We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Matt Sage Plumbing and Heating Limited

Profile thumb l4

4.8

60 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Matt Sage Plumbing and Heating Limited is a family run company we pride ourselves on our reputation and professionalism, our aim to make sure every customer is fully satisfied with all work that is undertaken.

All work is carried out to the highest possible standard, all pipework is neatly clipped, cleaned and tidy - Please see the photos Below!

◦We cover the north Essex and south Suffolk area and undertake all the following work,

◦Natural Gas and LPG Boiler servicing, breakdowns and installations - DOMESTIC and COMMERCIAL

◦Large Domestic and Commercial heating installations/Servicing

◦Un-vented Hot water Systems

◦Power Flushing and Water Quality Testing

◦Bathroom and Wet room installations -

We fit Premium boilers from Worcester Bosch and Viessman - both with UPTO 10 YEAR WARRANTIES!

We offer 0% Finance on all Worcester Bosch boilers

For a free no obligation estimate please do not hesitate to contact us today. 01255 808 110 - 01206 808 460 - 0781 600 5363

What we do

  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler repair
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
  • Gas installers

Customer reviews

4.8
60 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Damp patch on bedroom ceiling; checked loft and found puddle under main water tank. Pipes and connections dry, but water seeping from beneath the tank. Obtained 'Matt Sage' contact details from the Which? trusted traders page and emailed him the same day. Mr Sage replied that evening and conducted an 'on-site' inspection the very next day - new water tank needed! He obtained the cost of a replacement tank and provided a repair quote later that afternoon. Work agreed straightaway and Mr Sage arranged for his team to undertake the work the following day. The workman arrived on time, they were professional, polite and conscientious; first class! If needed, I will not hesitate to contact 'Matt Sage' again.
Customer in Essex29/01/2020
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service only found out at the last moment that we needed a boiler service before we could exchange contracts on our house sale. The company were brilliant, lovely staff who were really helpful. Thank you very much we will definitely use you again.
Rachel, Essex28/08/2019
Very impress, will use them again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the fitting of the boiler and associated pipework and venting work. The equipment was fitted with satisfying attention to detail. Minor issues were attended to and I am very happy with the final outcome. Recommended.
Anne, Essex04/06/2019
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A fantastic professional service from start to finish. House was respected and heating now working better than ever before. New boiler relocated and furniture moved where needed but house put back beautifully at the end of the two days. I can't fault this service and fully recommend. Thank you.
Elaine, Essex18/04/2019
The trader replied (on 28/05/2019)
Thank you for your review Elaine. I am very pleased you love your new heating system !
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work and professional team. Good recommendation met expectations.
Jon, Essex04/04/2019
Very disappointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially impressive. After I'd sent a £500 deposit I was told that the date we'd discussed (8 Oct) was no longer possible because "Apologise, I have been away and we have an older customer in Sudbury who has no water as she has a water main leak which the office has booked in on the Monday. I can do the 17th that is no problem. I will book you in." I'm in my 70s and suffer from painful arthritis especially in cold conditions. The engineers were about to leave after the installation when I pointed out they hadn't replaced the roof tiles. A pretty major omission! The following morning the Worcester Bosch boiler was leaking. Matt Sage sent the same engineer who made some adjustments and left. The following morning it leaked again & was repaired by the manufacturer. I've written twice requesting a paper receipt for the £2500 paid but it seems my requests have been ignored. The last request was on 14 November.
Customer in Essex08/01/2019
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
I would like explain what happened to receive this negative review, some 7 months later. As a company we only ever book larger jobs in the diary once a deposit and the quote acceptance (14 day cooling off period) form has been received, at the time of the estimate the 8th OCT was available but all dates are first come first serve. The deposit and form were received and we were already booked up. A customer with NO drinking water at all was booked in. We arranged for the following week. The customers boiler was working at the time of the estimate as i checked it, and it was a simple case of a boiler upgrade, not because it did not work. The roof tiles being left up baffles me as we had not finished installing the new flue through the roof as the ladders were still attached to the wall ! The new boiler unfortunately did leak/drip from a faulty o ring, we were around first thing at 8AM the next day and fixed the leak, The customer was still unhappy so we asked if she would like us to call Worcester and get them to check it over and to put her mind at rest, which she had agreed and we arranged a service call for her. Our invoices are all digital and numerous times we have sent copies to the customer including e-mail and post. This negative review i feel has come completely out of the blue, we really did bend over backwards to sort any issues that were raised at the time of the installation.
