We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Llanishen MOT & Service Centre Ltd (Babbages)

Profile thumb img 6798
4.7

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–17:30
  • Monday 07:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 07:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 07:30–17:30
  • Thursday 07:30–17:30
  • Friday 07:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Llanishen MoT & Service Centre is an independent family run business based in Llanishen, Cardiff since 1924. The main aim of our company is to give excellent service and workmanship, whilst keeping the cost down.

We specialise in:
- Exhausts
- Tyres
- Clutches
- Brakes
- Servicing & Repairs
- MOTs

Please see our website using the link above for more details.

What we do

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Specialist MOTs
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car radiator repairs
    • Battery servicing
  • More Services

    • air conditioning services
    • tyres

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
48 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.7
Sort by
Very Disappointed: Damage to Alloy Wheels
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been a customer for many years and always been pleased with the work undertaken. However, my recent visit to have two new rear tyres fitted has resulted in both alloy wheels being damaged: both had areas of fine parallel scratches covered in dirt/grease together with a much deeper scratch in one wheel. Unfortunately – due to bad weather – I did not notice this damage until a few days later when I went to clean the dirt off the rear wheels. I took the car back to the garage but they insisted that the damage must have occurred over time and may have been caused by cleaning the wheels with an abrasive tool. However, this damage must have happened to both wheels at the same time (and within the last week since the car was last cleaned and no such damage existed). I am the only person who cleans the car and the wheels and I use a sponge and soft brush. I sincerely believe that this damage was caused whilst my car was in their hands. I am very disappointed with their dismissive response and I will not be using Llanishen MOT and Services again.
Customer in Cardiff Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 11/05/2021
The trader replied (on 19/05/2021)
Thank you for your review. We are disheartened to hear of your disappointment following your visit to us early last week. We have screened the CCTV on the day your vehicle was in with us and can assure you that the mechanic that replaced your tyres handled your alloys with care, rolling them across the court to the tyre machine and back , and ensured that when they were placed on the floor, they were the facing upwards. If our tyre machine were to damage alloys in any way, the marks would be around the circumference of the alloy, however, the marks presented to us this week were near the centre of the alloy, and the brush marks were on one of the spokes. Unfortunately, our CCTV does not enable us to zoom in enough to see whether or not the marks were present when the vehicle came in to us, but we are saddened that you believe we are the reason that they are damaged. If you did want to discuss this again, we will be more than happy to speak with you.
Great customer service & repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you for your prompt repair. Excellent service. Great value too. And impressive customer care. Well done. Thank you.
Karen in Cardiff Posted on 19/03/2021 , work completed 19/03/2021
Exceptional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work, The paving slabs are visibly glowing, lovley team
Sergio, London Posted on 13/11/2019 , work completed 13/11/2019
Excellent in motion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked in for 7am for a replacement indicator bulb necessitating bumper removal for access to it. I went for a swim and returned an hour later to find the care ready for me, job done. This garage will go out of their way to accommodate their customers ably arranged by the very efficient Karen.
Peter, South Glamorgan Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 29/10/2019
Amazing garage!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service, very friendly stuff, they are doing your best to keep you happy and they are not trying to rip you off at all. Also the service is very quick, same day collection 2 times already. I would definitely go back. Highly recommended!
Customer in Cardiff Posted on 04/09/2019 , work completed 03/09/2019
To the rescue
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My engine light came on, they got my car in on the same day and fixed within a day. Excellent service.
Julie, South Glamorgan Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Fast, Honest, Cheap
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I always feel in safe hands when leaving my car here. Extremely friendly, happy, and honest engineers and office staff. Guaranteed quick, cheap, and premier service at this repair centre.
Jake Maddocks Posted on 18/09/2018 , work completed 18/09/2018
Definitely a trusted garage with a helpful staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have our 2 cars MOT’d and serviced here and they are always been helpful and do a great job. We find the garage to be friendly and gives a professional service with honest advice. This garage is trustworthy and I would recommend them.
Mumof2 Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is our regular & trusted garage. Both my husband and I have our M.O.T'S and any work required carried out by friendly, professional staff. We feel confident in their hands - they come to our aid without question, even for emergencies.
Patricia, South Glamorgan Posted on 13/06/2017 , work completed 13/06/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have perfect service every time, all the staff are friendly, have been going there for some years now and will not change ever.
Jayne, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 12/06/2017 , work completed 12/06/2017
Dependable Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In the 30 years I've been Babbage's customer I've always received excellent service at a good price. But just as importantly - it's been dependable service - whenever I've need urgent work, they have always done their very best to accommodate my needs. My Son is now also a customer and I would recommend Llanishen MOT Center to anyone in the area.
John Denton-Smith Posted on 11/06/2017 , work completed 11/06/2017
Brilliant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this garage for over 30 years. They have looked after my 6 cars superbly. They are highly professional yet friendly and willing happily to do little extra jobs at no charge.
