We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hawtin Electrical

Profile thumb capture
4.9

54 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

As a home owner, having to deal with the day to day running repairs to your home, we all know having the right people in your house is what really matters. I want you to have the peace of mind that who you have in your home is right for you and your family. Hawtin Electrical will only have fully qualified electricians who can keep you up to date with what is going on with your project and any problems I happen to come across, keeping you, your home and family in a safe environment.

You have my promise that I will treat your home like it was my own, keeping it clean and tidy. I consistently monitor the way I do things to improve the quality and the communication between you and I.
All of the necessary qualifications in order to carry out safe installations, repairs and maintenance to your home are held.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electric Showers
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
    • Electrical repairs
  • Alarm and security equipment installers

    • Access control
    • Alarm installation
    • CCTV installation
    • Electric gates
    • Door entry systems
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Underfloor heating
  • Heating contractors

  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • LED lighting
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
54 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Good job on installing electric in the summer house.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James from Hawtin Electrics installed electric power points and switches in my summer house, installed the main circuit box in the kitchen and ran wiring out to the summer house via the garden along the house walls. Very neatly done, looks great, tidy and quickly done with minimum fuss. Also installed an outside porch light. I would use James for any electrical work I need and highly recommend him.
Catherine in Oxfordshire Posted on 26/05/2022 , work completed 25/05/2022
Total professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thanks James, We recently bought an apartment in Woodstock that required substantial updating and up-to-date overall safety certification. We needed to junk and dispose of the storage heaters, which were old and inefficient and on a separate tariff, necessitating reconfiguration of the distribution boards We requested substantial rewiring to accommodate two offices and had ordered a ThermaSkirt central heating system that required electrical connections through four separate circuits needing to be chased into the walls, and included wiring for the thermostats. In short, we had a major project that needed an electrician knowledgeable and competent across a range of professional skills. Being new to the area, we researched customer feedback online and were attracted by James Hawtin’s stellar reputation. It proved an inspired choice. Not only did James do a perfect job, amply demonstrating all the relevant skills, but he proved a valuable source of disinterested advice when discussing options. He proved extremely good at problem solving, which saved us a lot of money. Moreover, his social style in the domestic workplace is admirable, unobtrusive and low key, but friendly and available. He works solidly and expertly with visible concentration of purpose and is notably skilled socially, a quiet pleasure to have around the place. We would certainly use him again and would recommend him without reserve.
David and Christina in Oxfordshire Posted on 15/03/2022 , work completed 10/03/2022
Very efficient, helpful, and fixed the issue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Third time we've used Hawtin for electrical work and would always recommend him. The only issue is that the more recommendations he gets the less time he'll have for future bookings! They are efficient, really helpful, and tackled some of the unusual electrical issues that we had with an attitude of really wanting to help get them solved. We have an old terraced house with dodgy wiring galore and he is totally uncomplaining about it. Maybe he likes the challenge!
Tom in Oxfordshire Posted on 21/12/2021 , work completed 02/12/2021
All good- quickly done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had James round to do a small lighting job. The job was done well and quickly and price was reasonable. No complaints. He is our go-to electrician now. We recommend him.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 29/10/2021 , work completed 28/10/2021
Efficient service and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James provided an efficient and friendly service, with clear communication and excellent work. Highly recommended.
Karen in Oxfordshire Posted on 11/10/2021 , work completed 11/10/2021
Reliable , conscientious tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Hawtin fitted 17 ceilings LED downlights for us on 03/09/21. He also changed and rewired a switch plate from a single to a double. He arrived at the time agreed and worked steadily and efficiently. He had to work around a couple of problems (such as metal beams in awkward places) but overcame these difficulties without fuss or complaint. He cleaned up carefully after his work. we are delighted with his work and the fact that he offers a guarantee of one year on his installations. Thoroughly recommend as a reliable electrician.
