We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Mycroft Heating & Plumbing Ltd

Profile thumb mycroft square format logo
4.8

67 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We're a small, friendly and professional family business operating in SW London. We have been trading since 2006, were incorporated 2013, and also endorsed as a Which? Trusted Trader in 2013.

As well as boiler servicing and landlord/homeowner gas safety inspections, we install and maintain:

> Boilers and central heating systems
> Vented and unvented (often known as "Megaflo") hot water cylinders and thermal stores
> Gas fires, cookers, hobs and ovens
> Underfloor heating
> Energy efficient controls including radiator thermostats, room thermostats and programmers, including smart controls and weather compensation

We install and work on most manufacturers' boilers and can offer extended guarantees on new installations of certain models. We are trained in the latest remote access “smart” controls from Honeywell (Evohome) and Nest.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Boiler repair
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • More Services

    • heating and smart controls
    • underfloor heating

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
67 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
An inefficient heating system greatly improved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim Mycroft has been reliably servicing our gas boiler and heating system for some years. After suffering a chilly winter we agreed with him that the time had come to replace our six inefficient radiators and sort out a blockage. On a prior visit he explained precisely what would be involved and followed up with a clear and detailed estimate, frankly covering some uncertainties. He did the job exactly as agreed, to time and to budget, working some long hours and leaving the worksite clean and all rubbish removed. We find this substantial improvement excellent value for money.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 17/05/2021
The trader replied (on 07/06/2021)
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my recent work, I'm delighted you were so pleased with it all!
The trader replied (on 07/06/2021)
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my recent work, I'm delighted you were so pleased with it all!
Very helpful and communicative
Mycroft Heating and Plumbing were one of the gas engineers we contacted when we wanted to replace our boiler. We weren't able to use their service due to our scheduling needs, but I wanted to recommend them anyway because they were exceptionally helpful and communicative with us and really helped us to understand the benefits and costs of our options. We'll certainly look to work with them in future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/03/2021 (Reviewer did not use service)
The trader replied (on 07/06/2021)
I'm so pleased you found us so helpful and our advice useful for your boiler project, I hope we do get to meet in the future but thank you for taking the time to comment, much appreciated!
Thank you Tim
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The builders of our extension left our heating system in a chaotic state. I want to appreciate local heating engineer Tim Mycroft who bit the bullet and put it right. He did an unbelievable 16 hour day before Christmas to get the house warm and has just been back to tidy up the pipework. He instils confidence, such a relief after a lot of starts and stops with others. As someone who hates being cold, I can't thank him enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/01/2021 , work completed 13/01/2021
The trader replied (on 07/06/2021)
Yes, that was a crazy, long day but worth it when it all works! Thanks so much for such a kind review, I'm delighted you are now warm!
Very professional and thorough job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am extremely happy that Tim was recommended to us. He fixed our long standing boiler issue without a fuss, as well as the immersion heater and he also fixed a water pressure issue we have had for years. He followed all the social distancing protocols including wearing a mask and gloves and was thoroughly professional throughout. The pricing was very reasonable considering we are in a lockdown and as it was an emergency callout. Very happy with the outcome and i would recommend Tim to anyone.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/04/2020 , work completed 14/04/2020
Professional to a tee
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim is an excellent heating & plumbing engineer. He fitted a new Combi Condensing Boiler with assorted works. From the outset he was crystal clear what he would do & needed doing daily and he did it. I could ask for nothing more.
Peter, London Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 20/05/2019
Exceptional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Mycroft Heating & Plumbing Ltd for over nine years for my eight rented apartments in SW London. During this time, MHP Ltd have installed, serviced, repaired and provided Gas Safety Certificate for all these apartment’s gas appliances. What stands out for me is how MHP Ltd goes out of their way to help me in emergencies. They have provided support over countless week ends and evenings when something has gone wrong with the boiler. They will arrange service visits, talk to my tenants over the phone to trouble shoot the issue or even write me email with suggestions on what to do while on their vacations. The technical knowledge of Mr Mycroft is unquestionable, I trust him 100%. Organisational skills of Mrs Mycroft are exceptional (she sends me reminder email reminders for when my boilers are due for servicing). Their fee is reasonable in my opinion and I would recommend MHP to anyone without hesitation.