John E, South Glamorgan Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
Excellent service all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took my car in for a service and couldn't be happier with quality of workmanship or the warmth of the welcome. Would recommend in a heart beat.
Gareth, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 08/06/2017 , work completed 08/06/2017
Professional and helpful.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely helpful and accommodating. Professional job, well done.
Sheila, South Glamorgan Posted on 02/06/2017 , work completed 02/06/2017
Prompt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT commenced after 10 minute wait (no appointment) & completed without delays. No checklist received. Windscreen wash ran out next day. Should this have been checked?
Anne, South Glamorgan Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
As always, very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MOT & Annual service carried out to usual high standard. I have used Babbages for many years and they have always been ready to deal with break downs locally. First class!
John, South Glamorgan Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
Brilliant job, as always!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable and helpful. Been taking my car there for a few years and they always do a great job at a good price. Very impressed, local, friendly service.
Jackie, South Glamorgan Posted on 26/05/2017 , work completed 26/05/2017
Great service - recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Babbages for many years and have always been more than happy with the work and the cost of work.
sundial Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
The trader replied (on 05/06/2017)
Thanks you for leaving feedback, very much apprecaited
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My car was taken here by the recovery breakdown service, as the clutch had burnt out.
Molly, South Glamorgan Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Excellent - as always!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Llanishen MOT & Service Centre have looked after our families cars for years. They are excellent mechanics and are reliable, honest and good value for money. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. A very costly fault on a previous car of mine was fixed for free under warranty, thanks to Richards honest advice. I would not hesitate in recommending them.
Diane, South Glamorgan Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual great service from start to finish! Good prices, good humour. Top stuff.
Roger, South Glamorgan Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
The trader replied (on 05/06/2017)
Thanks for the kind words Roger, nice to know when people are happy with the service.
Honest, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the service given at this establishment. I normally take my car to the dealer who performs more procedures on my car than is required and charge high prices. I have saved a fortune by coming here and am happier with the level of service.
Debbie, South Glamorgan Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
The trader replied (on 05/06/2017)
Thanks Debbie we do try and give a second to none service with realistic prices, nice to hear your happy with the service provided and thanks for taking time to add feedback.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to book in, open early and availability of courtesy car. Friendly, informative and helpful - a garage I trust.
Derek, South Glamorgan Posted on 28/04/2017 , work completed 28/04/2017
The trader replied (on 05/06/2017)
Thank you Derek, the early morning are a killer lol but just a part of the service we offer. Thanks for the feedback
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have always found Llanishen MOT & Service Centre Ltd to be reliable, honest and trustworthy. They are also very efficient and would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending them.
Gerrard, South Glamorgan Posted on 06/04/2017 , work completed 06/04/2017
The trader replied (on 05/06/2017)
Thank you for your feedback Gerrard nice to know how people feel about the service we try so hard to provide and maintain.
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, as usual.
Robert, South Glamorgan Posted on 31/03/2017 , work completed 31/03/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always a very good service.
Nigel, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 10/02/2017 , work completed 10/02/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, happy to accommodate at short notice. Will certainly recommend and use their service again.
Margaret, South Glamorgan Posted on 10/02/2017 , work completed 10/02/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, efficient, reliable and trustworthy. MOT and tyre replaced within 3 hours.
Mandy, South Glamorgan Posted on 08/02/2017 , work completed 08/02/2017
Great
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Went in to get my car MOT'd at 9:15am told me they could do it today and they would ring me when it was done. They phoned me at 10:30am to say it was ready. I had collected my car and paid by 10:45am. They are very quick and efficient. I have used them in the past and will definitely use them again.
Joanne, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 03/02/2017 , work completed 03/02/2017
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved last year, but still come back to Babbages Cardiff, as they're very reliable, honest and trustworthy.
Karen, Dyfed Posted on 02/02/2017 , work completed 02/02/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always high quality customer service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
Quick and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rang up garage one day - booked in for following day - described problem - they knew what it was straight away. Fixed. No overcharging. Even fixed my alignment in cost.
Jamie, South Glamorgan Posted on 27/01/2017 , work completed 27/01/2017
very efficient and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I booked the car in the garage for a check as the level of coolant was dropping slowly. The problem was dealt with that day and they also pointed out that the battery needed changing which explained why we were having the off problem of starting the car at times. They provided helpful advice on the state of the car and how long to retain it.
Paul, South Glamorgan Posted on 26/01/2017 , work completed 26/01/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Babbage's for over 20 years and have always found them to be reliable, efficient and excellent value.
