed time. They surveyed our drains, identified two breaches and lined the offending pipe, all within three hours and in the pouring rain. The charge was reasonable and value for money. They were skilled in what they did and a pleasure to deal with. We would use Firstbase again and we're happy to recommend them. Howard 08/08/2017
Miller Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Great Job. A Real Expert.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did a great job. Neat and skilful. Very expert and professional. We're happy to recommend them.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/08/2017 , work completed 10/08/2017
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really good service. Outside drain blocked and Dean came just as it started to rain and snow. Sorted the problem which wasn't straightforward and charged a decent price for it. No hesitation in recommending him.
M.Grout Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Great prompt service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang Dean with a nasty outside drain emergency (involving sewage ugh!) hoping he might be able to come the next morning - he was here within half an hour, and had sorted the problem within the hour. Very reasonable prices and friendly service.
Hazel Posted on 11/02/2017 , work completed 11/02/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Dean and he came at the first convenient date to unblock an outside drain that wasn't particularly urgent. Fixed the problem with no hassle. Excellent service and would highly recommend him.
Martin Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
Excellent workmanship and highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean called back within a short time of my enquiry regarding a new drainage installation for a sewer pipe. I found his work to be first class, conscientious, and very professional, the work was completed better than my expectations. I like quality workmanship to say the least, and would have no hesitation in highly recommending Dean and his crew. I have booked him again for other work.
Cabital Posted on 18/10/2016 , work completed 18/10/2016
Excellent service - definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a sewer specialist (my sewerage company confirmed that the problem was not something they would deal with) and without a personal recommendation I had to find someone off the internet. I always feel a bit apprehensive about this but Dean and his team deserve every positive word said about them on this site. Professional, friendly, hardworking, tidy, excellent communication and very good value for money (compared with others who gave me quotes). I investigated a rat hole in the garden which led me to the sewer pipe and an apparent sink hole! Dean did a camera survey of all my drain pipes, assessed the problems, explained it all to me agreed a price and was back the next day to fix it all. It was a lot of hard work: clearing 2 blockages, inserting 2 sleeves (one of which sealed a break in the pipe (which was probably the route the rats were taking to my loft) and replacing a manhole cover and identifying the hole as probably an old septic tank. The team was very indulgent of my curiosity to see what they were doing and how it all worked and Dean made a point of explaining the processes to me so I now understand my sewer pipes better. I would definitely recommend them and would use them again without hesitation.
Sarah Posted on 09/07/2016 , work completed 09/07/2016
Great work x 2
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Dean very professional and knowledgable. Initially he repaired a broken pipe outside of our house. During this work he discovered a water main leakage and we asked him to fix it for us. We are very satisfied with both jobs. And the communication about the progress of his work was excellent at all times. I would definetively recommend him.
Antonio Posted on 21/05/2016 , work completed 21/05/2016
Drain Manhole Cover replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend Dean , did a great job in replacing my damaged manhole cover and frame ,
1427194 Posted on 30/04/2016 , work completed 30/04/2016
Firstbase Drainage Services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I phoned Dean on Monday morning with an overflowing and offensive drain. He came that afternoon, phoned when he was on the way, arrived on time. Job was difficult as there was a large piece of wood lodged in the pipe that could have necessitated coming back another time as it would have meant digging up the side path and opening the pipe but Dean persevered, using a great deal of skill and hard work (and using modern technology to locate the problem), and eventually managed to move it. He and his assistant were pleasant, courteous and very efficient. Cost was extremely reasonable and I was very relieved and delighted at the outcome. Would certainly never hesitate to call him again and wold definitely recommend him to any friends or neighbours with problems with their drains. He certainly merits every star he has been awarded by his customers.
bernardo Posted on 08/04/2016 , work completed 08/04/2016
Honest advice, good neat job, value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean is amazing! Needed a new gulley as we were rerouting our drain pipes. Dean came to have a look and gave us some very good free advice and sorted everything out within our timescales and at a value for money price. He is a real Drainage Superhero! Having wasted my time and money with Dynorod on three separate occasions it was a pleasure to finally deal with someone who really knows what he is doing and will give honest advice. Honest advice, good neat job, value for money and they clear up after themselves too - what more could you ask for?