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/04/2019 , work completed 28/11/2018
Tried and trusted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has been servicing the boiler for me for quite a few years now after originally installing it for me.If I ever have a problem he is in touch as soon as possible to rectify it and I have always found him to be completely trustworthy and considerate. I have recommended him to a number of my friends and all of them have been happy with his service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 13/12/2018
Boiler Service and Radiator Valve Replacements
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has serviced my boiler, installed a new radiator for a nursery and replaced all radiator valves on older radiators with TRVs. Tim took details of the TRV and radiator work on his visit to service the radiator and replied with a quote and further options I could consider depending on my budget. Both my wife and I felt very comfortable working with and discussing our options with Tim. He is tidy, polite and punctual and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him.
Andrew Jackson Posted on 12/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Excellent service Again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim sorted my honeywell evohome system when several others have failed in the passed. I've had him back each year since for servicing each season. This year I had a fault code on my Valiant which was dealt with very quickly. Would recommend Tim every day of the week.
james Posted on 28/09/2018 , work completed 28/09/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim was recommended by my sister. So when my boiler broke down and we had no hot water or central heating I contacted him by email to come and fix it. Tim was able to analyse the problem and fix it within the hour. He explained in easy to understand terms what had gone wrong. I would be happy to recommend him and will ask him to come again for the yearly service .
Ann856 Posted on 14/09/2018 , work completed 14/09/2018
Fantastic and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fixing heating and hot water system
Ross W, . Posted on 21/03/2018 , work completed 21/03/2018
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of hot water cylinder, hot water recirculation pump, one radiator, various replacement parts in boiler, associated modifications and additions to existing pipework. Excellent work. Tim is rightly busy, so one may have to wait for non-urgent work, but he will respond quickly to emergencies.
Keith, Balham, . Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018
Doesn't Follow Through
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The first time he visited he could not repair my fireplace which given its age was understandable. However, he promised to get me a quote for a new one in a short period of time. I emailed more than once with no response and he did not return calls. He seemed trustworthy so I waited through the cold winter but not a word...only a £100 bill for the aborted first visit, which I paid. I wrote to him asking why he didn't come through and he said he was busy. Weeks later I got through to him (a miracle) and I arranged for another visit for the fireplace and thought he would come armed for a quote. He didn't. I also asked if he could look at my partly malfunctioning underfloor heating. He said he was an expert on this and would get back to me with a quote. Four weeks later nothing. I'm not inclined to chase him again.He's possibly a good repair guy (I wouldn't know) but he has let me down twice very badly. I would not trust him to do what he says no matter how sincere he appears. Sorry but its a fact. I can't actually believe he's a Which Trusted Trader which I've had good luck with in the past. Oh well.
Gottlieb Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During the very cold weather ,I noticed that my hot water cylinder was leaking.I contacted Tim Mycroft,who came very promptly.He checked the cylinder,and advised me that he thought the best option would be a replacement cylinder.He ordered the cylinder for delivery next day ,and obviously had to turn the water off.Although I had no hot water or central heating,I did have electric heaters and the use of my neighbours shower,and I knew that Tim was very busy,so I expected him to return later in the week.However he said he would come the following day,after fulfilling all his other commitments.He arrived at 5.30 having already done a day's work,and stayed until 10pm ,fitting the cylinder and ensuring that everything was working properly.He did not charge out of hours rates for this, and the bill was far less than I had anticipated. This is not the first time that Tim has gone the extra mile,and I have recommended him to several neighbours, who have also been very happy with his work. Several years ago Tim fitted a new boiler for me,and again it was done with minimum disruption,and at a reasonable cost.He also does the annual gas appliance service,to his usual high standards. As well as the quality of his work ,he is a man of decency .integrity and reliability.
Pauline Scott, . Posted on 10/03/2018 , work completed 10/03/2018
Reliably good!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Annual gas safety certificate was completed efficiently and professionally - which has always been my experience with Mycroft Heating. Would highly recommend them.