Christopher in Oxfordshire Posted on 07/09/2021 , work completed 03/09/2021
The electrical work was well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two spotlights were upgraded and one extra light added as the cloakroom has been converted to a shower room. The system was then checked to ensure it satisfied the British Standard and I was emailed the certificate. The (very) small print pointed out that the chases would not be made good, but this was not discussed. So two holes were left in the ceiling where the two lights were moved from. The electrical work was well done and the dust vacuumed up.
Dudley in Oxfordshire Posted on 22/06/2021 , work completed 11/06/2021
We highly recommend Hawtin Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hawtin Electrical carried out a full EICR (Electrical Installation Condition Report) on a 1930's semi-detached house my partner and I are in the process of buying. We also asked Hawtin to inform us of the work that was needed to bring the electrics up to standard. Whilst I have seen EICR reports before, they have never been as professional as Hawtin’s. It was extremely thorough and very detailed to a high standard. They did an excellent job and their service was very professional. We highly recommend Hawtin Electrical.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 13/06/2021 , work completed 28/05/2021
Great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James has just fitted a new power outlet and cradle to support a cordless vacuum and adjusted wiring in our kitchen. He willingly also advised (over an above what he charged for) on how I could safely wire in a new outside light. He was courteous, helpful and highly competent. Thank you, and we will happily ask him back for any further electrical work.
John in Oxfordshire Posted on 10/06/2021 , work completed 07/06/2021
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James' job was to remove a bedroom ceiling light and replace it with a new fitting. He arrived promptly at the agreed time and completed the job quickly and efficiently within half-hour. This is the third or fourth time I've called on James to complete some electrical work and on each time he has done so to the highest standard. I would certainly use him again and would recommend him.
Peter in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/05/2021 , work completed 26/04/2021
Helpful, professional and polite service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've had James Hawtin round several times over the last few months to do various electrical jobs around the house (fixing a dimmer switch, wiring a lamp, sorting out some fuse board issues...). He's always been professional and helpful, and has been good at checking up on longstanding problems. His prices are reasonable and he's been friendly and polite throughout.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 07/05/2021 , work completed 14/04/2021
Excellent. I would use again and would be happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James was excellent. Personable and helpful. Work carried out efficiently and on budget. I will use again.
Valerie in Oxfordshire Posted on 15/04/2021 , work completed 09/04/2021
Excellent and I am very happy with the work that was carried out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am extremely happy with the work James Hawtin from Hawtin Electrical carried out, I have used James twice now for different jobs and I will certainly keep his contact details if I need further work done, he keeps you informed when he is going to do the work, he is also a friendly person and I would recommend him to anyone.
Carolyn in Oxfordshire Posted on 12/04/2021 , work completed 05/04/2021
All done quickly and thoroughly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came and sorted out a light switch, checked out the circuit and tested the RCDs for us. The job was done quickly and thoroughly. He was friendly and cleared up everything afterwards.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 05/04/2021 , work completed 05/04/2021
Electrical testing and kitchen downlight replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always, James provides an efficient, polite and high-quality service. Highly recommended. Good communication.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 12/01/2021 , work completed 22/12/2020
Professional, friendly and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Hawtin came at short notice to help find out where the fault lie with my underfloor heating, given this was Dec and freezing outside this was greatly appreciated. He was very knowledgeable and manage to find out where the problem was (with some faulty valves in a cupboard upstairs!) and as such I've managed to get a plumber in to fix the problem. We didn't know one but were happy to go with James' recommendation. I wouldn't hesitate to use him again or recommend him to someone else. Thank you!
