We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hertford Glass

Profile thumb hertfordglass logo
4.8

49 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Hertford Glass was founded in 1971, to offer a glazing service for the local area. The original founders cut precision glass for installation into single glazed windows, and this art is still practiced by our skilled craftsmen today.

Today, we are an established installer of double glazing products and we now boast a full range of products in order to satisfy all your glazing and security needs. All our products are to British Kite Mark Standard, and we are proud members of the Glass and Glazing Federation. We are a member of FENSA, who regulate the glazing industry, this ensures that all our installations comply with Government Regulations applicable to the building industry.

We are always striving to be the best double-glazing installers you could choose, at a very competitive price, and we hope you would see fit to choose us.

You really won’t find anyone better for double glazing, windows and doors in Hertfordshire.

Full business name: Home Glazing Improvements Ltd T/A Hertford Glass

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repairs
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Glassworkers

  • Roofers

    • Cladding
    • Conservatory roof conversions
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
    • Roof and skylights
  • Glaziers

    • Aluminium Windows
    • Glass boarding up and replacement
    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Sash windows
    • Timber windows
    • UPVC Windows
    • Window consultants
  • Doors

    • Bi-fold doors
    • Composite doors
    • Fire doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
    • UPVC doors
    • Orangeries
  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory maintenance
    • Conservatory repairs
  • More Services