KLacey, . Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Very safe pair of hands
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Mycroft installed a new boiler for me and has done an annual service every year for many years. When I had problems with my radiators he came almost immediately to sort out what was wrong and fixed them. He has also come to fix a very bad leak on his day off and spent until 10.30 p.m. the same day fixing it so that I would not be left with any problems with heating or water.This was very much appreciated as the next day there was snow and the temperature of the weather dropped considerably. I have always found him to be extremely competent, honest and have every confidence in his work.
cesmith, . Posted on 16/12/2017 , work completed 16/12/2017
Mycroft Heating and Plumbing - excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mycroft Heating and Plumbing have serviced my central heating and combi boiler for several years. The quality of the work has been excellent: Mr Mycroft is very knowledgeable on boiler work and very reliable. I would strongly recommend this company.
Peter R, . Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Happy with my new boiler!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has been servicing my boiler for a few years. This year I asked him to replace my ageing boiler/thermal store with a new combination boiler. This needed to be completed within a specific time frame to take advantage of scaffolding that was being put in place for other major works on our building. Tim managed the project really well, explaining what the options were, giving a clear description of what needed to be done, and working around the scaffolding schedule to fit in the project. What was also helpful was that I did not have to chase up on things; we exchanged a few emails and from the communication received, I was confident that the project would go ahead as planned. Due to his own busy schedule, Tim delegated the actual boiler installation to his colleague Ian who did an excellent job of fitting the new boiler into an existing kitchen cupboard - the work was done tidily and I am really pleased with the end results. The new boiler is quiet and efficient, easy to control, and having the extra storage space vacated by the thermal store is a bonus. I would definitely recommend Tim's company if you are looking to replace your boiler.
Jean Posted on 26/09/2017 , work completed 26/09/2017
The trader replied (on 16/10/2017)
Dear Jean & Jenny Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to write it. We're so pleased you were so happy with the project management and execution of the job and the boiler itself, a happy customer always makes for a happy business (for us anyway)!!
Evohome Knowledge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an Evohome system installed to control our Heating and Hot Water system but not by an improved installer. We have had numerous issues with reliability since the installation. The issues were quickly identified and resolved by Tim. We also found his charges very competitive. Many thanks James
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
The trader replied (on 15/05/2017)
Thanks James for taking the time to review my work, it's really appreciated. I'm pleased we got the bottom of your issues and got your Evohome system working as it should. Thanks again, Tim
Reliable and efficient - would definitely recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Tim to install a pump system to improve our water pressure. We found him to be very knowledgeable, hard working and efficient. We're very pleased with the job he's done and would definitely use him again and recommend him to others.
AmyViv Posted on 10/04/2017 , work completed 10/04/2017
The trader replied (on 15/05/2017)
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! I'm delighted to hear the water pressure solution is working so well for you. Thanks again, Tim
This is a small very reliable company .
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got details of Mycroft Heating and Plumbing from Which several years ago when I needed to have my boiler replaced.Since then Tim has regularly serviced my system ,changed radiators and dealt with any problems reliably and promptly . I highly recommend his work and the service he provides.
Mary M Posted on 07/11/2016 , work completed 07/11/2016
Friendly, helpful, responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim's team fitted our new boiler two years ago, while we were out of the country, and have serviced it twice since. They communicate well, respond quickly and have done excellent work for us. It is easy to recommend them.
Daniel Haxby Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
Very pleased from start to end
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim replaced our large 25yr old boiler located in a cellar - we were dreading the project with all the regulation changes since installation in 1992. He planned & researched the project efficiently so that we could continue to vent the boiler via chimneys rather than having ugly new holes. He timed the work to fit with scaffold so that the flue could be done properly while we were having the exterior decorated. The work (which included a full flush & service of all radiators/valves) was done quickly, efficiently, cleanly without disturbing a busy household routine. We are really pleased with our new smaller modern boiler and already recovering costs through gas savings. Moreover, the price was competitive as you are truly paying for a small trader and not a large corporate infrastructure. Tim is very in demand and you might have to wait for a new or large project but it was worth it for us. He has since serviced our boiler and is always very responsive for maintenance requests and repairs.
Nigel F, . Posted on 26/09/2016 , work completed 26/09/2016
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Mycroft is a very nice, reliable professional. Great customer service and will do a good job for you.