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 03/01/2021 , work completed 31/12/2020
Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new connection for a double oven and tidy up of wiring in the Kitchen. James provided a great service from the original quote to do the job. Communication was always great through out the when he was arriving etc. Work on the day was done with no problems and tidied up afterwards. James checked that everything was ok a week after the work was done. I would use Hawtin Electrical again and recommend to others.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 28/12/2020 , work completed 16/12/2020
Very professional and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to fit three lights and came back, later, to fix a problem. He was very professional and thorough and well-organised, confirming his visit beforehand.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 07/12/2020 , work completed 25/11/2020
Good Job , well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we have used James’ services. His administration for a sole trader would be the envy of bigger enterprises. He has a systematic approach to his client relationships and you know where you are with him. He carried out several jobs for us involving internal and external work on our property. This was completed within his time limit ( he did not take a lunch break). He has a strong work ethic and remains totally focussed on the job in hand. He was also very observant of COVID-19 protocols. In short, I would not hesitate to use his services again.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 02/12/2020 , work completed 25/11/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James gave us a quote for putting a new double socket in the garage. He arrived on time, having reminded us of his arrival time, did the work very efficiently and tidily and kept to the quote. While he was at the house he also helped us replace a bulb in a spotlight and got a fluorescent light going again, for which he didn’t charge. We can strongly recommend him.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 30/11/2020 , work completed 23/11/2020
Great job, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hawtin Electrical was very responsive to my initial enquiry, and then kept me posted on scheduling, timing etc. until the job was done. It all went absolutely as scheduled. James Hawtin found the cause of the electric/lighting problem, explained it and then fixed it. The job was nicely done, the pricing was very reasonable and I would have no hesitation in recommending Hawtin Electrical to others - it's at the top my go-to list for electricians.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 17/11/2020 , work completed 10/11/2020
Highly Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James was highly professional in his communications with us. He paid attention to detail when preparing the quote, so there were no nasty surprises. The work was done to a very high standard. We had an outside light and bathroom cabinet (with internal socket) installed and new wiring to our airing cupboard.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/11/2020 , work completed 23/10/2020
Great job by Hawtin Electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed some sockets in my new home as well as putting in some new lights and a dimmer switch, and carried out inspection and testing. It was a relatively small job which James took on during this busy time. I really appreciated James turning up when he said he would, the day before lockdown, and carrying out the work as agreed. Would recommend.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 04/11/2020 , work completed 04/11/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James of Hastings Electrical is in our experience a model workman. We have used him more than once and always found him punctual, quick, efficient and expert. He is courteous and friendly and careful to explain clearly what he has done. We shall unhesitatingly recommend him to friends and acquaintances
John Carey Posted on 07/10/2020 , work completed 30/09/2000
Great Professional Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James completed a thorough professional job and did so with a pleasant and polite manner. He clearly knew his stuff and advised on future improvements that I should consider. Really pleased with the job he did.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 05/10/2020 , work completed 29/09/2020
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called James Hawtin after our electrics had randomly gone on two floors. He was able to come out the same day to investigate. Although the problem could not be located he worked hard to try to find it and suggested some improvements to the underlying problem (damp). Would recommend.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 21/08/2020
High quality work and great customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James carried out an extensive range of electrical works for us over three days; including a complete electrical condition report, installation of spotlights in the bathroom, replacement of lights in the kitchen and dining area, replacement of a socket, disconnecting and making safe damaged exterior lights and replacement of the fuse board. We have an older house with complex wiring, and he managed to fix lights in the house which had had never worked. The quote was accurate, fully itemized and exceptionally reasonable. His communication throughout was brilliant, including updates/infromation by text and email (even taking the time to let us know his arrival times each day) which made the work stress free. He also took the time to talk us through the work, the safety aspects and the details of the newly installed fuse board. The work was carried out efficiently and to a very high standard - we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 20/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2020
Brilliant correction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Previously I employed a general builder to take on a garage conversation and he left leaving a mess. James came in as corrected it all making it safe and functional. We even asked him to do a few extra bits. He was professional and pleasant. Definitely recommend James.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 01/08/2020 , work completed 29/07/2020
Good job, well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Hawtin installed an extractor fan above our oven. He carried out the work efficiently and on time.