Quick response, honest & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Matt Sage Plumbing for my mum, as we noticed her boiler had a slight leak. We was told that someone would be with us between 4-5pm. They actually turned up bang on 4pm. Gave the boiler a good check, was very honest and said that it's a old boiler (which it really is), they checked for any leaks but because there was a lot of limescale around the pipes, if they tried removing it, that it could possibly make things so much worse. So as long as we were happy that it wasn't leaking (the odd drip) to leave alone. We were happy with that. They also gave a great quote if we needed a new boiler later on (we asked for the quote). We would definitely use them again, and would recommend them most definitely. Honest, polite, reliable. Thanks again Kelly and Christine
Customer in Essex11/12/2018
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
Thank you Very Much.
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Have use before and would strongly recommend.
Adam, Essex10/08/2018
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
Thank you Adam.
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class installing new boiler. Will have them again to do other work.
Christopher, Essex31/07/2018
The trader replied (on 04/03/2019)
Thank you Chris.
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job, expertly done.
Carole, Essex30/07/2018
Full boiler upgrade including radiators + full bathroom and shower room refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the initial consultation Matt Sage Plumbing and Heating came across extremely professional and knowledgeable and were able to offer creative advise and solutions that we hadn't considered. We had a number of quotes for the project and decided to go with Matt Sage because of his initial site visit which left us with full confidence in the company and also for the value of their quotation. The project included the removal of an old back boiler, the supply and installation of a new Worcester Bosch 550CDi combination boiler, the upgrade of existing radiators with the installation of new radiators plus the rip-out and refurbishment of both our bathroom and shower room. Throughout the project Matt Sage Ltd were extremely professional, helpful and efficient. They were able to accommodate a number of design changes that we made throughout the progress of the project and we were amazed with their work ethic which was always five stars. On completion of the project all work was very high quality and we couldn't be more happier with the end result. All elements of the design was captured and completed on time, on budget and with great efficiency. We are so pleased we decided to use Matt Sage for our project and will using them again in the future. We have already recommended this company to our friends and family and would highly recommend them in the future. Great Job Guys - 5 Star Service
Elly Goodchild18/07/2018
The trader replied (on 20/07/2018)
Hi Elly and Garry, Thank you so much for such a great review ! I am so happy that you are delighted with your new heating system and bathrooms ! See you soon for the next part of the project. Many thanks Matt Sage
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Matt Sage Plumbing highly recommended on Which Trusted Trader, and he has certainly lived up to his reviews. So nice to have confidence in a plumber again. We will be recommending his services to others.
Catherine, Essex16/07/2018
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Sage replaced our entire heating system and during their 3 days with us were very professional. The quality of their work was exceptional and their communication was good before and during the work. They are highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer12/07/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full heating system install - very impressive job, worked very hard and tried hard to take our wishes into account. Pleased with final result & looking forward to a cosy flat in future.
Ray, Essex14/06/2018
A Job Well Done Thank You
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with all they did for us. Will recommend them with confidence.
Roger, Essex30/04/2018
The trader replied (on 23/05/2018)
Thank you Roger.
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic work as always!! Been servicing our boiler for a number of years now and recently ripped out old boiler and replaced with new combi boiler! Professional,punctual,friendly, efficient and all round legend!! Highly recommended!
Dean7619/04/2018
The trader replied (on 23/05/2018)
Thanks Dean, sure the new combi has made a huge difference!
Very professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Sage Plumbing and Heating Ltd replaced new boiler and redesigned copper pipes and filters. Having had four previous plumbers installing pipes that did not improve heating. Matt Sage is a company 'which' can promote with confidence. Five stars.
Bob, Essex16/04/2018
The trader replied (on 23/05/2018)
Thanks Bob, we love sorting troublesome issues out that others cant !
Very professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Sage Plumbing and Heating Ltd replaced new boiler and redesigned copper pipes and filters. Having had four previous plumbers installing pipes that did not improve heating. Matt Sage is a company 'which' can promote with confidence. Five stars.
Bob, Essex16/04/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lady in the office was brilliant - helpful and efficient. Matt was punctual, tidy and very polite.
Fiona, Essex06/04/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lady in the office was brilliant - helpful and efficient. Matt was punctual, tidy and very polite.
Fiona, Essex06/04/2018
Brilliant work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Very pleased, would recommend.
Ian, Essex04/04/2018
Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been using Matt for some years, and have had faultless service, reliable to a fault, don't ever use anyone else
KarenM26/02/2018
Thoroughly positive review!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and efficient service. Work quickly carried out (and carefully too!) Cleaned and tidied up after themselves. Highly recommend Matt Sage and David.
