We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Hoods Carpet And Flooring Limited

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–15:30
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb capture

4.9

43 Reviews

About

Hoods Carpet & Flooring was founded in 1939 by Hilda Hood and, to this day, remains a family run business. Located in Birmingham, Hoods was established to provide a first class flooring supply and fitting service. People who needed carpets in Kings Heath, Solihull and across Birmingham benefited from the high level of service Hoods provided. That level of service has only increased across the years.

What we do

  • Flooring services

    • Carpet fitting
    • Floor laying
    • Floor sanding and polishing
  • More Services

    • capping
    • coving
    • wet room flooring
    • carpet tiles
    • vinyl flooring

Customer reviews

4.9
43 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fabulous advice and service to match.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole team at Hood Carpets is professional and polite. They are patient, prompt in communicating and responsive to customers needs. We are delighted with the quality and finish.
Margaret, West Midlands14/11/2019
Superb job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mac & James. A great job from expert fitters. Both carpet & karndean was carefully fitted with attention to detail. Highly recommend.
Anne, West Midlands02/09/2019
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent customer service, lovely carpet and a brilliant job done in fitting them. I would definitely use them again and would highly recommend them.
Andrea, West Midlands19/08/2019
Superb service
Contract from start to finish was handled extremely well. Carpets in bedrooms fitted to the highest standard. Fitting team were courteous and competent
Customer in West Midlands18/08/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Hall and Dining room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the helpful service we received in the shop, measuring up and installation we have received first class service. Mac and James who installed the laminate flooring were both very friendly and professional and left the place spotless. Thank you very much we would certainly recommend you.
Customer in Worcestershire06/07/2019
Kitchen & conservatory flooring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, professional and friendly service from beginning to completion. Particularly impressed with choices offered and with fitters Chris and Mac. This is the second time I have used this company and no doubt will not hesitate to use them again.
Customer in 15/06/2019
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The two lads from Hoods Carpet, good team work, done a very good job fitting our carpets and vinyl first class, they were very helpful about what they were doing, good working lads we can't felt them.
Jean, West Midlands11/06/2019
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hoods laid Karndean flooring throughout our lounge / dinning / kitchen open plan space, which they installed to budget and quicker than originally planned. Not only are we extremely happy with the end result, we really enjoyed the journey. From our first meet in their store to see options / prices, we were impressed by the knowledge, advice and desire to help instead of sell. The lads who did the job were great to work with and gave great advice on the job at hand + next the project. They kept everything clean and tidy throughout the project. A joy to work with, will definitely work with Hoods again on our next project later this year!
Customer in West Midlands21/05/2019
Carpeting stairs and upstairs rooms
Customer Service
Quality
Value
All the steps from visiting the shop onward were very pleasantly and efficiently carried out. The fitters worked so hard. We are so pleased with our carpets. Thank you Hoods.
Customer in West Midlands13/05/2019
Vinyl laid in bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The men arrived at the agreed time, were polite, helpful and considerate. They carried straight on with the job. The price was as agreed, and it was laid very well indeed. I will have no hesitation in recommending Hoods to friends and family.
Customer in West Midlands09/04/2019
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New floor covering in kitchen. Chris and Mac from Hoods arrived exactly on time, they were courteous and very professional. They were very respectful and careful in their work and I was very pleased with the end result.
Jane, West Midlands12/03/2019
Karndean Flooring in Dining Room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from start to finish. Have used Hoods for years and years and can thoroughly recommend
Customer in Worcestershire20/02/2019
Tidy and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a bedroom carpet and laminate flooring fitted in the bathroom. The men were very polite and professional. The carpet was excellent value for money and they were very tidy and clean leaving no mess at all.
Susie, West Midlands01/02/2019
Excellent job - couldnt fault it
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two lads from Hoods came and fitted vinyl flooring in kitchen this morning, having previously prepped the floor on Monday of this week. It obviously wasn't the biggest or most expensive job, but their work ethic and attention to detail were second to none and it didn't matter that i wasn't spending a fortune - they did just as good a job as if i was paying thousands. Have never used this company before but will certainly do so in the future. They were perfectionists and nothing was too much trouble. The shop staff were also extremely helpful and very efficient.
Customer in Worcestershire16/01/2019
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient and clean workers. Polite and friendly.
Kathleen, West Midlands15/01/2019
