Endorsed by Which?

J Child Mechanical Plumbing Gas Ltd

5.0

93 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–18:00
  • Monday 07:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–18:00
  • Thursday 07:30–18:00
  • Friday 07:30–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

J Child Mechanical Plumbing & Gas. Gas Engineers Plumbers specialising in maintenance, servicing and construction of plumbing, heating, ventilation, gas and other mechanical services in both the domestic and commercial environment.

We specialise in:
- Commercial and Domestic new builds and alterations.
- Plant room construction and maintenance.
- Air Source Heat Pumps and Underfloor Heating design and
installations.
- Boiler repair, boiler service, boiler replacement.
- Central heating repair and maintenance, radiator replacement.
- Bathroom plumbing and bathroom renovation/remodel.

We:
- Are DBR checked.
- Are Domestic and Commercial Gas Safe Registered
- Have been extensively reviewed on other sites and have
excellent ratings.
- Are on Facebook and Instagram.
- Dont take short cuts.
- We always put you, the customer, first.
- We are highly reliable,
- Have the utmost respect for your property and privacy.
- We offer great value for money.

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas cooker repair
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom Installation
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Electric Showers
    • Wet rooms
  • Gas installers

  • More Services

    • air source heat pumps

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
93 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
What seemed like a tricky job made effortless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John renewed the electrical wiring centres and thermostats for our underfloor heating. The old wiring was faulty and patched throughout and many of the thermostats didn't work for one reason or another adding what seemed like a number of, unknown complexities. John worked through the backlog of legacy wiring and problems with ease and has now brought our heating system up to date. He was prompt and flexible with his time and the job finished on budget - he was also communicative and helpful throughout the process, making recommendations on which equipment to use going forward. Any challenges were recognised early on and resolved swiftly. I'd strongly recommend J Child Mechanical Plumbing Gas for all complex gas and plumbing needs.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/01/2024 , work completed 19/01/2024
Helpful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The initial survey was informative and Alan and Mickey carried out a very professional job, seemingly never stopping for a break to get the work done to schedule (new boiler and radiators). Boiler seems a high quality product (internet-enabled!). Removing all waste including a redundant macerator was also helpful. Definitely recommended.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 04/12/2023 , work completed 13/10/2023
New boiler within 2 days
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The boiler failed one evening and I emailed J Child that night. By 8am the following morning I'd been promised they'd look at their schedules and get someone to us. By 10.30am Alan the plumber was with us. Due to the cost of the faulty part and the age of the boiler, we opted for a new one. Later that afternoon, John called us to go through options with us then provided a quote. We accepted it and the boiler was ordered that evening. By 8.30am the following morning, Alan was back to fit the boiler. He worked hard for most of the day to make sure we had a new, working boiler by the end of the afternoon. Great service and I can't think of anything negative at all.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 20/10/2023 , work completed 19/10/2023
Fast efficient friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called J Childs to arrange a boiler service and was helped by the very friendly Tania who helped get it arranged at a convenient time and day. On the day Alan turned up exactly on time, was very respectful of my house and time and did his job quickly and efficiently, explained his findings and made sure I understood everything. The report was available next day and the whole process was very cost effective, would very much recommend them and will be using them in the future!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 12/09/2023 , work completed 11/09/2023
Plumbing jobs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we've used this company and they are very efficient (admin superb), prompt, reliable and helpful. No hesitation giving them a treble five-star.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 29/08/2023 , work completed 24/08/2023
Excellent work - again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan from J Child Mechanical Plumbing and Gas installed a new radiator for us with excellent results. He fully discussed a number of small issues as they came up, and resolved them without fuss, hassle, or mess. A very smooth operation. I invited them to do this work because of the excellent job they made last year of installing a new boiler. I highly recommend their work from start to finish.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 07/06/2023 , work completed 06/06/2023
Superb, reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my second time to use J Child and the whole experience has been great. I find the company completely reliable, honest, efficient and prompt. They always arrive on time and complete the work to a high standard. The communication, admin and paperwork is clear and professional. They are extremely courteous and work focused. They make good suggestions without forcing their views. Very easy to deal with.
