We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

MGS Garage

Profile thumb mgs welcome v2

5.0

43 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday 09:00–17:30
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Welcome to MGS. A garage approved by the RAC and Which? magazine.

MGS is a leading used car dealership and service centre based in Chippenham, Wiltshire. We provide used car sales, MOTs, servicing and repairs - all at very competitive prices.

Our workshop service team is experienced, trustworthy and professional. Our aim is to offer you the very best quality and value for money on vehicle servicing and repairs in the Chippenham area. We know, as a family, that car repairs can sometimes be very expensive. That is why we take time to calculate our quotations, meaning we can give you a competitive price and, wherever possible, save you money.

Providing customer service is imperative to us. We pride ourselves on keeping our customers happy by offering a helpful, friendly service and answering all of your questions clearly and with a smile. MGS is a family owned and run business with a style quite unlike the average garage.

What we do

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Battery servicing
    • Car air conditioning
    • MOT testing stations
  • Garage related services

  • Motor vehicle mechanics

  • Engine repairs and servicing

    • Car engine tuning and diagnostic services
  • More Services

    • used car sales
    • air conditioning
    • welding
    • bosch diagnostics

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
43 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In purchasing a used vehicle from MGS they made the process very simple and were extremely professional from start to finish. Car purchased is also great which helps! I'd strongly recommend them.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 09/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Best interests at heart
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I’ve been using MGS for car maintenance for quite a few years since an RAC recommendation. They have always been very fair with work they have undertaken and been a delight to work with. My car recently had an oil leak and while they could have just repaired it and taken the money they told me that it might not be economical in the long run. They were right and it was time to replace it which I did from their used stock. Again, all done very professionally and fairly and you come away thinking that your best interests were always at the heart of any information they provide for you. No hard sell, no things you must do, just good solid advice and support. A family business that makes you feel part of the family. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 30/06/2019 , work completed 29/06/2019
Car sale made easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bought my Nissan Note from Mike and the team and they were so helpful from start to finish. No pushy sales talk just genuine helpfulness. I love my car! Would definitely recommend this garage.
Pat Constable Posted on 14/11/2018 , work completed 14/11/2018
5 star service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful, friendly and professional service. Fault diagnosed, options discussed, competitive quote provided, job done. Best garage I have used in a long time.
Nikki23 Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Helpful & Affordable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The people at the garage are so so helpful. You cannot fault them. The work was carried out and was very affordable. I would certainly recommend MGS. They are not the sort of garage that rips you off unlike some l know. Thank you MGS Sarah M. Chippenham
Sarah Messenger Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Tremendous service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have driven and dismantled cars for about 60 years and had to deal with servicing, MOTs etc in many garages. I have NEVER experienced anything so totally honest, well set up and pleasing to work with as MGS are brilliant in everyway.
Brian J, Avon Posted on 02/08/2018 , work completed 02/08/2018
Very Helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The garage was very helpful in sorting out an ABS problem. Diagnosis showed a common failure in the ABS/CPU unit. A new unit would cost me £920 from Vauxhall but they allowed me to send off the unit for refurbishing and would refit it afterwards saving me £400.
Geert, Wiltshire Posted on 28/04/2018 , work completed 28/04/2018
Fantastic Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been to this garage with my poor old car a number of times since moving to Chippenham & they are always fantastic. Called them about a loud exhaust noise, they said to come straight in & put my car straight onto the ramp. £70 (including labour) and less than 1 hour later I had a happy car with a new backbox. Best customer service ever! As always.
Danielle, Wiltshire Posted on 28/02/2018 , work completed 28/02/2018
Very professional, and a pleasure to work with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
MGS Garage staff were very helpful from the moment that I first contacted them. Never felt under pressure to purchase and they were more than accommodating when I had to collect the car, by arranging to meet me at the station. Highly recommended.
