Endorsed by Which?

Insomnia IT Systems

5.0

62 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

My name is Mark Evans, I am the owner of Insomnia I.T. Systems and I am a fully qualified, fully insured, and a highly experienced I.T. technician. I started my business in 2001 and it has grown every year. I remain a sole trader so I can provide the one to one service so many customers prefer.

I deal with home users to multi-million pound turn over companies, and I have gained an impeccable reputation from the many years of being established. I have become a Which? Trusted Trader as I consider it a privilege to be vetted to a high standard which reassures customers that the business I have built from scratch is a trust worthy company that you feel comfortable inviting into your home or business to repair your I.T. equipment. I am also a proud member of the Derbyshire County Council Trusted Trader Scheme with 100% positive feedback.

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

    • PC Repairs
    • Virus and malware removal
    • Data recovery
    • Wireless networking
    • Laptop repair
  • More Services

    • networking
    • virus removal
    • websites
    • laptop screen repairs.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
62 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
So glad I contacted Mark
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm not the worlds best with IT and spotted Marks sign written van whilst driving. He came to my home to look at the problems I was having with my laptop, he was punctual and very polite. Mark patiently explained the problem in a way I could understand and showed me what was wrong. He carried out a temporary fix and explained I would soon need a new laptop. Although he could supply a new one he explained to me what I should look for and at my request sent me a quote for him to supply one. The price and specification he quoted was very good compared with high street retailers and so I bought one from him - so glad I did. He delivered the new one and swapped all my information off the old one so I was ready to go as well as explaining the aftercare service I would receive. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mark as he is professional, honest, friendly and obviously very competent at what he does - simply brilliant service.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 27/11/2023 , work completed 27/11/2023
Another problem sorted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark solves all my problems - always ready to help in any way. Wouldn't know what to do without him!
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 13/06/2023 , work completed 12/06/2023
Prompt, fast and able to diagnose quickly my computer problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is not the first time I have used this service. Mark is extremely knowledgeable having been in this business for many years. He was prompt and fast and able to resolve the issues I had with my Computer. He was very helpful by explaining in lay man terms just what the problem was and how he had solved it. He charged a very fair price and I would not hesitate in recommending to anyone who has issues with their computer.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 30/01/2023 , work completed 30/01/2023
Professional and Knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark custom built our tower to our requirements, installed it and services it annually. We feel his fees are good value for money. We find Mark to be very professional, knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful with anything IT related. It is always a pleasure to have Mark visit us and we look forward to his annual service visits. We highly recommend his services.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 21/01/2023 , work completed 17/01/2023
First class service from a great guy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark custom built a new computer for me to meet my specific needs. He installed it and transferred all my files and software and solved a number of follow up issues for me. Mark was a real pleasure to deal with. He stuck to his original quotation which was extremely good value and there were no follow up charges. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 03/07/2022 , work completed 20/06/2022
Last legs PC
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My old desk top PC was on it's last legs had just about run out of memory. Looking for some one to trust to get me back working is a challenge at times. Thankfully after reading reviews chose Mark. He was punctual, friendly, knowledgeable and very easy to talk to. We agreed a way forward and he built me a new PC to my requirements. Delivered it on time transferred the data from my dead computer to the new one in my home. I have a very old Microsoft window program which I still use but is no longer supported by Microsoft. He managed to load it for me and I'm now working with Windows 11. Brilliant !!! The cost was very competitive and I have exactly what I need. Great -- many thanks very happy
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 26/04/2022 , work completed 21/04/2022
Mark came to sort out a number of problems for a desktop we bought in 2014. He was bang on time took the computer away and returned it to "as new"
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent 5 star service and his skill and diagnostics was first class! we had condemned the desktop but he fixed it for a very reasonable price and at least one third of the cost of a replacement. We are so impressed we have signed up for his tech support and can sleep at night knowing he is a phone call away from helping us and responds within the hour to help!