Customer in Posted on 30/05/2023 , work completed 25/05/2023
Prompt and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our downstairs loo sprang a leak and J Childs were able to send someone out that same day. Problem solved! I have also used them for tap and radiator repairs and found the service very prompt and efficient. I would heartily recommend them.
Hilary in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/05/2023 , work completed 12/05/2023
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our kitchen tap broke spraying water all over the kitchen. Called J Child’s who came out the same day and ordered a new tap as well as replaced the bathroom tap the next day. The work was excellent and will use them again when needed. I would recommend them to anyone
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 13/05/2023 , work completed 12/05/2023
Efficient and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a radiator replaced and found the quote and replacement process quick and painless at what seemed to me to be a reasonable price. I'm very happy with the finished job.
Daniel in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 22/03/2023 , work completed 20/03/2023
Excellent work from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
J Child replaced our old gas boiler and cylinder with a combi; replaced a shower unit; and fitted a larger radiator in the hall over 2 days in August 2022. We are very impressed with the whole experience, starting with John Child’s initial survey and advice. Allan and apprentice Mikey worked steadily and efficiently throughout the installation. All non-‘black-bin’ rubbish was removed before they completed the job. Very pleased indeed. Highly recommend.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 27/09/2022 , work completed 03/08/2022
Fantastic new bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am absolutely delighted with the work carried out by the team to refurbish the bathroom and downstairs toilet. I think the downstairs loo is now the favourite room in my house!! Great advice before starting the project, refurbishment carried out with care and two excellent room. I would definitely recommend John and his team.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 21/05/2022 , work completed 04/04/2022
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used John for two years now, to service our boiler and do some works on our underfloor heating system. He has been excellent, with no fuss whatsoever. He's very prompt, gets on with the job in hand very professionally leaves no mess - couldn't ask for better. Communications with the office are very easy. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 10/03/2022 , work completed 10/03/2022
Investigate and repair leak under bath. Supply and fit new isolation valve and mapress fitting.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found drips on our sitting room ceiling on Saturday. We were able to isolate the leak and contacted half a dozen plumbers. J Child were quick to respond and able to come on Tuesday. On the phone, they explained their pricing structure which seemed fair. They arrived promptly, identified and carried out the repair necessary to the copper pipe, and re-aligned another isolation valve which had been poorly installed in this new build. The bath panel could not be replaced yet as the floor was still drying out, but Allan showed me an Amazon link to buy new bath panel clips which had broken when I had taken it off at the weekend. I was very pleased with the service and price and would not hesitate to use them again.
Customer from Hitchin Posted on 02/12/2021 , work completed 30/11/2021
Good work, finished quickly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John fitted electric underfloor heating to my small study/bedroom. It was professionally done and he and the floorer liaised about how they might deal with possible issues with the (minimally) raised height of the floor, because of the insulation boards. There were no subsequent problems. John also very kindly returned to walk me through setting the highly complex floor thermostat once the floor had been laid. I found the WhatsApp film he took of me setting the thermostat, and he talking me through every step, very useful indeed. I really appreciated that. The work was to budget and within schedule. I would recommend John.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 24/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
Very quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite and professional throughout. Quick to identify issue and booked us in very quickly. Very reasonable. Will use again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/09/2021 , work completed 09/09/2021
Superb professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a hole-in-the-wall gas fire installed which initially required two separate visits and liaison with a builder completing an external chimney. John was helpful and knowledgeable from the outset and coordinated effectively with the builder. Due to unforeseen circumstances, it was necessary to change the date for fitting the fire and John was flexible and accommodating. The work was of a very high standard, John cleaned up after himself, leaving everything in very good order and as important the price was exceptionally reasonable. I would highly recommend this company to anyone and based on my positive experience have already scheduled in servicing for the fire as well as the central heating.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 08/09/2021 , work completed 19/08/2021
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always excellent service from J Childs Mechanical Plumbing Gas Ltd. Booked in for a routine boiler service, I mucked up the dates and due to work commitments couldn't be available for the date originally agreed. They sorted someone to come out to me saving me from rearranging another date and time off work. Thank you. The gentleman who came out to do the service was very polite and the work was done efficiently and quickly.