Saira6 Posted on 03/04/2016 , work completed 03/04/2016
Drainage problem fixed when another firm failed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called in a local firm when we had problems with blocked drains. They cleared the blockage and on inspecting the drain pipe with camera they found cracks in the underground pipe and a hole. They advised us to get the pipe repaired by relining the pipe which agreed with them to do the job. When they came to reline the pipe they could not reline the pipe and went away. That is when we started to look on internet and were lucky enough to get in touch with Dean via his partner. After explaining our problem to Dean he came to see us on the same day. He used his camera to look at the problems with underground pipe and knew straight away what the problems were and said he will be able to reline the pipe. After giving us a rough quote we asked him to do the job and Dean was good enough to fit in our job in between his busy schedule. So when Dean and his team came they straight away got on with the job and withing couple of hours sorted the problem. Dean also offered to look at the another drain pipe with camera and also found similar problem and also sorted the relining of that pipe. We must say Dean knows what he is doing and solved our two problems in one go. Dean has now given us peace of mind knowing that we will not have same problems for a long time. We will certainly use his services in future should a need arise
Hasmukhlal Shah Posted on 27/01/2016 , work completed 27/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would certainly use them again, and highly recommend them. Very efficient and helpful.
rawcarrotz Posted on 13/01/2016 , work completed 13/01/2016
Ongoing drain problems fixed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean has solved some complicated historical problems in my Victorian house's drains. He uses a colour camera on a long hose, and has expert knowledge of the subject. His prices are fair and his assistants are nice. I have had two floods in a downstairs room and I am totally confident that this cannot happen again. I also have had ongoing problems with blocked toilets and these are definitely going to be much better. If the problem is not completely solved in a year's time we know what the next stage of work will be. He has lined various leaking underground pipes I did not know were leaking, which should also help with the damp I get in my cellar. It is not an exaggeration to say that my life is happier because of the work that's been done, because having ongoing plumbing problems is extremely stressful, especially when there is heavy rain.
Mrs Newham Posted on 13/12/2015 , work completed 13/12/2015
Trustworthy, honest & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trustworthy, honest & professional. Came on time. Did a great job. Cleaned up. Good price. A very pleasant and skilled man. This is all you need from a trader. Dean was very good at understanding what needed to be done and reassured me along the way. It was a very complex system but Dean worked with me to find out the correct sewage system for me. He also met with the company sales person to ensure that he knew the product and its requirements during installation. I was extremely pleased with the work of FIRSTBASE Drainage Services. Thanks Dean!!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/10/2015 , work completed 08/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely pleased with the service he turned up on the same day to see the job and gave me a quote for replacing broken gully CCTV'd all pipes we agreed the price he came a few days later and finnished the job all neat and clean. Used him for the first time but certainly use him again and will certainly recommend him to friends.
sun Posted on 18/09/2015 , work completed 18/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely pleased with the service he turned up on the same day to see the job and gave me a quote for replacing broken gully CCTV'd all pipes we agreed the price he came a few days later and finnished the job all neat and clean. Used him for the first time but certainly use him again and will certainly recommend him to friends.
sun Posted on 17/09/2015 , work completed 17/09/2015
Very helpful, good quality and fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and his team were extremely helpful in diverting our external drainage. Dean was very prompt in organising an initial visit, providing a quote, and carrying out the job. During the initial visit he explained exactly what was required and answered all of my questions. I felt the price was very fair for the amount of work involved. The work was carried out to a high standard, and Dean also kindly offered to unblock an external drain at no additional cost. I would definitely recommend him and would employ him again. Thanks Dean!
Lisaki Posted on 05/09/2015 , work completed 05/09/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and his team are very professional. They managed to sort out, what we were previously told by another company, was an unsolvable problem. The soil pipe was full of concrete from the building work we had had done so the toilet was not flushing properly. Dean was able to diagnose the problem straightaway using his camera and then went the extra mile to sort it out for us. He and his team are very polite, organized and knowledgeable, came when they said they would come and explained what the problem was. The pipe is now free from concrete and the toilet flushes perfectly. I would highly recommend Dean and his company FIRSTBASE DRAINAGE SERVICES. Thank you so much for sorting out the problem.
Andy, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/09/2015 , work completed 01/09/2015
First Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I live in Mill Hill, North London and was impressed with the reviews on Which but wondered if he would service my area. I called Dean and he was here within a few hours even though my drain problem was not acute, I had a concern with rats tunnelling through into my garden and blocking up the drain with soil. He has a team of 3 all of whom were excellent, he has the latest equipment, cameras and sorted out the problem with no fuss or bother at a reasonable cost. He also reviewed another area which could be a future problem and returned to fix that as well. An excellent man with a huge knowledge of drainage, a real professional, I would recommend him without question
pdmatwhich Posted on 27/07/2015 , work completed 27/07/2015
A job well done with excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Dean by phone with a drainage problem, his customer service and knowledge was excellent reassuring me that he could diagnose and resolve the problem without fuss. I was kept informed by phone and text until the guys arrived onsite. Once onsite the guys were friendly, polite and explained what work they were going to carry out and they just got on with the job. It was obvious they all took great pride in their work, I could not fault the quality and the timely manner in which the job was completed. One very happy customer and would call these guys again.
