We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Home James Plumbing & Maintenance

Profile thumb img 2181

5.0

46 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

My name is James Todd and I specialise in domestic plumbing. I have 10 years experience and am technically qualified to NVQ level 2. I pride myself in the quality of service I provide. All of my customers will agree that I am punctual, courteous and very fair when pricing a job. I have never and will never provide a sub standard service, it is just not in my nature. I do not consider any job too small. Infact, I prefer the smaller jobs as that keeps me more mobile and able to provide a quicker service to more people. I carry full liability insurance (to the value of £2,000,000) and have a fully equipped modern van.

I specialise in small plumbing jobs.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
  • More Services

    • taps
    • sinks
    • toilets
    • washing machine plumbing
    • leak repairs

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
46 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came as soon as he could. Sorted out the problems with our washbasin and toilet. Nice chap, no fuss, just got on with the job and sorted out the issues. No mess and his price were fair. The best recommendation I can give is that I wouldn't hesitate to use him again.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 01/04/2021 , work completed 31/03/2021
Professional Fast Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely impressed with the super-fast service and affordable price. The first time calling James this morning at 9:30 am to fix my toilet which the flushing not working and leaking underneath. He came within 20 minutes and fixed it within an hour. While fixing, I also requested to add an isolation valve too and he immediately did that with no problem. Definitely will recommend him to all my friends and family.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/03/2021 , work completed 06/03/2021
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service! James was able to come to us the following day after our call. Bath tap replaced and leaking sink tap repaired. So pleased to get this resolved quickly and James had everything he needed on his van. Clean, professional service, would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 26/01/2021 , work completed 26/01/2021
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang James today about a non filling cistern which is built in and therefore difficult to get at. Within half an hour he was at my house and within the hour of the original call it was fixed. His charges are very reasonable and he is a joy to deal with. Cannot recommend him enough.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 12/11/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Definitely worth the Which? recommendation!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James fixed a leaking pipe from a toilet cistern. He was very easy to contact on his mobile, focused, and a suitable date and time agreed for the repair. His communication throughout and on the day was excellent, and he completed the task without issue. He came across as a pleasant, humble, and polite man. It's now been three days, and the job appears to have been a success! Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/11/2020 , work completed 05/11/2020
James to the rescue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are soon to move house and decided to replace the kitchen tap. The first company fitted a new tap but within minutes of them leaving we spotted a leak. They returned four times to cure this leak until we lost patience and called a new plumber. I know this seems hard to believe but the new plumber visited our house seven times. After we texted him to say it was still leaking we heard nothing more. We contacted James on Friday 9th October 2020 and he came to our house on Monday 12th. James was here for just under two hours and the leak was gone! Yes on the thirteenth visit by a plumber the leak was gone. Cannot recommend James highly enough.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/10/2020 , work completed 12/10/2020
Fantastic, efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had an old electric shower that needed replacing. James’ communication was brilliant and he showed up exactly when he said he would. He sourced a new shower at exactly the spec I asked for and installed it within an hour. He also fixed the dodgy slow filling cistern on the toilet that he’d noticed while he’d been working. Polite, friendly and efficient. He worked quickly and maintained social distancing rules. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you James!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 03/06/2020 , work completed 03/06/2020
Excellent work, pleasant chap and speedy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I messaged James early in the morning during the lockdown in a panic because my toilet flush had broken, the cats were going ballistic and I was wasting a lot of water. He replied straight away telling me he'd be there in an hour or so and to turn the water off. When he turned up, he said to leave him to it and the job was done, all fixed with a new flush in five minutes. Reasonably priced. I honestly can't fault the guy. Social distancing was maintained at all times so all good on that front so thanks James. Definitely recommend.
Clare in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/05/2020 , work completed 15/05/2020