Jane in Cambridgeshire Posted on 29/04/2021 , work completed 20/04/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't criticise these people. We had a boiler problem which meant we were without heat, and they fitted us in the next day, which we really appreciated as the weather was cold. The work was done quickly and efficiently, and an option we had to decide upon was explained clearly. Highly recommended.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 29/03/2021 , work completed 23/03/2021
Fantastic response & great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler broke down on the coldest day of this year, beginning of February and -6c. I had an insurance policy with British Gas and called them only to find that they couldn't come out to take a look until mid March, John Child arrived half an hour after my call. My 20 year old boiler had bit the dust and I needed a new one, which was ordered and fitted all before British Gas could even come out to take a look and for considerably less than they would have charged. This is the third time John Child has come to the rescue, as such I've cancelled my policy with British Gas and will be relying on them for all my plumbing and gas jobs from now on.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 10/03/2021 , work completed 26/02/2021
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a drip on the manifold for the underfloor heating. A different heating company wanted to replace the whole manifold unit. I used John as a second opinion. He came around very promptly and decided that a new unit was not necessary. He returned with two small parts, dismantled the leaking joints and replaced half a dozen o-rings. All now perfect for a fraction of the price the other company was going to charge.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 26/02/2021 , work completed 24/02/2021
Fast Response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a leaking component on our water heater which was causing a small flood. Called J Childs and Tania was very helpful. Was able to reschedule some work for one of the engineers and got him round to the house quickly. Diagnosed the issue and went to get a part - back within an hour or so. Excellent customer service and fair price - would definitely recommend. Thank you
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 23/02/2021 , work completed 26/01/2021
Very quick response and next day fix
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler stopped working overnight during -7 degrees temperature. I called J Childs plumbing in the morning and they came out within hours and carried out a diagnostic which identified it as either of 2 problems (faulty flame sensor or PCB fault). They got the parts and came mid-day the next day. They tried a new flame sensor first (cheapest resolution) and it worked. My final bill came in lower than the quote. Very fast and professional service. This is the second time I have used this company, I would recommend to anybody. Good customer service all round.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 12/02/2021 , work completed 12/02/2021
None Better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Choosing a plumber can be a bit of a lottery, but I found a winner with J Child. I needed a leaking radiator replaced and the work was carried out very efficiently, on time and at very reasonable cost. Communication with the office was also very friendly and helpful. What more could you ask?
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 01/02/2021 , work completed 28/01/2021
Reliable, High Quality, Professional, Reasonably Priced, Efficient and Extremely Courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Every aspect of the service provided and work undertaken by each staff member of J Child was undertaken to a really high standard. The plumber arrived exactly on time, wore PPE, completed the work quickly, professionally, efficiently and was extremely courteous. He explained things clearly without being patronising. He got on with the job quickly, without any fuss. At the end he checked that I was happy with the work. The admin was clear, useful, informative and prompt. Cost was very reasonable. Booking the job was a very positive experience even though I made a mistake on my side. Everyone involved responded promptly and communicated well. What they said would happen, happened on time and in the way it was supposed to and without fuss. Really professional company, great team.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/12/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Highly recommended company 👍🏽
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used John and his colleagues on a number of occasions. The most reason was yesterday after emailing the day before regarding a fault with my boiler. Have used them for boiler service, installing new thermostat and more. Very friendly staff. Cannot recommend them enough.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/12/2020 , work completed 02/12/2020
Problems with central heating and hot water system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Upon reporting to the company that we were having problems with our central heating and hot water system, John attended and identified the problem. A costing of the parts required to repair the system was forwarded the day after and a date and time arranged for an engineer to attend to effect the required repair. In the meantime, a further problem arose at the weekend but a phone call to John helped me to effect a partial resolution which was reassuring. The engineer attended on the date and at the time previously agreed and repaired the system which is now working very well. I have used the firm of J Child on previous occasions and have always been impressed with the service received. John is very knowledgeable, helpful and always explains the problem and how best to resolve it. The communication with the firm is dealt with efficiently and I will continue to use the firm in the future.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/11/2020 , work completed 08/10/2020
