We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Gearing Locksmiths

Profile thumb img 0049
5.0

99 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Mar 2020
Apr 2019

About

Matt Gearing is a fully qualified professional locksmith and UPVC repair specialist. Accredited by the National Awarding body the NCFE, he completed his Locksmith training after serving 25 years colour Service in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces. With many years of experience in the field of security he now provides a professional Locksmith service and advises domestic and commercial customers on their security needs, ensuring their property is secure as it can be.
Gearing Locksmiths aim to provide Excellence in Customer Service. Dedicated to providing a full range of Locksmith services including a 24 hour Emergency Call Out and specialising in UPVC door and window repair, including multi point locking systems.
Based in Baldock, Gearing Locksmiths is a genuine local independent locksmith who cover a wide area of Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire.
Gearing Locksmiths provide a clean, thorough and professional service, we endeavour not to be beaten on price and guarantee all our work.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • Burglar alarm systems
  • More Services

    • upvc repair specialist
    • door repair
    • replacement glass unit

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
99 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Prompt, tidy, honest, thorough.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently arranged for Gearing Locksmiths to come and look at a UPVC door that needed repairing. They arrived promptly and proceeded to talk me through the problem as they resolved it. They also explained how other locksmiths would have gone about it resulting in a much higher cost. Since I have come to know, like and trust them over the years via BNI, I have no doubt whatsoever that they were correcting the problem in the most appropriate manner, and for a fair price. They had to venture out to the van on multiple occasions but each time they came back in they removed their footwear, keeping my carpets clean. I was especially impressed by the perfectionist nature – they wouldn’t rest until the door was just right. Indeed, on their way out they couldn’t help but also straighten my front door. Matt is a true professional and a jovial fellow to boot. I will heartily recommend their services to friends and family and naturally will look no further for my own lock and UPVC needs. Thank you very much.
Pep in Bedford Posted on 16/06/2022 , work completed 01/03/2022
Keys Needed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently had cause to have two extra keys cut for our newly installed front door. I duly contacted local locksmiths who informed me the cost of £35 for each key (Ultion keys are apparently quite specialist as a code is needed in order to cut replicas). Shocked at the price, I contacted Matt at Gearing Locksmiths. Within a day the two keys were ready to collect and at a massively reduced price to. the original quote. Communication was prompt and concise, and Matt and Emma's attitude are constantly professional and courteous. I would thoroughly recommend Gearing Locksmiths in future.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/06/2022 , work completed 24/05/2022
Great work and communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and the team at Gearing Locksmiths looked after us so well. They did a few things for the house we just moved into. They called and texted us with regular updates about when things would arrive and when they could do the work. The work itself was brilliant, everything works perfectly.
Tim in Hertfordshire Posted on 16/06/2022 , work completed 09/06/2022
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Gearings out to replace the locks on my recently purchased property. They came out the same day on the time they had arranged with me and were quick and tidy working. I would one hundred percent recommend this company.
Diane in Cambridgeshire Posted on 20/05/2022 , work completed 19/05/2022
Lock cylinder replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his apprentice were both very helpful and friendly. He explained about how the lock would work and step by step procedure. They were both professional and I would not hesitate to use them again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/05/2022 , work completed 11/05/2022
Fast, excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Second time I've used Gearing Locksmiths and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone. Call answered immediately with friendly Emma taking my details, and advised that Matt was local to me that afternoon and would try to pop in in the afternoon. Sure enough just after noon Matt called to say he'd be fifteen minutes, fifteen minutes later he arrived and got my door open and replaced the gear mechanism. Friendly, polite and efficient. Everything you want. Thank you.
Neil in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/05/2022 , work completed 03/05/2022
Exceeding expectations !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely pleased with service from start to finish. Prompt return of call to my enquiry. Appt booked within 24 hours Informative and helpful email prior to appt, detailing what we’d discussed. Call prior to turning up. Professional and friendly service. Cost less than estimate. Follow up email 24 hours after service. This company offers exceptional service. Hugely pleased all round. Thank you!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 06/04/2022 , work completed 04/04/2022
The trader replied (on 07/04/2022)
Thank you for Your kind review, We are glad you were pleased with our service.
Fab job responded extremely quickly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really great service! Responded really quickly. Good communication from start to finish. Explained all possible costs upfront. Friendly fitter.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 08/12/2021 , work completed 06/12/2021
The trader replied (on 07/04/2022)
Thank you so much for your kind review
Honest and reliable local family firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Gearings on several occasions now and have always been impressed by their work and the fact that they always return a call and arrive when they say they will. We have had damaged double glazing units replaced, a stuck window unjammed, a UPVC front door- hanging off its hinges- got a new lease of life and now works like new. We asked for a quote on a recent piece of work, which they did but they also advised that it would be better to replace rather than repair. Gearings couldn’t do the replacement work but suggested several firms that could. In the current world where it’s difficult to find a reliable tradesperson who will turn up, Gearings are a refreshing change and so are very highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 18/11/2021
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt attended in order to replace a broken double glazed unit. The work was completed on a date agreed to a high standard. I would highly recommend using him in future.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/11/2021 , work completed 25/11/2021