We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Humphrey & Crockett Ltd

Profile thumb logo
4.8

50 Reviews

About

Humphrey & Crockett Ltd are a plumbing and heating company based in Andover, Hampshire.
Established in 2010 we serve Andover, Southampton, Salisbury and Winchester as well as most of Hampshire, Wiltshire and Berkshire.

We cater for the needs of those wanting installation and maintenance of wood burning stoves and solid fuel systems, fireplace supply and installation as well as all aspects of plumbing, gas and oil central heating.

Our years of experience, accredited training and high professional standards are put into every job we undertake for every customer we see. This allows us to offer an after care service that will give you the piece of mind that will continue well after the install.

What we do

  • Fireplace and stove installers

    • Electric Fires
  • Chimney Sweeps

    • Chimney Repair
  • Renewable energy

    • Biomass
    • Air source heat pumps
    • Ground source heat pumps
    • Home energy analysis
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • wood burners
    • wood stoves
    • twin wall system
    • false chimneys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
50 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
Woodburner stove install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first phonecall enquiring about a stove Kyle has been so helpful. Every question answered thoroughly, every detail was covered. From checking out the showroom, site visit, ordering and then installation it has all been as promised. The team are a very nice bunch of guys. They are very friendly and excellent at their job. There was virtually no mess when they left. The stove is awesome. Absolutely love it. Thank you H & C you have been brilliant.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 26/04/2022 , work completed 26/04/2022
Great communication and very helpful. Professional and helpful install team, good follow up service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our Air Source heat pump installed last year, during a difficult period in the pandemic. The team installing the equipment were professional, courteous and helpful. They never left us without hot water or some level of heating despite have to stop work for a short period. A year on and the aftercare has been excellent, the first service completed by one of the original team. The house has been transformed, especially in the cold winter mornings, now waking up to a warm home rather than rushing to light a fire is a true blessing. I would highly recommend using Humphrey and Crockett.
Graham in Hampshire Posted on 12/04/2022 , work completed 23/04/2021
Highly professional air source heat pump installers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphrey & Crockett are an excellent business to work with. They completed a full installation of an Air Source Heat Pump in my 100-year-old bungalow to a cracking standard. From my initial conversations with Paul Humphrey, we went through a substantial period of design, making sure that the new system would function exactly as required, noting the differences between Heat Pump and Oil fired systems. Working with Grant, H and C made all applications for rebates through the RHI scheme seamless. The quality of installation conducted by H and C's team over a week and a half was first class. All of the team were extremely professional, courteous and knowledgeable. Communication was great throughout and all commissioning and handing over of the system was conducted very well. Follow up, snagging and ongoing servicing has been very good: 6 months in and the system is working very well (better than our expectations with lower bills too!) and the one minor issue we had was responded to on the same day. I have received much interest in our village about our Air Source installation and have had no hesitation in recommending Humphrey and Crockett to our neighbours and friends. There are a lot of myths and bad press about heat pumps, but Paul and his team know exactly what the requirements are likely to be for houses in the Andover area, and our system is better, more affordable, with lower running costs and greener than an equivalent oil system. I look forward to continuing as a customer.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 13/01/2022 , work completed 26/07/2021
Great work and great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a gas fire replaced with a wood burner and the work done was top quality. Everything went smoothly from the quote to the delivery of the installed stove. They were most helpful and pleasant all the way, and I cannot recommend more their services.
Olivier in Hampshire Posted on 13/10/2021 , work completed 13/10/2021
Pressurised hot water system and wood burner install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted H&C to quote to replace a vented hot water tank with a pressurised system and to allow for it to future proofed by the addition of solar panels at a later date. Survey was carried out and several options were discussed. Then decided that I would also like to replace the old wood burner and relocate. The hot water tank replacement was carried out with as little inconvenience as possible. The wood burner install was delayed due to COVID and lack of supply. But Bill arranged for the old burner to be removed to allow me to continue with the house renovations. Once the new burner arrived in the country (months later) the install commenced. Work areas were tidied and cleaned daily. The workers were knowledgeable and professional and polite.
Tony in Hampshire Posted on 05/08/2021 , work completed 18/06/2021