Constantly filling toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called James on Wednesday and he came out Friday morning to my daughters house. The toilet cistern was constantly filling and was annoying as well as wasting metered water. I picked james due to the favourable reviews and I am delighted to add 5 star to these. My wife tells me he was very polite, professional and quickly sorted the problem and he charged a fair price. I will keep James in my reference file to use again. Thanks a lot James
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/05/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
Great job, great price, great bloke
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can’t recommend James highly enough. He was the least expensive of 4 quotes. Came over to do some re-piping work and plumb in dishwasher and washing machine. He was tidy, quick and did a brilliant job. Just cracked on and he was a great chap too!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 25/03/2019
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called James after seeing the great reviews for him on this site and I was really glad that I did. He was reliable, came over exactly when he said he would, was friendly and did a great, efficient job. I'd highly recommend him and will be saving his contact details in case I ever need a plumber again!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 10/03/2019 , work completed 07/03/2019
So glad I called James
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I explained to James that I was unable to use bath and shower due to broken bath plug mechanism. He thankfully came round within 2 hours to fix it. He was friendly and courteous and provided a very professional service. He also fixed leak from toilet. Reasonable and fair price. I’m so glad I’ve found a plumber I would be happy to call again!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/02/2019 , work completed 19/02/2019
Toilet not flushing and partially blocked sink
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I phoned Home James Thursday 29th Nov, he arranged to call the next day and good as his word he arrived after phoning to check I was in. He solved both problems in 1hr. 20 mins. The work was great as was the cost. Pleasant man and I would definitely recommend without question.
Pearson Posted on 02/12/2018 , work completed 02/12/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called James late one evening, and he was around the next day to sort out a rather unpleasant situation with the toilet. Also asked James to look at a less important issue with another toilet whilst he was here, and this was sorted too. Very impressed that all the parts were in the van, and that they didn't need to be ordered and fitted at a later date. Punctuality was spot on, no issues with the work, and the price was right. I would highly recommend James to anyone.
Mick S. Posted on 29/11/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Came out quickly, thorough job done, great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James has now helped me out with two separate leaks. Both times he came out quickly and sorted everything out. He did thorough jobs both times and explained the problem and remedy as he went. Professional, knowledgeable and very good value as well!
Dave Scott Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Perfect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang with an urgent problem but not an emergency. He noted our inconvenient loss of water and sorted in the same afternoon. Sensible price and a clean/professional job. All key parts in his van, so no wait for them to be ordered/collected. Fantastic.
David, Cheshire Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Great job, done promptly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a toilet where a little water was running permanently and also the sealing around the bath needed to be replaced. James came the day after I called him, on the time we had arranged, and did both jobs perfectly. He charged a reasonable amount for the work, asking me to pay by electronic transfer as the most convenient method for both of us. It's great to have a plumber in the area who is available even for relatively minor things, and who does a great job nevertheless. I will use James again in the future and recommend him without hesitation.
Chris Klingenberg Posted on 01/07/2018 , work completed 01/07/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The communication was especially good. James kept in touch by email and text. I knew what to expect at all times. The tap change was complicated but he persisted with patience and expertise. I'd recommend him to anyone as an excellent plumber who has also the added value of courtesy. Quite rare nowadays. Margaret Raine in Sale.
Margaret Raine Posted on 23/06/2018 , work completed 23/06/2018
Astonishingly quick!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Astonishingly quick! Arrived within five minutes of my call. Stopped the failed tap from running constantly. Advised on the spare part needed and arrange to return to fit it once it arrived. So far so good – excellent friendly helpful service. And no charge so far…
Fraser Posted on 31/05/2018 , work completed 31/05/2018
Good work and great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James was very helpful solving my problem. My ‘new’ (8 years old) toilet was overflowing inside the toilet bowl which I understand is the modern design with dual flush toilets. The toilet was continuing to fill inside the bowl at a rate of water consumption like having a tap fully turned on and so I was turning the water supply off at my stopcock after each flush to minimise the charges in my water meter. It was a tricky job but James had spare parts with him and was able to replace the seal and valve and get my toilet functioning correctly again. James had the skill and experience to solve the problem. I was pleased with his work and very reasonable charge and will be calling on James for all future plumbing jobs.
