We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

KW Electrical Services

Profile thumb kevin wade electrician logo

5.0

30 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–20:00
  • Monday 07:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–20:00
  • Thursday 07:00–20:00
  • Friday 07:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–14:00
  • Sunday - Closed

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

KW ELECTRICAL SERVICES

HI MY NAME IS KEVIN AND I AM A FULLY QUALIFIED WITH 15 YEARS EXPERIENCE OF DOMESTIC AND COMMERCIAL ELECTRICS. I OPERATE MAINLY WITHIN HEMEL, WATFORD, ST ALBANS, HARPENDEN, RICKMANSWORTH AND SURROUNDING AREAS.

I AM PROUD TO HAVE AN AVERAGE RATING OF 5.0 AND FEEL I OFFER A RELIABLE, HIGH QUALITY AND HONEST SERVICE. MY COMMITMENT TO YOU AS A POTENTIAL CUSTOMER IS:

TO BE PUNCTUAL

AN HONEST AND COMPETITIVE SERVICE

I WILL TREAT YOUR HOME WITH RESPECT, BE CLEAN, NEAT AND TIDY AT ALL TIMES

MY AIM ON EACH AND EVERY JOB IS TO LEAVE YOUR PROPERTY WITH A RATING OF 5/5

I AM ALSO A MEMBER OF CHECKATRADE.COM AND AM PROUD TO HAVE OVER 150 REVIEWS WITH AN AVERAGE RATING OF 9.88. CHECK MY PROFILE OUT http://www.checkatrade.com/KWElectricalServices/

MY WEBSITE : Electrician4Hire.Me
MY EMAIL : KEVWADE63@YAHOO.COM

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Electrical testing services
    • Fuse boards
    • Electric Showers
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Smart Homes

    • Home automation
    • Automated heating and air conditioning
    • Security
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Emergency lighting