Truly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tina and the team at Hoods gave us an exceptional service from start to finish. They laid carpet throughout,in our new house just before we moved in. We moved from BHam to Telford so they had the keys to our house. When we went up to take a look after it had been fitted, we were absolutely delighted with the way it had been laid, vacuumed and left tidy. They even went the extra mile and made us some mats with the leftover carpet. We will definitely be using them again! Thank you
Customer in Shropshire14/01/2019
Excellent Customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hoods have fitted carpets in our lounge, stairs, landing and a Karndean floor in the hall. The service has been excellent throughout the process. Tina was very helpful and patient in the shop while we were choosing our carpets and flooring and could not do enough to help us. The team (unfortunately I do not know their names) who fitted our carpets and flooring did an excellent job, they were pleasant, polite and worked very hard, they are both a credit to the company. We will certainly be returning to Hoods when we require more carpets and flooring
Customer in Worcestershire01/01/2019
Outstanding craftsmen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used company on previous occasion - always good value. The guys who laid the carpet were punctual, courteous and a pleasure to have in our home. Cleaned up and left everything "spick and span". Looking forward to them laying a new floor in our kitchen in the new year.
Rod, Worcestershire14/12/2018
It's all about the Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We now have 3 Karndean floors supplied and fitted by Hoods (and a 4th on order). Kitchen, Hall, Lounge and soon to be bathroom. The product speaks for itself, but, it is about the service. Tina in the office was extremely helpful in advising us. The fitting was carried out whilst we were on holiday. Attention to detail is beyond belief. I know I wouldn't go anywhere else for flooring. Might get slightly cheaper elsewhere (not a known fact), but wouldn't consider taking the risk. Thank you all at Hoods.
Customer in West Midlands04/12/2018
Brilliant Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hoods measured up for hall-stairs and landing carpets. They were thorough, efficient and arrived on the agreed date to prepare floors and fit new carpets. All workmen were exceptional, hardworking, tidy, polite and efficient, real professionals. Carpets are beautiful and of a high quality.
Angela, West Midlands27/11/2018
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Carpet laid in bedroom and lounge very professional over and beyond the care I have had of other fitters, old lounge carpet re laid in bedroom looks like new, would recommend Hoods in fact I have. Mrs Rita Burton
Customer in West Midlands26/11/2018
Faultless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from 1st entering the shop to the final fitting by two very polite, clean and tidy fitters who did a great job.
John Jones17/10/2018
People who take pride in their work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had my hall floor fitted with Laminate flooring. I am delighted with the resulting look. The fitters were prompt, friendly and helpful with their advice; taking obvious pride in their work, which was completed with great attention to detail.
Elizabeth Wilson10/10/2018
Approachable, professional and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tina and Paul at Hoods Carpets and Flooring made choosing and fitting carpets and kitchen and bathroom flooring a much easier task than I had expected. My son had never been in the situation to choose carpets and flooring and didn't really know what he wanted. Tina and Paul came to the rescue with an excellent team of carpet and vinyl flooring lifters, then carpet layers. Once firm choices had been made, it took no time at all for the carpeting and flooring to arrive, and be fitted after 50 year old vinyl tiles and carpeting which had been stuck to the floors had been lifted from each room in the flat. Everything was spick and span by the time they had finished. The fitting was done expertly and any fibres/mess were cleaned up. I can honestly recommend Hoods Carpet & Flooring to supply and fit carpets and Amtico flooring expertly. The team is friendly and helpful which makes everything so much easier. The final bill? It wasn't anywhere near as much as I had feared.
Denise Hobbs16/07/2018
Outstanding in every respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wise advice given and sensible options provided. Meticulous attention to detail from start to finish. Exceeded our expectations.
Jim, West Midlands01/06/2018
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good customers service - nothing too much trouble. Extensive products to choose from. Punctual, polite fitters. Would recommend them without hesitation.
Janet, West Midlands23/05/2018
Wonderful service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used other carpet fitters previously, we have been very impressed by the highly professional service provided by Hoods. The help and advice in the shop and during the home visit for measurement was excellent. James and James fitted karndean in our kitchen and carpets throughout the house. They were courteous, conscientious and very thorough. They took great care in all aspects of their work and very tidy. We were extremely impressed with their work and recommend them to all our friends.
prof chris18/04/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time I have used Hoods for carpets and as usual Tina and the team delivery quality carpets at a great price. There is no pressure to purchase and they are always happy to discuss requirements and offer alternative options. The fitting is excellent and I'm really pleased with the results.