Julie, South Glamorgan Posted on 24/01/2017 , work completed 24/01/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for over 40 years and have always received excellent service.
Jeffrey, South Glamorgan Posted on 24/01/2017 , work completed 24/01/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We always receive the very best of service. I always highly recommend this garage.
Leon, Mid Glamorgan Posted on 22/01/2017 , work completed 22/01/2017
Straight forward & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service. Easy to drop off without an appointment for MOT. Can pay by card. Text message to notify me my car was ready for collection (Very handy while I'm in work).
Victoria, South Glamorgan Posted on 11/01/2017 , work completed 11/01/2017
Polite workers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly helpful receptionist, polite workers, courtesy car available, was a big plus for me work was done promptly and I was informed of any extra jobs before they were carried out.
Paul, South Glamorgan Posted on 11/01/2017 , work completed 11/01/2017
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't recommend Llanishen MOT Centre highly enough. Polite and friendly, they always do their best to accommodate requests for times and dates. They offer great value for money and always discuss work and it's cost before carrying it out. Honest, trustworthy and a pleasure to deal with.
Paul, South Glamorgan Posted on 10/01/2017 , work completed 10/01/2017
Excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always go above and beyond. Flexible, reliable, value for money, professional. Right throughout the staff. Excellent customer service and quality of work. I would highly recommend them to anyone. I am a sales director for a biotech company so understand the importance of these factors.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/01/2017 , work completed 05/01/2017
Brilliant trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He has done some extensive work for me, most recently replaced a bulb on my BMW. It was booked in and returned by the next day! I frequently recommend him to others, no complaints at all. The team are all very friendly and I definitely recommend them and their customer service 100%.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 14/12/2016 , work completed 14/12/2016
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good, prompt service at a price that was quoted - no hidden extras.
Paul, South Glamorgan Posted on 28/10/2016 , work completed 28/10/2016
Always a good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Richard Babbage for some time now to service our 2 cars. We've had MOTs, new parts and servicing work done. I highly recommend them because I've never had a bad service, the prices are always fair, and if ever anything extra needs doing they let you know in advance before they do it. Good team of mechanics who all work hard, and clearly explain what needs doing and they give good advice.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
AWESOME
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had my MOT completed last month and will soon be taking my car in for a service. They are super flexible and always squeeze me in when I need work done. My wife also uses them and almost everyone where I work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/10/2016 , work completed 11/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have two complaints about the customer service I received at these premises. I booked my car in for a service, MOT and brake pad replacement for Monday 15th Sept. 2014 When I made the booking I explained that I would supply my own brake pads. I explained that I had purchased these intending to fit them myself but hadnÔøΩt had time to do so. I asked what the cost would be and if there would be a fitting charge for the brake pads, and was told ÔøΩ225. I asked if that included ALL the service, MOT and brake fitting. Paul told me ÔøΩyesÔøΩ. He explained that the brake pads would be changed at the time of the service because ÔøΩsince the service included stripping and cleaning the brakes, the old pads would simply be replaced by the new pads and would therefore not cost any extraÔøΩ. Complaint 1) I was horrified when I was presented a bill of over ÔøΩ290. This was eventually reduced to ÔøΩ273 which I reluctantly paid. This change of charge is a ÔøΩbreak of contractÔøΩ. The price for the work to be done was verbally agreed over the phone. I am disgusted at the way in which I was treated. If a charge for fitting the brakes had been explained when I made the booking I could have taken this into account at the time. However, I was assured there would be no extra charge. I double checked this with Paul when I made the booking. At the time of payment, if the garage proprietor had admitted a mistake had been made, I could have taken that into account. But NO, they denied the price had been agreed. Complaint 2) When removing / fitting my wheels their mechanic damaged a brand new key for the locking wheel nuts. I discovered this when, due to a puncture the next day, Tuesday 16th, I had to change a wheel. Prior to them servicing my car, the key was brand new and had *never* been used. It was a replacement for one previously damaged by other garage mechanics using compressed air spanners for removal / replacement of the locking wheel nuts. (The damage to the original is one of the reasons I hadnÔøΩt replaced the pads myself as IÔøΩd had to wait for a replacement key from Ford.) I can only presume their mechanic also used a compressed air spanner which caused the damage. Had I received better service I may well have returned to Babbage's to purchase and fit a new tyre (the puncture cannot be repaired).
dandg Posted on 24/09/2014 , work completed 24/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having tried a number of Garages in the area, have used Babbage for the last 2 years. Constantly trying to improve their offering and have recently joined the GoodGarageScheme.com that looks like a good effort to improve their offering. They are good at keeping you updated with cars progress whist at the Garage, also very Jolly that makes a change!
alastairrayment Posted on 10/11/2009 , work completed 10/11/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful service and proactive. Willing to to resolve the extra niggles.
Oldrector Posted on 18/10/2009 , work completed 18/10/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for all our vehicle service and M.O.Ts over a number of years. All my children use them now as well and seem happy with the reception, service and prices that they get.
spackman Posted on 30/08/2009 , work completed 30/08/2009