We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hytek- WDC

Profile thumb 160819 which hytek logo
4.9

23 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Walrus Development Company, trading as Hytek-WDC has been supplying and fitting windows doors and conservatories in Essex and the surrounding areas for over 30 years.

We supply and install all types of windows, doors and conservatories including PVC, timber and aluminium products. We also supply and fit roofline products such as soffits and fascias as well as garage doors.

We believe our reviews speak for themselves. If you would like to see some more examples of our work, please visit our website at www.hytek-wdc.co.uk

Directors: M D Wraith and F T Wraith
Registered in England Number: 2184974 | VAT Number: 701 9745 37
Registered Office: Manor Place | Albert Road | Braintree | Essex | CM7 3JE

We take your privacy seriously, for further information please review our privacy policy at http://www.hytekwdc.co.uk/privacy/

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
    • Double glazing repairs
  • Glaziers

    • Replacement window services and repairs
    • Stained glass
    • Timber windows
    • Sash windows
  • Conservatories

    • Hardwood conservatories and orangeries
    • Conservatory repairs
    • Conservatory maintenance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
23 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Great job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and Gary from HY-TEK WDC installed a front door with side glass units, an internal door and replaced blown double glazed units. From start to finish their work was excellent. We were kept updated on installation dates, even through the current supply problems due to the pandemic. Their work ethic was second to none, being on time, fast, tidy and of high quality. We were very impressed by their clear explanation on how to operate the locking system, and ongoing maintenance. We would certainly use this company again.
Graham in Suffolk Posted on 11/08/2021 , work completed 11/08/2021
Usual speedy efficient work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Hytek, a local family run business, for 20 odd years for all our double glazing window and door fitting and once again very pleased with the quality of product and speed and efficiency of fitting by very friendly fitters. No pressurised sales technique at the outset. Quotes always realistic unlike some other companies where prolonged haggling is necessary. After sales service exemplary. No hesitation in recommending Hytek.
Customer in Essex Posted on 29/03/2021 , work completed 22/03/2021
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from quote through to fitting. We had 6 new windows and adjustments to existing french doors. Michael was very helpful at quotation stage and replied to my queries quickly. Fitters, Darren and Gary were very friendly and they were considerate, covering rooms with dust sheets and hoovering, so no cleaning up for us! Highly recommended - hope to use them again in the future.
Customer in Essex Posted on 22/03/2021 , work completed 19/03/2021
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Representative arrived on time, carried out initial survey and provided quotation speedily. Engineers/fitters arrived when expected and carried out their work speedily, efficiently, quietly and with the minimum of inconvenience. Most impressed, no hesitation in recommending this company. Thank you
Michael, Ipswich Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 20/05/2019
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We obtained several quotes for new windows and doors and decided to accept Michael’s quote and we are pleased that we did as we are delighted with our windows and doors. The team that fitted the windows and doors were cheerful, respectful, tidy and did a lovely job. We have no hesitation in recommending Hytek.
Customer in Essex Posted on 12/03/2019 , work completed 25/02/2019
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely professional and polite. Would use again. Very reasonable costs.
Carly, Essex Posted on 29/03/2018 , work completed 29/03/2018
Exceptional customer service, quality & price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Undoubtedly the best company we have ever dealt with. From start to finish they were brilliant, listening to our requirements and providing great support and advice. We have already recommended them as our neighbours were so impressed and commented on how tidy the fitters were!
MartinJames Posted on 30/01/2018 , work completed 30/01/2018
double glazed door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Supplied and installed a double glazed door and side panel.
Steve Posted on 27/10/2016 , work completed 27/10/2016
Excellent service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Hyteck WDC highly enough. A professional service from sales, survey & fitting. The windows look brilliant.
Nicole, Essex Posted on 14/07/2016 , work completed 14/07/2016