Jonathan, Essex21/02/2018
Thoroughly positive review!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and efficient service. Work quickly carried out (and carefully too!) Cleaned and tidied up after themselves. Highly recommend Matt Sage and David.
Jonathan, Essex21/02/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work completed in a friendly efficient manner.
Helen, Essex08/01/2018
Professional and clean job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed a new Winchester boiler efficiently and checked the functionality to my satisfaction. Clean job done and left the side neat and tidy.
Rajinder, Essex14/12/2017
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic job as always, would highly recommend.
Guy, Essex20/11/2017
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with installation 2016 and yearly service 2017.
June, Essex20/11/2017
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very personable pair of workers who tackled their job professionally. The only downside was they omitted to re-lag water pipes in the loft.
Gill, Essex27/07/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, very pleased with everything. Very professional, clean and tidy.
Janet, Essex28/06/2017
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly, reliable. Would definitely recommend.
Sarah, Essex27/06/2017
Excellent boiler install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Very good service.
James, Essex09/06/2017
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt attendance, clean, polite, informative, professional.
Anna, Essex11/05/2017
Slow at coming out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned above plumber (recommended by Worcester Boilers) as my boiler was turning itself off continuously, Matt came out said it needed a major service which cost me £180, took him 1/2 hr? Still have fault needs new part?! Ordered a part but wrong part send? Left me with water leak. Supposedly put in new part but couldn't supply me with old part but wanted £200. I refused to pay and still have fault.
Joyce, Essex02/03/2017
The trader replied (on 11/05/2017)
I would like take the opportunity to explain in detail the events that happened in order to receive this review. We were called to a Worcester RI boiler with intermittent flame lockout. I asked for the service records to which there was only a handful, and none were in the recent few years. The boiler was installed in 2009 and as part of Worcester’s servicing guidelines the boiler requires to be fully stripped at a MAX interval of 5 Years. A major service includes a new gasket, electrodes, a full clean of the inside of the heat exchanger, re adjust the min and Max co2 on the gas valve (which cannot be carried out in half an hour) the price we charge all customers for this is £150 plus vat including labour and materials. This would eliminate 4 out of the 7 possible causes of the intermittent fault. The boiler then faulted a couple of weeks later, an electrical tested was carried out as per instructions and the Gas valve was found to be at fault, price was agreed and valve replaced. Joyce called to say the boiler was still faulting (to which I was surprised as tests were carried out) we attended and Joyce asked for me to re fit the old valve, I explained the old valve is faulty and that the new valve cannot be returned so needs to be paid for. I left after explaining I would NOT charge for the part or the labour and to keep the new valve (after insinuating I was here to rip her off) I wish we could diagnose fault first time every time but some faults can be tricky! Thanks Mat
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt Sage will be on my top list for any future heating or plumbing jobs. Work well done.
Douglas, Essex01/03/2017
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thanks for the review Doug ! Matt
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, clean and professional worker.
Carol, Essex23/02/2017
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with quick and knowledgeable service. Matt is polite, informative and we will certainly use him again.
Susan, Essex20/01/2017
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thanks Sue ! Matt
Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional from when I contacted Matt for a quote to replace our boiler until completion . He explained everything that needed replacing and was never pushy. Was always on time and the installation day went smoothly with all mess cleared up. Even an unknown existing electrical problem was rectified. Keep up the good work.
John Harriss03/11/2016
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thanks John just goes to show what you find when we take heating systems apart, Glad its working a treat ! Matt
Boiler fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, would use again. Thanks.
Guy, Essex02/11/2016
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thank you Guy Matt
All day jobs but thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was told it was an all day job and it was (nearly 10 hours). Had new boiler & gas hob fitted. Cleared up after themselves at end of day but due to layout of small house and positioning of boiler was a little in the way. Professional, friendly and good service.
Jacquelin, Essex14/10/2016
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thanks Jacquelin !, we always tidy up and remove all rubbish, thorough is our middle name ! Matt
Cheerful and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with Matt Sage. Fast, efficient, and friendly service.
Jen, Suffolk12/10/2016
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thanks Jen, See you in a month for the new en-suite and bathroom ! Matt
