We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

I & M Plumbing

Profile thumb 6e9303c7 5e23 4b3c b10c 299110282051
4.9

35 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Islington Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Islington Trading Standards to create an Islington Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check.

About

With over 15 years’ experience in domestic plumbing and heating, I am a fully qualified gas engineer also including Hot Water Cylinders and Part P Electrics which enables me to install, fault find, zone valves, thermostats, programmers as well as smart controls.

I & M plumbing Ltd offers a wide range of services throughout London covering everything from large site contracts to small repairs, no job is too small or too big for us.

I am a qualified Vaillant advanced installer, with this I am able to offer extended warranties on any Vaillant boilers.

I am dedicated to the job at hand and can work to tight deadlines even if it means working late hours and weekends, I am disciplined at finding the most efficient and practical solutions for each problem I encounter ensuring I always leave customers happy and satisfied, this is at the heart of everything I do.

I am always at the end of the phone whenever our customers need us, able to attend in emergencies, advice and all quotation needs.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
  • More Services

    • full central heating installation - gas certified engineer

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Heating and plumbing carried out in time and budget to a high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The heating system work involved replacing a gas boiler and hot water tank, several radiators and associated pipe work. Plumbing work was also carried out involved replacing 2 toilets and a shower room. In each case Illy arrived on time and his bills were on budget. He carrier the work very professionally to a high standard so I would be pleased for him to undertake any further heating or plumbing work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/10/2021 , work completed 30/06/2021
Helpful, friendly, efficient local plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I spotted Illy's van several years ago and made a mental note that when I needed a plumber in the future I'd call on him. I have done over the years, just for little things, and has always been really helpful, friendly and efficient. When I needed a new boiler this summer he was the same. He explained things clearly and was completely straight forward about the costs involved. Maybe he isn't the cheapest plumber in the world but then I wanted the very best I could get and you have to pay for the best. I couldn't recommend him more highly.
Rosemary in Greater London Posted on 23/10/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Hard to coordinate with, late for appointment, concerned with getting paid
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The immersion heater in my 40 year old hot water cylinder blew so I went on to Trusted Traders and found 5 potential plumbers to have a look. I&M were the first plumbers I contacted based on the reviews. It required me to text quite a lot to pin down the appointment and chasing up. The plumber seemed keen to reiterate before he came, that the visit to diagnose / quote would be chargeable, which was fine by me. I explained that on the day they said they could come that it would need to be at 08:30am as I had a doctor's appointment at 09:40 and had to allow travelling time. On the basis of 08:30, I purchased parking for his van with the local council. He actually got to my front door about 08:55am and up to my flat by 09:00am. He did not apologise or explain why he was late. He seemed annoyed when I had to hurry him with the visit as I needed to leave for the doctor. I told him if he'd not been late, then we would have not had to rush the quotation. He commented negatively on the installation done way back in 1981 ( a tendency of some tradesmen ) and demonstrated how the immersion element was too long to remove and therefore a whole new cylinder was required. He told me again that although he'd only been on site a short time, that the visit was chargeable. That annoyed me because it felt as if my honesty / integrity was being called into question. The invoice came 4 days after the visit and I paid it immediately, but chose to continue with another plumber.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/09/2021 , work completed 23/07/2021
The trader replied (on 01/10/2021)
Dear customer thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry for being late and you are unsatisfied. Due to current road closures, traffic got worse and is difficult to predict how long it will take to get from one job to another. We do let customers know in writing as well on the phone about charges to make sure there’s no confusion or surprises. We do not demand any formal payments on the spot, in fact we invoice people few days after job is completed. Due to high demand for works we can’t get to read text messages or emails straight away, apologies for not responding as quickly as you have expected. I can’t seem to find any correspondence you have sent us to try and solve this matter. Once again thank you for your feedback as we’re always trying to improve our services.
Efficient and tidy installation of new gas boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 9 year old Bosch Worcester Greenstar developed a leak. Illy gave me options to repair it or replace it. He explained that Greenstar boilers are difficult to dismantle and so expensive to repair and advised that replacement was a better option in the long term, since the replacement Valiant came with a ten year guarantee and was also easier to repair, should it be necessary. I found that Which? showed this assessment was correct and that Valiants are a Best Buy because of their serviceability. The quote was reasonable, and Illy was able to carry it out within a few days, while I was away from my house. He kept me in the picture about what he was doing and he undertook all necessary works, including replacing some radiator valves, tidily.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/06/2021 , work completed 07/05/2021
The trader replied (on 27/07/2021)
Dear costumer your feed back is very important to us and I thank you for taking your time to write a review. You made it easy for us by just letting us get on with the works. Pleasure working for you.
