We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Igloo Environmental Limited

Profile thumb theydon 2mb
4.9

21 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–16:30
  • Monday 09:00–16:30
  • Tuesday 09:00–16:30
  • Wednesday 09:00–16:30
  • Thursday 09:00–16:30
  • Friday 09:00–16:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Proudly celebrating our 13th year in the solar industry.

We have been designing and installing Solar PV systems since 2009. Our team has amassed invaluable experience in both the residential and commercial sectors with system sizes ranging from a single panel on a shed roof to a thousand panels mounted in a field. We also specialise in sustainable construction.

We are always happy to discuss a potential project so please call for a friendly, informal chat or drop us an email and we will help as best we can.

What we do

  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar Panel Maintenance
  • Roofers

    • Emergency roofing service
    • Flat roofing
    • Roofline
    • GRP roofer
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
  • Builders

  • More Services

    • photovoltaic installations
    • battery storage
    • pv

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
21 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Solar panel and battery installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We could not fault the service. Igloo answered all our many questions prior to installation. The work was done very professionally, and the installers also fixed minor problems with our existing roof tiles and electrical system at no extra cost. During installation they stayed late to ensure we were never left without a fully working supply and system, and were always helpful. We are very pleased with the panels and the battery system which so far seems every bit as efficient as Igloo Environmental said it would be. Post installation they were also very helpful with the paperwork and with answering queries from our electricity supplier to get the system registered. We would recommend Igloo Environmental to anyone considering installing solar panels.
Customer in Essex Posted on 16/04/2022 , work completed 21/02/2022
Friendly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Igloo explained our solar panel and battery system options well and produced the most competitive and detailed quote. The system was installed and commissioned with the same friendly professional service we had right through the process. Recommended.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 13/01/2022 , work completed 07/01/2022
Domestic installation of solar panel system and battery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Igloo installed a full domestic solar energy system for me about one year ago. It included 20 solar panels, an inverter, and a smart water heater. The work was carried out in good time, and I was totally satisfied with Warren and the team from Igloo. There was one initial problem with the smart water heater, in that the immersion thermostat was not working. It was quickly replaced, and hot water was quickly being heated by the system. A few days later the new thermostat failed and again it was replaced. Warren came back within a few days of me reporting the issue. We think it was just a poorly made thermostat as we’ve not had any further problems. So great customer service from Warren. To complete the system, in the last month, Igloo added a battery and added a few more solar panels to maximise production. I was completely happy to go back to Igloo based on my first experience. For the extra panels, all the scaffolding was installed and removed exactly as agreed within a very tight timeline. The panels were fitted on the day that was scheduled, however, there was an issue with the fitting of one panel in that it could not be safely installed. The cost was removed from the invoice and the panel was taken away without an issue. The battery was fitted a few weeks later once DNO approval was given. It took a day and half and was completed without any issues. I would recommend Warren/Igloo for anyone out there looking to the have all or some of the above installed at their home.
Customer in Essex Posted on 22/07/2021 , work completed 02/07/2021
on schedule and budget, great communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Igloo Environmental installed a 2.72 kWp rooftop solar plant on a rented-out bungalow on schedule and budget, and kept me informed at every stage - great communication before and during the project and minimum disturbance for the tenants. MCS certificate provided. Recommend the company.
Customer in Essex Posted on 18/03/2020 , work completed 16/03/2020
Very helpful advice at consultation visit re options available. Work done thoroughly, carefully and courteously.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were interested in improving our energy efficiency and carbon footprint and found the consultation visit helpful, clear and informative. As a consequence, the main work done was the fitting of a TESLA Powerwall to work alongside PV solar panels and we also decided to replace a gas hob with an induction hob and change to LED bulbs and light fittings wherever possible throughout the property. It would have been helpful to know in advance how long the application to the grid for the powerwall would take. Once the work commenced, we were kept informed whenever there were problems, such as querying the suitability of choice of the induction hob, unforeseen delays on other jobs and illness. Both men involved worked hard and efficiently when in our home and kept us informed of what was going on and when, such as the power being off at times.They "went the extra mile" when we asked them to supply and fit extra light fittings. They tidied up at every juncture. They kept exactly to the original quote and that plus the additional work was all done at a reasonable and good price. The TESLA App was explained clearly and patiently and there was a follow up call a few days after completion to ensure we were happy with the app. Everything done has been working well
Customer in Essex Posted on 02/03/2020 , work completed 06/02/2020
Solar panel check
We had received a quote to replace an inverter on our solar installation and were rather worried about the company who quoted so asked Warren Brown of Igloo Environmental Ltd to check to see if we had been given good advice. He found the first company had given us totally dishonest advice and in fact they had turned the inverter off in the attic to cause a problem. He told us that the original company was a scam and saved us from spending a lot of money since he turned the inverter back on and said no further action was necessary at this stage. How wonderful to find an honest trader and we would certainly recommend him to anyone with a similar problem.
Customer in Essex Posted on 20/01/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Solar PV installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault this company, Warren was so helpful and knowledgeable from the outset and went out of his way to ensure everything ran smoothly, on time and to our satisfaction. He was always on hand and this has continued after the installation, the after care service is excellent and one reason we chose Igloo; we haven't been disappointed in any way and the installation of the solar panels is probably the best thing we have ever done! Warren's team worked hard and professionally on the installation and completed it within the day, they were polite and courteous and we can't recommend Igloo highly enough.
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 25/03/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful, knowledgeable, prompt responses, efficient, neat, problem-free, on time, good quality, impressive, absolutely recommended.