Air Source Heat Pump Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work involved removal of the old oil boiler, the oil storage tank and the entire radiator and hot water system, and was replaced by the new air source heat pump, hot water and radiator system. Initial discussions and project planning were thorough and professional. The work was carried out without interruption and with as least inconvenience as possible. Inevitable snags were discussed and properly dealt with. Work areas were tidied and cleaned daily. The workers were professional and positive in their approach to the project and completed their work to a high standard. They were polite and respectful throughout. Future communication and aftercare is going to be provided. I would highly recommend the company for such projects.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 11/06/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
Heating system update
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New oil boiler, hot water cylinder and Evohome control system installed during refurbishment. Excellent service and advice during the whole process. The engineers, Kyle, Tom and Adam were first class. Very considerate and attention to detail. They were a pleasure to have working in my home. Paul Humphrey provided great advice and delivered on time and budget. We had a small glitch on the boiler burner with a loose terminal but this was a manufacturing fault which was resolved. I have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 14/05/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
Wood burner installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a wood burner installed and I was impressed with the professionalism and knowledge. The area was well prepared to allow the work and kept clean afterwards. Efficient and pleasant. The work was done according to the quote. Was given guidelines on how to make the most of the wood burner and make it last a long time.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 13/02/2021 , work completed 11/02/2021
Chimney Lining and chimney cleaning
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a small chimney fire and our wood burner needed re-installing. H & C came within 2 weeks(having been closed down due to Covid) and Sam and Karl did a great job. They put down protective plastic on all the carpets, installed liner, cleaned the flues left v clean. Very informative as to how to best use the wood burner. Nice guys & would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
Wood burner installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a flue fitted for a wood burner, the two gentlemen were on time very knowledgeable about the task to do, we were very pleased with their work and would have no problem with using this firm again in the future.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 07/01/2021 , work completed 07/01/2021
Installations at our house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following our daughter's recommendation (she had a new wood-burning stove fitted by Humphrey and Crockett last year), we approached Paul about installing a new condensing boiler, and a wood-burning stove in our front room. Paul visited us to assess how to carry out the two tasks. He recommended simplifying our ramshackle piping arrangements. We were impressed by Paul's thorough approach. We then visited the company's Andover premises to choose a suitable stove. Paul showed us the range of stoves stocked, and explained the pros and the cons of each of them. We chose a Woodtec stove, but were unsure about the standard or the wide version. Paul assured us that we could change our minds at any stage. On his second visit to us, he took precise measurements for each installation, and proposed to carry out the work in just ten days' time. Two workteams carried out both installations simultaneously. We met five team members; all of them impressed us by following covid-19 precautions, and leaving no mess overnight. The work involved lining both chimneys, laying additional fireplace tiles and installing new piping for the boiler's condensation. All these jobs were neatly and carefully done. We also changed our minds about the stove. Paul willingly accepted our decision, and arranged the swop. We have found Humphrey and Crockett easy to deal with, flexible and attentive to detail. All workmanship and service were of good quality. Altogether, a very positive experience.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 06/08/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Supply and Installation of a wood burner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work included advice on the correct wood burner for the location, including the room size, heat output and the new legal requirements; installation of the fire, a new chimney liner and chimney pot and insulation. The team paid great attention to protecting the carpet and room furnishings and left the room spotless. They protected the conservatory roof against any tiles that may have been dislodged whilst on the roof and even repaired a broken tile, not of their making! On completion, they explained the fire control mechanism and advised on the first lighting experience. They also went through the warranty registration procedures. All in all, quite excellent. I would strongly recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 04/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Happy Customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work consisted of altering an existing fireplace and installing an inset stove and flue liner. After visiting the showroom and a visit from Bill, a detailed quotation was received recommending a stove, which turned out to be perfect. The installation team turned up on the day promised and the work was done in a highly professional way. Clean and tidy, floors and carpets protected and all with a cheery smile. A very comprehensive run through of operating instructions was very welcome. Thanks H & C. Would have no hesitation in recommending.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 31/03/2020 , work completed 16/03/2020