Customer in Nottinghamshire Posted on 24/03/2022 , work completed 23/03/2022
Reliable and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable, comes when he said and on time. Talks through what is needed and explains why and answers any questions, helped me with a VAT problem. I would definitely recommend Mark to anybody.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 21/03/2022 , work completed 16/03/2022
Top value, work and speed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was just the latest job Mark has done for me over the last number of years. Essentially as parts failed or needed an upgrade Mark has done the work such that other than one drive and the power it's a whole new system! He is quick to respond, knows his business, gets on with it as fast as you can in the current parts climate and how anybody can give less than 5*'s for value is beyond me. I can usually find fault but not here, recommended!! The reviews speak for themselves
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 03/02/2022 , work completed 03/02/2022
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is the go to guy for computer problems both fixing them and helping with problems using a them. He came to our home to help with a problem and ended up showing us how to edit PDF files, Tag our Photos and connected our fitness watches up to the computer and several other things. As you may guess we are older users and Mark was very patient, nothing to much trouble. Would recommend him to anyone who needs help with anything to do with computers
Angela in Derbyshire Posted on 20/09/2021 , work completed 14/09/2021
Computer Repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sorted the problem quickly no fuss no mess. Fantastic job much appreciated. Top job.
Alan in Derbyshire Posted on 12/03/2021 , work completed 11/03/2021
A grand job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a new computer but didn't know who to ask. I found Marks number in an old yellow pages and rang him. The whole experience has been wonderful. A new computer arrived within the week and Mark was so patient at explaining everything. He did everything that we asked and was a joy to have in our home. I would wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 03/03/2021 , work completed 02/03/2021
Apple Mac repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very apprehensive choosing a technician to look at my Apple Mac which I had inadvertently wiped the hard drive completely just before Christmas, Had a real struggle to find a repairer in my immediate area, so looked on the internet and found Marks web sight. I did notice the ' Which ' accredited label on the page (which made me feel a little more comfortable ringing him). Mark agreed to visit me and arrived dead on time, was wearing full mask and protective gloves. I explained my problem in depth, He carried out a full assessment and then gave me the options open to me, I asked him to do an updated install and to sort the connection to one of my printers. He did a great job and I cannot speak highly enough about his attitude throughout the repairs, ( although I did say to him I would be happy to not see him again !!) I would not hesitate to use Mark again and now have a little more peace of mind if I ever need a computer repair again.
Customer in Nottinghamshire Posted on 13/01/2021 , work completed 21/01/2012
Friendly, efficient and patient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Mark several times now and have recommended his services to others who have also been very satisfied. I am not a confident IT user but have found Mark to be prompt, friendly, patient and very efficient. He always goes above and beyond what I have asked him to do. It is so reassuring to have him to call on when I encounter problems and I would not want to use anyone else.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 13/01/2021 , work completed 13/01/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is reliable and patient. He always replies to requests for help and nothing is too much trouble. After care is excellent.