Brian, Berkshire Posted on 19/12/2017 , work completed 19/12/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked in quickly & dealt with a timely manner. Courteous, friendly & professional. Great job & will definitely use again.
Mary, Wiltshire Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
No rip-off here!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The staff are just great, they make you feel welcome, no 'crap' sales talk. They explain what the issue is with your car, explain what is needed, explain clearly how long, what parts are needed and the final invoice does not make you suck your breath in. Great family-run garage.
Laura, Wiltshire Posted on 18/11/2017 , work completed 18/11/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This garage have always been very helpful and the repairs are done promptly, very happy with the service.
Susan, Wiltshire Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Informative & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The MOT & service provided was quick & efficient. Details were relayed in layman's terms. Really helpful in telling the condition of my vehicle.
Jonathan, Wiltshire Posted on 13/09/2017 , work completed 13/09/2017
Top class team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As usual, a very friendly and honest garage team who always make sure that you understand the problems with the vehicle and the proposed solution. Also, very fair with the prices and always offer a courtesy car if necessary. Ten out of ten.
Hilda, Wiltshire Posted on 10/09/2017 , work completed 10/09/2017
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very honest and on time!
David, Wiltshire Posted on 31/03/2017 , work completed 31/03/2017
Impeccable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initial impression clean - so unusual in a garage! Booked in for MOT - failed but part difficult to find. Every avenue explored & problem solved - garage so helpful. Communication brilliant at all times - always kept in loop. Everyone more than polite - we feel they went the extra mile for us - so grateful.
Alison, Wiltshire Posted on 17/03/2017 , work completed 17/03/2017
Great Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Never been to a garage that has service this excellent. Professional and friendly. The job was done in great time. I will be recommending this to everyone I see.
Leo, Wiltshire Posted on 14/03/2017 , work completed 14/03/2017
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Taken there by RAC with dangerous brakes. Quick, courteous, couldn't recommend more.
Hilary, Norfolk Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Reliable, friendly and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this garage over the last 4 years, they have never let me down and I trust when they say something is wrong that it's genuine. Especially when it comes to MOT's and services. They try to go the extra mile to accommodate requests and last minute matters. I can't fault them. Good job Mike and Debbie.
Melanie, Wiltshire Posted on 31/10/2016 , work completed 31/10/2016
Prompt & professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After complete failure of ignition on Mercedes, RAC trailered me here. Mechanic did is best to fix, however Mercedes main dealer needed to be involved & this business did everything they could to oblige & kept me fully informed every step of the way. Very grateful.
Rob, Wiltshire Posted on 14/04/2016 , work completed 14/04/2016
Highly recommend for honestly/efficiency/value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this garage for a few years. They are always welcoming and bend over backwards to be helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Excellent customer service attitude. Their charges are very reasonable- No sudden hidden costs! When my car has a service I know their assessment is an honest one. I always recommend them to friends.
Margaret, Wiltshire Posted on 07/04/2016 , work completed 07/04/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The garage collected my car after the exhaust fell off and my husband couldn't get the exhaust off so that we could get the car to the garage. They ordered the parts and telephoned to explain the cost, the car was ready for collection the next working day. The bill was much cheaper than expected. A lifesaver service for us as we have dependent elderly parents to look after.
Karen, Wiltshire Posted on 13/02/2016 , work completed 13/02/2016
Absolutely fantastic team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an issue with my car hazard lights. I went to three big dealers who were unable to assist. I finally went to our regular garage - Manor Sales and within fifteen minutes they had diagnosed and fixed the issue. A warm and friendly garage with a fantastic, helpful team. Many thanks. I was not charged for this service and felt that the team truly went above and beyond to assist.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/01/2016 , work completed 19/01/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, kept me updated on progress of my car. Really friendly staff, went well out their way to ensure fast & professional service.