Paul in Oxfordshire Posted on 26/07/2020 , work completed 22/07/2020
great work, customer service and would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James is a nice guy, trustworthy and reliable. He communicates clearly and truthfully and is not trying to "overwork" to get the invoice. I have used him three times now and I have always been pleased with the overall quality of the work and the manner in which he runs his business. I would be happy to recommend him.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 22/06/2020 , work completed 17/06/2020
Inspired confidence from the outset. Did what he said, when he said he would do it
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of a new consumer unit in preparation for an EV charger installation. James arrived to provide an estimate quickly and when he said that he would. He understood the requirement and answered all of my questions relating to the installation work that he needed to do and in relation to the EV charger requirements, which put me in a better position to negotiate with the supplier. Not the cheapest quote but reasonable and, in retrospect, worth every penny. The work was carried out quickly, efficiently and cleanly, exactly as discussed plus a very thorough inspection of the house wiring to provide full certification. James is a true professional and a nice guy. I highly recommend this company.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 04/06/2020 , work completed 20/05/2020
100% satisfaction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was only a small job. Faulty bathroom light switch. Started playing up during lockdown. As soon as things began to ease I phoned to book. James rang back same day, and visited the next day. Pleasant, on time. Fixed without fuss. Utterly straightforward experience. Nothing more could ask for.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 31/05/2020 , work completed 13/05/2020
Fast, reliable, reasonable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James got the work done in good time and to a high standard. He was flexible, reliable and communicative, and the final invoice was very reasonable.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 23/05/2020 , work completed 13/05/2020
Unflappable, attentive to customer's requirements, high quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Hawtin was introduced to us by our builder as he carried out a major refurbishment on our house into which we were to move on retirement, mid-2019. The discussions we had on site in the formative stages of the work allowed us all to refine what was practical, attractive and economically sensible. The work was carried out to a high standard, and we were pleased to allow our home to be an example for James' annual certification. We have no hesitation in recommending Hawtin Electrical.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 07/04/2020 , work completed 02/03/2020
Hawtin Electrical.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new Garage Light. James from Hawtin Electical fixed a date to come and estimate for the job. He came on time, and gave a date for completion and a quote. On the pre-arranged day he came on time again and replaced the light quickly and efficiently. The emailed invoice was the same as the quote. The work was excellent in every way and we would certainly use Hawtin Electical again and recommend them to friends.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 29/02/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Quick and good quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, good quality work and very efficient. Price was fair. I would highly recommend Hawtin Electrical.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Good quality and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Hawtin came and did a couple of small electrical jobs in my house. He was very helpful, reliable and prompt with his estimate, and the work was done to a high standard and he arrived exactly when he said he would and cleared up after himself. I suspect I might have been able to get the work done cheaper if I'd shopped around, but I felt it was good value considering what a good job he did. I'd definitely use him again for this sort of thing.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 17/02/2020 , work completed 27/01/2020
Friendly person arrived on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From when job was booked you were kept informed - friendly person told you what he was doing tidy work. Would recommend to anyone!
