We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

House Doctors

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb house doctors logo 2017

4.9

40 Reviews

About

Trading continuously since 1992 and proud to have hundreds of happy customers in Bristol and North Somerset. Committed to maintaining our reputation and providing the best service and quality of workmanship.

Our service centres on two key areas of maintenance:

• Double Glazing Repair & Re-Glazing.
• Heating Service. 'Gassafe registered'

Window and Door Service

Windows and doors locks and conservatories should be maintained as they have to keep the home weather tight and secure. For this, you can trust House Doctors, who have worked in the double glazing industry since 1979.
All aspects of Patio door, Door and Window repair.

Heating Service

At House Doctors, we pride ourselves on providing excellent value for money. Like the manufacturers, we recommend annual servicing as we often identify issues that could have resulted in a break down during the following months and We are always alert to identify where you can save money on your gas and maintenance costs.

What we do

  • Glaziers

    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repair
    • Glass boarding up and replacement
    • Sash windows
    • Double glazed units
    • Timber windows
    • Window consultants
  • Doors

    • Patio doors
    • Timber doors
    • Bi-fold doors
    • French doors
    • Front door
    • Orangeries
  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory maintenance
    • Conservatory repairs
  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Plumbers

    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas cooker repair
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Underfloor heating
  • Heating contractors