Customer reviews

5.0
30 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Recommend highly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin responded promptly to my enquiry with a clear quote, followed by good communication at all stages. He arrived promptly, worked efficiently with a friendly manner, completed a series of small jobs on time and cleared up. An excellent service - I would recommend him highly.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 05/03/2020
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin comes highly recommended. He responded to calls, turned up when promised and was always polite and professional. He gave advice when needed. His price is very competitive and the work he did was of a high standard. Very glad to have found such a reliable workman locally.
Joanne, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/11/2019 , work completed 18/11/2019
Fast response, polite and efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kev responded by return to our email requesting help with our electrics and came to the house next day to investigate and carry out the required work. He could see straightaway what he thought the problem was and quickly found and repaired the fault. Kev was helpful, friendly and a pleasure to have carry out work in our home, which he treated with respect at all times. He explained what he was doing and why he was doing it at each stage which gave us the confidence that he wasn't looking to make it seem as if there was more work to be done than there really was. We wouldn't hesitate to use Kev again or to recommend him to anybody in need of a good electrician.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
Expert work replacing original fuse board with modern RCD, connect Electric Shower
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin came promptly to give good advice about connecting our new Electric Shower as existing wiring not adequate. Also for years I had wanted to replace our house's original 50 year old fuse board with modern much safer and convenient RCD distribution unit, but feared the cost. At his suggestion he gave two alternative estimates, just the shower connection or the two jobs. I was pleased with the combined quote and asked him to come at a date synchronised with our plumber fitting the shower unit. Kevin is very efficient tidy worker, pleasant to have in the house. As he was coming I remembered I needed a couple of smaller jobs. These were replacing our broken bathroom fan switch, a ceiling light fitting and a new LED unit with connection for a failed outside light. His additional charge for those jobs was very modest. He came back to work cooperatively with our plumber, so completing a really pleasing piece of work. I would always recommend Kevin for electrical related jobs small or large.
Norman Posted on 23/07/2019 , work completed 17/07/2019
Prompt, helpful & effective.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Awoke to find the domestic lighting circuits had 'tripped' overnight, was unable to re-set them following the 'fuse box' instructions. Contacted the trader who talked me through a couple of possibilities without succeeding to resolve the problem. Trader came promptly, he had told me his terms. He traced the problem to a bedroom ceiling rose contaminated by water - a small leak in the roof which I was quite unaware of. The trader took steps to contain the problem. Dried out the fitting and reset the lighting circuit. All completed within an hour.
Dorothy, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/01/2019 , work completed 04/01/2019
Speedy and quick response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Kevin earlier this afternoon as the spur switch on the washing machine needed replacing. He agreed to call around this evening. He arrived on time and was extremely courteous and professional. He completed the job in 10 minutes to our great satisfaction. I will certainly call him again for any future electrical problems (minor or more complex) and recommend him to friends and neighbours
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job was to replace eight halogens with fire-rated LED downlights. Kevin was very quick in responding to our query and promptly produced a highly competitive quote. He was efficient and cheerful in doing the work and even when the job turned out to be a little more complicated than he first thought, Kevin successfully solved the problems he encountered - and stuck to the quoted price. We will definitely use him again for all things electrical. Highly professional and great value. Recommended.
Peter G Posted on 12/08/2018 , work completed 12/08/2018
To the rescue!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had someone come to install smart meters todays. He was unable to do the work because he found a black box on the meter board which was a 'live conductor', as he described it. Certainly it was very warm indeed. My usual electrician was unavailable so I went to another listing and found Kevin Wade's details. When I spoke on the phone he said 'I'll be there in an hour and a half', I waited in some anxiety of mind, as the smart meter man had told me to keep the area near the box clear, and the pantry door open. Kevin arrived on the dot and in no time at all had removed the box (left over from a non-working doorbell). My peace of mine returned! Lovely chap.
Pamela M, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/08/2018 , work completed 01/08/2018
Good job, good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He fitted a socket. It was a quick job so he came on his way home on the day I phoned. Arrived on time. Was courteous, and did a good job. Will use again.
Sue, Hertfordshire Posted on 31/07/2018 , work completed 31/07/2018