Friendly, efficient, helpful. Highly Recommend this Heating Engineer/Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great Customer service, got straight to work servicing two boilers. Repaired one quickly he had the parts. Offered great advice, friendly, local. I highly recommend this company and Illy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/10/2020 , work completed 02/10/2020
New Combi Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy successfully installed a new combi boiler for me despite my flat being in a challenging location in the building, requiring an extra long flue and hence more work! He gave me a realistic and fair quote then took on the challenge of the work and completed it in record time. He was professional, courteous and communicative throughout all stages of the installation. He did an excellent job and his gas and plumbing skills are exemplar. I was delighted with the result. Oh, and Illy always cleans up after completing a first class installation! I would highly recommend his professional services to all my family and friends without hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/09/2020 , work completed 15/09/2020
Friendly and efficient, would definitely call again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We realised that we had a leak inside our wall and called Illy. He was punctual, friendly and unbelievably efficient! In less than an hour, he had managed to cut into the wall, find the broken pipe and fix it. He made as little mess as possible. His prices were very reasonable. We were very happy with his work and would definitely recommend to friends.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 31/07/2020 , work completed 30/07/2020
Jobs well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is good. He is fast. He is reliable. He arrives when he says he will. He wore a mask and gloves to minimise the danger of spreading covid-19. He invoices reasonably. As of yesterday he has done two small maintenance jobs. Yesterday's was replacing a leaking bath mixer cartridge. The first was in 2017. He replaced a leaking basin tap mixer cartridge and mended a Geberit dual flush plate that had been wrongly installed by my original builder/plumber. I trust Illy. Without question I will go to him first for any plumbing/heating matter. And I would hope he would always be available. I wish I'd known of him in 2013 when I had to engage a contractor to plumb from scratch two kitchens and 4 bathrooms in two new flats in a house conversion.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/06/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
Excellent professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy has done several jobs for me. He has sorted an under sink emergency leak in a kitchen cupboard. His plumbing work is first class. His communication is great, he comes when he says he will and calls en route. He fixed and relaid my patio decking area exactly to specification He also completed a shower refurbishment where the original tiles were leaking. He removed the tiles and tanked the walls, retiled and fitted new mixer and redecorated. The finish was to a very high standard. He is neat, tidy, punctual and professional. Plus he charges a fair price. I would not hesitate to recommend him
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/04/2020 , work completed 25/01/2020
great gas engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a boiler service done and found Illy from I&M Plumbing listed on the fire service website.(London Fire Brigade) I called him up and found him to be helpful and efficient.He turned up at the agreed time and was very thorough.I have since used him to service the boiler yearly and he has also come in to cap off a gas pipe and change bathroom taps.He works quickly , is adaptable(if the work turns out to be bigger than what was originally asked for he just gets on and does it)and always cleans up any debris left from the job.His prices are reasonable and he gives constructive feed back and advise and I would recommend him to anyone needing a reliable and professional service.
Ms Pryce, Greater London Posted on 06/08/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Efficient repair to shower temperature mixer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Illy through the Which Trusted Traders list. The temperature control on my recessed shower panel was not working. Over the phone Illy told me the minimum cost it would be if it could be fixed easily, and also the potential additional costs if he needed to take out the control and take it to his supplier to find a replacment. He managed to fix the problem -valve stuck - quite quickly and without having to break the tiles it was set in or get a new unit. I am very happy with his work, the problem was sorted at minimum disruption to my tiled bathroom, and no unecessary work was done so the job was completed for the minimum cost originally quoted. I will be very happy to use Illy again in the future, and am happy to recommned him on that basis.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/05/2019 , work completed 13/05/2019
Excellent experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is a real find! He replaced a bath, shower and hand basin for us and also plumbed in a washing machine and dryer. He came exactly when arranged with two assistants. They finished the job within the day and left the apartment in an immaculate state! The cost was very reasonable too! It's so good to have found such a reliable plumber, as I live in Oxfordshire and it's always been a (not successful!) lottery to find somebody I could trust to do the work properly. I have no hesitation in recommending Illy to anybody needing a plumber in Islington. He thoroughly deserves all of the 5* reviews! Not only all of that, but he is a most delightful man....
Customer in Oxfordshire Posted on 05/01/2019 , work completed 21/12/2018
Central heating repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy was recommended to me by another plumber. He came at short notice was very professional and tidy and helpful. I had no hot water or heating as a result of a faulty air valve. He sorted out my problem quickly and even managed to sort out another problem with a « Y » connector on a washing machine. He wasn’t expensive. I would recommend. Thank you Illy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/01/2019 , work completed 03/01/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Illy having had various people come and try and sort out a radiator issue unsuccessfully. He soon identified the problem and fixed it, installing new piping so the system is now working properly for the first time. He was a pleasure to deal with, efficient and very reasonably priced – all the reviews here are very well deserved. I would definitely recommend Illy and will certainly be using IM plumbers again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/12/2018 , work completed 20/12/2018