Efficient, friendly service. Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted J Child to discuss a boiler service and repair of a leaking toilet. A visit to assess the tasks and provide a quote was quickly arranged and follow up visit to complete the service and repair the toilet was equally straightforward. Quotes were all very clear, the work was completed to a high standard and I would have no hesitation in recommending John. Excellent job by a friendly and efficient team.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/10/2020 , work completed 01/09/2020
Replace oven and hob
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John did an excellent job - he took out an old hob and oven and put in new ones. He fitted me in at short notice because I needed it done quickly. A very friendly and efficient company.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/09/2020 , work completed 21/09/2020
Prompt response - excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thanks the team for a prompt response to a leak, which had caused ceiling damage in the kitchen below. This was fixed very quickly, alongside a number of other small jobs needing attention too. Provided various cost options within the quote, with positive and negative points set out for each route, helping us to make an informed decision on which option to choose. Everything tidied, cleaned and polished before they left, excellent! Would not hesitate to contact them again, recommended!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 24/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
Extremely efficient boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used John Child Ltd on several previous occasions for smaller jobs and always found him to be reliable and efficient. Therefore, when it came to deciding who to install our new boiler we felt that we could trust him to do a good job. Both installation engineers (including John Child) arrived on time and the work was carried to the agreed schedule and with the minimum of fuss (a rare feat considering the large size and weight of the old boiler they had to remove). Attention to detail was good, from ensuring we knew how to operate the control system and boiler to tidying up at the end of the day. I would definately recommend this company.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/09/2020 , work completed 09/09/2020
Efficient, honest service as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On this occasion my boiler was serviced but I have used this company for several years for various things. All aspects of any job have been efficient, honest, cost effective, friendly and punctual. It's nice to be able to use a firm you can trust totally.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 06/07/2020 , work completed 01/07/2020
Prompt response to dire situation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At the beginning of lockdown, our heating system failed completely - and I had a wife who had just been told to shield because of coronavirus. Having considered our position (and it was still very cold at the time), J. Child donned full protective gear and came and effected a temporary repair. Once lockdown was eased, he came back, did a permanent repair and also serviced our boiler. All our dealings were done in a business like and efficient manner, but at the same time in a very friendly way.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/06/2020 , work completed 23/06/2020
Excellent service
I phoned J Child plumber to report w.c. not flushing and leaking kitchen tap! Visited property the next day, and I had a quotation emailed within 24 hrs, including a photo of mixer tap quoted for! I confirmed accepting the quote and wanting the work carried out! Within 24 hrs email confirming plumber booked in 17/6/2020, 8.30-10.30. Reminder email sent 2 days before! The plumber arrived on the dot exactly at 8.30 on 17/6/20. Both items dealt with efficiently, no mess, excellent and friendly service! Emailed invoice received 18/6/20, with a full breakdown of all items - invoice all as quoted!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 19/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Transformation of our bathroom and ensuite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and his team did a great job for us. We knew we wanted to update and improve our bathroom and the ensuite shower room but really weren't quite sure where to start. John gave us some great ideas and took the whole project in hand. We were so pleased not to have to try to sort out different people - he did it all. The results are fab and we are very pleased. John also does all our boiler servicing and deals with any other plumbing issues. He has also replaced some of our radiators and solved a leak we had. Every job has been done very well.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 09/06/2020 , work completed 22/05/2020
The best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used John Child before so when the boiler started causing problems, without any hesitation, he was the one to call. Fully explained what the issues were, the fix, the options discussed in detail and approximate costings. John is experienced, reliable and he delivers what he promises. He always finds the time to fully explain all the pros and cons so I can make an informed decision. John and Tania both respond to queries in a timely fashion, all his employees are personable and always turn up on time. They leave the premises clean and tidy and clear away the rubbish. I will always use John for the annual servicing/replacement of boilers, safety checks, certificates and any emergency situation.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 17/04/2020 , work completed 05/03/2020