Customer in South Yorkshire Posted on 08/10/2020 , work completed 07/10/2020
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is very professional in all aspects of his work. Mark is very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable, nothing too much trouble. The price agreed was the price we paid and also gave us a years guarantee for our new computer. Mark discussed the changes with the computer during the set up and left us a contact number and e.mail address if we had any problems. Choosing someone you have never met to work on personal information can be quite worrying, but I can honestly say that I would highly recommend Mark he is a true professional. Mark also used a face mask and social distanced whilst he was in our home. Thank you so much Mark
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 27/08/2020 , work completed 27/08/2020
Outstanding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After cleaning my laptop following a scam incident, I asked Mark to build a desktop computer for me. The result was a state of the art computer which exceeded all my expectations. Mark is very skilled and knowledgeable and gives an excellent service. He is friendly and courteous as well. I won't be using anyone else for my IT needs in future
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 25/08/2020 , work completed 25/08/2020
Nothing too much trouble
Customer Service
Quality
Value
For people who are not computer literate it is important to have someone to help when problems arise. Even more important someone like Mark who is very competent reliable and courteous. Mark solved our internet connection problem and also assisted our daughter. Nothing too much trouble.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 12/08/2020 , work completed 20/08/2010
Installation of new BT Hub and assessment of recent computer problems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As ever, I was very pleased to benefit from Mark's expertise and his clear and friendly explanations. My problems were all resolved and most helpful advice was given. Mark's service over many years has been excellent: thorough, swift and always reliable. To which I should add that during the present time of pandemic his precautions and thoughtfulness are specially appreciated. I would have no hesitation in recommending him. Duncan Marlor, Hackney, Matlock.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 08/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Great work and felt involved and informed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark responded promptly to my request for a new computer & we reviewed what I used the equipment for so that I only purchased what I need rather than what was available. He issued the quote promptly and then installed as agreed. He provided training on it’s use and left me feeling empowered and confident. My previous experience was that you bought a computer “off the shelf” I now know that you need expertise like Mark’s to provide an effective computer. The only thing that is a “downside” of the new computer is it is so quick! No time to make a coffee whilst it is switching on! Highly recommended.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 05/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Brilliant service, knowledgeable, efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark responds as soon as is possible and nothing is too much trouble to explain to someone who is not IT literate. He is so helpful but efficiently business like with it, which I appreciate. Mark gives constructive advice when it is requested and delivers when he says. No question is a silly question with Mark when one needs assistance. He completes the work quickly and efficiently and is personable without wasting time. I can certainly recommend Mark as a good worker who is skilled in his field, who keeps appointment he has made so is reliable too. He is approachable if further assistance is required to solve a problem as well, if for instance I have forgotten the process he showed me to use and I get stuck.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 20/07/2020 , work completed 19/03/2020
Computer Support - Insomnia IT Systems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark has provided IT support for my business for a number of years and I cannot recommend his company too highly. He always responds promptly to requests for assistance with computer issues, using his exceptional knowledge and skills to resolve the problem in a timely, cost-effective and personable manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone with IT problems - you will not be disappointed with the first class service he is able to provide.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 19/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
Always ready to help
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark has looked after our computers for years! He is always ready to help or give advice. So comforting to know I can always rely on him to get the job done Thank you Mark!
Customer Posted on 19/07/2020 , work completed 14/04/2020
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is very polite and experienced. Nothing is ever too much trouble and if he can't resolve on the day he will go away and research until he finds a solution for you. He is always prompt and reliable and always on hand for expert advise. Would recommend anyone to use Mark's business.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 17/07/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Retained IT Consultant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark has been our retained IT consultant for a few years now and we'd highly recommend him. He is professional, prompt to solve issues and efficient. Mark isn't precious about what equipment you choose to buy, but will advise and help you set things up and keep things safe in the most effective way. A great value add for any small business.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 17/07/2020 , work completed 26/06/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I stumbled across Insomnia a couple of years ago when I needed a new PC and my usual provider let me down what a stroke of luck. Mark is courteous, professional, knowledgeable, punctual and reasonably priced, the slightest thing wrong no matter how trivial and Mark will be with you usually the next day. The bonus is that Mark comes to you so no travelling to a shop backwards and forwards. He is also a super nice guy I can't recommend him enough I would not consider using anyone else now for any IT no matter how small.
Steve B Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 15/05/2020
Very good and prompt service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark was very courteous and professional in addressing numerous problems on my PC. He also explained about internet security /malware to fully protect my system without the conflict issues that I was having. I would recommend Mark to anyone experiencing problems with their computer.
Customer in Derbyshire Posted on 23/02/2020 , work completed 19/02/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Mark for broadband issues he was prompt, polite and carried out the work efficiently at a very good cost. Would definitely use him again - can't recommend enough! Thoroughly nice chap!