Efficient & cost effective service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electric circuit tripping for no apparent reason. Electrician contacted and attended next day at 7:30am. Checked power point and fuse box. Circuit tripped when put on - separated circuits on fuse box to identify issue. Identified problem was with the dimmer box. This was isolated and problem reduced within 2 hours at cost of £90. He has checked to ensure no after problem. 1st class service.
Ian, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/07/2018 , work completed 24/07/2018
Prompt & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
KW Electrical Services provided an efficient service and quickly resolved a bathroom light fitting problem. Kevin was quick to respond to my query and the appointment was arranged promptly. Kevin turned up on time and fixed and explained the problem. In addition, he went out of his way to drop off the best kind of lightbulbs to use. Highly recommend and I will refer any further electrical problems his way! Thanks.
Jessica Posted on 19/07/2018 , work completed 19/07/2018
Cheerful and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin replaced a mains fed smoke alarm, efficiently and at a fair price.
Margaret, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/07/2018 , work completed 19/07/2018
Upgrade consumer units and garage supply
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was an unusual problem as the requirement (company installing an electric car charger stipulated a non RCD 28 amp supply). In addition much of the old 15 metre wiring to the garage had no access. He was able to pull the new armoured cable through using the old cable. Kevin showed a good understanding of the problem as was able to offer advice and produce a quote. He did exactly what he quoted for. He was very helpful to me when lifting paving slabs and making good afterwards (not part of the quote) . He is very friendly and likable. He finished with what seems to be a very complete check on the whole system. He explained what tests he might not be able to complete and why. He also suggested a couple of things that I might consider doing in the future as well as earthing a light, again not part of the quote. All-round an excellent job.
Bushill Posted on 17/04/2018 , work completed 17/04/2018
Great Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A DODGY CHANDELIER WAS REPAIRED AND AN ELECTRICAL SOCKET WAS MOVED ALL WITH GREAT GOOD HUMOUR AND EXPERTESE. I WOULD RECOMMEND KEVIN TO ANYONE. THANKS KEVIN.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/06/2017 , work completed 21/06/2017
Fuse box help
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin came to my rescue today whilst at home with two little ones & no electricicity to any socket. He talked me through exactly what to do over the phone free of charge and all I had to do was send him a picture of the fuse box in question. Total life saver!
Kaye J Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
Good value, accurate quote, great work and top bloke
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin was great from start to finish. His initial quote was competitive and he stuck to it. The job involved moving several sockets and checking some wiring, so it wasn't too complicated, but the quality of the work was good and he was very polite and friendly. I would happily recommend Kevin.
arhmcleod Posted on 15/07/2016 , work completed 15/07/2016
kw electrical services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin was punctual, pleasant and solved both our problems {a non working bathroom fan and a problem spotlight} quickly and efficiently. I would definitely use him again and would be pleased to recommend him.
Jan Parker Posted on 21/04/2016 , work completed 21/04/2016
New fuse box
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, reliable and very personable. Kevin did excellent work on replacing a tired, old looking fuse box with a much safer newer one. We are very happy with all aspects of his work and we would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs an electrician.
K T Posted on 19/04/2016 , work completed 19/04/2016
The trader replied (on 21/04/2016)
Thank you for taking the time to review my service. Hopefully you will sleep better knowing you have a modern RCD consumer unit to latest safety standards.
Replacement of Faulty Kitchen lights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of Faulty Kitchen lights with LED equivalent. Kevin came expecting to simply replace my Kitchen spot lights. However on arrival he discovered this was not possible and initially I was worried. Kevin took me through my options and agreed to re - wire the whole of my Kitchen lights there and then, which I was so grateful for. He did an amazing job, especially as I was expecting the need to take down the whole ceiling, but he managed to do it through a small whole instead. I appreciate it took him longer than he had factored into his day, yet he never complained or rushed, but took as long as required to carry out the job to high standard.
**Kim** Posted on 18/04/2016 , work completed 18/04/2016
The trader replied (on 21/04/2016)
Thanks for the great review. What a mess the wiring was. I think some serious Sunday afternoon DIY had gone on at some stage. Glad to have been able to tidy it all up. Also glad to hear all of your LED Downlighters have been working well.
Replaced old smoke alarm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin was able to do this job for me straight away. He was friendly,polite and very helpful. I had purchased the wrong alarm and he went and got me the correct one for my flat (saving me money as the heat alarm which I had bought cost twice as much!). The smoke alarm was replaced quickly and efficiently and at a reasonable price. I will definitely use Kevin again.
Julia R Posted on 18/04/2016 , work completed 18/04/2016
The trader replied (on 21/04/2016)
Thanks for the review Julia. Nothing like being able to save a bit of money is there?