Good, efficient work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At first this was the annual boiler service, and I was aware that there was a leak from the need to for constant topping up of the pressure. This service was carried out, and the leak discovered, and another appointment made. Within a week the repairs were carried out and the boiler now runs as it should without leaking. The fitter (not Mr Child) was careful to explain what was happening, and what was necessary and why. Mr Child came himself at one point in the repair to check that all was going well. I am a very satisfied customer and intend to use him again. His secretary Tania (his wife I believe) was also very helpful.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 31/03/2020 , work completed 21/02/2020
Trust Worthy Trader
John child fitted a kitchen sink for me some years ago which caused me to go to him again this year to fix a plumbing problem and to have fitted a new shower unit on two separate occasions. I cannot praise John Child's company enough for the professional job he does with courtesy at the times he says he will. He is the most efficient trader I have ever used.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 31/03/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
A worthy Trusted Trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John has serviced my central heating for the last two years. He is always courteous, knows his job, and is hard working. A year ago, my heating went down because of a pressure leak. He checked the system, and determined the leak lay under the screed in the new build. I had to get a specialist leak detector firm in to find it. John came back and made everything good. His pricing is always fair. I would recommend both him, and Tania who runs the office, to anyone.
Stan, N.Herts 31/03/2020. Posted on 31/03/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
The best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Over the years we have tried many plumbers; however John Child is the best. Initially he was asked to replace a boiler and due to his fantastic work ethos, we asked him to complete other work for us (servicing two further boilers and providing a Landlord Gas Safety Certificate). Every single person within the company, Tanya that deals with queries and appointments to John’s colleague, is extremely professional, polite and friendly and they leave the place as they found it. His prices are competitive and in my experience cheaper can end up with shoddy work and bad attitude. John will freely give advice without looking to make a quick buck. We would not use anyone else and I recommend John and will continue to do so.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 13/12/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
New en-suite bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plumbing (new shower, towel rail, toilet & basin), electrics (lighting & ventilation), new fitted furniture, tiling, flooring & painting ceiling. Work completed on time and within budget. Excellent quality of work and care taken to protect rest of house from damage. All problems encountered were discussed and sorted to our satisfaction. Always able to contact trader quickly when not on site.
Kenley Posted on 02/11/2018 , work completed 02/11/2018
A Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Work carried out by J Child Mechanical Plumbing and Gas Ltd. Supply and install new combi boiler, a Nest Thermostat controller, new radiators and basin waste replacement. The company run is by John Child, right from the first visit to the initial quotation, the administration, communication and completion of the works to final invoicing was found to be a high quality, professional business. John and his colleague were polite, they worked methodically and efficiently in their approach to all the tasks undertaken. Our numerous questions were answered in a clear and concise manner, John impressed us with the quality of his workmanship throughout the job. The work was kept clean and tidy, without being asked to the team were very respectful, all shoes taken off in the house, they vacuumed all worked areas of our property so there was no mess thing to clear up inside or out after they had gone. John was very helpful and told us that any queries that arise in the future to just give him call. We have no hesitation in using this company again in the future and would highly recommend John Child to others.
j.stearn Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Excellent Service & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Apologies team for leaving a late review for work carried out in Nov 17. But felt leaving a review had to be done. I needed a toilet replacement and from booking the quote right to the installation was a very stress free experience. John and his team were very efficient and I would highly recommend using them. Thanks Tania, John and especially Ashley who did a fantastic job.
Mark Warwick Posted on 07/02/2018 , work completed 07/02/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed a gas hob removed to allow the fitting of a new worktop. They came in the morning and removed oven and hob then returned late afternoon to refit both into the new worktop. Very prompt and thorough. The kitchen fitter was impressed with them as well.
Chris Harrier Posted on 06/12/2017 , work completed 06/12/2017
Highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used J Child Mechanical Plumbing for 3 years now. They sent us a reminder re the annual boiler service, which was appreciated. They were very flexible on dates and times, turned up on time and were very professional, efficient and helpful. We are really happy to recommend this trader.