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an oil burning stove removed and replaced with an electric one. It entailed capping the oil pipe and chimney, removing the oil fire and installing the electric one. They turned up on time, worked very efficiently and were friendly and helpful. Dreading the mess but their work was clean as a whistle! Would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 06/03/2020
Excellent log burner installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the opening up our fireplace and the installation of the log burner. A swift response to my initial request for a quote swayed me towards this company and I'm glad that it did. The visit to the showroom was very informative and Bill helped us to choose a stove that is ecodesign ready. The range of accessories on show (hearth, beam etc) also allowed us to create an aesthetically pleasing feature for our living room at a very reasonable price. The team installing the stove were punctual and started work exactly on time. They were polite, friendly and, most impressively, very tidy. The work only took 2 days to complete which was great. The team were knowledgeable and we felt guided and supported throughout the whole process (perfect as this is the first time we have ever owned a log burner). We would definitely use this company again and would happily recommend them to friends and neighbours.
Richard, Wiltshire Posted on 21/02/2020 , work completed 13/02/2020
Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, clean and efficient. Would highly recommend.
Colin, Hampshire Posted on 10/02/2020 , work completed 10/02/2020
Superb Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Appointment was at 08:30. They arrived on the dot and introduced themselves. Explained what order they were going to work and proceeded. The job had a couple of problems but the two chaps over came them with a smile. They were so clean and tidy, I asked them to come back and clean the rest of my house. I cannot believe they cleaned the chimney breast out and no mess what so ever. Very professional in all aspects and I was impressed. I would recommend them to everybody.
Rachel, Wiltshire Posted on 05/02/2020 , work completed 05/02/2020
Air vent install and chimney sweep
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moving house and stressful time. Needed a service and sweep of my log burner. Contacted Humphrey and Crockett, they sent a quote and booked me in. As an urgent job request they call me back to say they’d had a cancellation would I like the earlier time, perfect!. It was found at the service that we didn’t have an air brick which meant we couldn’t safely use the log burner. I got back onto phone and they dealt with my request quickly and professionally. We’ve seen 3 engineers from the company and all very experienced and professional, cleaned up after them wouldn’t have known they’d been here!. The whole experience with Humphrey and Crockett was first class, would highly recommend them.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 29/01/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are extremely pleased that we found Humphrey & Crockett. From our first meeting with Bill when he came to quote through to fitting the service was first rate. We had already bought a stove from Ebay but this was no problem. Bill noticed that we did not have the collar so ordered one in, Sam and Michael turned up on the given date and were very polite and friendly. The job was quite difficult as getting the liner in proved to be a struggle. They worked extremely hard all the while still happy. They fitted a new Riven Slate hearth and the woodburner and gave me a very good lesson in how to use it. I cannot thank them enough. I would happily recommend Humphrey and Crockett to anyone.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 20/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2020
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The stove has only just been fitted. They were very professional. Kept everything clean and tidy and went through everything we needed to know, very polite.
Kenneth, Wiltshire Posted on 07/12/2019 , work completed 07/12/2019
Great job. Thank you.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competitive quote, arrived on time. Very knowledgeable & did a fantastic job. Polite staff who tidied up after themselves. What more can I say. Very happy.
Michele, Hampshire Posted on 30/10/2019 , work completed 30/10/2019
Professional and honest.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a chimney liner installed and a Rayburn serviced. Sam and Adam were the two main installers and did a great job. They were very friendly and professional keeping me completely informed on how things were going. No mess was left and the job was completed on time and exactly as quoted. Will definitely use again.
Richard, Hampshire Posted on 03/10/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
Fitting electrical boiler to work alongside solid-fuel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been running a solid-fuel heating system for the past 40 years. We wanted to keep this going, but add an electrical boiler to the system. Humphrey and Crockett were recommended to us by the manufacturer of the boiler. They proved to be an excellent company. Care was taken in the discussions concerning the position of the new boiler and the control panel that would enable both systems to work together. They arrived on time and worked very hard, always cheerful and polite. My telephone questions were always answered knowledgeably. They really knew what they were doing, and we now have a fully functioning dual heating system. Thank you Humphrey and Crockett!
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 21/09/2019 , work completed 10/09/2019