DutchLondoner Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
A Plumber you can rely on
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using Tim for several years now and have always been more than satisfied with the level of service. Not only has he serviced our boiler, but fitted the Honeywell system to control the central heating. I would, and have, recommended him to anyone looking.
ChrisW Posted on 10/06/2016 , work completed 10/06/2016
Friendly, professional and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim always has time to explain everything he's doing and offers advice over and above what I'd expect. He has serviced my boiler for years and has given advice on installing a new one. He's always been happy to take my calls asking for advice and always does a very thorough and professional job. Would be happy to recommend him to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/05/2016 , work completed 21/05/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has looked after my boiler for 5 plus years now and I would highly recommend him. Prompt, reliable and an excellent service every time.
Katharine Posted on 07/05/2016 , work completed 07/05/2016
Will definitely use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came across Tim as a result of a recommendation I read via Facebook. We had a few issues with his emails getting through the spam filter for my work email account, but once he was booked in I was really pleased with the job he did. Will definitely use him again!
juliasemple Posted on 30/03/2016 , work completed 30/03/2016
Mycroft Plumbing & Heating LTD
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mycroft Plumbing & Heating are absolutely fantastic,I couldn't have asked for a better service or result.Tim is brilliant, definitely a very trustworthy, knowledgable, prompt, marvellous plumber, who knows what he is talking about.To be honest my heating had been under-performing for a while,I was dreading researching and finding a gas engineer, eventually I couldn't leave it any longer as it was warmer outside than it was on my radiators,I knew the pressure was down on the boiler and thought that was going to be the only problem!Tim dedicated alot of time to me on the telephone and discussed with me thoroughly all options and possibilities,before I booked,I was on a small budget but knew I had to sort it out, he was very honest with me from the start, which I appreciated greatly.Also being a single parent, it's not always easy finding a trader that you are comfortable with in your home, however Tim is also a family man and very amiable,putting me at ease straight away,another plus point!Tim arrived on time,got straight to work,aswell as the low pressure, he discovered a couple of sneaky leaks caused by eroded washers,which he replaced,but all the while explaining to me what he was doing.He worked very hard to fix all elements of my aged boiler and miraculously,as if by magic, it's as good as new!Radiators are now working at full capacity and the house is finally warm,at last.The bill was even pleasing, very fair & great value for money.Book Mycroft Heating they're fab!
Allstar46 Posted on 23/02/2016 , work completed 23/02/2016
Excellent !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has looked after my boiler for a number of years now. I've always had a prompt and reliable service from him.
Jennifer Posted on 20/01/2016 , work completed 20/01/2016
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim Mycroft arrived promptly as arranged. Worked conscientiously to complete job. Was very thorough with all checks. Did not rush anything in order to cover every aspect of gas fire installation. Very professional, courteous and pleasant.
Helen, London Posted on 14/10/2015 , work completed 14/10/2015
Looking for an honest, reliable, efficent plumber?
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Well, if you've found Mycroft heating and plumbing, it's your lucky day! Nowadays, it's so difficult to find somebody you trust who will do a good job for a reasonable price, that is why I consider myself fortunate to have met Tim. He's been coming to work in our flat for many years and has never disappointed us. Tim is a nice chap with good work ethics. He knows what he's doing and he will give you, much appreciated, peace of mind. We can't recommend him enough!
Neus PL Posted on 13/10/2015 , work completed 13/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim arrived promptly and helped to install a Nest thermostat in my home. Was very neat and tidy, installation is perfect and Tim was helpful enough to point out a few things with other items in my house. Highly recommended and great value! Thanks
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/03/2015 , work completed 03/03/2015
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really careful and professional. Happily recommend Tim Mycroft.