Milne Posted on 05/12/2017 , work completed 05/12/2017
Prompt visit, fast work, excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were able to send someone over almost immediately (one of their plumbers happened to be working nearby), and he repaired the broken pipe within a few hours of my phone call, in the same visit. John Child also popped in to take over when the other plumber had to go to fetch equipment, so the whole thing was very efficient, and completed at really short notice. Excellent service, and we will definitely be using them again!
Barbara Brownie Posted on 13/11/2017 , work completed 13/11/2017
Excellent service, timely, accurate and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At last found a tradesman that understands professional service!
Ian Watts Posted on 02/11/2017 , work completed 02/11/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used John for the past 2 years to service my boiler. I find him to be honest and trustworthy and will definitely be using him again next year to service the boiler.
Tina, Bedfordshire Posted on 01/11/2017 , work completed 01/11/2017
Prompt efficient friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John came out very quickly for a routine service to our gas boiler. His attitude was very friendly and as far as a non-specialist can tell, the job was done efficiently and the appropriate paperwork completed.
Tuffnell Posted on 01/11/2017 , work completed 01/11/2017
Reliable and great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good customer service, trustworthy and great work. Happy to recommend.
T SALISBURY Posted on 10/10/2017 , work completed 10/10/2017
Friendly, efficient, great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found John helpful in giving advice that reduced our cost. He was professional, I felt comfortable having him in the house, and he did a good job. He even tidied up well. Would be pleased to recommend his company.
Patricia, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/10/2017 , work completed 05/10/2017
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was recommended to me by a couple of colleagues and I have used him twice. Both times he's been able to do the job quickly and efficiently at a fair price. Very friendly service and honest advice.
baggies1 Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had to move our boiler into a new position and John was excellent. They were extremely efficient and did a brilliant job! We couldn’t thank them enough! Very professional.
sspringall Posted on 28/09/2017 , work completed 28/09/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and Ashley did a great job in August replacing a number of radiators in our period property. Not the easiest pipework to negotiate from the previous radiators, and done with patience, care and courtesy. Definitely will use them again!
SallyD Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Great work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John serviced my boiler and fixed our downstairs toilet around 2 months ago. I am extremely happy with the work done as it was completed on time and to budget, which we were happy with. There was a small subsequent problem but John came back quickly and put things right. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company to anyone looking for domestic plumbing work. Great to deal with, prompt with all communication and a job well done!
AB Posted on 04/08/2017 , work completed 04/08/2017
Top Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used John on several occasions on jobs large and small from new bathroom and new boiler to replacing a leaking radiator. The service has always been good and I cant fault the work, I can just leave him the keys knowing the job is going to be completed professionally. Lee - Welwyn Garden City
Lee, Welwyn Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They gave a great service and very friendly and I will wouldn't think twice in recommending them to everyone who is looking for a great friendly.
Mark B Posted on 09/01/2017 , work completed 09/01/2017
always reliable, great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used J Child Plumbing for numerous jobs over the last 4 years including general repairs, installation of new boiler and installation of new sewerage tank pump. Quotations are always clear and the service prompt and efficient. I would not hesitate to recommend.
Lucie, Henlow Posted on 09/01/2017 , work completed 09/01/2017
Fridge Installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great Job from start to finish! Clean, on time, fair price! Just what you want. John and Ash know their stuff and did a great job. Now we have ice ready for Xmas!
Andy W Posted on 10/11/2016 , work completed 10/11/2016
A very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed my boiler removed and replaced with a combi to be relocated to the loft. John provides a very professional, knowledgable and punctual service at a fair price. The work was carried out in 2 days and I am very happy with the outcome.
driptray8 Posted on 08/11/2016 , work completed 08/11/2016
A thoroughly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was in urgent need of a plumber to plumb in kitchen appliances & some minor plumbing work. I contacted John Child about the required works. He came around to discuss the work & gave a very Honest Quote. The work was completed in very thorough & professional manner with sound advice. I was kept fully informed during the work. Thank you very much for the work you done John. I would recommend J Child Mechanical Plumbing Gas as your first call for any plumbing works.