Morris Posted on 11/05/2018 , work completed 11/05/2018
Competent & helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James responded quickly to my request to fit a new toilet. He came to my house to assess the job and quote me. He advised me regarding which toilet to buy or not buy. When it arrived he managed to fit it very quickly after that. I had a change of mind on a minor adjustment which he fixed promptly. I would recommend him any day as he did a good job and is very pleasant.
2010-07-18 21:32:07.527 Posted on 02/05/2018 , work completed 02/05/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, efficient, prompt and very good value.
Mike, Cheshire Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Tap replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service, repaired tap whilst I was out and for very reasonable price. Would definitely recommend.
Michael Percy Posted on 22/06/2017 , work completed 22/06/2017
Went the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James arrived at exactly 11 am as arranged. He was friendly and polite. We have had very low water pressure for a few years and have been told on 3 separate occasions by the water board that nothing could be done to improve it. However, James made every effort to solve the issue and we now have better water pressure than we have ever had in the 16 years that we have lived here. The shower used to be a dribble and is now like a power shower! James also fixed a leaking pipe and checked another pipe which we thought may be leaking but he assured us is not. After 90 minutes of hard work, we were pleasantly surprised by the very reasonable charge for the jobs. We will certainly ask James to work for us again when we next need a plumber.
Alison Smith Posted on 19/05/2017 , work completed 19/05/2017
Overflowing toilet cystern
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded immediately. He had sufficient stock on his van to deal with the job in hand. He did a very good job and at very reasonable rates. Highly recommended. I would not hesitate to have him deal with any further plumbing issues in the future
Fred Greaves Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
Very quick response, good price, job well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called James to attend to a broken shower. He came very promptly, tried a shower repair but then we realised I needed a new unit. James sourced a good quality, well-priced replacement shower and came back to fit it as soon as it arrived. Very pleased with the results, especially as the job was not straightforward. Called him again a short time later to fix a leaking toilet. Once again he responded quickly and sorted out the problem. Highly recommended.
SusieQ Posted on 13/04/2017 , work completed 13/04/2017
Dependable as ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 years after last using James, called him again to replace broken toilet cistern handle 'connecting rod', re-seal shower and bath, stop a second cistern making terrible noise (because it turns out, it was leaking). As before, James visited at a time to suit me. Carried out all jobs professionally, cheerfully and for a very fair price. Won't hesitate to ring James again in the future.
Tony, Cheshire Posted on 06/04/2017 , work completed 06/04/2017
Great local tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Washing machine leak fixed efficiently and promptly. The price is always competitive and his work is outstanding. He always gets back to you and that is why he is great! Highly recommend!
Cecilia Walker Posted on 29/11/2016 , work completed 29/11/2016
Great job, fast and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James replaced a section of piping in a tricky place to access, under floorboards. The pipe was replaced in no time with the minimum damage. He responded really quick after I first called, the price was great value and he seems honest and reliable. Happy to give a positive review.
pjollerton Posted on 31/10/2016 , work completed 31/10/2016
No fuss, no bother. Great job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a 'proper' plumber to put right the botched job done by two other 'plumbers'. Having studied the Which trusted traders website I was dubious about any plumber who has received only 5 star reviews. I plumbed for James and I was delighted with his professionalism and can do attitude. His attendance was punctual, his manner appropriate and his knowledge and care first class. The job may have been relatively small, two replacement taps and a leaking cistern but he showed the attention to detail often lacking in other tradesmen. And his charges were very reasonable too. Thanks James.
Happy Customer Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had really bad experience with plumbers, " I can do the job no problem" and that is the last we heard of them, so were very pleased to find James. Totally reliable, on time, no fuss, no problems, clean job completed. We shall be using James again if necessary. I would recommend James without hesitation.Thanks again. Tony from Sale
Tony in Sale Posted on 05/07/2016 , work completed 05/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No worries......no fuss..... just got on with the job, namely noisy pipes and a jammed stop tap. I wouldn't hesitate recommending James, so polite and courteous. NO additions; just the price that James quotes.