Installed power, power points and lights to garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very happy with the work which Kevin completed within the day. He is very hard working and nothing is too much trouble for him. He is also very friendly Work done: 7 October 2015 Tidiness 10/10 Timekeeping 10/10 Courtesy 10/10 Workmanship 10/10
dave t Posted on 17/04/2016 , work completed 17/04/2016
Reliable, professional and friendly electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I moved into my new home just over a year ago and as this is an old house there are a few improvements I need to get done. I contacted Kevin as some of the work needs a professional.(faulty cooker power box) Immediately he replied and agreed a time for the following evening. Kevin was very punctual and worked efficiently. It was a small enough job but it wasn't too small for Kevin to come and fix. He even added some extras like casing for the cooker wire. His work area was left tidy and organised and he explained what exactly needed to be done. This was the first time I contacted Kevin but I was happy with his work so I kept his details. I later needed some work done in the loft but I was informed that there were a number of exposed (live) wires. I contacted Kevin and we agreed a time for him to come. As he was working on this job I asked if he could install a light in the loft. Even though this wasn't in the original job request Kevin was was able to do this. He made the exposed wires safe and installed tube lighting in the loft. He also placed the switch conveniently close to the loft hatch which is within easy reach from the landing. Later this year I am installing a new kitchen I only hope Kevin is available for the rewiring etc that will need to be done. I would absolutely recommend Kevin for all your electrical work.
Sean M Posted on 17/04/2016 , work completed 17/04/2016
The trader replied (on 21/04/2016)
Thanks for the kind review. I look forward to hearing from you when decide to revamp your kitchen.
Good electrician with good customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Consumer unit replaced. System tested. Excellent service. Polite and thorough.
Adepttim Posted on 15/04/2016 , work completed 15/04/2016
Electrical problem sorted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a spark and electrical short. Kevin quickly sorted the problem and discovered that it was caused by a DIY error where we drilled through a cable. As always, Kevin is reliable and trustworthy - he gets the job done with efficiency and humour! He is professional and sticks to his word.
Judith Posted on 13/04/2016 , work completed 13/04/2016
The trader replied (on 21/04/2016)
Thanks for the review, much appreciated. Just to think that you managed to drill straight through a lighting cable and not even realise. Thank god for RCD's
Replaced Bathroom Extractor Fan
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, very impressed!! Kevin was very friendly and very professional, I would definitely
Louise Posted on 12/04/2016 , work completed 12/04/2016
Fitting of replacement electric radiators.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Kevin. He is very accommodating, he is punctual, clearly knows what he is doing. He gets on with the job and at a competitive price. He even went out of his way last time to set and explain how to programme the radiator. I will be using Kevin when I need electrical work done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/04/2016 , work completed 12/04/2016
Professional, helpful, goes the extra mile!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Being female it can be a bit daunting dealing with tradespeople as 1) you feel like they might rip you off and 2) sometimes you can feel threatened. I cannot recommend Kevin enough. He went over and above what was expected, even driving around late at night to locate the necessary parts/bulbs etc and was kind enough to charge me less than he had originally quoted (partially on account of there having been less work to do - I hadn't noticed the fuse was gone, but he didn't make me feel remotely silly about it!). An absolute pleasure to deal with - I'll never use another electrician.
Fretters Posted on 12/04/2016 , work completed 12/04/2016
Fault finding and repair to lower house circuit.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Kevin as a result of this website. Explained problem as I saw it and furnished a few pics. He called to state he was unable to attend promptly but agreed to attend later. Arrived on time and set to the problem. A thorough review by process of elimination of the house wiring done very quickly which tracked a burnt out socket causing the 'tripping'. Repaired immediately and a new temporary double fitted socket on a Sunday within an hour all for £X. Professional job in reasonable time, at short notice on his 'day off' - I am well pleased. Saved a freezer full of food and no claims on insurance! Work done: 22 November 2015
Mickmuddywaters Posted on 23/03/2016 , work completed 23/03/2016
The trader replied (on 11/04/2016)
Thanks for the kind review Mr Waters. It was a pleasure to work for you.
Fixed electric shower.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin was very friendly and efficient. Good communication before he came, confirming the appointment the evening before. He diagnosed the problem quickly and fixed it within the hour. I would definitely use him again and would recommend him to everyone.
juliep Posted on 20/03/2016 , work completed 20/03/2016
The trader replied (on 11/04/2016)
Thanks for the kind review Mrs Powell. It was a pleasure to work for you. I hope you are enjoying having hot water again
Replacing a very old bathroom light fitting.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin arrived on schedule and did a first class job in the time that he quoted. Definitely recommend him to anyone.
Hemel man Posted on 20/03/2016 , work completed 20/03/2016
The trader replied (on 11/04/2016)
Thanks for the kind review. Glad to hear that you are happy with your new light fitting.