Anonymous Posted on 28/10/2016 , work completed 28/10/2016
Professional, reliable and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick response and punctual. We have had work done by other traders and left let down and disappointed. We found John to be honest and knowledgeable with the works required and someone you can trust. Any future works required we will be calling John and will have no hesitation recommending him.
Roshan Posted on 17/10/2016 , work completed 17/10/2016
Professional, reliable and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first employed John to fix a problem with my boiler that had other plumbers scratching their heads. It has worked serenely ever since. Excellent communications throughout. No hesitation in recommending him.
Dana Posted on 30/09/2016 , work completed 30/09/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good in all respects
Edward, Bedfordshire Posted on 03/08/2016 , work completed 03/08/2016
New Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb service with good communication throughout, prompt, presentable and very importantly quality work and excellent value - Absolutely no hesitation in recommending or using again !
frame-store.co.uk Posted on 30/06/2016 , work completed 30/06/2016
Excellent Work Ethic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company are the best I have experienced. Fully documented realistic quotes, punctual, excellent work, very knowledgeable about the jobs completed, time efficient and they make good! Wonderful. I won't be using anyone else for plumbing in future.
Michele Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick response and on time for appointment. Very friendly and clear information provided on the work to be carried out. Very pleased,clean,tidy and efficient plumbing work,by John and Ashley.
Lorraine Posted on 25/05/2016 , work completed 25/05/2016
Extremely professional, friendly and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have already used John twice and on both occasions he sent a very clear estimate beforehand which outlined the work that was required and we found the cost to be reasonable. He was very professional in his approach and carried out the job with little to no mess. We would highly recommend John.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/03/2016 , work completed 19/03/2016
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Constructive and informative advice given to help me make the right decisions. Prompt, clean and tidy work with good customer follow up after completing the job. Would definitely recommend Jon!
BusyMum Posted on 18/03/2016 , work completed 18/03/2016
4 days hard labour Fencing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John & Ashley, this the third time I have employed these guys. They worked very hard and achieved more than I had believed possible. Both sides of my garden fences taken down, new arris rails, re-planked, all cut ends of treated timber sealed before installing and great attention to detail. Several obsticals overcome. Couldn't ask for more. I have also trusted them to do plumbing work for a vulnerable person I look after. You won't be sorry to use this company, they're the best.
Corrin Posted on 18/03/2016 , work completed 18/03/2016
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work by Jon and Ashley. Thank you.
Carolyn Posted on 14/03/2016 , work completed 14/03/2016
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service and great job. Would not hesitate to use again.
K Clare Posted on 04/02/2016 , work completed 04/02/2016
Great Plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great plumber, efficient and courteous. John helped to create a utility space in the garage,sorting out water supply and drainage. The work was carried out efficiently and the work site was tidy and cleaned up afterwards Very reasonably priced. Fab job. Thanks John.
Liz Lambton Posted on 30/01/2016 , work completed 30/01/2016
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was extremely thorough, very knowledgeable and answered any questions I had clearly and simply. He was honest, tidy and meticulous with the paperwork which is very reassuring. I appreciated his professionalism which makes all the difference. Will be contacting him again for sure.
Lisa G1 Posted on 30/01/2016 , work completed 30/01/2016
Friendly and polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service.
Bradley Posted on 30/01/2016 , work completed 30/01/2016
Professional and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had lots of work done - new boiler, new shower even came and fixed the burst pipe down at our stable yard.....got absolutely soaked but still smiling! Nothing is too much trouble! Tidy too! Great with my mum who's extremely deaf. Trust to leave in the house alone or give the key to. Can't recommend them highly enough.
Janewallis Posted on 29/01/2016 , work completed 29/01/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always responsive, efficient, and excellent workmanship. Always pleasant and helpful.
Pat Tomlinson Posted on 29/01/2016 , work completed 29/01/2016
Looking for a leak.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was thorough, professional and efficient. Would use again.