Ghislaine, London Posted on 10/02/2015 , work completed 10/02/2015
Reliable, very professional, and engaging
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has done some work in two properties most notably in the house I inherited, and at all times has been thoughtful, considerate and very professional in his approach. He seeks to ensure you get what you want in the best and most effective solution, and then carries out the work to a very high standard at reasonable prices. The key thing is you can feel you can talk to him and he'll listen and then explain the possible solutions in an understandable way without the usual trades blarney. And he's he lovely bloke. Highly recommended.
nick.marchant Posted on 19/11/2014 , work completed 19/11/2014
A happy customer!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim Mycroft has carried out repair work to my boiler and has performed services on it too. He has also carried out work to my lavatory and installed new parts. On all the occasions when Tim Mycroft has worked for me, his work has always been thorough and meticulous. He takes great pains to explain what needs doing and talks through any work needed in advance. He leaves everything clean and tidy when he is finished and is trustworthy and reliable. I have no hesitation in recommending him and his work.
Louise R, . Posted on 10/10/2014 , work completed 10/10/2014
Mycroft Heating - Recommendation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been working with Tim for almost 10 years. During this time, he's performed many services for us, from simple boiler fixes ( replacing individual parts ) to power flushing our entire heating system. In 2008, we moved to the US and rented out both our London properties. Tim conducts annual inspections of all our gas appliances and issues our Gas Safety Certificates ( a legal requirement for landlords ). Most recently, he replaced our 20 year old Worcester-Bosch boiler with a Baxi which works perfectly and is a vast improvement. Tim is a true professional - highly efficient, reliable and always able to deliver to pre-agreed deadlines and budgets. He works diligently to ensure every job is done to his own exacting standards. He is also courteous, communicative and intelligent eg. patiently explaining problems / presenting considered and sensible recommendations. He is a pleasure to work with and I can't recommend highly enough
Kateski Posted on 06/10/2014 , work completed 06/10/2014
Professional and honest.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Mycroft H & P Ltd professional and trustworthy. I was given cost options on whether to repair or replace my boiler. Once I'd decided to replace boiler, I was given full details of work & cost prior to the work. No hidden costs. Work was fast and efficient. I even left my house keys with them to let them come and go. I would highly recommend them for any job!
Kylie, London Posted on 17/09/2014 , work completed 17/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Tim on the Monday morning; he responded quickly and came round the following day - on time. He repaired the boiler, explained what was wrong and checked before going ahead to fix it. Pleasant, friendly and reasonable. Recommeneded. Would definitely use again.
Cowboy Joe Posted on 11/09/2014 , work completed 11/09/2014
Friendly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Tim for a number of years and can thoroughly recommend him. He has resolved some difficult intermittent faults and always provided very good advice
Geoff, London Posted on 09/09/2014 , work completed 09/09/2014
Totally trusted & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has been servicing my boiler for 5 years and recently he replaced my boiler, a radiator and installed a Nest thermostat. Always completely professional, tidy and punctual. Totally recommend.
Sarah, London Posted on 20/08/2014 , work completed 20/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed help for my mother who lives in Tooting. Tim has been very helpful and his staff have done an excellent job. They are reliable and good value.
raymondmcg Posted on 03/07/2014 , work completed 03/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mycroft Heating installed a new boiler in our garage, involving rerouting of pipework via the cloakroom, a new pump and zone valves, new electrical and gas connections (via very thick walls!), removing the loft header tank, fitting a new HW cylinder, and completely draining and cleaning the system. Amazingly they did it in 5 days and it works perfectly. A neat and thoroughly professional job, by very knowledgeable and helpful people, and at a very reasonable price. Can't recommend them too highly.
qegs57 Posted on 27/04/2013 , work completed 27/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are selling the house, and the new buyers requested that various tasks be carried out. Tim's engineer Craig arrived as advised having called first, serviced the boiler, carried out a gas safety check on the gas hob, and capped a gas pipe in the fireplace all for a very reasonable price. Very highly recommended, will definitely use again and recommend to friends.
Knowsley Posted on 16/11/2012 , work completed 16/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of Tim's plumbers came round to trouble shoot an issue we were having with the radiators and also service our boiler. They spent quite a while investigating the issue and were able to identify where the problem was but didn't even charge us for the time to investigate. The service was very well priced and they took the time to explain any issues and advised well on next step/further work that might need doing. An excellent and friendly service.
frodo788 Posted on 08/11/2012 , work completed 08/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim's colleague Craig came to service our pre-condenser type boiler which had got rather dirty; he turned up on time, was polite, friendly, careful to keep the kitchen floor lino clean especially during vacuuming, quite quick, and very efficient. He also noticed that the boiler exhaust needed a metal cage around its outside wall vent hole, and was off out to the builders' merchants and back with the necessary fittings in 15 minutes! And he fixed a minor problem with the gas cooker as well whilst he was there. A very nice guy and a really good firm.