Boiler Flush / install new shower mixer / toilet over flow
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is the most reliable professional I have ever come across. I’ve been using his plumbing services for a few years now. He goes above and beyond to find a solution and fix a problem before replacing with new. He fees are very reasonable, he turns up when agreed and he clears up after the job. Have recommended him to loads of friends.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/12/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
Honest and high quality finish - thanks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy proved to be a great tradesman. after a few days watching his team work on the bathroom reno, I was happy to leave him with the house keys. Close attention to detail, quick to fix any issues which came up and ensures the best quality finish for your budget. There was no nonsense or changing price after the work began, pleasure to work with. Happy to recommend him for any plumbing or renovation needs.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/12/2018 , work completed 07/12/2018
Fast, great quality and value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is my go-to plumber/gas safe engineer. I have had my bathroom completely refurbished (tiling, plumbing and unit fitting) in a previous property. He was efficient, the quality of the install was great and the price was very reasonable. In my new property, Illy has removed the old boiler and pipework, installed a new combi-boiler and re-piped the heating system. The work was done on time, safely and the boiler/heating system works perfectly. I highly recommend him for any plumbing/gas installations.
Antony Lord Posted on 23/10/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018
Damaged floorboards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hired Illy to replace the boiler and radiators after reading reviews on Which. I’m disappointed that the damage done as a result of removing floorboards to install the pipes. The floorboard were cut in a straight line across 4 boards in 2 places. It looks very botched and unprofessional. I now have an additional bill to repair the damage. I told Illy I was disappointed but he did not fix the situation.
Nicola Joyce Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
Incredibly swift response and very reassuring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My girlfriend smelt a gas leak and after an EDF inspection, Illy came out within a few hours and checked everything. He was back the next evening with the equipment and parts needed and fixed the issue within the hours. In talking through what he had found and done it gave me 100% confidence that the job was done safely and correctly which is the most important thing when it comes to gas leaks. Hugely recommend for any similar situations.
Peter Tomlin Posted on 05/10/2018 , work completed 05/10/2018
The best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ilya is totally professional and highly skilled. He came to the rescue in my home and i could not recommend him highly enough. The best.
Sean Simpson Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Trustworthy and highly capable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After experiencing various heating engineers through the years whose knowledge and abilities were haphazard and limited, it has been a relief to have found Illy. He not only immediately identified and solved a long standing problem but also clearly described the possible steps to achieve a properly working system. He carried out the work with minimal disruption, working conscientiously and cleanly, and after flushing the system radiators which had previously had a token presence, now are fully functional. I would trust his advice and his work was fairly priced, I would certainly use him again.
robertalb Posted on 08/01/2018 , work completed 08/01/2018
IM plumbing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The reviews are well deserved. As a landlord, he helped me out no end with replacing a boiler. From the initial contact to thanking him the very next day for a job very well done. Not only a top installer who goes go out of his way and gives that extra bit but a thoroughly nice guy to go with it. I shall be using him from now on for all plumbing and heating work required. Thank you Illy.
Kevin Parfitt Posted on 07/12/2017 , work completed 07/12/2017
Excellent prompt and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As per the experience of others, Illy did us an excellent job replacing our boiler. Work was neat and tidy and prompt. No hesitation in recommending him highly - totally satisfied.
Levett-Yeats Posted on 01/11/2017 , work completed 01/11/2017
prompt, efficient and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Illy to replace an old boiler with a new combi boiler. He and his assistant Francesco arrived on time, worked exceptionally hard, and was very helpful in sorting out a number of other minor problems at the same time, such as a loose basin tap and a blocked shower valve. We will certainly be using him again when it comes to putting in the new radiators. Thoroughly recommended.
Which? consumer Posted on 22/03/2017 , work completed 22/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, prompt and well priced. Illy took the time to listen to our requirements and the job was finished in good time.
Les-tah Posted on 30/11/2016 , work completed 30/11/2016
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Illy to replace our gas combi boiler after reading reviews on this website. Many of the reviews were glowing, and I can only say they were well deserved. He visited between Christmas and New Year to provide a quote, and the quote was quick in arriving and competitive. Ily made useful and pragmatic suggestions about how to do the work, and this saved us money. He was courteous, punctual and the job was completed on schedule. We would absolutely recommend him and will certainly use him again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/02/2016 , work completed 02/02/2016