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler was on its way out so we contacted Matt Sage Plumbing for a quote. Matt was very helpful & friendly and explained everything from start to finish, he gave us a brochure to look through to pick which boiler & thermostat would best suit our needs. On day of installation, Matt & team were very tidy & covered everything with dust sheets. When boiler was installed Matt explained how everything worked and showed us how to use the thermostat. We were very impressed and would highly recommend them, we will be contacting them for some small plumbing repairs we need doing. Don't hesitate to give them a ring - they are fab! Thanks, Matt!
Gill & Trevor H24/09/2016
The trader replied (on 12/03/2017)
Thank you Gill and Trevor for such a great review ! matt
Neat and tidy job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Knowledgeable, not forceful trying to see something we didn't want, explained each type of boiler, left us time to decide what we wanted and happy to add on an extra item after the quote with no extra labour charge.
Fred, Essex24/08/2016
The trader replied (on 16/09/2016)
Thank you for the honest review Fred, enjoy the new Worcester Boiler ! Matt
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Honest, reliable, good job done. Was recommended. Very helpful and tidy. Will definitely recommend to others.
Kelly, Essex18/08/2016
The trader replied (on 16/09/2016)
Thank you for the review Kelly
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were so pleased and impressed with Mr Matt Sage's work, cleanliness and efficient service. Also, his very thoughtful "after (***)". We would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone. He certainly gets "full marks" from us.
Peter, Essex16/08/2016
Perfect job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was completely professional from pricing the job, turning up on time. Making what was a challenging job (as I have to have a new boiler in a completely different location) look easy. After the job was finished the pricing hadn't changed, rubbish was cleared and brick work made good. Excellent.
Vania, Essex10/07/2016
Brilliant, prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Always does a great job! Recommended.
Shelagh, Essex20/06/2016
The trader replied (on 28/07/2016)
Thank you Shelagh
Great Service! Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service: friendly and quick. No mess, very efficient.
Jasmini, Essex15/06/2016
The trader replied (on 28/07/2016)
Thanks Jasmini, enjoy your new Worcester Boiler!
Good job - professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant, always on time, clean and efficient. Job well done.
Brenda, Essex13/06/2016
The trader replied (on 28/07/2016)
Thank you Brenda
Matt sage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt is by far the best Plummer we have ever had and will use again.
Nevpettit02/06/2016
The trader replied (on 28/07/2016)
Thanks Neville glad we could get the aquariums back up and running for you !
Very happy with 5* service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, professional and courteous trader, always punctual and no problem is too small for him.
Bob29/05/2016
The trader replied (on 30/05/2016)
Thank you for leaving a review, very much appreciated ! Matt
I'm very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the new boiler & radiator system that Matt installed for me 5 years ago. I have him service the boiler every year too.
Julie28/05/2016
The trader replied (on 29/05/2016)
Thank You Julie. Matt
Great service at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Matt for 6 years, cannot fault him. He uses Worchester Boilers mostly and they are very good. Highly recommend him.
Richard 28/05/2016
The trader replied (on 29/05/2016)
Thank you for the review Richard. Matt
Helpful and reassuring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really helped me at short notice. Rectified problems quickly and reassured that gas was safe. Have used him ever since for all work to new kitchen, laundry room and en suite. Always reliable and helpful and honest
Vivian28/05/2016
The trader replied (on 29/05/2016)
Thank you Viv ! Much appreciated Matt
Excellent for all plumbing requirements
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Matt for all of my plumbing requirements for many years. He has fitted a new boiler, which he regularly services and carries out various other work. I find him and his team to be completely reliable, hard working, honest and punctual. He is always clean and tidy and polite and courteous. I would have no hesitation in recommending him.
Margery27/05/2016
The trader replied (on 29/05/2016)
Thank you Marg, See you soon for a cuppa ! Matt
Good quality boilers & fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used Matt a few times for plumbing who is a Worcester Bosch accredited fitter of boilers. He has fitted a boiler in a previous house and my current house as we decided to use him again. We had a plumbing emergency 1 night and he came out and fixed the issue for us. British Gas wanted to charge us double what we paid Matt and that was meant to be a discount price!
Sue27/05/2016
The trader replied (on 29/05/2016)
Thank you Sue ! Matt
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Honest, reliable and very competant, would highly recommend.
Jill27/05/2016
The trader replied (on 27/05/2016)
thank you for making a review Jilly, much appreciated. Matt
Replaced boiler and towel rail, also regularly services boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work, no complaints, no problems. He is friendly, reliable, flexible and I use him regularly. He's willing to listen to suggestions and preferences, and takes great care in his work.
Kevin , Frinton 26/05/2016
The trader replied (on 27/05/2016)
Very much appreciated Kevin. Thank you Matt
Installed a new boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a marvellous workman! Very very happy, I would recommend him to the Queen! He is very friendly and I have been using his service for many years.
Mrs Felton, Clacton26/05/2016
The trader replied (on 27/05/2016)
Thank you Dorothy very kind ! Matt
Changed boiler and radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy and impressed, Matt was really good, he's reliable and has fair prices.
Gill , Essex26/05/2016
The trader replied (on 27/05/2016)
Thank you Gill, Matt