Customer in Posted on 01/02/2019 , work completed 28/12/2018
Very thorough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was referred to Igloo by Ikea for an unusual solar PV project. Andrew Gilbert was very thorough with the whole process, no short cuts etc. Everything done correctly by the book. The actual installation process was done in a day. The customer service during the whole project was outstanding but more importantly, the after sales service is admirable. Would recommend Igloo and Andrew 10/10
Customer in Buckinghamshire Posted on 05/12/2018 , work completed 26/11/2018
Professional, communicative and patient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andrew and Marc installed a solar and battery system for us over the summer, having beaten the quotes we had received from a larger supplier. Andrew was communicative and helpful throughout and maintained the support when the inverter decided not to behave (we have a slightly atypical setup). Andrew and Marc stayed in touch and on the case until the system was up and running. I would happily recommend them to anybody.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 26/11/2018 , work completed 10/06/2018
Faultless on all fronts
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a recommendation by friends we contacted Igloo and were pleased to learn they covered Norfolk. Andrew was so professional and recommended a system of panels and a storage battery that was just perfect for our needs. The installation was faultless and carried out in one day. Andrew even checked that we were happy and the system was working as it should be while he was on holiday! Fantastic service and brilliant price.
Carole B Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
Corrected another supplier's poor work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a PV system installed by a failed installer 3 years ago, it never worked properly so I contacted Igloo to see whether they could identify faults and correct/improve the errors. Andrew came and did a survey and review of the other company's installation and quickly realised the faults. Igloo then sent a professional team and organised polite, quick and efficient scaffolders to attend and repair/correct the faults and our system is now performing 100% as it should. I never give 10/10 for this type of review and rarely use the word 'excellent', but I make an exception here for Igloo and Andrew, I simply could not have expected more!
Graeme Loveland Posted on 17/10/2017 , work completed 17/10/2017
8.1kw rooftop solar instalation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent experience at an excellent price! Andrew was very knowledgeable and flexible taking into account our requirements on quite a complex roof. Installation was spread over two days with no complaints. Thank you Igloo! Alex
Alex Strothe Posted on 01/06/2017 , work completed 01/06/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andrew and Marc were extremely helpful throughout the whole process. I would highly recommend this company if you are considering solar. We are very pleased with the system.
Mark Thomas Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
Tesla lithium solar battery installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The installation of the Tesla lithium solar battery system was completed in a little over a day and was mated to a roof mounted solar panel system previously installed by Igloo Environmental five years ago. Igloo Environmental staff Mark and Andrew handled the job with superb professional skill, the site was left in pristine condition. The company Igloo Environmental is a solid reliable business and we would highly recommend them to any prospective future clients. Well done lads 10/10
Mr William Clark Posted on 07/04/2017 , work completed 07/04/2017
5 stars from us
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We decided on Igloo to install our solar panels as a result of a personal recommendation. We could not be more grateful for that tip. The installation went more smoothly than we could have imagined and we have been enjoying the benefits ever since. We were amazed how much electricity was generated in the winter months and now the early Spring sunshine is shining down on the panels and the power of these generating panels is being used to the full. We have already had a reduction in our fuel bill and a promise of reimbursement for the electricity we have generated. We are so impressed that we have ordered a storage battery in addition and we want to single out Andrew Gilbert for his positive and friendly attitude and his after-sales service. We recommend Igloo whole-heartedly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/03/2017 , work completed 16/03/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Only one day was needed to fit the solar panels (and it all went very smoothly, with courteous and careful installers) but there was also quite a lot of preparation involved (admin, mainly) and Igloo could not have been more helpful. First rate in every way.
Susan Posted on 21/02/2017 , work completed 21/02/2017
Professional and excellent solar installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andrew was very professional all through the process, gave good advice, sent technical documents, agreed installation date and kept to it. Price was very good as well, highly recommended
Jidegold Posted on 15/02/2017 , work completed 15/02/2017
Solar installation and roof /chimney repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have to review this company as they are the best in my book we where recommended by a family member to igloo environmental , Andrew Gilbert turned up on time to do a survey of the roof, as it turned out a great help found a few problems with the chimney stack, which I knew there might be a problem but in the end was not as igloo done the lot included new EPC helped with all the paper work with the FITs and electric company. But I must give credit to Peter and his two roofing men who turned up at 7.30 am on two of the coldest and snowy days in January . Took part of the roof off to get into the loft space and put steels in to prop chimney up and rendered it up put roof back with new lead flashing and re placed the whole ridge and cemented the edge that was Kosta and Roman two coffees over two days credit to them . Not forgetting Mark the sparks of the team not trouble seeing as we did not want any surface cables showing in out 300 year old cottage , He ran the cable behind plaster board with no trouble he even was going to vacuum the dust up . Lastly CCraig and his team who were up on the roof putting 12 solar panels on the roof and took all the scaffolding down and the old sky dish that was no trouble to take down Thank you all very much indeed for a good job done
Ron eaton Posted on 15/02/2017 , work completed 15/02/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Andrew gave great advice on the details of a the solar installation. Good job installing it very smoothly and on time. We are very happy with our installation - should have done this much sooner!
Miriam Posted on 13/02/2017 , work completed 13/02/2017
good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The solar panels were fitted well. Mr. Andrew Gilbert was excellent in his position as representative and surveyor, in his explanation and management of the fitting. The only downside was the electrician was in such a hurry to go he left his equipment behind.
A, Middlesex Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thorough and professional
Brian, Derbyshire Posted on 17/08/2016 , work completed 17/08/2016