Very good quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had to call Illy as an emergency plumber when we had our bathroom renovated. He came quickly and immediately fixed the problem. He spotted another issue which he subsequently fixed and saved us from a world of trouble. He and his assistant were very friendly and straightforward, did a very neat job at a reasonable price. We will certainly use IM plumbers again and can wholly recommend them.
2011-04-21 14:55:04.833 Posted on 24/10/2015 , work completed 24/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had several plumbers come out for quotes when I moved house and decided to go with Illy as he was very honest about the work that needed doing and explained things very clearly. The work he has done has been a great standard at a really fair price. He is also very friendly and helpful and has been happy to give us advice on the phone on a few occasions. Have already recommended him to family.
Sonyanme Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
Simple, quick, friendly and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is everything you'd want from any tradesman: honest, knowledgeable, straightforward, punctual, great communications, good value... He gave an accurate estimate, sourced all the parts, came on a Saturday to fit around our schedule, was friendly and updated me with changes along the way as he discovered things. As a landlord, having someone who takes full responsibility for the whole job and you know will do it perfectly and will be professional with your tenants is a huge benefit. I will be using him again and I will be highly recommending him to others.
SaraClymo Posted on 31/03/2015 , work completed 31/03/2015
Accurate, conscientious and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend Illy and his work. He is a personable, professional and knowledgeable plumber. Illy has visited us 3 times in the last 2 years; clearing pipes, installing an outdoor tap and dishwasher, and replacing a kitchen sink (10th Jan 2015). Setting up the appointments was straightforward and professional, he returns calls and texts promptly. He arrives on time, and has all the tools needed for the job with him. I had confidence in his evaluation of the jobs, and the quotes were honest. e.g he said at quotation time, for the sink installation, that the job may take longer and cost more if snags were hit. The quality of the work is high, he communicates well, has excellent attention to detail and charges a fair price.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/01/2015 , work completed 10/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a reliable plumber to carry out two small but relatively complicated plumbing jobs. Based on the previous reviews i decided to try Illy's firm. Ditto all the previous reviews. Illy completed the work to an excellent standard. He arrived when he said he would, was helpful, friendly and proactive in helping me to get relevant plumbing parts. His fees where also reasonable. I would recommend him highly.
practical2 Posted on 07/10/2014 , work completed 07/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Illy is the best plumber in Stoke Newington. I have used various other plumbers but none are as good in terms of professional information, response time and friendliness as Illy. I will never change plumber again after finding this gentleman.
namery19 Posted on 13/05/2014 , work completed 13/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Illy on the basis of the previous two recommendations. When no one else could be bothered to get back to me Illy could. He came over swiftly and installed some drainage piping for my new washing machine and did a great job where access to the pipes was very limited and difficult (behind the kitchen furniture) which Currys (rightly) had refused to install as the distance to the drainage was too far for the new washing machine's pump. He did a thorough and neat job, tidied up after the works, and has left everything looking great and working a treat. I can now contact the installers of the washing machine so they can complete the installation thanks to Illy. Illy is very efficient and friendly and I can recommend his services.
spdk1969 Posted on 01/10/2012 , work completed 01/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Illy via Suzanne's warm endorsement below (or could be that her review, dated 4 Jan 2011, is above mine - I'm not sure how these contributions are organised on the page...) I can only echo all she says. Although, like everyone who says that, I'll add some comments of my own. In the past year, Illy has saved the day by replacing a leaky valve in a supply pipe, fitting a new radiator, sorting out another rad which had "died", and most recently installing a new boiler. I seem to remember he coped with a minor electrical job somewhere along the way too. Next he'll be replacing a length of (overly narrow) gas piping, and I've just discovered that the dishwasher's on the blink, so I will be turning to Illy for that too. I know he works on big projects for millionaires - but he also works for humble non-millionaires in modest little houses & flats, and no doubt gives everyone the same excellent standard of hard work & first-class service. He seems to know about everything, plus he happens to be unfailingly charming, polite, friendly and all-round helpful.
jarabaa Posted on 22/02/2012 , work completed 22/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I never normally write reviews for anything. However I have had such bad experiences with plumbers over the years - that I really thought I ought to share a real treasure. Illy has done various repairs to my house, my mother's, sisters, mother & father in law, sister-in-laws, various friends (including a VERY fussy handy-man). This has included boiler replacements, bathroom/kitchen installations, radiator problems etc etc. However he can also turn his hand to building works in relation to any works that need doing. He really takes pride in his work and will always turn up and do more than is required. He is not out to make a fast buck and will give you a number of options that might suit your budget. His prices are more than reasonable and his work is of an excellent standard, yet he is hard working and unassuming. If there are any problems he will always come back to iron out any small problems. I am not his agent - just someone who is amazed that decent plumbers do exist (and make your life SO MUCH more enjoyable!)
Suzanne Mooney Posted on 07/01/2011 , work completed 07/01/2011