We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Mel's Computer Care Limited

Profile thumb mels computer care logo
5.0

31 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 10:00–14:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Trustworthy, local and reliable computer repair services. We are dedicated to providing you with the best service possible at the best price.

Please call us for more information.

Mels Computer Care - Friendly and Effective IT support. Over 15 years experience we base ourselves on being trustworthy and effective! Computer repairs, Viruses, spyware, networking, broadband, laptops. We are here to help with any IT related problem you may have, we aim to provide the best quality service where nothing is too much trouble. We are here to help no matter how small or big the problem is.

We cover the whole of Trafford, Cheshire and further. We come to your home or office to save you the hassle of disconnecting and bringing your computer into a shop. We also provide remote login assistance which allows us to fix most problems very quickly.

Just some of the services we provide are:

PC Health Checks/Virus removal
Wireless/Wired networking
New Installations and repairs

What we do

  • Computer Repairs

    • PC Repairs
    • Laptop repair
    • Apple Mac Repairs
    • Virus and malware removal
  • More Services

    • laptop repairs virus and malware removal

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
New computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel was recommended by my sister so I visited him to discuss my requirements. He and his staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and what he suggested was competitively priced and included after sales technical help . What was particularly good was the speed of the service in the difficult circumstances with the virus epidemic . I could easily have been left without a computer during isolation but they made every effort to make sure I was up and running with a new computer. I am happy to recommend his company.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 31/03/2020 , work completed 23/03/2020
Laptop update and general overhaul
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mels computers is highly regarded locally, and I have found him friendly, knowledgeable and totally competant. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.
John Posted on 16/10/2019 , work completed 02/09/2019
Mel's computer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel's Computer Service is a very reliable company. It is quick, friendly and efficient. Everything is dealt with speedily, skillfully and comprehensively. Jobs are done efficiently and at a reasonable price. Mel gets computers running just like new. He gives the best quality and service possible and no problem is too large or too small. He comes to one's home or can remotely log into your computer and he always goes the extra mile. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/08/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Computer advice and corrections
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I first took the contract out with Mel on 30.03.2017 and have used him continuously since for various problems that I could not have sorted myself. Mel and his staff are always there and if not available at that time will call me back from a message left shortly afterwards. His remote access is invaluable on saving time and other expenses. Excellent company would certainly recommend him
Ian Mates, Greater Manchester Posted on 16/08/2019 , work completed 14/08/2019
Would recommend to anyone
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My laptop stopped charging and, as I'm self-employed, this meant I was unable to earn any money so needed the problem fixing quickly. I dropped my laptop off at 1pm and it was ready by 10am the next day, even though Mel had to wait for delivery of the part! Cannot fault the service (very friendly and communicative) or the price at all.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 12/06/2019
Superb company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Mel's computer care for the past 2 years and they have been first class, excellent service, reasonably priced and a pleasure to deal with. Any problems I had have been fixed promptly and the overall service has been outstanding. I seldom write reviews but Mel's computers are a fantastic company and i would thoroughly recommend them .
Richard Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019
The trader replied (on 07/06/2019)
Thank Richard for the kind review
Good professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel's computers did a fast and professional job on my grandsons laptop. They completely cleaned it of viruses and changed the screen after it had failed. Excellent service. Norman Salthouse Altrincham
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 25/04/2019
The trader replied (on 11/05/2019)
Thank you Norman
P.C. Worries minimised
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been with Mel's Computer Care now for some 3-4 years, I have found that my many previous worries and problems regarding my P. C. have been resolved, and new problems are dealt with very quickly to my total satisfaction. The on-going technical help offered is second to non and the response time to any problem I have is very quick indeed, no matter when this occurs. Mel's Computer care really does it's job well, and cares for both me and my computer!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/04/2019 , work completed 04/04/2019
Friendly, super-helpful and knowledgeable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel and his team have looked after our Apple products for several years and we have been so happy with their service, speed of response and sound advice that we now have a contract with them. A recent change to Android phones caused a few hitches which were unpicked the day we contacted them, plus a few very useful tips! All the team members we have dealt with are equally efficient and knowledgeable, and each one is reliable, professional and extremely helpful.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/04/2019 , work completed 11/04/2019
The trader replied (on 11/05/2019)
Thank you for your review. We often provide help with Android and Apple mobile devices, any more questions just get in touch.