    • garage doors
    • secondary glazing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
49 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.6
Sort by
We would highly. recommend Hertford Glass.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had leaded windows installed to our property, and are thrilled They look great, the works were carried out cleanly and efficiently by Rob and Niall and may I say their work and attitude is exemplary , they are a credit to your company. The price was very competitive and the quality excellent. We would highly recommend this company, and this is the second time my family have used them and they were also delighted with the work. Many Thanks to all concerned.
Jackie & Bob in Romford Posted on 16/06/2021 , work completed 16/06/2021
We have been badly let down
Disappointingly we have to leave a negative review. In mid-December 2020 we commissioned a replacement purpose built Victorian style conservatory in hardwood at a cost of nearly £29,000 and paid a deposit of £7,160 on the basis of it being fitted in around 10 – 12 weeks at the end of March. The terms and conditions provided by Hertford Glass included our approval of manufacturing drawings prior to commencement of manufacture. After 3 or 4 visits from 2 different people we became anxious as the drawings weren’t forthcoming and time was marching on, even though we anticipated some delay due to Covid. There were many verbal apologies and excuses for the delay in producing the drawings and we started to lose confidence. We tried to speak to Managing Director David Bailey but he did not return our calls. Eventually, some 15 weeks after placing the order we received a drawing of a standard rectangular casement window which did not represent the conservatory that we had ordered. On 28th March we emailed to re-confirm our request to see proper manufacturing drawings and the following day received a rather curt reply saying they were cancelling the order as their supplier was unable to provide detailed drawings. They have subsequently refunded the deposit having held it for 15 weeks. If we had known at the beginning they would not comply with the terms of the agreement we would not have placed the order.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/04/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
Delighted with the windows and the professional installation, would definitely recommend Hertford Glass.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was not the first time we have used Hertford Glass they installed replacement windows and doors in our previous property and also installed windows for an extension we had built. We have had 2 bedroom windows replaced in our new property one of which is a bay window, lovely looking windows with integrated blinds. We are extending into the loft space of the property and will definitely use Hertford Glass for the new windows and also to replace the rest of the existing windows and doors at the same time. Work was done within agreed schedule and budget. The installation was carried out professionally, efficiently and in a friendly manner. Old windows were taken away and in both bedrooms the area being worked in was tidied before leaving.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 08/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
Very reliable when called upon never let us down.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick and efficient, priced was very reasonable and the product was of a very good standard. Would recommend to anyone.
Customer in Essex Posted on 19/08/2019 , work completed 19/08/2019
Excellent work carried out on replacement windows in our flat.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We obtained 3 quotes for the replacement of all windows in our ground floor flat which included a large bay window. We had to comply with the overall look of our development in respect of sight lines etc. & Management consent had to be obtained. We chose Hertford Glass, although not the cheapest quote, but they offered the most professional approach & we could look at the products in their local Hertford showrooms & discuss options with staff there. All visits for measuring & quotes were done in a timely manner & options discussed on site. Job done in two stages. Excellent & considerate workmanship by the fitters. Site left neat & tidy at all times. Delighted with the product fitted. Bay window, in particular, is a treat. The fitted windows are much more secure & robust than the original ones fitted by Barretts, the builders, 16 years ago. A replacement door was also fitted in the bay window, which is very secure. All the old windows were removed from site by the fitters. I have no hesitation in recommending Hertford Glass to anyone, especially our neighbours on this development in SG13. A job well done. Thank you. 👍👏👏
Liam, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/08/2019 , work completed 27/09/2018
Supply and fit of Conservatory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hertford Glass completed our lovely conservatory on time, and far exceeded our expectations: was on budget and any minor issues were resolved without issue. Great company and staff would certainly have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone in the future.
Michael and Shelia, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/07/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
Fantastic company and fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hertford Glass replaced all our windows and doors over 11 years ago and they still look as good as new.Recently had a minor problem with the front door.Despite being outside the 10 year guarantee the company sent a surveyor round quickly who diagnosed the problem and proposed a cost effective solution.An appointment was made for a service engineer to call who was an absolute gem. He carried out the required work and left the job site spotless.
Chris G Posted on 08/06/2019 , work completed 05/06/2019
Fantastic people and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They have undertaken couple of small repairs on my property. Job was completed to high standards with a professional service. Price wise very fair and clean job. Thank you Hertford Glass.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 13/05/2019 , work completed 01/08/2018
A high degree of professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hertford glass replaced the windows that were installed by the supposedly UK's best "Everjest" new sash type windows installed front and back of our property, superb quality and service from this excellent local business . I highly recommend the company !
Martin sharp Posted on 12/08/2018 , work completed 12/08/2018
No complaints
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An hour late turning up, but a nice door, well fitted.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/07/2018 , work completed 23/07/2018
Replacement back door.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hertford Glass installed our double-glazed windows and doors more than 30 years ago. The lock on the back door became defective and the door had to be replaced because fittings have changed during this time. We automatically go to Hertford Glass because we trust them to do a good job. They did the work without fuss, took away the old door and left everything tidy. We can't comment on value for money because we didn't approach any others trader. We recommend them without hesitation.
Robert, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/07/2018 , work completed 19/07/2018
Professional and very neat
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fit one complete front window. Date of installation didn't change. As we've used them before we paid after installation. Window and UPVC reveals fitted neat and tidy. Refitting of brick pieces above the sill was extremely neat.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/07/2018 , work completed 19/07/2018
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship and service. Very impressed with everything.
Joan, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two windows were replaced. He arrived early but asked for permission first. Work was done very well, we hardly knew he was there. We would use Hertford Glass again if we had to & would recommend them.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/06/2018 , work completed 29/06/2018
A professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installers were polite, courteous and efficient. What more can you ask.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
New front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with our new front door. The fitter was conscientious and consulted us throughout. Quality product and well fitted.
Carolyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/05/2018 , work completed 18/05/2018
Good, quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Hertford Glass to recover a flat roof, change rainwater wear and replace some defective double glazing. The work was carried out promptly, to a high standard of workmanship.