Mr Keith Penfold Posted on 13/09/2012 , work completed 13/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim came round to service our elderly boiler. We've had it serviced regularly but this is the first time we've been given proper paperwork. He was running a bit late but texted me to keep me updated with his progress. Brilliant service and I'll be calling upon his services again, without a doubt.
FCPFCP Posted on 12/06/2012 , work completed 12/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim has done my boiler service, installed a thermostat and fixed a number of small, but tricky things. He has done a good job at a fair price. Very honest - I had been told by another company I needed a system flush, costing £4-500, and was ready to have it done, but Tim told me it was not necessary at the moment. He is a victim of his own success, in that he is very busy and I had to wait a long time for non-urgent jobs to be done. But it was worth being patient. Can heartily recommend him.
Generic Posted on 04/05/2012 , work completed 04/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim came to repair a slight defect with our boiler, he diagnosed the issue over the phone, turned up in time and carried out the repair efficiently. There were absolutely no bad surprises with the bill. I very much recommend his Services, (even if you have to be patient and wait for a day or two for a call back.)
aforget Posted on 16/11/2011 , work completed 16/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim installed a new gas hob for us. I found him to be very easy to deal with. He turned up when agreed and the job was done efficiently. Tim explained everything clearly and job was priced fairly. A thoroughly straightforward and very decent tradesperson. Wouldn't hesitate to use again.
stellalouise Posted on 20/09/2011 , work completed 20/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim just installed my new boiler. He and his colleague were courteous and considerate, and always took the time to explain what was happening. The work was done carefully, efficiently and thoroughly. A job well done.
librarian1 Posted on 30/08/2011 , work completed 30/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It's rare that I take the trouble to post comments on websites but in Tim's case I'm happy to make an exception. I found him through Which? Local and have been very happy with the service he provides. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone. We first called him out because our boiler was in need of a service and was losing pressure. He spent time on the phone with me before coming out to understand the problem and was able to identify the cause when he visited us - a faulty heat exchanger. We have since used him to replace a radiator and fit TRVs to several radiators at home. All his work has been of a high standard and we'll certainly call on his services in the future.
AdamF74 Posted on 02/06/2011 , work completed 02/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim installed a new combi boiler for me in 2008. He did an excellent job and was the only engineer who found a solution to the venting problems for a condensing boiler without destroying the flat roof through which is has to pass. A new gas supply from the meter was required and this was installed with care as it had to pass under kitchen units. The whole job was carried out very well, the new controls were well explained and his quote was the most the competative. He continues to carry out the annual service of the boiler. He is friendly, corteous and I would recommend him whole heartedly. I cancelled my service contract with British Gas as I would rather rely on a local expert!
MBSW16 Posted on 20/04/2011 , work completed 20/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim is rather tricky to get hold of initially but it's worth being patient. He's a really nice and honest bloke, very helpful and professional. I particularly liked that he thought about the tidiest solution rather than the quickest when installing the boiler. And he left the place nice and clean too!
loulabelle Posted on 03/04/2010 , work completed 03/04/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim fitted a new boiler for me 18 months ago and did a great job. The boiler sprang a leak recently and as the boiler had just passed out of warranty I asked Tim to come and take a look. He came out promptly and managed to fix what turned out to be a pretty complex problem with the boiler. I highly recommend Tim for his level of service, dedication and professionalism. He really went the extra mile to ensure we got our heating and water back on as soon as possible.
