We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Gearing Locksmiths

Profile thumb img 0049
5.0

87 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Mar 2020
Apr 2019

About

Matt Gearing is a fully qualified professional locksmith and UPVC repair specialist. Accredited by the National Awarding body the NCFE, he completed his Locksmith training after serving 25 years colour Service in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces. With many years of experience in the field of security he now provides a professional Locksmith service and advises domestic and commercial customers on their security needs, ensuring their property is secure as it can be.
Gearing Locksmiths aim to provide Excellence in Customer Service. Dedicated to providing a full range of Locksmith services including a 24 hour Emergency Call Out and specialising in UPVC door and window repair, including multi point locking systems.
Based in Baldock, Gearing Locksmiths is a genuine local independent locksmith who cover a wide area of Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire.
Gearing Locksmiths provide a clean, thorough and professional service, we endeavour not to be beaten on price and guarantee all our work.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • Burglar alarm systems
  • More Services

    • upvc repair specialist
    • door repair
    • replacement glass unit

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
87 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Totally professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having not used the Which trusted trader to find a locksmith the day before, when I had a terrible experience with a locksmith found via a general web site search, I used Which and found Gearing Locksmiths. Matt Gearing could not have been more helpful, agreeing to come out the following morning to repair the lock which had been damaged during the previous days visit. He arrived on time and was totally professional. Took the lock apart and repaired the damage. Lock is now working and instead of the £650 I had been quoted by the previous locksmith and I saved myself £600. I could not recommend Matt highly enough. Any absolutely genuine tradesman
Julian in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/09/2021 , work completed 15/09/2021
Thoroughly professional locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a patio door which was impossible to open (for me) from either inside or out. Initial communication by email was both prompt and clear. Matty arrived at the agreed time, was friendly and inspired confidence. Within a very few seconds, the door was open and the problem diagnosed, explained, and the cost (which seemed reasonable) immediately provided. The necessary mechanism was collected and installed within the hour. The guarantee was clearly explained and I have no doubt that it would be honoured in the unlikely event of any problems. Totally satisfied.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/08/2021 , work completed 18/08/2021
The trader replied (on 20/08/2021)
Thank you for your very kind review, we are glad you were pleased with the service. Kind Regards Gearing Locksmiths
Superb Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with a broken Upvc window locking mechanism that was no longer available. Having tried numerous other companies I was recommended Matt and I’m glad I was. My initial contact was with Emma who helped me every step of the way in sourcing a replacement and making an appointment for Matt to fit it. It was far from a straight forward fit but Matt was superb and finding a solution and I now have a perfect window again. Couldn’t recommend them more and will not hesitate to use again if I have the need.
Mark in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/08/2021 , work completed 10/08/2021
The trader replied (on 20/08/2021)
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to have been of service. Kind Regards Matt & Emma Gearing locksmiths
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again Gearing locksmiths provide a first class service. Excellent advice and follow through to a perfect solution to my needs. Thank you for an excellent service and will always recommend you.
Paul in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 04/08/2021
Great service, would 100% recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called after our patio door lock stopped working. It was late on a Tuesday night but Matt got to us very quickly and fixed the issue straight away. Great service, great value, very professional and would recommend 100%.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/07/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
The trader replied (on 02/07/2021)
Thank you for your kind review, we were happy we were able to help.
Fast, friendly and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked an appointment to change the locks on our new house. Arrived promptly and despite a large amount of work needed (eight locks) was able to complete the entire job on the spot. Provided sensible advice on the best locks to use and gave discounts given the amount of work. Installed two higher-spec locks because the cheaper options weren’t in the van. Cut additional keys on site. All-round excellent service and friendly too. Will use them again without thinking and would highly recommend them to anyone. Easily understandable why only 5* reviews!
Customer in Letchworth Garden City Posted on 19/06/2021 , work completed 19/06/2021
The trader replied (on 21/06/2021)
Thank you for your kind review, we were happy to be of service and pleased we could get it all done in one morning for you.
A breath of fresh air
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Matt last year to solve a seized front door lock which he did very promptly during early lockdown. I promised him I would call him back to upgrade my other external locks which are all over 30 years old. He visited this morning, checked and oiled all locks and advised although they are old they are all still in perfect working and he felt it wasn't necessary to upgrade as they are as secure as current locks. He made a small charge for the oil. What a delight to find such an honest trader who didn't see an opportunity to make money from me. Apart from anything else he is a very friendly and amiable person to have in the house.
Colin in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 15/06/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a faulty door lock. Rang and received same day service. Matt was very helpful when I rang to book. I felt reassured he knew what the fault was. The job itself was quick as stated and for the price quoted. Felt I had received great customer service. I highly recommend Gearing Locksmiths and have recommended them to my family. Always good to find a trader you can trust.
Bev in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Returning customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
More than happy to call Emma and Matt again, this time to deal with a jammed locking mechanism on French windows. Efficient and friendly. Excellent service, and Covid-safe. Thank you, Team!
Jean in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/05/2021 , work completed 28/04/2021
Knowledgeable, Efficient, Fast Friendly Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't lock my UVPC front door from either the inside or the outside. The key would insert and turn but not be able to fully lock the door. Having used them in the past and finding them very professional I phoned Gearing Locksmiths and spoke to Emma. After explaining the problem Emma diagnosed a blown barrel, gave me a price and said that Matt would be round later on that afternoon. Matt turned up after about an hour, much earlier than expected. On inspection Matt confirmed that the barrel had blown and proceded to change the barrel. Matt supplied us with new keys. I was very relieved that the problem had been resolved both quickly and efficiently. Thank you Matt and Emma. I will certainly use them again in the future - Gearing Locksmiths will be my first port of call.
Richard in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 06/04/2021