Nigel, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Smooth operators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installers arrived promptly at appointed time. (One installer on first day, two installer's on last two days). Installation was straight forward and minimum of inconvenience. Two minor problems with specified windows but rectified by the third day. Installers were very courteous and professional.
Leslie, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/05/2018 , work completed 14/05/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lovely job done, quick and cleanly and very polite.
Rosemary, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/05/2018 , work completed 10/05/2018
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Hertford Glass on several occasions. On this occasion they again did not disappoint and provided an excellent service.
Raymond, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Fabulous job as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The quality of the windows is extremely good. The fitters were very efficient. I have used them 3 times and they have always done a good job.
Carol, Essex Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
Professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from initial enquiry to completion of work. Would be pleased to recommend to others without doubt or hesitation.
Michael, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/03/2018 , work completed 27/03/2018
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service. Throughout from the initial quote through to the installation, on time and friendly service.
Ray, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/03/2018 , work completed 27/03/2018
Highly recommended. Fast efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job done. New windows within 2 days, regardless of the weather.
Patricia, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/03/2018 , work completed 26/03/2018
Excellent job 'well done'
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional from start to finish a big thank you to the young man who done the job.
Malcolm, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/03/2018 , work completed 16/03/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Top job from start to finish. Would have no hesitation in recommending Hertford Glass to anyone.
Tony, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018
A very smart window and doors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I really liked the look of the Hertford Glass Heritage range as it suited my house as was different to standard cheaper double glazing. The windows and doors look great when fitted and have drawn many positive comments from neighbours and passers-by. They were well fitted and a couple of snagging problems were immediately fixed. A good company to deal with without the usual rubbish false discounts.
Robert, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Professional, Neat, Tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from the start of Hertford Glass by 2 partners in early 70's & who fitted our first double glazing. Glass House updated all our double glazing & other glazing work. In all instances the sites were left completely refuse free & frames matched any wall shapes with no adjustments needed at all.
M B, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/02/2018 , work completed 05/02/2018
Prompt and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and helpful from start to finish. Surveyor very helpful and fitters completed the job without mess. Very efficient.
Helen, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/01/2018 , work completed 23/01/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you for completing job quickly and professionally. Tradesmen were efficient and tidied up after installation. Excellent product.
Sarah, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/01/2018 , work completed 20/01/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would use these people again. The man was very professional in his job. Very clean, no mess, very pleased with the result. Beautiful French door and side panel as well.
Mary, Essex Posted on 22/08/2017 , work completed 22/08/2017
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient and speedy. Lovely neat job - very happy.
Maureen, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/08/2017 , work completed 21/08/2017
Professional and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always very efficient, on time, professional and helpful.
Marilyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/08/2017 , work completed 21/08/2017
Good result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have always relied on Hertford Glass.
Robert, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/08/2017 , work completed 07/08/2017
Love the new front door.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant from start to finish.
Gloria, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/06/2017 , work completed 09/06/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pleasure to deal with.
Bernard, Hertfordshire Posted on 07/06/2017 , work completed 07/06/2017
Great from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial survey and quote the installation was extremely smooth and without stress. All staff were a pleasure to deal with, and the whole experience was 100% positive.
Joanna, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/03/2017 , work completed 20/03/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, have used Hertford Glass for many years. No complaints. Very polite men. Clean workers.
Alan, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/12/2016 , work completed 13/12/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dedicated and experienced
Doreen, Hertfordshire Posted on 30/11/2016 , work completed 30/11/2016
What we needed, when we needed, very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Advice and measurements etc. Prior to installation, excellent, knew exactly what we wanted. Installation (no long wait) arrived punctually on set date. Work completed quickly and with little mess. Cheerful, friendly workman, happy to come back promptly to attend to very minor query.
Doreen, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/11/2016 , work completed 14/11/2016
Very competent Installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out within timescale, with attention to limiting inconvenience. Tidy and well organised. Very satisfied with work completed.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/11/2016 , work completed 07/11/2016
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We could not fault Hertford Glass. They and all their staff were brilliant. We left them to complete our conservatory whilst we went on holiday and when we returned had a brilliant job completed. We would not hesitate in recommending them.
Brian, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/09/2016 , work completed 29/09/2016
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used them on two occasions and would definitely recommend them for their efficient and professional service. Their aftercare service is also excellent and can be relied on as they are a long established company.
Charlie, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/09/2016 , work completed 20/09/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very pleased with our new stable door & window. The job was extremely well finished, quality of materials was excellent. Hertford glass did exactly what they promised, I left it clean & tidy. We have no hesitation in recommending them.
Dorothy, Essex Posted on 15/09/2016 , work completed 15/09/2016
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend them to all my friends.
Malcolm, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/08/2016 , work completed 06/08/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I like to use local businesses. I needed a specific door and a specific job by a fitter. I got both. The fitter offered an excellent service, was meticulous in his work and I am very pleased with the outcome.
Elisabeth, Hertfordshire Posted on 28/07/2016 , work completed 28/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent
Michael, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/07/2016 , work completed 21/07/2016
Prompt, brilliant and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Hertford Glass before and they have always been brilliant. Local firm.
Bruce, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/07/2016 , work completed 10/07/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Member & staff were very helpful and explain everyday so we can understand.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/05/2011 , work completed 10/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New windows, French doors and Front door fitted to house. For price survey, measuring survey and installation, company reps showed up on time and were polite, fast and efficient. Price very good as far as I could tell. Quality of windows/doors v.good. Quality of installation excellent: one installer, 2.5days for (small) house, needs feeding with gallons of tea.
N.Cooke Posted on 06/02/2011 , work completed 06/02/2011