2011-06-25 22:31:27.723 Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
Three simple words: Honest, Trustworthy, Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had contacted my local plumber about an intermittent sewage smell in my house. They came an inspected and could not find anything obviously wrong. They quickly acknowledged that a dedicated drain expert was required and they put me in touch with Firstbase Drainage Services (Dean Richardson). Dean arrived promptly and within a matter of minutes, he had diagnosed many problems with my main sewer, all of which could have contributed to the intermittent sewage smell in my house. Dean took the time to explain exactly what the issues were and I felt confident that Dean knew what he was talking about and his explanations made perfect sense. Dean provided a very competitive quote to resolve all the issues. We agreed a date / time for the work to be undertaken. Dean and his assistant arrived on time and completed all the work to my satisfaction. The intermittent sewage smell has now gone. I highly recommend Firstbase Drainage Services. They are honest, trustworthy and excellent.
Joffman Posted on 01/07/2015 , work completed 01/07/2015
Great stress free job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean installed a new residential septic tank and pump at our home. The work was carried out professionally and efficiently. The workers were polite and pleasant and the work was carried out to a very high standard. Since then Dean has been on hand to help with any questions regarding the equipment and how it continues to work. Thank you Dean. Marie.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/06/2015 , work completed 03/06/2015
Prompt & brilliant job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found First Base Drainage Service (Dean Richardson) through your Trusted Traders Booklet. He came when he said he would. He was cheaper than anyone else who I contacted, did a great job without any fuss and kept to his estimate. No hesitation in recommending him to anyone.
Simon, Bedfordshire Posted on 17/04/2015 , work completed 17/04/2015
Very trustworthy and excellent servcie
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I received sound and honest advice, not just for the issue that I had but for other work I had going on too. A friendly approach with clear costs from the start. I would highly recommend these guys!! Trusting someone to help you is a big ting and I believe that you can trust this company.
Keith Doe Posted on 09/03/2015 , work completed 09/03/2015
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Dean in after having been let down by a very large drains company which our insurers had recommended. He responded very promptly, came on time and immediately identified the work required. He gave a very fair quote setting out the work to be done. On instructing him to carry out the work he came as arranged with two assistants and completed the work in a morning to our complete satisfaction. Dean is personable, knowledgeable, reliable, prompt, helpful and reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
SidneyB Posted on 04/03/2015 , work completed 04/03/2015
Wholeheartedly recommended for service and price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Firstbase readily agreed to survey our drains on a weekend – very convenient for me. Once again we had a rat in the house and suspected that it got in through the drains, although we had a survey previously by another firm that failed to find anything. Dean's experience really showed – he assured me that he would find the problem and carried out a thorough survey as I watched on his CCTV. Initially everything looked OK but he persevered and found an uncapped disused side drain off to one side. His team quickly and neatly dug out beneath the patio to investigate further and the camera confirmed that it was a point of entry. They capped it off, sleeved the drain and replaced the patio slab, as good as new. The rat scarpered during the job – jumping off the roof and running down the garden! It’s been two weeks now and no more rat problems. The whole team on the job were hardworking, tidy, helpful and polite. The price was good and Dean went the extra mile in tracking the problem down. If you’re concerned, their van is discreet and principally promotes their drainage services. We’d had an on-going rat problem and tried everything to stop it – blocking holes, mesh on vent and gutter pipes, sonic repellents & mothballs but to no avail. Therein lies our lesson; the common advice on the Web is true – if you have a rat under the floor then it most probably got in through the drains. If you have rats and Firstbase cover your area then I recommend that you give them a call.
Rich Pinner Posted on 16/02/2015 , work completed 16/02/2015
HIGHLY RECOMMEND
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean and his team found the problem with my drains within minutes of arriving. I had a rat in my extension loft and using his CCTV equipment Dean found a manhole cover that the builders had left unsealed under the new building. This was clearly the point of entry and the drain was sleeved and made impenetrable to any unwanted critters and I am left very reassured. Firstbase worked professionally, quickly and promised that in the extremely unlikely event that the problem was unresolved - their service included a return visit for no extra charge to further investigate. Firstbase came when they said they would, phoned me on the day to confirm the time, arrived and completed the job exactly as they promised.........FIRST CLASS! Do not hesitate to use this company if you have any drainage problems - they know what they are doing and do it we'll.
flycar Posted on 13/02/2015 , work completed 13/02/2015
JohnUpminster
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean was very professional turned up on time was very knowledgeable helpful and polite and friendly also very good price wise I would certainly recommend and use again
2011-05-02 15:25:18.727 Posted on 11/02/2015 , work completed 11/02/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean arrived at time arranged, carried out a CCTV survey survey of the drains, showing me the camera output as the survey progressed and identified the problem. His work was tidy and he was informative and polite throughout. The cost was covered by the reasonable call out charge and I would seek his help again, should the need arise.
