We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Llanishen MOT & Service Centre Ltd (Babbages)

Profile thumb img 6798
4.7

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 07:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 07:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 07:30–17:30
  • Thursday 07:30–17:30
  • Friday 07:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Llanishen MoT & Service Centre is an independent family run business based in Llanishen, Cardiff since 1924. The main aim of our company is to give excellent service and workmanship, whilst keeping the cost down.

We specialise in:
- Exhausts
- Tyres
- Clutches
- Brakes
- Servicing & Repairs
- MOTs

Please see our website using the link above for more details.

What we do

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Specialist MOTs
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car radiator repairs
    • Battery servicing
  • More Services

    • air conditioning services
    • tyres

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
48 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.7
Sort by
Brilliant trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He has done some extensive work for me, most recently replaced a bulb on my BMW. It was booked in and returned by the next day! I frequently recommend him to others, no complaints at all. The team are all very friendly and I definitely recommend them and their customer service 100%.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 14/12/2016 , work completed 14/12/2016
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good, prompt service at a price that was quoted - no hidden extras.
Paul, South Glamorgan Posted on 28/10/2016 , work completed 28/10/2016
Always a good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Richard Babbage for some time now to service our 2 cars. We've had MOTs, new parts and servicing work done. I highly recommend them because I've never had a bad service, the prices are always fair, and if ever anything extra needs doing they let you know in advance before they do it. Good team of mechanics who all work hard, and clearly explain what needs doing and they give good advice.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
AWESOME
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had my MOT completed last month and will soon be taking my car in for a service. They are super flexible and always squeeze me in when I need work done. My wife also uses them and almost everyone where I work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/10/2016 , work completed 11/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have two complaints about the customer service I received at these premises. I booked my car in for a service, MOT and brake pad replacement for Monday 15th Sept. 2014 When I made the booking I explained that I would supply my own brake pads. I explained that I had purchased these intending to fit them myself but hadnÔøΩt had time to do so. I asked what the cost would be and if there would be a fitting charge for the brake pads, and was told ÔøΩ225. I asked if that included ALL the service, MOT and brake fitting. Paul told me ÔøΩyesÔøΩ. He explained that the brake pads would be changed at the time of the service because ÔøΩsince the service included stripping and cleaning the brakes, the old pads would simply be replaced by the new pads and would therefore not cost any extraÔøΩ. Complaint 1) I was horrified when I was presented a bill of over ÔøΩ290. This was eventually reduced to ÔøΩ273 which I reluctantly paid. This change of charge is a ÔøΩbreak of contractÔøΩ. The price for the work to be done was verbally agreed over the phone. I am disgusted at the way in which I was treated. If a charge for fitting the brakes had been explained when I made the booking I could have taken this into account at the time. However, I was assured there would be no extra charge. I double checked this with Paul when I made the booking. At the time of payment, if the garage proprietor had admitted a mistake had been made, I could have taken that into account. But NO, they denied the price had been agreed. Complaint 2) When removing / fitting my wheels their mechanic damaged a brand new key for the locking wheel nuts. I discovered this when, due to a puncture the next day, Tuesday 16th, I had to change a wheel. Prior to them servicing my car, the key was brand new and had *never* been used. It was a replacement for one previously damaged by other garage mechanics using compressed air spanners for removal / replacement of the locking wheel nuts. (The damage to the original is one of the reasons I hadnÔøΩt replaced the pads myself as IÔøΩd had to wait for a replacement key from Ford.) I can only presume their mechanic also used a compressed air spanner which caused the damage. Had I received better service I may well have returned to Babbage's to purchase and fit a new tyre (the puncture cannot be repaired).
dandg Posted on 24/09/2014 , work completed 24/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having tried a number of Garages in the area, have used Babbage for the last 2 years. Constantly trying to improve their offering and have recently joined the GoodGarageScheme.com that looks like a good effort to improve their offering. They are good at keeping you updated with cars progress whist at the Garage, also very Jolly that makes a change!
alastairrayment Posted on 10/11/2009 , work completed 10/11/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful service and proactive. Willing to to resolve the extra niggles.
Oldrector Posted on 18/10/2009 , work completed 18/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for all our vehicle service and M.O.Ts over a number of years. All my children use them now as well and seem happy with the reception, service and prices that they get.
spackman Posted on 30/08/2009 , work completed 30/08/2009