We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

G&L Home Improvements

Profile thumb gandl logo

5.0

19 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday - Closed

Organisations and Awards

May 2019

About

G and L Home Improvements are based in Ipswich, Suffolk and provide a full range of Electrical and Property maintenance services.

As an Elecsa registered business, City and Guilds qualified, and over 10 years experience, we provide a full range of electrical services, from fitting lights to a full rewire, within domestic properties. We can self certify all electrical work covered by Part P of the building regulations.

We are also able to provide a range of property maintenance and refurbishment services.

So from simple repairs, to a full kitchen fit or electrical rewire, then please contact us for a free, no obligation quotation, or informal chat.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Rewiring
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Lighting contractors

    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
  • More Services

    • light fitting

Customer reviews

5.0
19 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent work on a big job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Gavin as he had done some work on a friends house, and we needed a complete rewire done to replace our very old and unsafe electrics. Gavin was amazing. We are living in the house so it was going to be a big feat. Nothing fazed him. He came up with a plan of how to do it so we would still have power and light. Each day he would tell us which bits of furniture we needed to move or if we needed to do something specific ready for his work the following day. Every single evening he cleaned up really nicely and hoovered everywhere he had been working. This was really helpful as we have 2 small children, but we hadn’t asked him to do it, so was really great to see. Never were we left without power, and only one or two evenings in the three weeks work were we only left without lights either upstairs or downstairs (never both together), which was easily managed with lamps. Each day we thought of something new and our questions were always answered and our queries resolved. Due to the nature of our house, there were a few challenges Gavin faced, but nothing was a problem and the rewire is now complete and we are thrilled. The chasing is very neat and clean and everything matches. All our requirements were met and we are very happy. We highly rate Gavin personally as a lovely person and also for his high standard of work. We will definitely be using him for future works. Thank you very much.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 16/12/2019 , work completed 16/12/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin's a really nice chap, he was punctual, and did an excellent job, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone looking for a good professional tradesman.
Erika Jones 18/11/19 Posted on 18/11/2019 , work completed 15/11/2019
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wouldn't hesistate to recommend to anyone. If a job was too small or too big he would let you know. I am very satisfied with what he has done. He is tidy, friendly and professional.
Barbara, Suffolk Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 17/07/2019
Trust worthy, experienced and fairly priced.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin is fantastic; he is reliable, hard working, experienced and fair with what he charges. Unlike many tradesmen I have used he has a close eye for detail and is very knowledgeable about everything I throw at him, be it electrical work (which is his main trade) to plastering and decorating. He is careful and considered in how to go about the job and is clean and tidy during. I would highly recommend him to friends and family.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 30/01/2019 , work completed 25/01/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was extremely professional and friendly. He put up a loft ladder, lights in loft and other small tasks. The standard of completion is very good. At every stage he tided up after himself. In addition, he always explained what he was doing and also confirmed our needs. Great workmanship.
Tom, Suffolk Posted on 14/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
Excellent quality workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely new kitchen and flooring; New shower area; New toilet/cloakroom area. He completed all the work to a very high standard. He also found a Victorian door to match the rest of the house to fit between the kitchen and the living room. The work took a week longer than estimated but was worth it for the quality.
Margaret Morris Posted on 01/12/2018 , work completed 01/12/2018
Honest, reliable and excellent tradesman.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nothing is too much trouble for Gavin, he is a perfectionist and really cares about any job he does, whether it is large or small. He has done several jobs for me, including electrical, carpentry and general repairs. All carried out efficiency and professionally. I would recommend G & L Home Improvements very confidently to anyone.
Julie Whatling Posted on 16/10/2018 , work completed 16/10/2018
Excellent Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin has done several jobs for me. His work is excellent, his attention to detail and his reliability is exceptional. I would recommend G&L Home Improvements with confidence to anyone needing work carried out, whether it be a large or small job.
Julie, Suffolk Posted on 16/10/2018 , work completed 16/10/2018
Electrical and Kitchen Fitting....
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed G&L to rewire our cottage kitchen, fit new cupboards and worktops and fit a new consumer unit as well. Everything was done with a great deal of care and thought, on time and on budget. Gavin had some really good ideas to improve our ideas and was flexible when my DIY plumbing work needed a little adjustment. I was able to trust Gavin with the keys to our holiday home and he independently organised for UK Power Networks to sort out our supply and managed the whole thing. So we now have a lovely new kitchen, an electrical installation certificate and someone whom we can trust in the future. Thanks G&L Home Improvements!
Jon_Mc Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
Roof replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a Box section steel roof installed on my workshop to replace a felt one. The work was carried out neatly and to specification.
Moriniman Posted on 21/05/2018 , work completed 21/05/2018
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted external security lighting, repaired wiring damaged by squirrels in loft and repaired kitchen strip light and lounge light switch. Very happy with the standard of workmanship, customer service and punctuality, would definitely recommend.
KH Posted on 14/05/2018 , work completed 14/05/2018
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So happy to find a true professional that I can trust completely.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/04/2018 , work completed 25/04/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, professional and competent. Variety of different jobs all completed on time and on budget. Highly recommended.
Fraser Butters Posted on 14/04/2018 , work completed 14/04/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He came round to price up the job, which was very reasonable. We agreed a date for the works. He turned up on time, did a fantastic job. Very neat, tidy and professional. Would use again.
Greg, Suffolk Posted on 13/04/2018 , work completed 13/04/2018
Friendly & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, helpful, reliable. Resolved issues for us to a very high standard. Gave us options where available and communicated well.
Eleanor, Suffolk Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin was very professional. He did some small repairs for me, including fitting a new waste pipe under my kitchen sink, fitting a new telephone socket. He responded to my call very promptly and came to do the work the next day. His work was excellent and his price, very reasonable. Would definitely recommend.
Sue, Suffolk Posted on 02/10/2017 , work completed 02/10/2017
Affordable, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gavin has carried out a few jobs for me which were the installation of outside lighting and additional sockets in the house. Gavin is extremely professional, giving me a detailed quotation with a breakdown of the pricing, arranging a mutually convenient date for completion of the work and carrying out the work with minimum disturbance to myself. Gavin was very thorough and worked hard to complete each job, overcoming any obstacles by discussing alternative solutions with me beforehand. He is very neat and tidy and his electrical work and finishing off impeccable. As a lady living alone, I felt comfortable having Gavin in my house as he was very polite, friendly. Overall, a highly professional electrician.
traciewhite, Which? Consumer Posted on 08/08/2017 , work completed 08/08/2017
Reliable, trustworthy and reasonable!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Gavin on several occasions for electrical work, replacing sanitary ware, basin taps and decorating. We've always found his work to be of a high standard, completed within the given timescale and at a very reasonable price! We've also found his advice to be honest and sound. As a rule, I don't really like recommending trades people as they so often let you down but I'd definitely recommend G&L Home Improvements and have done on several occasions... The people I've recommended have been happy too!
dfarrow80 Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
Quick tidy work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removed dishwasher and fitted condensing tumble dryer in place with plumbed in water out to existing drain. Gavin made quick work of job and solved issues with the plumbing in perfectly.
Markyate Dad, . Posted on 11/12/2015 , work completed 11/12/2015