  • Gas installers

  • Double glazing

Customer reviews

4.9
40 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite, friendly and very efficient.
Dorothy, Avon06/09/2019
Very straightforward. Fast efficient work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David carried out all the work that I requested over two days. This included, replacing a kitchen tap, servicing my 9 year old boiler and my even older gas fire and replacing a cowl on my chimney to stop birds nesting and blocking the flue. He worked efficiently and fast. His manner was professional but friendly and I really appreciated his very clear, non patronising explanations as he went along. All communication was very straightforward with lots of helpful suggestions and advice along the way. I am very happy that I have found someone who I can trust and will be calling on him again to deal with any future housing issues.
Customer in North Somerset09/08/2019
Trustworthy and excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David fitted and has been looking after our central heating service for a few years now. He always explains what he needs to do and why really clearly and is meticulous in his work. He’s friendly and totally reliable and trustworthy - by far the best we have ever experienced.
Customer in Bristol29/07/2019
Wide range of excellent work for absentee landlord
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although I live 155 miles away based on previous favourable reviews I was happy to engage David’s services to carry out the following work at a house I bought this year for occupation by one of my sons:- 1. Repairing bath tap 2. Servicing combi gas boiler 3. Carrying out gas safety checks and providing a Landlord's Certificate. 4. Replacing two glass panels on conservatory roof 5. Repairing garage roof and door My son was happy with the standard of the work done as I was with the reasonable cost. David also recommended an electrician with whose work we were equally satisfied.
Customer in Nottinghamshire04/04/2019
Boiler service and improved performance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David was recommended to me by my family in Wrington to service my boiler and from that initial visit he has given my old boiler another lease of life with various improvements. He always explains what needs to be done in a clear way. He has just completed work on my boiler which had a difficult problem and now is fine. David is always absolutely professional with a pleasant manner and always gets back to me quickly if I leave a message. In short I would recommend David to anyone for his workmanship which is of the highest standard.
Customer in North Somerset19/02/2019
Conservatory roof glass replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House Doctors recently replaced four large panes of our conservatory roof glass. We were very impressed with David’s communication and workmanship, keeping us informed all the way through the job. We have no hesitation in recommending House Doctors. GC 28/01/2019
Customer in City of Bristol28/01/2019
Conservatory roof glass replacement.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House Doctors recently replaced a large pane of our conservatory roof glass which crashed down overnight. We were very impressed with David’s advice of what was needed & the workmanship in carrying out the work. We have no hesitation in recommending House Doctors.
JJssvv18/10/2018
Steamy Window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House Doctors replaced a window that was permanently steamed up and a back door panel that had seen better days. They did a great job! Excellent attention to detail, quality workmanship and very affable to boot. Will definitely use their services again.
Katie M30/09/2018
New Windows and Replacement Glass.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David replaced some windows and replaced patio window glass on our house recently and we were very pleased with the results. He is very conscientious and honest and will give you a fair estimate of the work to be done. We highly recommend him.
Stuart27/09/2018
Conservatory roof repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David Ward of House Doctors repaired a slipped roof panel on my conservatory. He did an excellent job and the roof no longer leaks. He was so good that I have used him to make another house repair.
John04/09/2018
Window and patio door repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We required a window to have new handle and a couple others to have new hinges fitted, also our patio door needed adjustment to close properly. The work was fully explained and professionally done. We will definitely use this company again.
18/08/2018
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having fitted our new boiler excellently last year, I didn't hesitate contacting House Doctors to undertake the annual service of my boiler. They turned up at the time arranged and undertook a thorough job (unlike other companies who I have used to service my boiler in the past), including explaining what work had been undertaken, and the results of the testing. Would highly recommend House Doctors for both boiler installation and servicing.
Darren10/07/2018
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House Doctors fixed a uPVC window for us and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them. They didn’t have quite the right fixture at the initial visit as ours was non-standard, but they ordered the correct one and returned the very next day to fit it. Very happy with the prompt, polite service!
T Thompson14/06/2018
Good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a good job. Was on time, neat & tidy.
Nigel, Avon16/03/2018
Professional and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David did an excellent job on our draughty doors and windows. He was very particular and knowledgeable in the many adjustments he had to make. The difference it has made is tremendous. We would thoroughly recommend him
Dennyb26/01/2018
Conservatory roof repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 20 yr old conservatory sprang a leak when a roof panel shifted in high winds. Britannia Conservatories recommended House Doctors. David Ward (of House Doctors) carried out a successful repair in difficult circumstances due to restricted external access. From my experience I am happy to recommend House Doctors for their expertise & friendly service
Robert Truby26/01/2018
Emergency boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David has done various jobs, of differing complexity, for us over the last 18 months: replacing all the double glazing in our conservatory, boiler servicing, boiler thermostat upgrade, tap washer replacement, front door double glazing re-packing and an emergency boiler repair. We are always impressed by his meticulous approach and attention to detail. We have no reservations in highly recommending David Ward of House Doctors.
Malcolm4420/12/2017
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David was recommended by neighbour, and I would definitely recommend him too. Thank you for the work done.
Angel103/12/2017
Radiator relacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David has just replaced 5 of my radiators and updated the TRVs on the other radiators. Also fitted an automatic by-pass valve and magnetic filter. Before the job he spent some time discussing the best way to go about it and the materials needed. He took great care to protect carpets during the work. His work was neat and carefully carried out. Overall an excellent job and I would recommend David to anyone.
John M18/11/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, very happy, I will recommend.
Claire, Avon28/09/2017
Prompt response, price as expected & great workmanship. To be recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The title pretty much says it all. Dave repaired a number of windows at my rental property, together with adjusting the front door. Very nice to deal with and good work.
Simon Miller07/09/2017
Fast response and perfect service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I rang House Doctors after waiting 2 weeks for another Bristol based UPVC repair specialist to call me back and they never did. David returned my call within 5 minutes. 3 hours later my UPVC door problem was fixed, 15 mins after he arrived at my house. I also had 3 UPVC window handles replaced at the same time as he had the parts too. Fabulous service, and a nice guy, explaining how to maintain the door and windows to get the best from them.