Quick work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company responded quickly to my inquiry, visiting within two days to survey the job. Paul offered advice on managing the leaking water main whilst the replacement part was ordered. The new items were installed without delay. The work was completed thoroughly and quickly and the area cleaned. We are very pleased with the speed of response and the quality of service and installation.
Nigel, Hampshire Posted on 20/09/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
Quick installation and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tradesmen were polite, efficient and cleaned up after themselves. Would recommend. Thank you.
Tessa, Hampshire Posted on 18/09/2019 , work completed 18/09/2019
Clean, tidy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new log burning store fitted. From the quote, to the showroom to fitting the fire, we were given good advice and practical help in picking the right fire. A good experience. I would thoroughly recommend H&C Ltd.
Sara, Hampshire Posted on 13/08/2019 , work completed 13/08/2019
Knowledgeable, thorough & tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Both representatives were thoroughly professional and knew exactly what they were doing. They suggested ways around issues & did extra items to make the job more thorough & the refitting more polished.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/07/2019 , work completed 16/07/2019
Fantastic work and lovely log burner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been immensely impressed with Humphrey & Crockett from start to finish. From the first visit to the showroom to the final installation, everything has been very professional with excellent communication at every stage. The recommended log burner was absolutely perfect, the guys installing turned up promptly, worked very cleanly and were extremely polite and careful. The workmanship is excellent, the advice provided for how to set up and use the log burner correctly and efficiently was really useful and they talked us through the warranty process. The house was left in an immaculate state. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them and would certainly use them again in the future.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 27/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful direct advice, on time. Expertise apparent, efficient. Finished on time cleaned up, clear instructions given re appliance and warranty.
Kenneth, Hampshire Posted on 30/04/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
Top quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from start to finish. Good knowledge and helpful in choosing what to do. Work carried out to a high standard and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Paul, Hampshire Posted on 21/03/2019 , work completed 21/03/2019
Lovely log burner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are so pleased to have chosen Humphrey and Crockett to install our new Fireline log burner. They also installed a slate effect chamber, granite hearth and non combustible beam. It has really warmed the core of the house and made a lovely focal point in the lounge. The boys worked hard and were easy going and informative as this is our first burner. Our only disappointment was they did not do so well with clearing up after cutting the metalwork on our driveway. We would suggest some ground sheeting for future customers.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 04/03/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our new log burner. The lads worked hard to ensure a great result, including a chamber lined with slate, a beam and hearth. Fully recommended.
Karen, Wiltshire Posted on 26/02/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
A good experience with Humphrey and Crockett
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bill Crockett came and gave as a quotation for fitting a stove and all associated work, which I accepted. We weren't sure that the stove we had selected was the best for our needs so we visited their showroom and double checked. We were told by Paul that if we considered the stove was not the most suitable they would happily take it away and bring a different one. His team came on the allotted day, they were friendly and very professional. All work was carried out in the time scheduled and our home was left spic and span. We are really pleased as the price was very competetive we and recommend them.
E Davidson Posted on 25/09/2018 , work completed 25/09/2018
Professional & courteous service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our fireplace expertly installed by Humphrey & Crockett and always use them now for cleaning and service. They are a very friendly and professional team who I'd not hesitate to recommend.
Julian, Hampshire Posted on 31/08/2018 , work completed 31/08/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the professionalism and knowledge that the team at Humphrey & Crockett demonstrated, excellent service.
Fiona, Surrey Posted on 25/08/2018 , work completed 25/08/2018
A good experience.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On 11.07.18 I had my wood burning stove removed and a new fireplace installed. In spite of the intricacies of the job, the men from Humphrey & Crockett completed the work without fuss, left no mess of any kind and gave me clear instructions and information, so that I could use my new equipment without trouble. As I am aged 91, you will understand how much I appreciated their managing of the whole operation.
Joy, Hampshire Posted on 11/07/2018 , work completed 11/07/2018
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent advice & help during quotation period. Fitters on time, tidy & knowledgeable. Great job, very happy.
Tony, Hampshire Posted on 04/07/2018 , work completed 04/07/2018
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphrey & Corckett last year sorted chimney liner and pot on chimney. Used them to sweep chimney so they keep an eye out for problems.
Janet, Hampshire Posted on 29/06/2018 , work completed 29/06/2018