Zoe, Nottinghamshire Posted on 30/01/2019 , work completed 30/01/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark set up my laptop. He was extremely helpful & professional. Explaining everything as he went along in plain understandable language. If I had a question he took time to answer well. It was done on schedule & budget & I can contact him anytime for further help & advice. The best trader by far that we've had for any job. Thank you.
Shirley, Derbyshire Posted on 14/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
Very professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is an extremely competent computer expert. Nothing is too much trouble. If there is something that I do not understand then he will take the time to explain it to me. Not only is he brilliant at his job but he is also a very pleasant and likeable young man. I would recommend him to anyone.
Carol, Nottinghamshire Posted on 10/12/2018 , work completed 10/12/2018
Prompt, informative and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Been using Mark for over 6 years for all my IT. problems, would recommend him to everyone. Excellent friendly service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/12/2018 , work completed 05/12/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite and explained clearly what he was doing.
Andrew, Derbyshire Posted on 11/10/2018 , work completed 11/10/2018
Highly Informative, Prompt & Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark called out to help with Wi-fi problems, and also helped with other problems, installed Internet security and offered sound advice. Would definitely use again and would recommend to other people.
jennifer preston Posted on 02/10/2018 , work completed 02/10/2018
Polite & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the first time I have used Insomnia IT, was very impressed by Mark's Knowledge. My PC problem was resolved quickly. Mark was polite and efficient, and patient with me. Would certainly use Insomnia again.
Derek, Derbyshire Posted on 14/08/2018 , work completed 14/08/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Computer modem & tv set up problem solved logically and speedily by the excellent Mark. Polite, helpful and very efficient. Thanks!
Elaine, Derbyshire Posted on 02/08/2018 , work completed 02/08/2018
Problems? Dial his number-sorted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied with service. I have no worries now, just a phone call and Mark is able to sort out for me. Very polite and reliable.
Patricia, Derbyshire Posted on 30/07/2018 , work completed 30/07/2018
Peace of mind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It is reassuring to know that as a company if we have any problems they will be resolved within a hour. Have no hesitation in passing Insomnia name on to other business!
Neville, Derbyshire Posted on 30/07/2018 , work completed 30/07/2018
Prompt, professional, understanding.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been IT Systems' customer for over eight years and have always had they very best of service. All problems resolved quickly to our satisfaction. We are kept up to date with all new innovations and have the reassurance that help is only a phone call away.
Robin, Derbyshire Posted on 17/07/2018 , work completed 17/07/2018
Kind & patient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending Insomnia. We have used Mark for over 3 years how to repair and update our home computer and have always been highly satisfied. Customer service could not be better. We are OAP'S and not very clever with computers, Mark is always kind and patient and we can ask him anything without feeling stupid. He is a pleasure to have him in our home.
Pat, South Yorkshire Posted on 11/07/2018 , work completed 11/07/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark collected my laptop which would not start after it was dropped. He repaired it efficiently and effectively, returning it with no delay so that I could continue my business. Excellent customer care.
Martin Harrison Seddon Posted on 10/07/2018 , work completed 10/07/2018
Very reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband has dementia. Mark sorts out any problems and explains everything well and repeats when necessary. He has been helping us over a number of years & has saved us money as my husband was buying unnecessary software.
Patricia, Derbyshire Posted on 10/07/2018 , work completed 10/07/2018
Outstanding in all areas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader is prompt, efficient and has a professional, pleasant and pleasing manner. Has responded well to any query, has resolved my IT problem and given me straightforward, understandable advice.
Joan, Derbyshire Posted on 09/07/2018 , work completed 09/07/2018
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The problem was quickly, and very accurately diagnosed and equally quickly resolved. I was most impressed. The service could not have been bettered.
Ralph, Nottinghamshire Posted on 11/06/2018 , work completed 11/06/2018
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Without this person I would have had to redo all my accounts from April 2017, due to Microsoft deleting all my files. I would highly recommend Mr Mark Evans.
Glenice, Derbyshire Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent - unable to mark him down on any matter.