Fast response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel is a professional and polite gentleman. Always there if you have a problem he always solves any issues very quickly and if not available when you phone him he will ring you back the same day. Any issue you have big or small Mel will explain to you and will always telephone you a few days later to check everything is okay.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/04/2019 , work completed 20/03/2019
A great company that will look after you.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel's Computer Care have being taking care of all my computer needs for three years now. I have a silver care contract which covers both my tower and a lap top computers. Each time I contact the team, however small my problem, it is dealt with courteously and efficiently. On occasions when I have to leave a message I know that Mel or one of the team will contact me that day. If the problem can't be resolved over the phone one of the crew will be more than happy to come to my home to sort the snag out. It's a great company that will look after you.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/04/2019 , work completed 25/04/2019
Clear information and patient and friendly support.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As an elderly and unadventurous user, I needed simple and straightforward advice about my computer system. Mel understood my concerns, and gave me clear explanations and suggestions, and reinstalled and upgraded my system to suit my needs. He and all his staff I have met have given patient and generous ongoing support and advice. I am very happy to recommend Mel's Computer Care for his friendly and reliable service.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/04/2019 , work completed 04/03/2019
Helpful and patient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just a quick review to express my thanks to Mel's Computers, and to Mike in particular. I found them through an advert in our local paper, in response to a notice from Windows that Windows 7 would be phased out in January 2020, and no longer supported. It recommended upgrading to Windows 10 so I contacted them to confirm they could carry out this change. When I called to collect my PC updated to Windows 10, Mike patiently explained (I am now 77!) the principal differences between 7 and 10 and the connections on the back of the PC, in a friendly, easy to understand manner. I am happy to say this is helping me greatly in gaining familiarity with Windows 10.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/04/2019 , work completed 26/04/2019
Internet connection
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new SKY Q router installed but my pc was unable to identify. Mel was able to send help within a couple of days. His colleague Paul visited and within an hour had everything up and running. He explained clearly at every stage of the procedure and was polite and patient with my ignorance! I was more than satisfied with the service and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone with computer problems.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 03/04/2019 , work completed 28/03/2019
Exceptional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In recent years, we have employed several computer servicing and repair companies. However, in the last two years, we have used Mel’s Computer Care company for emergencies and other problem solving on our desk top and lap top computers. We have found Mel and his team of very experienced engineers to respond quickly and to explain everything, not in computer jargon and tech talk, but in language terms we understand. The representatives of the company are friendly and polite and the continuous support programme being promoted is very competitive. We are very pleased with all aspects of the service and would thoroughly recommend Mel’s Computer Care to anyone requiring assistance with their computer, or laptop installations.
Pat MacQ Posted on 31/01/2018 , work completed 31/01/2018
The trader replied (on 07/02/2018)
Thank you for your review Pat. Its great to continue to hear customers feedback and we are really pleased to see we are doing a good job.
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many thanks to Mel for fixing my laptop, very quick service and nice to know he will be available if needed any time. I am very pleased with the service.
june j Posted on 19/01/2018 , work completed 19/01/2018
The trader replied (on 23/01/2018)
Thank you June for your review. Do consider our support packages where you get priority service 7 days a week! Glad to hear everything is working well. Thanks again
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel's Computer Care rescued data from our banjaxed PC, and transferred it to a new machine, which they installed for us. The whole process, from initial visit to completed installation, was carried out promptly and efficiently and with great professionalism. Mel and Paul were friendly and approachable, easing us into the Windows 10 OS and providing much useful guidance along the way.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/11/2017 , work completed 22/11/2017
The trader replied (on 23/01/2018)
Thank you for your review, always nice to hear good feedback.
Fantastic produce with exemplary service ! Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a bad experience of previously buying a lap top from a huge chain retailer, spending hours installing various programmes, and never being able to use it to its full potential I approached Mel in the hope of some good advice and a decent after sales service. Mel completely exceeded in my expectations! He listened to my requirements, presented ne with several lap top specs and offered to bring them to my home for me to see them. I searched online and couldn't find them any cheaper. Once I had decided on my model Mel dropped the laptop off for me charged and ready to use...literally I got straight to work on it. I'm absolutely delighted with the after service. When I've needed help Mel has helped me by logging on remotely and resolved the issues there and then. I would confidently recommend Mel to anyone and I will never step foot in another large retailer ever again! Thanks Mel :)
Sarahjb50 Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
The trader replied (on 23/10/2017)
Thank you for the kind review, its great to hear from our satisfied customers. As always get in touch if you get any further queries :)