Andrew Murray Posted on 27/03/2010 , work completed 27/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler stopped igniting. After a bad experience with Brit Gas a few years ago I called Tim after reviewing Which Local. Tim charged about the same as nearby engineers but his service was very good. Tim was professional, organised, courteous and honest. He diagnosed the problem as a faulty printed circuit board and reyruned to replace it as agreed 1st thing the day after next. He took time to explain the problem and also various queries I had on the quirks of our system. I asked him if our boiler needed a service and he said based on a quick review it was't yet required (he could easily have said it was). He also replaced a the fan with a "new" one left a few years previously by Brit Gas. From his laptop he emailed instantly me his invoice and prefers payment by electronic transfer. We would use Tim again and recommend him.
mikecluley Posted on 23/03/2010 , work completed 23/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have had a very bad experience in the past with boiler servicing, but was very happy with Tim's approach and the job done. Very professional, honest and polite. Would definitely recommend.
Buzzybee Posted on 20/03/2010 , work completed 20/03/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim called in at short notice, and was extremely helpfu, pleasant and professional, I'd recommend him without hesitation.
MikeP-J Posted on 15/12/2009 , work completed 15/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used "Which Local" to find a local heating engineer having been completely disillusioned and disappointed by the service from British Gas. Indeed, Tim was quick to point out a potential safety issue re: ventilation that British Gas had never commented upon, and similarly was able to "tune" the boiler settings to burn a more appropriate level of gas (thereby saving me money!). A very professional service (good time keeping, clean and talked me through what needed to be done and more importantly what did not!). Will definitely use Tim again!
Dave Crowley Posted on 01/12/2009 , work completed 01/12/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new combi-boiler installed, he did all the work whilst we were on holiday. Really fantastic service, very friendly ex-marketer who retrained with British Gas and set up on his own. The work he carried out was excellent and clean. He even came round to teach me how to set up all the controls.
Mr Clark Posted on 30/08/2009 , work completed 30/08/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I followed Which? Local recommendation. I have been a member for a month. Tim arrived within the time promised and was very clean at the job, identified several reasons why the hot water did not work and worked methodically through the job which in this instance was a faulty hot water thermostat. This was the cheapest option as at first it was thought the problem could be the timer clock. In my opinion a cowboy would have and could have overcharged quite easily for this job. Tim was polite, honest, quick and efficient and definatley value for money. Thank you Which? Local
andrew od Posted on 31/07/2009 , work completed 31/07/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim arrived promptly and gave an accurate estimate of how much the work would cost. He gave two options with varying prices so we felt that he was not trying to fob us off. The work did take a little longer than expected but I would definitely recommend him as an efficient, polite and accomplished trader
Rob PC Posted on 24/07/2009 , work completed 24/07/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim is a lovely guy who spent a lot of time on the phone talking through possible reasons for the problems with my heating. When he did finally do the first stage of work for me, I was impressed with his honesty and efficiency. However, he has been consistently unreliable in arranging and following up to requests for work and appears highly disorganised. I've been waiting several weeks for an estimate of a larger job from him, even though he assured me he had not forgotten me. Therefore, as nice as he is I have to say that I would avoid him.
whichphil Posted on 22/02/2009 , work completed 22/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
three different men came to check why the water from the hot water taps was only warm and gave three different reasons and quotes. I then made an appointment with Mr Mycroft. When he arrived he spotted the problem quite quickly and fixed it.I shall always use him in future, he is polite and explains clearly what he intends to do. Reasonable charges too.
Dallas Posted on 01/02/2009 , work completed 01/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Tim Mycroft via Which -local.He gave me a quote for boiler maintenance a new radiator and TRV's for a flat in Brixton.He turned up on the day did the job cleanly with a minimum of fuss and very pleasantly. I was very pleased with the end result and would not hesitate to recommend him.
J.Foster Posted on 21/01/2009 , work completed 21/01/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient. Arrived on time.Our Central heating had broken down. He on the phone gave an indication what had gone wrong. He replaced a valve synchron motor which was not functioning. He arrived with the necessary spare part. Would recommend him and will use him again.
LIM Posted on 15/10/2008 , work completed 15/10/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim replaced my old conventional boiler system with a new efficient combi boiler plus additional equipment in a tidy and thorough manner. If you're looking for a thorough installation with no shortcuts taken then Mycroft Heating gets my recommendation.
FlyingFree Posted on 29/06/2008 , work completed 29/06/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tim Mycroft is a really nice guy and has worked on my boiler twice. He seems very honest and proved very reliable. I'd be happy to recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/10/2007 , work completed 09/10/2007