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 different jobs by Michael and his team. Conservatory for us and windows door & soffits for our daughter. Both jobs completed to full satisfaction. Michael uses his own team (no sub contractors) always prompt, polite & professional. Michael is very customer service orientated, but not pushy in any way. Great products and fair price, you only get what you pay for! Thanks Hytek.
Richard, Essex Posted on 20/05/2016 , work completed 20/05/2016
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael and his team installed new fascias and sofits around our house, along with a new front door and kitchen door. Additionally they installed a UPVC conservatory with a blue active glass roof on the existing dwarf wall and bricked up a previous side door that we didn't want replaced. Michael was excellent in going through all of our options clearly and making helpful suggestions. He asked about all the little details up front, so we didn't have to request anything post quote at additional cost. This was a different approach to other potential suppliers, who just measured and asked about the basics. Darren and his colleague always arrived on time and all the work was completed very quickly, with no mess. They were all very friendly and the standard of workmanship and quality of finish was excellent. We have an unusual shaped roof and the fascias and sofits look great, without any issues when installing. Overall I'd have no hesitation in recommending Hytek or using them again in the future.
DavidM Posted on 08/03/2016 , work completed 08/03/2016
Exemplary Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a single glazed conservatory, which was freezing in winter & boiling in summer - we didn't wish to replace with a white pvc one as this was out of character with our house. We found Hytek and Michael explained their offers and pricing. Unlike the usual "buy one, get one free" or "50% off" companies, Hytek's pricing was fair & reasonable. Installation went exactly as planned, to the extent that friends didn't even realise that the entire conservatory glass & roof had been replaced. The installation was so successful that we subsequently entirely removed the roof & door between the conservatory & rest of the house.. It is warm in window & cool in summer & we live in it most of the year! We have have a couple of minor problems since the replacement conservatory was installed; in both cases, the issues were promptly fixed, at no charge. Hytek is an exemplar, in an industry, littered with "cowboys" - I cannot recommend them too highly - quite simply a joy to deal with!
Site User Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
FRONT DOOR REPLACEMENT
Customer Service
Quality
Value
HYTEK HAVE JUST INSTALLED A NEW COPOSITE DOOR FOR US. MICHAEL WRAITH OFFERED AN EXCELLENT SERVICE TO US FROM THE VERY START TO THE FINISH. DARREN THE INSTALLER DID AN OUTSTANDING JOB; HIS APPROACH TO US AND THE JOB WAS JUST SIMPLY BRILLIANT. NOTHING WAS TOO MUCH TROUBLE AND WE WERE CONSULTED AT EACH STAGE OF THE INSTALLATION. IF YOU ARE FUSSY, THEN SO ARE THEY, FOR DETAIL AND CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. THE DOOR QUALITY IS EXCELLENT AS WELL. WE HAD NO PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE WITH THIS TYPE OF DOOR, HAVING ALWAYS HAD A SOLID WOODEN DOOR. WE WOULD RECOMMEND HYTEK TO ANYONE REQUIRING THIS TYPE OF WORK. NIGEL & DEBORAH
Captain Action Posted on 17/12/2014 , work completed 17/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Hytek on the strength of the reviews listed on 'Which Local', and we were not disappointed. Michael Wraiths is a very charming and helpful man. He will talk through all the possibilities and will help you to make the right decision, without any pressure whatsoever. We found their fitter was very skilled and did an excellent job. We recommended them to a friend, and she too is delighted. And all at a fair price.
ytc Posted on 08/09/2013 , work completed 08/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was only a small job, replacing a gutter clip that had broken. Nonetheless I was treated like a high value contract. Excellent service and no overcharging for the small job.
AlanClouter Posted on 04/03/2012 , work completed 04/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would like to recommend Michael Wraiths and this company. We recently installed double glazing in out porch and also received a quote for our windows. Although we only proceeded with the pitch we never felt pressured to do the windows, which we intend to do at a later date. The job was complicated but Michael and his team went the extra mile to ensure that we had what we wanted. We are very pleased with the end result. They were also honest at the end when re reduced the specification and appropriately reduced the final invoice. We heartily recommend this company.