Almost a year on and still delighted with everything!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment I stepped into the showroom I was confident I would get the product and service I needed. The advice I was given was spot on and I felt I was listened to. The wood burner was installed over 3 days with minimal fuss and mess and having visited several other installer/ suppliers I felt I paid a fair price. The guys have just been back and swept whatever it is they sweep! All is well and the stove is burning very efficiently. I love, love ,love the wood burner and have no hesitation in recommending Humphrey and Crockett. PS. Emma in the office is a delight to deal with.
Debbie Posted on 24/06/2018 , work completed 24/06/2018
Very poor - no stars deserved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
H&C came to sweep our chimneys in early December. The outcome of this simple exercise was, apparently, we should replace our very serviceable stove and - surprise, surprise - they had the ideal one in their showroom for a bargain £3000 (nice try). They also managed to dislodge the cowls on the tops of two of the chimneys. Despite saying they would fix the cowls, they did nothing. I chased and chased as their empty promises piled up until finally - more than three months later - they quoted £800 to replace the cowls. That's right, we would have to pay close to a grand to rectify the damage they caused. Instead, we obtained quotes elsewhere and were able to get the work done for just over £300 within a week. NB this would be a no star rating but that is not possible.
Nick Boyd Posted on 29/03/2018 , work completed 29/03/2018
The trader replied (on 17/04/2018)
Dear Mr Boyd, We are sorry you feel this way about the service we have provided. However we are unaware of any formal complaint through our complaints procedure. The original cowls were in a poor state of repair and rusting through. One cowl blew off in the strong winds. We are not clear what you mean about any replacement stove. This is the first we have heard of this. Our high regard for staff and public safety as per regulations required this money to be spent.
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work carried out cleanly and efficiently.
Sylvia, Hampshire Posted on 27/03/2018 , work completed 27/03/2018
Very, very impressed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the guys that fitted my tyre, they were very professional, kind, clean and helpful. I would fully recommend H & C to anyone.
Carl, Hampshire Posted on 10/01/2018 , work completed 10/01/2018
Briliant service, advice and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment of first contact, Humphrey and Crockett were very helpful and informative. We found out after having the chimney swept that our existing liner and log burner had to be condemned. Humphrey and Crockett gave us advise and the work was carried out without any extra mess or hassle. Very happy with the whole service.
Spence Posted on 02/01/2018 , work completed 02/01/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly. Excellent service. Punctual. Clean and tidy.
Stewart, Hampshire Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
Excellent, professional, workers.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Two very good young men, Sam and Paul, did a really good, clean job. They also - as a bonus - cleared out the gutters! Would recommend them to anyone.
Wendy, Hampshire Posted on 26/04/2017 , work completed 26/04/2017
Review of Humphrey and Crockett
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphrey and Crockett installed a new long burner and stone fireplace and lined our chimney. They were professional, knowledable and responsive from the outset and we are thrilled with the results. The Humprehey and Crockett installation team were extremely courteous, timely and completed the installation with minimum disruption and mess. We are delighted with the results would highly recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/02/2017 , work completed 02/02/2017
A red hot company with red hot customer service supplying red hot products.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of an old log burning stove and it's antiquated surround. Then lining of flue, new limestone fireplace installed together with a new logo burning stove. Making good of adjacent plasterwork.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Flexible approach
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of wood burner and flue into existing fireplace. The situation was not straightforward as it was an old open fireplace which had already been modified. A flexible approach was needed to install the wood burner once the original fireplace was exposed and H&C provided this.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
5 Star Product & Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a wood burning stove fitted and I have to say I am over the moon with not only the finished product but also the level of after-care service. Thoroughly professional, easy to deal with and above all customer focused. I would whole-heartedly recommend Humphrey & Crocket!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Excellent customer service in an emergency.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our oil fired combination boiler stopped working and I suspected that the pump had seized, this was confirmed by Richard from Humphrey and Crocket. The parts were ordered and delivered within two days, Richard then returned to fit them. We were very pleased with the quality of the work and with the friendly and helpful attitude of everyone in the company. The parts were expensive but they kept the labour costs as low as possible, which was much appreciated. We would definitely recommend them to anybody else who needs a heating engineer.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/01/2017 , work completed 15/01/2017