IanMcK21/07/2017
New Boiler installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just had a new Boiler installed professionally by David from House Doctors. From start to finish he explained what he was doing & why, including recommending what he thought was the best solution. Would definitely recommend him and will be using him again for our boiler service next year.
HapECust0m3r17/07/2017
Replacement glass in UPVC window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David replaced 5 panes of glass in a large UPVC window efficiently and tidily. He was a pleasure to deal with and we are delighted with the result. I would certainly recommend him.
Budden28/06/2017
Resolving intermittent heating problem and boiler service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem where our central heating was not always working but the hot water was being heated. We called our usual heating engineer and replaced the heating room thermostat but this did not overcome the problem so suspected there may be a fault with the 3 way valve actuator. Called David of House Doctors for a second opinion and after investigating found the fault was with the central heating programmer. On the advice of David we now have a replacement which is much more efficient and provides better control of heating our living area. We also had the boiler serviced and will definitely be using David again.
192816116/05/2017
3 way valve replacement and boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David at House Doctors came to the rescue once more when we woke without heating in winter. He is really helpful, reliable and trustworthy. I would thoroughly recommend him.
Saskia25/04/2017
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and friendly service...highly recommend.
Jadstersbro22/04/2017
Boiler landlord certificate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House Doctors have provided a boiler check service for a few years at my flat, including installation of filteration equipment. Very pleased with the service, I would highly recommend.
Chris Jones09/04/2017
That's why we keep using them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most recently House Doctors stabilised a loose door frame for us. We have used them for a number of jobs. Fitting a downstairs sink, toilet & washing machine. Removing a large window to allow a soffa (too big for doorway) into the living room and they regularly service our gas boiler and one in a Let property we own. We are very pleased with the work, hence we keep using them!
Jobwelldone26/01/2017
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the hinges replaced on several of my windows. The service was quick and very clean and tidy
Rockydog2110/01/2017
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the hinges replaced on several of my windows. The service was quick and very clean and tidy
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer10/01/2017
recommended trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired two large glass sliding bedroom doors. His work was excellent as was his timing and professionalism. Based on this job, as I have no other experience of his work, I would certainly recommend this trader.
alan01/12/2016
recommended trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repairs to large glass sliding bedroom doors. His work was excellent as was timing and professionalism. Based on this job, as I have no other experience of his work, I would certainly recommend this trader.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/12/2016
A thoroughly well done job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bath was removed and walk in shower installed. It was a difficult job because I wanted to keep my overhead clothes dryer, which meant a small extension to one wall , an extra long tray and a screen instead of a door. David did this with the minimum fuss and disturbance. He explained and consulted me all the way, As I am elderly he suggested extra grab rails, and made sure they were a comfortable height for me. Safety was tested regularly as I am prone to tripping and falling. He also installed a small extractor fan to come on when water switched on and continue to extract moisture. I have had no condensation since. Every evening David cleared up and left the place fit for me to use. We had some delay caused by suppliers and he even fixed up a way I could wash my hair. He always arrived when he said he would and worked solidly through the day, not leaving until that day's work was complete. After completing the work he called back to see how it was going and make sure I was satisfied. I have been extremely pleased with my lovely shower and everyone who sees it is impressed. All at half the cost of ones I had researched from the brochures. I have no hesitation in highly recommending David Ward, and indeed have done so to friends, one of whom is very pleased with work he did for her,this time not a shower.
Dorothy28/09/2016
A thoroughly well done job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bath was removed and walk in shower installed. It was a difficult job because I wanted to keep my overhead clothes dryer, which meant a small extension to one wall , an extra long tray and a screen instead of a door. David did this with the minimum fuss and disturbance. He explained and consulted me all the way, As I am elderly he suggested extra grab rails, and made sure they were a comfortable height for me. Safety was tested regularly as I am prone to tripping and falling. He also installed a small extractor fan to come on when water switched on and continue to extract moisture. I have had no condensation since. Every evening David cleared up and left the place fit for me to use. We had some delay caused by suppliers and he even fixed up a way I could wash my hair. He always arrived when he said he would and worked solidly through the day, not leaving until that day's work was complete. After completing the work he called back to see how it was going and make sure I was satisfied. I have been extremely pleased with my lovely shower and everyone who sees it is impressed. All at half the cost of ones I had researched from the brochures. I have no hesitation in highly recommending David Ward, and indeed have done so to friends, one of whom is very pleased with work he did for her, this time not a shower.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer28/09/2016
A man who can be trusted to do a good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wall cut out and new window fitted in dinning room along with replacement windows to the rest of house and fascia boarding to side of garage.
Pegasus09/09/2016
A man who can be trusted top go a good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wall cut out and new window fitted in dinning room along with replacement windows to the rest of house and facia boarding to side of garage.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer06/09/2016
House Doctors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of new boiler. Work was done quickly with very little disruption and left tidy on completion. A follow up visit was carried out one week after to ensure that the system was functioning as expected.
AlanFB30/08/2016
House Doctors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of new boiler. Work was done quickly with very little disruption and left tidy on completion. A follow up visit was carried out one week after to ensure that the system was functioning as expected.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer30/08/2016
That's why we keep using them
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most recently House Doctors stabilised a loose door frame for us. We have used them for a number of jobs. Fitting a downstairs sink, toilet & washing machine. Removing a large window to allow a sofa (too big for doorway) into the living room and they regularly service our gas boiler and one in a Let property we own. We are very pleased with the work, hence we keep using them!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer26/05/2016