We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

K Spencer Building & Maintenance Ltd

Default profile image
4.6

24 Reviews

About

This business has not added a description yet.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Loft conversions
    • Building services
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
    • Conservatories
    • Curtain walling
    • Plastering
    • Porches
    • Log cabins and homes
  • Conservatories

    • Hardwood conservatories and orangeries
  • Bricklayers

    • Re-pointing
  • More Services

    • house building

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.6
24 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.6
Value
4.7
Sort by
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, friendly & sincere & prompt would recommend to anyone.
Keith, West Midlands Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Trustworthy & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very trustworthy and flexible in his approach. Accommodated a couple of last minute requests for additional work. Good attention to detail and pride in his work with a good level of finish. Great guy and we would definitely use him again.
Daniel, West Midlands Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Happy and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent builders. It was a pleasure to have Kevin and Neil convert our garage to an office - conscientious, hard working and well mannered!
Graham, West Midlands Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We experienced alot of problems with this builder. Materials were fitted which were not as specified in the quotation and alot of the work was poor quality and rushed, so had to be done again. We had been attracted by their impressive quotation but once work started the builder did not refer to it.
Briton Posted on 01/08/2012 , work completed 01/08/2012
The trader replied (on 26/11/2017)
I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the job
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin is a friendly guy with a laid-back attitude. Unfortunately this latter quality causes problems. He tends to guess materials required (usually over-ordering). The excess is left on site or spirited away to his lockup; either way you end up paying. Time needed to complete the job is under estimated. This results in the job being rushed towards the end, corners are cut and mistakes creep in. Beware the 'quote' which turns out to be an estimate and a bill for 'extras' after you thought you had paid for everything. May be ok for small jobs but for larger works you will be better off hiring a professional builder.
H888 Posted on 21/11/2011 , work completed 21/11/2011
The trader replied (on 26/11/2017)
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the job
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team are professional, courteous and extremely knowledgeable. They worked very efficiently and with excellent attention to detail. Biggest plus point was that he listened to what we wanted and delivered on it consistently. The team also worked in a clean and tidy way and kept disruption to an absolute minimum. We used them to build internal walls [both block work and stud/plasterboard], put in a separate shower room in a large roof space bedroom [soil pipe routing was very cleverly executed!] and generally change wiring/lighting and cosmetic plastering in our house. I can recommend them for this type of work without question. Everything was completed to a very high standard and the overall price was reasonable. He came back to snag the bits I discovered after they had finished without question and to a standard that satisfied me. I can confirm that we will be re-employing him for the kitchen and the cellar when funds allow. I really canÍt recommend him highly enough.
professorib Posted on 24/06/2010 , work completed 24/06/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin knocked the wall down between the toilet and bathroom to make a large shower/toilet, He replaced the plastic fascia and led flashing around the dormer, organised a complete replacement and fitting to the central heating system and much more all at a reasonable price. The downside is that his mate messed up twice. I was not very happy about that and had to call him back, Kevin apologised and finished the job himself to my satisfaction.
lane Posted on 25/05/2010 , work completed 25/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Kevin to build an extension to our house. He and his team were superb throughout. They always turned up when they said they would, they always tidied up after themselves, they went to a great deal of trouble to ensure we were inconvenienced as little as possible and they stuck to the timetable Kevin provided. You may find a cheaper builder (not that he was expensive) but I would be very surprised if you will find a better builder
PBCox Posted on 18/03/2009 , work completed 18/03/2009
Reliable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
K Spencer has done a number of renovations and extensions on our home over the last decade, he is reliable and thorough and a hard worker.
Helene, West Midlands Posted on 10/12/2008 , work completed 10/12/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin re-pointed a chimney [replaced a broken brick which was not in the original quote], fixed/positioned a new Arial and fitted an dryer vent. Came on time and cleaned up afterwards. Nice friendly, helpful builder.
gromit Posted on 21/08/2008 , work completed 21/08/2008