We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J McCartney (Plumbing & Heating) Limited

Profile thumb logo
4.9

34 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–21:00
  • Monday 07:30–21:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–21:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–21:00
  • Thursday 07:30–21:00
  • Friday 07:30–21:00
  • Saturday 08:30–12:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Established in the 1970's by John Mccartney, J Mccartney Plumbing & Heating are proud to be one of the oldest family run plumbing business in Glasgow. To this day, the father and son business continues with John's son Jamie now at the helm.

We have extensive experience in installing and maintaining gas boilers and bathroom suites.

We are Worcester Bosch Accredited Installers and can offer extended warranties on all their products.

Our dedication to producing the highest standards for our customers means we are more than happy to discuss your specific requirements down the the smallest detail, to insure a top notch service at competitive prices.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
  • Waste Disposal

  • Drain clearance contractors

    • Drain installation
    • Emergency drain clearance service
    • Gutter clearance
    • Drain and sewer services

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
34 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fast and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I tried to fix a central heating radiator that wasn't working but succeeded only in soaking the walls and carpet. Telephoned J McCartney who were able to sort the problem the same day at a very reasonable price. Engineer was courteous and efficient. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family.
Elizabeth Shea Posted on 06/01/2018 , work completed 06/01/2018
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie offered a very competitive price after clearly laying out my options for a new boiler. The installation took place within a couple of days of the quote (much needed as no central heating at this time) and was carried out efficiently and cleanly. When an under floor cracked pipe was identified by Jamie, he immediately contacted me and then proceeded to find and rectify the problem with the minimum fuss - and at no extra cost. A very professional and personable service - I have no hesitation in recommending Jamie to anyone looking for a new boiler installation.
John Higgins Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
Bathrooms & heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie carried out a whole range of work for us during a house renovation. This included completely replacing a bathroom, en-suite and a WC, replacing all radiators, replacing mains gas piping to kitchen, and replacing all gas and water piping in the kitchen. He was very helpful and flexible over what was a large project. The results looked good. Jamie was easy to work with and, after a major project, he charged exactly what he originally quoted.
Meurig Sage Posted on 20/11/2017 , work completed 20/11/2017
New boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie was one of several quotes we obtained. The quote was very competitive and Jamie was able to provide an enhanced warranty. He was able to fit our work in at short notice and did an excellent job. I found Jamie very easy to deal with and he was always on hand to answer any questions. The new boiler was installed smoothly and tidily. Overall I was very happy indeed with his work. I have no hesitation in recommending him to others.
Localhero201 Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
Boiler replacement, excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After my boiler broke, I called out J McCartney to have a look. Jamie was very polite and professional and quickly diagnosed the issue, offering 2 solutions of fixing the problem or replacing the boiler and provided 2 separate quotes for each job with the decision in our hands. As our boiler was quite an old system we elected for the replacement and had a date booked in for the work. I had mentioned it would be good if he could keep us in mind for any cancellations that came up and true to his word a couple of days later I received a call advising they had a cancellation and could they come round to do the work. The work was done professionally to a high standard, Jamie did advise that as this was a cancellation it may take slightly longer as the electrician required was already busy, so I was made aware in advance that it may take 2 days rather than the 1 to complete which was no problem but I did appreciate him being upfront that the duration of the job would change and why. The work was completed to a very high standard and Jamie was very clear on what work was required and the time it would take to complete. I would happily recommend J McCartney Plumbing and will be using them again in the future for any plumbing work we require.
Steven S Posted on 16/10/2017 , work completed 16/10/2017
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having bought our first house, my wife and I were keen to replace the boiler. A friend recommended this company and I can't praise them highly enough. Explained everything for us and walked us through our options, before fitting very quickly for a competitive price. Would highly recommend!
Mr Alan F Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
TRV's and MagnaClean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was recommended J McCartney Plumbers by a friend and couldn't be more impressed. Great job fast and efficient. Installed TRVs on all radiators, flushed system and installed a MagnaClean. Very pleasant tradesmen, clean and tidy workers. Will be using in future and recommending.
DavidF Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Excellent job; efficient, clean and tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
J McCartney is what all plumbers should be. Efficient and knowledgeable about their work; courteous at all times; reliable; clean, tidy and reasonable with their charges. No hesitation in recommending them to others.
Brian, Lanarkshire Posted on 14/09/2017 , work completed 14/09/2017
Professional and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used J McCartney for a replacement boiler installation and found them to provide an all-round excellent service. Communication was spot on and they came out quickly, providing a selection of quotes for different boilers and accessories. They set a date for the installation and turned up on time as planned. The guys were friendly and clearly knowledgeable/skilled tradesmen. The installation was carried out efficiently, with very little disruption and to a high standard. They cleared up after themselves and gave great advice on the use of the boiler and accessories they installed. Couldn’t be happier with the service and would definitely recommend them.
Alan Kiley Posted on 10/07/2017 , work completed 10/07/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional service. I am very happy with the work carried out. Have no hesitation in recommending or using their service again.
Helen, Lanarkshire Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017