Grumpy Posted on 02/02/2015 , work completed 02/02/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean is an extremely professional and highly skilled plumber with a specialism in drainage. He is reliable, efficient and very personable. I will certainly use him again and highly recommend his services.
CMR402831806 Posted on 30/01/2015 , work completed 30/01/2015
Immediate response to problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, immediate response to problem. Job done promptly and efficiently, no mess. I have no hesitation in recommending
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/01/2015 , work completed 26/01/2015
EXCELLENT, TOP Trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean is an excellent Tradesman. He was very prompt, on time, did the job efficiently, and professionally and also made the customer (myself) confident that he knew exactly what he was doing and thats very important. I would highly recommend him. 5 stars.
johnbarnet Posted on 16/01/2015 , work completed 16/01/2015
You need look no further
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having spent months trying to find the cause of a sewage smell in my front room, with two companies failing to locate the problem, Dean and his team took just 20 minutes to identify the cause as a dislocation between the main sewage pipe and soil pipe. Not only did he find the time to come and fix it over the weekend in the run up to Christmas, he did a first class job with what was a tricky dig under the back of the house. They cleaned up brilliantly, and even fixed a couple of faulty gullies while they were at it. Price very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend this company.
CMR400371845 Posted on 14/12/2014 , work completed 14/12/2014
Victorian drains
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Not only was Dean prompt, efficient and professional but he also had considerable knowledge of Victorian drains enabling him not just to unblock the drain but improve its working for the future. The work, which involved modernisation and upgrading, was carried out speedily and with zero fuss. He is very affordable and we would have no hesitation recommending him to others.
Hertfordresident Posted on 13/08/2014 , work completed 13/08/2014
excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Dean to compile a drainage report for a mortgage provider. Apart from some minor issues regarding the completion of the report (which were swiftly and courteously resolved) the service couldn't have been better. He provided a clear, comprehensive report of the state of the drains and a very reasonable estimate for correcting the issues identified. The bank were happy with the report and I was very happy with the service, which is reasonably priced, trustworthy, and fast.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/07/2014 , work completed 09/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have suffered years of problems with my drains. Dean came and he knew exactly what was wrong. He cleared the blockage, then using a camera showed me the faults, he quoted a price which I accepted. He did the work then showed me the improvements. I was very happy with everything and now look forward to no more worries on this subject. He was good value and I would use him again if necessary
catsmeat Posted on 23/03/2014 , work completed 23/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really helpful. Came the same day and provided an excellent service (unblocking of an external drain to the kitchen). Would definitely use him again.
Stuart, Hertford Posted on 06/07/2013 , work completed 06/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Dean twice now at two different locations and both times he couldn't have been more helpful. He is always courteous, efficient, and most important his prices are very reasonable. He is on time and phones if he is delayed and he suggests ways to stop the problem reoccuring. We have no hesitation in recommending Dean and would certainly use him again.
james.hurley1 Posted on 10/06/2013 , work completed 10/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't ask for better service - Dean came out on a Sunday, fixed the drain within a few minutes, and explained how we could fix it ourselves if it happens again so we don't have to call him out! Charming, efficient and excellent price. No hesitation whatsoever in recommending him.
tortman Posted on 03/02/2013 , work completed 03/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very impressed with Dean. He arrived very promptly and dealt with our problems quickly and efficiently. He has a very friendly and helpful manner, and we would have no hesitation in using him again. Highly recommended and very competitive on price.
kenny2 Posted on 23/01/2013 , work completed 23/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dean has an excellent manner, he is very prompt, responsive and courteous when we were faced with a blocked drain, that did not require immediate attention. He made an appointment for later in the afternoon and phoned to let us know when he was on his way. He solved the problem speedily and adeptly and charged a very competitive fee for his service. We have no hesitation in recommending First Base.
JohnCLewis Posted on 26/05/2012 , work completed 26/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We own and let a property in Stevenage and tenants had a drain problem, quotes from local and natioal drain companies were very high. Drain Catt suggested FIRST BASE, he (Dean) was very helpful, unblocked the drain and told how we could possibly prevent it from reoccurring BUT most of all his price was very reasonable. Dean is a sole trader and relies on reputation and recommendations.We found him courteous, helpful and efficient his van was externally clean and appeared well equipped but most of all we found his costs very reasonable Some companies had quoted commercial rates as we were letting the property
Pen285 Posted on 21/03/2012 , work completed 21/03/2012