Linda, Derbyshire Posted on 14/05/2018 , work completed 14/05/2018
Electronic Communications 'Angel'
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was having difficulty including my mobile on to my now BT Contract. He helped me through the process online (explaining) and transferred my old mobile number from previous supplier. He checked PC and surface, updated/changed my web browser (old one now obsolete!) etc. All within first hour. Prompt, courteous service, will not struggle alone again, he took all the hassle out of modern technology.
Pam, Derbyshire Posted on 03/05/2018 , work completed 03/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent
Phillip, Derbyshire Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Polite, pleasant & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark Evens is polite, pleasant and very professional. He always makes time to call for any problems that may arise with our computer and equipment. Highly recommended.
Joy, Derbyshire Posted on 18/04/2018 , work completed 18/04/2018
Outstanding Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Managed to save my liquid damaged laptop with no loss of data highly recommend to anyone.
Dale, Derbyshire Posted on 07/08/2017 , work completed 07/08/2017
Quick response and very customer friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had used Mark once before a few years ago when I had our first ever PC. This time I needed help and advice for my new PC at our holiday home, which has no phone line and gave Mark a call and he very promptly came to discuss my requirements and we agreed the package that best suited my needs for now and the future. A few days later he rang to arrange delivery and set up, which has been a success and knowing that he is only a phone call away if I have any issues. Thank you very much Mark,job well done
Philip Salt Posted on 23/06/2017 , work completed 23/06/2017
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned for an appointment 09/05/2017. Appointment fulfilled 10/05/2017. Excellent performance within under one hour. Well trusted.
Beryl, Derbyshire Posted on 10/05/2017 , work completed 10/05/2017
Efficient and pleasant service always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been dealing with Insomnia IT Systems since 2003. Mark is always reliable and explains everything and no matter how long something takes Mark is always willing to sort it. Thank you Mark
jwaters Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is very professional. Very obliging and patient. He explains thoroughly and at a level I can understand.
Noelle, Derbyshire Posted on 16/01/2017 , work completed 16/01/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark carried out a thorough check of computer and, because of the computer age & problem, he recommended a new laptop. We followed this advice, purchased a new laptop and he transferred our data and gave helpful advice on its use & operation.
Ken, Derbyshire Posted on 19/12/2016 , work completed 19/12/2016
Cannot praise highly enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to contact and prompt and friendly response. Very professional and reassuring. Turns up on time, very personable and doesn't use jargon. Excellent communication skills, very patient and does a fantastic job. I wouldn't use anyone else and would highly recommend.
Vanessa, Derbyshire Posted on 30/11/2016 , work completed 30/11/2016
Very friendly and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, respectful and efficient service completed on time, would use again
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 30/10/2016 , work completed 30/10/2016
Highly satisfied.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of Computer Viruses. Replacement of Computer Motherboard. Upgrading of system from Windows Vista to Windows 7 Upgrading of system from Windows 7 to Windows 10.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/10/2016 , work completed 29/10/2016
Very reliable and trustworthy organisation - arrived on time and carried out work methodically and efficiently
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In monitoring intermittent problem contact has been by telephone and text - Insomnia IT Systems have assured me that any future call out regarding performance issues will be free of charge - Insomnia IT Systems always return calls within the same day
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/10/2016 , work completed 11/10/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
PC repair
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/10/2016 , work completed 10/10/2016
Excellent Work by Insomnia IT Systems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Computer repairs, help with obtaining computer equipment, maintenance, tuition.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/09/2016 , work completed 28/09/2016
Highly recomended IT Technician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mark is a very professional competent IT technician. His work is to a very high standard, explains the problems in simple terms and his charges a very reasonable
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/09/2016 , work completed 01/09/2016
Knowledgeable Efficient IT Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I retired 10 years ago insomnia IT Solutions built my PC and have continued to service and update my equipment on an annual basis. This has included ensuring my system is secure. Should I have any problems, I only have to telephone and an appointment is made for a visit usually within a couple of days.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/08/2016 , work completed 23/08/2016