Sue West Midlands 18/03/2018
Carpet and karndean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having enlisted Hoods to do my carpets and karndean floor I must say how impressed I am, I'd visited the showroom and was wowed by how much choice there was - I visited a few times until I decided on my final choice and Tina and Paul couldn't have been more helpful - Paul came round to measure up and discussed the job through, I was happy with their quote so proceeded to book in to have the work carried out. The lads came round and prepared all my floors and fitted my karndean to a very high standard- the carpets they installed look amazing too! I will look to have some more rooms done very soon and will return to Hoods no doubt - great service - friendly and knowledgeable staff and a very professional installation Paul - Kings Heath Birmingham
Cozycollins10/03/2018
Great service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased that I chose Hoods to supply and fit my new bathroom floor - everyone was so helpful and knowledgeable, from the shop staff to the chap who measured up and James and his colleague who did the prep and fitting. Really happy with the result and the price was very fair too, would definitely use again!
JodieS06/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional. Friendly, helpful fitters. Clean and tidy job. Heavy furniture moved & put back in situ after job complete. Excellent all round (second time using Hoods).
Pauline, West Midlands17/01/2018
Great quality and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have bought a flat in Birmingham and decided to use Hoods after much deliberation. The customer service was over and above my expectations. On the date the carpets & flooring was to be fitted I was very ill and Hoods proceeded with the job - they did work of a high quality and were very sensitive whilst I was unwell.
Helen, Nottinghamshire18/12/2017
Professional and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved all furniture and replaced. Excellent aftercare when a potential issue was found, but resolved and very happy with the carpet fitters and whole team. Definitely would use again.
Rachel, West Midlands06/09/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were very respectful and did a very good job. I was more than happy with their work and would have them again.
Barbara, West Midlands10/08/2017
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Turned up on time, cleaned up after themselves, asked me to inspect the work, and if I was happy with it.
Catherine, West Midlands07/07/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had all our rooms carpeted over the years and wouldn't have anyone else.
Janet, West Midlands27/06/2017
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole process from visiting the shop, bringing samples home, measuring and getting the quote was very good. The final job was completed very professionally with an excellent fitting. We are very pleased with our room.
Sheila, West Midlands19/06/2017
Excellent job and company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial contact with Hoods, everyone has given the best customer service possible. My order was never pressured, and I received good honest advice and help in making a choice of carpet. They surveyor turned up on time and discussed the job fully and sent a quotation quickly. The quotation was well presented and detailed. The appointment for fitting was kept and the fitters did an excellent job. They were polite, friendly, and first class at their work.
Robert, West Midlands14/06/2017
prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very good job. Clean carpet fitters who cleaned up after the job.
Janet, West Midlands13/06/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional from measuring up to fitting, brilliant job and clean and tidy, Lovely chaps very polite.
Lynd, West Midlands05/06/2017
Kitchen and utility flooring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hoods are a recommended supplier of Karndean flooring, indeed they were recommended by the Karndean showroom in Evesham. They gave us a couple of quotes for differing floor areas and surfaces and when we'd made up our minds were quick to complete the work, to a good quality. Just remember that following installation floor levels are raised and this will make a difference to both doors and kitchen plinths which will result in extra work and expense.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer02/03/2017
Not 'Hood winked' here
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Supplied and fitted bedroom carpets. Hoods were very helpful, professional, turned up when they said. The work was completed to high standards and they left the bedrooms in a clean and tidy state. No problem to move large items of furniture.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer24/02/2017
Excellent work, highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of old flooring, fitting new carpet, underlay and gripper rods. Moving and replacing on site furniture. Very helpful and friendly at the shop and carpet samples offered before purchase. The fitters did an excellent job. The floor was cleared properly of all old material before the new carpet was fitted and the furniture was moved and replaced, including a very heavy wall unit. I am very pleased with all the work, from my initial enquiry at the shop to measuring up and fitting.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/02/2017
Excellent family firm providing a brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had the lounge hall and toilet area done . hoods were very efficient in all aspects of the work done from start to finish. time keeping was excellent and the fiters were very polite and helpful and moved furniture with great care. i would recommend them anytime .
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/01/2017