Amanda, Wiltshire Posted on 07/01/2016 , work completed 07/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had my car MOT performed by MGS for over two years and I cannot speak highly enough of them .Their customer service is second to none, extremely helpful and polite. I had an accident where another driver went in to the back of me, so phoned them expecting to have the car checked in a few days but they managed to fit me in the same day. The mechanics are great and very knowledgeable, I tend to do my own work on my car but and pointed out thing I need to do before the next mot which was much appreciated.
Jsop94 Posted on 02/01/2016 , work completed 02/01/2016
Very helpful and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Couldn't have been more helpful. Top quality service.
Philip, Dyfed Posted on 21/12/2015 , work completed 21/12/2015
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick & polite service - excellent work.
Rebecca, Wiltshire Posted on 14/12/2015 , work completed 14/12/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a family company who treat me as one of their family, PLUS doing great TECHNICAL work. Keep up the good work MGS!
Ann, Wiltshire Posted on 07/12/2015 , work completed 07/12/2015
Exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After breakdown parts (spare) have been sourced very quick and fitted on same day for next day's collection. Service has exceeded my expectation.
Janet, Wiltshire Posted on 07/12/2015 , work completed 07/12/2015
Prompt + Personal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Manor Sales have always gone the extra mile for me and my family, providing the best service at valuable prices and always around your timescale. They gave me a courtesy car for the last MOT.
Abigail, Wiltshire Posted on 01/12/2015 , work completed 01/12/2015
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose MGS as a local garage after being disappointed with the service offered by the main local dealership & national chain. The service I received from MGS from the first call to collecting my car after service & MOT was great. They even gave me a lift to the train station. Nothing was too much trouble & always a friendly voice on the phone. Would definitely recommend.
Anita, Wiltshire Posted on 23/11/2015 , work completed 23/11/2015
MOT
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So far very good experience.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/11/2015 , work completed 12/11/2015
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Staff are always polite and friendly, and work completed in a timely manner. Always take my cars here, and would highly recommend MGS to anyone.
Rob, Wiltshire Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Great Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had the pleasure of using MGS expertise, great customer service and excellent pricing for a few years!! Would highly recommend
Dominic, Avon Posted on 23/10/2015 , work completed 23/10/2015
Friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took a while to find a reliable garage. This one is a gem honest, clear, reliable & trustworthy. I bring both my cars here & know it will be a professional job with no hidden extras. Always recommend them.
Wayne, Wiltshire Posted on 14/10/2015 , work completed 14/10/2015
Excellent work with professional advice.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Manor Sales performed an annual service on my four year old Citroen C4 Picasso diesel, and an MOT on the same. A full health check was given free of charge and the technician took the time to personally present his findings! Excellent service and real value for money. Well done to a friendly, helpful team!
Stephen, Wiltshire Posted on 10/10/2015 , work completed 10/10/2015
prompt, professional and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great friendly service, price is always reasonable and quick turnaround on new parts etc.
Matthew, Avon Posted on 06/10/2015 , work completed 06/10/2015
Fab job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick, welcoming and friendly. Dealt with professionally and I will be returning! Also, good price.
Alice, Wiltshire Posted on 02/10/2015 , work completed 02/10/2015
Great Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can't fault this garage, best I have ever had dealings with.
Jerry, Wiltshire Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
brilliant job as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A really friendly competent and professional organisation.
Nicholas, Wiltshire Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They are very helpful, friendly and always approachable. We have used this garage before and have always had excellent customer service at a reasonable price. They also always take the time to explain thoroughly the problem with the car and always give a prompt service.
Rebecca, Wiltshire Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Super job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An honest family run firm offering excellent customer service.
Victoria, Wiltshire Posted on 01/09/2015 , work completed 01/09/2015
Fantastic garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I bought my KA from MGS back in June, I found all the staff friendly, knowledgeable, courteous and understanding (I had just had my car written off). The alternator went 19th -11-2015 and the help and service was exceptional just as friendly, helpful, understanding, fixed my car -no quibble- I will never go anywhere else.
Barbara, Wiltshire Posted on 08/06/2015 , work completed 08/06/2015