Neville G Bullivant. Posted on 18/05/2016 , work completed 18/05/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very grateful to James for coming out the day after I contacted him (A bank holiday) to repair a hot water pipe leak. A good job completed at a reasonable price and much appreciated.
Ruth, Lancashire Posted on 02/05/2016 , work completed 02/05/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James has fixed two different problems for me in the last year. He responded promptly to the messages I left, turned up promptly and did the repairs speedily. To top it all, his charges are very reasonable. His details are in my address book.
2011-06-09 10:07:00.64 Posted on 18/04/2016 , work completed 18/04/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called James out as I had a leak in my bathroom which was coming through my kitchen. James came out within a few hours; identified and fixed the problem. He was professional, trustworthy and reliable. If all tradesmen were this good life would be easy! I cannot recommend him highly enough. Thanks James.
Chris.Helen Posted on 25/02/2016 , work completed 25/02/2016
Radiator replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had the need to replace two old rads, checked local listing then which and came across homejamesplumbing. Spoke to James got a very reasonable quotation for two new rads, work completed in a clean tidy manner and in good time. Thank you James.
2011-07-24 22:56:50.5 Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
First rate.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was a pleasure to employ James for the plumbing jobs that had occurred. His time keeping was impeccable, and whilst here, he was personable and kept me fully informed of what he would do and the related costs. All in all, excellent!
Allan, Cheshire Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Tricky toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was a leaking toilet. James had to come out on three separate occasions as the problem turned out to be a minor imperfection in the porcelain that led to the leak. His communication was first rate, replying to texts; the work was carried out cleanly. The costing of the job was very reasonable considering the time taken to fix the problem. I highly recommend James to anyone in the South Manchester area. Matt
2011-08-09 11:07:04.967 Posted on 02/09/2015 , work completed 02/09/2015
Responsive and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had his number via above. Called him in an emergency - overflow pipe dripping increasingly fast. He arrived within an hour. Friendly and efficient. He tackled the job properly as I'd had previous problems. Thank you Which? TT, I'd definitely call on James again.
C, Cheshire Posted on 17/08/2015 , work completed 17/08/2015
Speedy service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. The job was a broken flush mechanism on a toilet. It was fixed within 4 days of initial contact and now works perfectly. Would use again
Site User Posted on 24/07/2015 , work completed 24/07/2015
Bathroom leaks and garden water tap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James completed the above two jobs for me and on both occasions, he arrived quickly, one day after my call or messages. He completed the jobs quickly and to a good standard and his fees were reasonable. Overall I am happy to recommend James.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/04/2015 , work completed 28/04/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very pleased to have found James, I will certainly make him my go to plumber. He was able to come the same day and was courteous, friendly and efficient. He fixed the leak under our kitchen sink confidently and with ease. I recommend him to others looking for a plumber.
CMR401127784 Posted on 15/01/2015 , work completed 15/01/2015
Quick and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It can be a minefield finding someone without recommendations, but I can happily recommend James. He came out at very short notice to fix a plumbing disaster (water pouring from a broken toilet cistern) and fixed it in half an hour.
CMR400004593 Posted on 18/11/2014 , work completed 18/11/2014
Prompt and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great communication - very quick response to calls and emails. Arrived promptly when promised, to investigate a problem in the office bathroom. Looked properly, removing panelling, found the source of the problem and fixed the leak. Happy to recommend.
ABa Ltd Posted on 28/10/2014 , work completed 28/10/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed a plumber to fix overfilling toilet. James returned my call quickly and came round that day to sort problem. Great service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/10/2014 , work completed 25/10/2014
Bath and Sink leaks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a plumber to sort out a leaking overflow on a roll top bath, and leaking pipework on its matching sink. I called James who, by luck ,was in the area and agreed to pop in as he was passing (Friday evening). Within a few minutes James arrived and took a look at the job. As it was getting on I suggested he come back at a better time and he arrived the following Monday as requested after doing some temporary work to stop the leaks. The job turned out to be a bit of a pain, with James taking the sink away to repair at his own place of work, to return the following day with the repair complete. I have to say he did a great job, was thoroughly pleasant and professional throughout and charged a very reasonable price for , whilst wasn't a huge job..was a pain to resolve (id tried to do it myself and failed). Would definitely recommend to others.
CMR307315112 Posted on 16/10/2014 , work completed 16/10/2014