HICKDOC Posted on 23/10/2011 , work completed 23/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I knew the quality of the materials would be high, because a sample frame was brought when the manager came for a full and most helpful discussion of exactly what was required before I had even accepted a quote. The fitters were clean, quiet & skilfull, with an obvious relish for high standards. They spent as much time on the finish as the fitting. Good quality, excellent service, a very fair price... Strongly recommended. I would use them again anytime.
trplawrence Posted on 11/12/2009 , work completed 11/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely delighted with the finished job. Michael was happy to advise on any issues we raised and was always quick to respond. Both Dean and John were professional, friendly, courteaous and tidy. Dean obviously takes great pride in his workmanship. A superb quality job replacing our Facias, Soffits and Guttering. Highly recommended.
Sandy99 Posted on 08/09/2009 , work completed 08/09/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Michael Wraith is the Sales Manager and nothing was too much trouble for him. We required windows and doors to be installed by Christmas and the company would have met the deadline. We had three quotes for the job and Michael's was the second best. Had we not been on such a tight budget, we would have used Hytek-WDC. His professionalism was first class, there was absolutely no hard sell, and I have no hesitation in recommending him and his company.
David Wall Posted on 11/01/2009 , work completed 11/01/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used this company recently for a replacement double glazing installation (see under Double Glazing) and were so impressed we said we would happily use the company again and had no qualm in recommending them to anyone. We decided it would be better to replace soffits, fascias, bargeboards and guttering which were looking worse for wear when compared to our new windows. As before we were impressed by Michael Wraith's helpfulness and his willingness to listen to what we wanted, offer advice as required (e.g. to have black guttering in place of brown). A clear written description and drawings of what was to be done was provided. Payment is 15% deposit on signing contracts, with the balance on completion. Payments are cash or cheque only, credit card facility is not available. As before our installers were a pleasure to have around the home. They explained when they would arrive and what they proposed to do on each work day the day before. They also re-installed our water butt which was a great help and they cleaned up each day so that you would not have known anyone was there. We would use this company again and have no qualm in recommending them to anyone.
theis Posted on 18/10/2008 , work completed 18/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used this company. First in 2003 for replacement windows and this year for replacement patio doors. On both occasions I have found them excellent. Sensible quotations with no pushy selling, an excellent product and first rate installers. Highly recommended.
robca1 Posted on 30/09/2008 , work completed 30/09/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Design, ordering and payment: We got quotes from a number of Which? Local recommended installers for our area. We were impressed by Michael Wraith's helpfulness and his willingness to listen to and make sure he was clear about what we wanted, undertake research into anything he had not encountered before, offer advice and information from manufacturers as required and provide clear written descriptions and drawings of our designs, ensuring any alterations we made were clearly incorporated into revised designs. The quote was not the cheapest, but we had a detailed description of what we were getting and Michael had spent a significant amount of time working with us. Even when there was a slight glitch, Michael helped us through the maze with his trademark patience (we had signed contracts by then and his approach was as helpful as before). Payment is 15% deposit on signing contracts, with the balance on completion. Payments are cash or cheque only, credit card facility is not available. - Installation: Our installers were a pleasure to have around the home. They explained when they would arrive and what they proposed to do on each work day the day before. This allowed us to prepare rooms for installation. They were careful not to damage tiles, etc when removing old and installing new windows and they cleaned up each day so that you would not have known anyone was there. They even spotted and told us when a glazed unit was cracked, arranged for a replacement and installed it within a week. - Conclusion: We would happily use the company again and have no qualm in recommending them to anyone.
theis Posted on 27/07/2008 , work completed 27/07/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this company three times now. Michael Wraith the regional sales manager has given excellent service, by returning to our home as amny times as we needed and had lots of patience with us. The workmanship of the window installers was excellent. Very thorough, polite and cleaned up at the end of each day. Nothing was too much trouble.
Karen Estlea Posted on 13/06/2007 , work completed 13/06/2007