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 02/02/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
Investigation of trip switch blowing with a big bang and spark
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time and no time wasted in tracing fault. Investigated complex wiring to downstairs lighting previously altered by builders a few years ago. Logical investigation and fault eventually found in faulty wire in fuse box. Pleasant to have in house and left clean and tidy and coming back to bring some lighting wiring up to professional standards. Already recommended to my golf colleagues who have now got his number. Thank you for excellent service.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 01/02/2020 , work completed 31/01/2020
Fantastic job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived exactly on time, did the work quickly and efficiently taking care to make sure I understood how the new extractor fan worked, and fixed the kitchen light into the bargain. Also provided excellent advice for the future for optimum use of the bathroom extractor fan worked and options for replacing my elderly fluorescent kitchen tube light fitting. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for an electrician, and they will by my first option next time something needs repairing.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 31/01/2020 , work completed 23/01/2020
Honest, reliable and seems like a genuinely nice guy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would highly recommend James at Hawtin Electrical. We have used him a few times and he always does his best to come to us as soon as he can and charges a fair price.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 28/01/2020 , work completed 14/01/2020
Pleased and reasonable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pleased with the work which involved a return visit and completed at a reasonable price. Thank you.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 25/11/2019 , work completed 25/10/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed my house rewired after grey squirrels got into my loft and chewed through the wiring up there. After removing my 'squatters' and making sure they couldn't return, I contacted Hawtin Electrical and arranged a date and time for the work to commence. James Hawtin turned up promptly and completed the work quickly and efficiently. The cost for the job was very reasonable compared to other quotes I got for the work. I would definitely recommend their services to anyone requiring the services of a friendly, efficient electrician.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 15/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Excellent service from Hawtin electrical
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two outside lights on the house that had not worked for a long time and an extractor fan in an upstairs bathroom that needed replacing. I phoned on 21 August and James returned the call and came to assess the work next day, He repaired one of the outside lights immediately and explained clearly what remained to be done and what components would have to be bought. Within a few days he sent a very reasonable estimate, which I accepted. He arrived punctually on 10 September and his whole demeanour was friendly, helpful and efficient. He finished the work in little more than an hour. Everything has worked perfectly since. I recommend him without reservation
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/09/2019 , work completed 10/09/2019
Efficient, skilled and quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed 3 double sockets in one of our bedrooms.His work was of the highest standard. He was punctual and completed the the job very quickly thus minimising any inconvenience. He was polite, friendly and helpful throughout.He was tidy and created no mess. Without hesitation I would recommend Hawtin Electrical.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 02/09/2019
Excellent professional standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hawtin Electrical carried out work on the electrical installation towards a new electric shower for our 1st floor bathroom which involved assessing what needed to be done, calling back once the quotation had been agreed, carrying out initial work, calling back following a plumber visit on two occasions and then completing the wiring from a garage junction box up into the house. Work was carried out very professionally. James Hawtin was very flexible in calling back twice, carrying on from where the plumber hadc left off on each occasion. James also supplied a quotation for some future work very promptly, which we will be following up in the future.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 24/07/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can recommend for swift response, fair price and excellent friendly service. Replaced smoke alarms at short notice, communication was excellent and work was done swiftly and professionally.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 30/07/2019
Expert and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time I had booked James to do some electrical work - to add an extra double socket and fix security lights at the front and rear of the house. He turned up at the time agreed, conducted the work professionally, speedily and without any fuss or hassle. I would certainly ask James to conduct further electrical work should the need arise.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 08/07/2019
A very professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was to install two new downlights in the kitchen and replace two chandeliers in the dining room. Work in the kitchen involved climbing into a very narrow loft space. Both jobs were performed quickly, cleanly and professionally. James kept me informed of progress and explained what exactly needed to be done. At all times he was courteous and polite. The cost of the work was very reasonable indeed.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
Prompt & professional as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1) Installing wired doorbell (including drilling through masonry wall). 2) The job was done to the agreed schedule and budget. 3) They were efficient, courteous and helpful. 4) They kindly resolved the small problem of replacing pronged lightbulb in undershelf fitting in kitchen. No hesitation in recommending. I would certainly use again.
Gillian, Oxfordshire Posted on 30/04/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
Thoughtful and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The electrician was courteous, thoughtful and helpful.
Tom, Oxfordshire Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 04/02/2019
Considerate and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Changing pendant light fitting. Arrived on time and considerate of my sister as the address with learning disabilities. Positive communication used and put away step ladder and cleaned up. Helpful regarding payment and invoicing. Polite, friendly professional.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/01/2019 , work completed 25/01/2019
Fixed our ceiling light fast.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our kitchen ceiling light fitting burnt out. James Hawtin quoted a fair price & did the repair promptly, explaining what needed to be done & gave us good advice about which light bulbs to use.
Julia, Oxfordshire Posted on 13/09/2018 , work completed 13/09/2018
Professional, responsible
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete house re-wiring, thorough and good job and easy to work with.
Roddy, Oxfordshire Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018