New Computer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having used Mel previously for repair, I used his services for a new computer. This entailed a move from Windows XP to Windows 10. The service I received was superb, prior to the purchase there was several weeks of questions and answers, the end of which was a very well specified computer with all software and hardware installed from old to new, on top of this was a follow up call to check that all was well. If you are thinking of a new computer contact Mel, particularly if you are making the jump from XP to 10. I doubt you will be disappointed. Bert Broadbent
Bert Broadbent Posted on 18/10/2017 , work completed 18/10/2017
The trader replied (on 23/10/2017)
Thank you Bert, we do specialise in selling new computers and more importantly transferring over all your data. I am glad to hear your happy with the service.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife and I have used Mel's Computer Care Ltd several times and have always been impressed by his friendliness, punctuality, knowledge, efficiency and patience. He is very approachable and always prepared to "go that extra mile" to solve a problem. We thoroughly recommend him. Fred
Frederick Posted on 29/09/2017 , work completed 29/09/2017
The trader replied (on 02/10/2017)
Thank you very much Fred, were always happy to help. No problem too big or small!
Desktop repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I made use of Mel's Computer Care Ltd when my desktop refused to boot. I phoned Mel on a Saturday afternoon and was able to take the computer in immediately. The fault was subsequently found to be the hard drive and as the computer also had an SSD drive the repairer was able to boot the computer up after removing the faulty hard drive. After installing a new hard drive Mel was then able to restore a pre-saved system image and the computer now works perfectly. Very friendly and efficient service. Warmly recommended
Klaver Posted on 15/07/2017 , work completed 15/07/2017
The trader replied (on 26/07/2017)
Thank you for your review, I'm really happy to hear your computer is working well now. We do come across a fair number of failing hard drives but thankfully we managed to recover your data successfully. Thanks again
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel replaced the hard drive on my laptop. This was a straightforward task which was completed on time and on budget. Additionally, Mel returned my laptop to my home address. My laptop is now quicker and quieter. However, what also stood out for me was not just that the job had been done well but that Mel responded to calls and emails promptly and provided informed responses to my query i.e he provided customer service without a premium charge. As a result I will send any future IT requirements to his business. Highly recommended.
AndyMM Posted on 08/07/2017 , work completed 08/07/2017
The trader replied (on 15/07/2017)
Thanks Andy, its a pleasure to help and its always nice to hear our customer service has been received well. Mel
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service, friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient.
Joseph, Cheshire Posted on 06/07/2017 , work completed 06/07/2017
'Thank you' Mel's Computer Care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with Mel's prompt response and service. Felt confident that our computer problems would be rectified. Work was carried out in a genuine friendly manner. Would not hesitate in seeking Mel's expertise in the future, and will certainly recommend him to others.
Helen & Russ, Stockport Posted on 22/04/2017 , work completed 22/04/2017
The trader replied (on 24/04/2017)
Thank you very much for the kind review Helen & Russ. I trust your computer and internet are working well now. Mel
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, patient, professional, sympathetic and very helpful. I shall use again.
Peter, Cheshire Posted on 17/02/2017 , work completed 17/02/2017
Helpful, prompt and efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel can be relied upon to sort out any problem you may have in a friendly and efficient way. If, like me, you tend to panic a little when things go wrong, thinking you are the problem instead of the technology, he puts your mind to rest and gets on putting the matter to rest. Always available quickly and very competitive in price. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Jean, Davyhulme Posted on 10/09/2016 , work completed 10/09/2016
The trader replied (on 11/09/2016)
Thank you Jean and don't worry - computers can always go wrong all by themself!
Ian Sheldon. Sale, Cheshire
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned Mel in the morning,he came around in afternoon and took away my faulty laptop,repaired it and brought it back 2 hours later to my house,excellent same day service 06/08/2016
Ian Sheldon Posted on 06/08/2016 , work completed 06/08/2016
The trader replied (on 09/08/2016)
Thank you very much for the kind review Ian and I hope Windows 10 is working well for still. Do let me know if the Windows update goes wrong again.
Robert S Frier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mel came to the house at very short notice and sorted out a problem very quickly that had been a nagging problem for years. There were lots of issues connected with the pc that he addressed in a most professional and methodical way. His approach was very freindly and he went out of his way on more than one occasion to not only fix the problem but to advise on other aspects to make life easier for someone who is not a natural with computors. Other people I have spoken to have said that they too have experienced excellent service from this company
Robert frier Posted on 06/07/2016 , work completed 06/07/2016
I couldnt praise this man highly enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Mel before and found him through local word of mouth. He really goes out of his way to help, is never pushy and is someone I feel like I can really trust with my computer
Delia, Cheshire Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
I wholeheartedly recommend this trader to other users
Customer Service
Quality
Value
His firm is the most reliable and efficient I have used over the years, hence the reason I keep using him. If you need a jargon free, computer service on a reasonable budget then Mel’s Computer Care is hard to beat. Mel himself or his able associate Paul.
Mr Kerfoot, Cheshire Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Computer setup and troubleshooting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I buy computers from them. They set it all up for me and provide ongoing support for any security or troubleshooting issues I have
Margaret , Sale Posted on 26/05/2016 , work completed 26/05/2016