Navnuo Posted on 27/01/2016 , work completed 27/01/2016
Highly recommended. Very good service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A reliable and efficient service. Kept to schedule, fair prices and pleasant to do business with. I have no hesitation whatsoever recommending John and will certainly be calling again whenever a plumbing issue arises. A good find!
angiewade123 Posted on 27/01/2016 , work completed 27/01/2016
Annual Heating Inspection and ad hoc work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John has provided a number of services to me over the past 3 years. These include the total refit of our heating system and boiler as part of our house rebuild. He is now our "go to" guy for any heating and plumbing work. Highly professional service and back-office customer communication. Does what he says he is going to do, turns up when he says he will turn up, knows his stuff and a pleasure to do business with.
Simon Doyle Posted on 26/01/2016 , work completed 26/01/2016
What a pleasure.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used J Child Mechanical many times in the past and have always found it a pleasure, his prices are reasonably priced, very prompt and the quality of the work is outstanding. I would highly recommend this company.
Ashley Posted on 22/01/2016 , work completed 22/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, knowledgeable, clean and tidy.
Martyn, Bedfordshire Posted on 22/01/2016 , work completed 22/01/2016
Michele, Biggleswade
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John is a trustworthy, efficient, reliable and helpful plumber. He takes the time to explain what was wrong and how it needed to be fixed. We had a leak in our roof, when no water was running. John found the problem and sorted it out. I highly recommend J Child plumbing and gas services.
Michele Posted on 20/01/2016 , work completed 20/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt reply to all call outs and always reliable. Detailed, methodical, consistent approach adopted to our very challenging issues/problems. Given the age and infrastructure, we found experts in resolving complex issues. Very happy to recommend J Childs Mech & plumbing.
Floyd, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/01/2016 , work completed 18/01/2016
Professional and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John actually listens to what you say gives good advice and cares about the finish of the work. Prices very reasonable. Would certainly recommend John.
Anne, London Posted on 13/01/2016 , work completed 13/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very capable, reliable and hard working. Very pleased with John's work and attitude. Sent estimate ahead of time and stuck to work plan. Highly recommended. Would definitely use again.
Angie, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/01/2016 , work completed 08/01/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, helpful service. Took time to explain how everything worked. Only slight downside was that tools were left around whilst they weren't there. When you've got toddlers, not ideal.
Rachel, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/12/2015 , work completed 04/12/2015
The trader replied (on 22/01/2016)
Hi Rachel, thank you so much for your feedback, we will use it to make our service is better for you and others in the future.
Thoroughly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John provided us with a detailed quote and proceeded to complete the work in a punctual, efficient and tidy fashion. We are really pleased with the refitted en-suite bathroom
Christine, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/11/2015 , work completed 10/11/2015
Marvellous man, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were desperate when our gas fire gave up on us & were overjoyed to have it back as new. Mr Child was the most thorough engineer we have ever had. Would recommend him to anyone & know where to call in the future.
Joy, Bedfordshire Posted on 30/10/2015 , work completed 30/10/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked over 4-5 days. Always punctual. Any mess kept to a minimum. Brilliant job on the en-suite. Would definitely recommend, and will definitely use again!
Graham, Bedfordshire Posted on 10/06/2015 , work completed 10/06/2015
Efficient, courteous service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New shower installed - good workmanship, tidy & courteous. Previously new boiler installed. Excellent service and always helpful and totally reliable.
Lily, Bedfordshire Posted on 24/04/2015 , work completed 24/04/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John was able to fix the problem quickly. He has a friendly manner. I would recommend him to others.
Jacqui, Bedfordshire Posted on 15/04/2015 , work completed 15/04/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded to call quickly and came out to do job promptly. Very reliable. Explained situation clearly. Extremely professional.
Nicola, Bedfordshire Posted on 05/04/2015 , work completed 05/04/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Changed a boiler and installed radiators for me. I was happy with the work and can have no complaints. He did the job properly - very polite and good workmanship. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/02/2015 , work completed 01/02/2015
I would give a rating of 6 out of 5 if I could!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a boiler replaced by John, along with the fitting of a new en-suite. Very high quality of work, we have already recommended them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/10/2013 , work completed 10/10/2013